Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Overheard In Ireland:)

• 17-04-2015 3:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14

Walking by Ann Summers on O'Connell St, Dublin. A Youngish Dublin Girl darting for the door with boyfriend somewhat edging behind.

"Come on will yaaa, I want to see if they sell STRAP ON'S"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭redarmy

Newoak wrote: »
    Walking by Ann Summers on O'Connell St, Dublin. A Youngish Dublin Girl darting for the door with boyfriend somewhat edging behind.

did not happen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

This is a novel and interesting concept.

In 1983.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Newoak

redarmy wrote: »
    did not happen

Off course it did, you couldn't make it up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You just did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

but you could!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

*from the 1980s*
    Look over there, a black lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Overheard in Galway:
    "That biko fella is the hottest guy on the planet"

true story

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You just did.

Seriously happened, the look on the boyfriends face was priceless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Seriously happened, the look on the boyfriends face was priceless!

So you didn't so much overhear it as y'know, SAY it?

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

biko wrote: »
    Overheard in Galway:

true story

I heard that too, them fellas couldnt take their eyes off ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Overheard in Galway:

true story

That was me sorry.

And yeah this story is ****e.

So you didn't so much overhear it as y'know, SAY it?[/QU

Got caught in the cross talk, how is that so hard to believe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

So you didn't so much overhear it as y'know, SAY it?[/QU

Got caught in the cross talk, how is that so hard to believe?

Hard to believe cos its not true :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Outside Bakers pub on Thomas St two oul lads were smoking when I overheard this snatch of their conversation:

"Yeah, we buried her on Thursday."

"Ah Jaysus I'm very sorry to hear that, cos y'know, I wouldn't have been slagging you about her if I'd known."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

cloud493 wrote: »

Hard to believe cos its not true :)

It is true , I work in the "strap on " department.
    Newoak is a regular , his "girl friend" and I use that term loosely needs a good wash and new
    valve for pumping up.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Overheard in Galway:
    true story

After you walked by:
    "He's alright but he's no Bishop Desmond Tutu"

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

*from the 1980s*
    Look over there, a black lad!

And look at us now, with fellas marrying fellas and a whole section of strange sausages in the supermarket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

"You don't love me'

"Ah c'mere, don't I buy ya chips and riiiiide ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Well, that's him fúcked then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

"Two fellas who want to roger the bejaysus out of each other?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Overheard at Body & Soul festival a few years back, some ballerina display in the trees with the usual arty farty installation thingy. Two drunk lads in the crowd shout out to the ballerina, "CAMELTOE!"

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

"Ahh heeeyor , leevirow" just hilair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

On the way home on the nightlink on a saturday night and some skanger girl was talking to the bloke she just scored:
    "When we get home, you're gonna suck the piss flaps off me"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Said in Tesco: "Get the Folláins will ya? Don't be buying that aul Tesco ****e"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

someone rang the Joe Duffy show a couple of years ago after they overheard 2 women talking about confirmation:

'we were running late at the hairdressers so we skipped the church and went straight to the restaurant'

Old man to another about a woman who just walked by giving them a dirty look. "There's a lucky man somewhere that didn't get that for a wife"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

someone rang the Joe Duffy show a couple of years ago after they overheard 2 women talking about confirmation:

'we were running late at the hairdressers so we skipped the church and went straight to the restaurant'

I can confirm that as being true , the child confessed to the teacher who communicated it everyone in the congregation.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭diddley

Cienciano wrote: »
    On the way home on the nightlink on a saturday night and some skanger girl was talking to the bloke she just scored:
    "When we get home, you're gonna suck the piss flaps off me"

Seriously???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

diddley wrote: »
    Seriously???

Yep, she was fairly drunk (it being the night link and all) and loud.

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭ceekay74

Young wan in Subways "How big is the 6 inch one"

Subway worker (pointing at foot long) "Half the size of this"

"Ahh righh, is the 4 inch much smaller?"

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Subacio

Coming in through passport control in Dublin Airport. After a flight from London.

Passenger - "I don't have my passport on me"
    Garda - "Are you Irish?"
    Passenger - "Yeah"
    Garda - "All right, go on then"

This was 2 weeks after the 7/7 London bombings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Christ, remember those Overheard in Dublin books?

They were sh*te as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

In tesco.

Man at self scan till to worker:
    Hello lady, I cant seem to scan myself

Worker:
    Sorry?

Man:
    I want to sell myself. I will not scan

Worker:
    Listen love, I wouldn't pay a euro for you in the bargain basement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

cruais wrote: »
    In tesco.

Man at self scan till to worker:
    Hello lady, I cant seem to scan myself

Worker:
    Sorry?

Man:
    I want to sell myself. I will not scan

Worker:
    Listen love, I wouldn't pay a euro for you in the bargain basement!

Never happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

me_irl wrote: »
    Never happened.

Yep because I just happened to pluck that story out of my head :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

overheard in a DIY shop in Roscommon the other day 2 auld fella's moaning about the hot weather

(Michael - the shop owner) "how'ya Paddy - jeez you wouldnt want to be out in that heat too long would ye?"

- (Paddy - the customer)
    " there's no air, you cannot breath in it.... as soon as you put it on its drying out (presume he was referring to paint?) can't cool down!

<long pause between the 2 of them> ......

(Michael): "long may it last! " ..... (Paddy:) "aye Surely!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

On the DART a few days ago, talking about angry militant vegans: "It's funny how a bunch of herbivores have such a vicious herd mentality" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Heard 2 old dears in my local Super valu .
    "Is that young lad at the checkout gay ?"
    "He is,but he doesn't know it yet!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

2 codgers talking about smoking.
    "Im giving up the fags and using the nicotine patches instead"

"Fair play to ya. I hear they're very good but fierce hard to light"

Overheard in Sligo the other day " great heat! " - "sure is, - if it becomes any hotter we will be on the front of the Trócaire box! " ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Walking behind two young ones in The Square today. One turned to the other and asked "Lisa, how do you spell aubergines?"
    Lisa replies "O-B-E-R-J-E-A-N-S. Ober like Oberstown."

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Youngwan #1 "She's a right bitch that one"

Youngwan #2 'she is, yeah'

Youngwan #1 'and the teeeeeth on her, she'd ate a turnip through a letterbox'

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Youngwan #1 "She's a right bitch that one"

Youngwan #2 'she is, yeah'

Youngwan #1 'and the teeeeeth on her, she'd ate a turnip through a letterbox'

haha - which begs the question, why on earth would a turnip be coming through a letterbox :)

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

haha - which begs the question, why on earth would a turnip be coming through a letterbox :)

It's a Wexford thing, you wouldn't understand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

An addict girl and her boyfriend walking by Patrick’s cathedral.
    Girl: you could have got up last night and done that job with the lads and you were too much of a coward. (Now roaring) I have family in the uk that are millionaires and I stayed here with you and you are too much of a coward to go out and do a job with the lads.

Fella just carry’s on in a daze saying nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Two old lads overheard a day after a funeral. Says one - the priest said nothing but good things about the deceased...

Says the other - just as well - if he had included the bad - we would still be there ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Crowd of people around my grandparents table chatting at dinnertime during the harvest years ago. One of them pipes up.
    "Well Jer you buried your father since we were here last. "
    "We did boy." he replies. Sure we had to do something with him when he died."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

from a local radio station around Limerick, guy is reading out death notices, gets to the end and says "grand!, no one we know"

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Seen some aul one in Dublin City with a clip board asked me did I have a minute to answer question about what i thought about gay, lesbian , and straight relationships , 
    I said no, but a few minutes later I was standing out side a shop and heard her ask some aul lad (who must have agreed to be questioned ) how do you veiw lesbian relationships .He replied " in full HD " and walked off laughing :) she wasn't best pleased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

An elderly couple walking by the cafe I was sitting at yesterday morning noticing pride balloons around on shops

Old woman: Wasn't the gay pride parade on yesterday?
    Old man: Yes think so, sure isn't it lovely for them they have it

Just thought it was cute :o