Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The all new, revised and easier quiz! (mod note posts 1 and 2042)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,810 ✭✭✭✭looksee

44?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

looksee wrote: »
    44?

Nope, sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

I don't know what a euro pallet is but will guess a silly 16! :)

Bound to be a whole lot more methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

8?

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    I don't know what a euro pallet is but will guess a silly 16! :)

Bound to be a whole lot more methinks.
    Rubecula wrote: »
    8?

Incorrect so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    How many euro pallets sit on the floor of a standard forty foot trailer?
    Trick question. If the pallets are unloaded you can stack them on their sides. :D

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OldGoat wrote: »
    Trick question. If the pallets are unloaded you can stack them on their sides. :D

;)no, genuine question, the pallets can be loaded or empty, so it's just the physical floor space they occupy. If you guys want I can give a clue or two later today. It's a bit obscure I know, but I am hoping it's no too Easy to google etc

After I answered I googled it. I was working on the correct assumption, but didn't know enough about trucks or pallets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I'll guess 20

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    I'll guess 20

Afraid not

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

;)no, genuine question, the pallets can be loaded or empty, so it's just the physical floor space they occupy. If you guys want I can give a clue or two later today. It's a bit obscure I know, but I am hoping it's no too Easy to google etc
    I'm taking that as leave to look up. Having looked up the dimensions of both container and pallet I make it 50 if they are laid flat but, as OldGoat has pointed out, many more if laid on their edges - I make it 415.

garancafan wrote: »
    I'm taking that as leave to look up. Having looked up the dimensions of both container and pallet I make it 50 if they are laid flat but, as OldGoat has pointed out, many more if laid on their edges - I make it 415.

Nope. The pallets, full or empty,it doesn't matter, are laid flat in normal position on the floor of 40ft trailer.

eisenberg, you old tease, you've got them all flummoxed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

My first post here - I'm guessing 30 after having the 'pleasure' of unloading pallets as a favour to a friend a few years ago :)

dilallio wrote: »
    My first post here - I'm guessing 30 after having the 'pleasure' of unloading pallets as a favour to a friend a few years ago :)

Getting there:D

Most HGV drivers will be able to tell you.;)

Getting there:D

Most HGV drivers will be able to tell you.;)

Now where will I get one of those at this hour? Maybe a Spar or Centra for lunch? Can I guess another one..............45?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,034 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

have not been in a container since 1972 :) maybe that was a 20' container ... don't know :)

I will guess, maybe

2 rows of 12

24 in total?

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Now where will I get one of those at this hour? Maybe a Spar or Centra for lunch? Can I guess another one..............45?

Yes, and no.
    have not been in a container since 1972 :) maybe that was a 20' container ... don't know :)

I will guess, maybe

2 rows of 12

24 in total?

Nope.

You're flippin' enjoying this, arncha eisenberg? :D Me too! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Based on area, I get 21 or 25 depending on how you lay them.

Yes, this is about a trailer not a container. 25 is a standard layout but it appears to be possible to squeeze one or two more by departing from standard. I therefore propose 27 as the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,034 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Damn! How did I get the idea it was a container? :(

OK, I will try again

Damn! How did I get the idea it was a container?
    Probably in the same way that I did.

How often have we advised young exam candidates to "READ THE QUESTION"?

two rows of eight makes 16

maybe I am misjudging the size three rows of nine is 27

None correct do far. But good to see the minds working, and getting close.

Note, a euro pallet is 120 X 80cms.

I started off guessing that a euro pallet was a metre square, which in area it is, but in measurements it is not. I also did not know whether a 40' trailer was 40 on the inside or the outside, and also presumed that 40' was a description rather than a measurement, as it seems unlikely that trailers designed to hold euro pallets would be made in feet. I also made a wild guess that a trailer was 12' wide, which is probably too wide.

A combination of guesses and dodgy mental arithmetic gave me my answer. Which was wrong :D

None correct do far. But good to see the minds working, and getting close.

Note, a euro pallet is 120 X 80cms.

30 so.

Time to put you out of your misery?

Or will I let it run for a bit?

I think we have probably made all the guesses we can! Put us out of our misery and try another question. There should be another question out there somewhere as well?

I'm sure I passed a trailer being loaded with pallets by several min and wimmin yesterday. They were loading them this way, and that. Upside down and downside up. Every whichway. They were all scratching their 'eads. Must've been all youse! :D

Smaller than I thought so. hmm take one and multiply by the square root of my big toe.

30 so.

Correct. But now to complicate things, some "40" foots were actually forty two feet long. i.e. 12 metre and 13.5 metre, so you cou,d get 33 pallets on the floor of the longer trailer.

How quickly can you find out what is so unusual about this paragraph? It looks so ordinary that you would think that nothing is wrong with it at all, and, in fact, nothing is. But it is unusual. Why? If you study it and think about it, you may find out, but I am not going to assist you in any way. You must do it without coaching. No doubt, if you work at it for long, it will dawn on you. Who knows? Go to work and try your skill. Par is about half an hour.

Not really my go, and not really a quiz question, but can anyone answer the above? (If you know because you came across it before, maybe see if people unfamiliar with it can get it?)

It doesn't contain the letter "e"!

Also missing "J" and "Z". So maybe it's not that.....

Yes thats it, no e. Significant because it is the commonest letter in English I think.

Eee by gum who'd a thought tha'

Trust you to have a couple of spare eeee's up your sleeve Rube! :D

On September 16 1889 Rachel Goggmann Cenrobert gave birth, in Vienna, to a daughter who was to become the apple of her father, Emil Jellinek's eye, so much so that her name was to become, and remains, iconic. What was the girl's name?

Mercedes

Spot-on Srameen. She was the Mercedes part of Mercedes-Benz.

30 so.

Erm - see post #2615

looksee wrote: »

Mod: note to all contributors: if you choose to answer questions, please be willing to ask them too.
    With that entreaty in mind, I try to apply the rule-of-thumb: if I'm not in a position to ask a question then I don't answer.

/Shifty Look
    Ppppsst! Wanna buy a question? I gots good questions, I gots hard questions, funny questions, sports questions, I gots all the questions.
    How much will they cost I hears ya ak'sing, well what kinda pills does Matron gives ya?

Well how about ye post a couple of free samples before we buy?

Ya gets nuthin for nuthin here sister.

What character was the headlining chanteuse at Fat Sam's Grand Slam Speakeasy?

Erm - see post #2615

What do you want? Me to read over 2600 posts? Not a hope buddy. Blame the question setter for not acknowledging the first correct answer, no me.

Who wrote 'Troublesome Words'?

Jonathan Ross?

OldGoat wrote: »
    Jonathan Ross?

No, he wrote twoblesome...