Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got assaulted with a crowbar on Friday night...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

What about making friends with him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭Electric Boobs

kona wrote: »
    Ride his sister.
    Actually, that's even one I'd consider. She's probably naive and if she's good looking enough & clean(not in the moral sense), then riding her would drive him crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Actually, that's even one I'd consider. She's probably naive and if she's good looking enough & clean(not in the moral sense), then riding her would drive him crazy!

Good plan, probably get the OP killed in the process.

Akrasia wrote: »
    Go to the gardai and sue him for damages

The cops won't do anything, but if you sue him, you might get his savage glanza with the 19 inch mag wheels
    The money would more likely come from the state(some injuries board or something)

Edit: just a thought, but if you were inclined to be beating the sh1te out of someone, I don't think you'd be posting on the interweb looking for approval.
    Not necessarily(speaking from experience), in a kill or be killed situation, you're going to want to contemplate it.

I've got balls, but if a knife or crowbar came into the equation, I'd simply have far more to lose than the tug would, and would turn pussy quite quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

Why not bate the shyte out of his sister... make sure to tell her (and him - from a distance) that every time He batters someone, anyone, his sister will get a serious hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

Go to a doctor and get a medical report about injury.
    Go to Guards with medical report and a statement.

Get pictures taken of the injury. Ask guards who is best to take the pictures. It might be them who takes the pictures, or else a solicitor or your doctor. I don't know if they have as much weight if you take them yourself but ask Guards to confirm.

Edited to add: You may also need to get an xray of your ribs which could mean a hospital report too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

Akrasia wrote: »
    Go to the gardai and sue him for damages

The cops won't do anything, but if you sue him, you might get his savage glanza with the 19 inch mag wheels

I think you'll find that he needs that Glanza that attend some make-believe employment scheme, and then drop dinners into old ladies living on their own before coaching the under 12's GAA team.

Real scumbags never have assets you can take or an income you can garnish, and they always have a sob story for the court.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Lt J.R. Bell

hefferboi wrote: »
    Was walking home from a night out on Friday and the biggest, dirtiest, ugliest scumbag you've ever seen accused me of trying to rob his sisters handbag. He swung a crowbar with the curved side and I put my arm up to protect my head and it caught be on my ribs just under my arm pit. It ripped my shirt clean open and I've got a fairly big mark which hurts like fcuk. Could be infected. I ended up legging it home. Found out yesterday that he put another lad in hospital last week.

Im like a dog over it. I've 3 options I think. Do nothing and hope this cnut doesn't follow up on this, go to the guards and report him for assault or take matters into my own hands.

I don't want to let this fcuker get away with it. He's the type of scumbag who hasn't worked a day in his life, knows all his rights, wears his dirty stupid adidas tracksuit tucked into his socks, thinks he can do whatever the fcuk he wants.

Its scumbags like this that make a part of me want to just pack in everything and dedicate my life to turning vigilante and doing away with the vermin like him and his pals. I'd love to have the balls to do something about it, but like everything else these cnuts do, he'll probably get away with it.

1. Hire, bribe someone uglier and tougher scum bag (problem is , would he be reliable?) to go back and cave his head in, as revenge. A proper beating. Can you take this into your own hands? And get away with it?

2. Go to the Gardai, quickly. You could have been seriously seriously assaulted.

Do not let this fella get away with it!

Dress up as a sexy rabbit, seduce him and then whack him over the head with a heavy-bottomed frying pan when he's not expecting it.

10 inch blade would be more appropriate. Make sure he never gets up.

Alas, sadly, society would punish you for carrying out such a wonderful public service

kona wrote: »
    Ride his sister.

By the sounds of it, she is probably crawling with crabs, has a STD or three, and is the mother of 4 children to 4 fathers (5 fathers, but that's up in the air)

She would want to have some BJ skills to be worth tapping

But, it would drive him crazy, probably jealous too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Geniass

And I wonder what his sister thought of it!

Tanks a mill, Decko - yar getting the roide tanight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

By the sounds of it, she is probably crawling with crabs, has a STD or three, and is the mother of 4 children to 4 fathers (5 fathers, but that's up in the air)

She would want to have some BJ skills to be worth tapping

But, it would drive him crazy, probably jealous too

i LOVE bj SKILLS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

eternal wrote: »
    That's ridiculous. There's a reason why laws are abided to in society. We can't just go around hammering each other.

But the law doesn't work with this type of individual, he could care less if he spends some time in jail, if he did he wouldn't be acting like he does.

I for one hope you manage to dish out your revenge in a manner befitting this parasite.

If people on here don't agree with me that is ok, it is your opinion. But I wonder what they would feel if you were in the same position as the OP.

If you bring this guy to court, he will definitely remember you, best case scenario; he gets locked up for a while, but you'll be walking home again some night, turn a corner and there he'll be. At that moment there won't be a judge or over PC boards members there to save you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Okay - it's time for home truths here.

Most of what's been written so far is all very nice and cuddly, but most of it is bull.

The reality here is that the Irish legal system is nonsense and will not (a) get this man justice (b) properly prosecute the scumbag in question (c) protect this man from another beating (d) will likely make matters worse.

He lives in a small town, so here's what will happen if he goes to the police.

They'll go around to scumbag's house and arrest him. He'll be charged and given a court date, all the while free to walk over to the OP's house to put his windows in - or beat him up again. And when he's found guilty he'll probably get a suspended sentence to add to the other fifty suspended sentences that he has and hey presto! guess who's strolling around the town again with his handy crowbar?

In an ideal world this scummer would be locked up for a very, very long time.

The only way to effectively deal with this is to get a van and some friends and put this scumbag in the back, drive up to the mountains, kill him, and bury him.

But that's illegal - and I wouldn't suggest that.

It would work though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

The only way to effectively deal with this is to get a van and some friends and put this scumbag in the back, drive up to the mountains, kill him, and bury him.
    I guess that's that so..

Back in the real world, and as others have said, go to the guards. Maybe ask for a restraining order. Spread the word about this scumbag; name and shame, if people don't already know about him. Get the town on your side, gain their sympathy. Win the crowd and you will win your freedom.

buck65 wrote: »
    i LOVE bj SKILLS

Don't we all, don't we all

K4t wrote: »
    I guess that's that so..

Back in the real world, and as others have said, go to the guards. Maybe ask for a restraining order. Spread the word about this scumbag; name and shame, if people don't already know about him. Get the town on your side, gain their sympathy. Win the crowd and you will win your freedom.

If you are going to quote the chap, at least show honesty and quote him in full.

What you failed to highlight was that he acknowledged that such a proposal, sadly, will not work in the real world, because it's illegal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Most of what's been written so far is all very nice and cuddly, but most of it is bull.

The reality here is that the Irish legal system is nonsense and will not (a) get this man justice (b) properly prosecute the scumbag in question (c) protect this man from another beating (d) will likely make matters worse.

They'll go around to scumbag's house and arrest him. He'll be charged and given a court date, all the while free to walk over to the OP's house to put his windows in - or beat him up again. And when he's found guilty he'll probably get a suspended sentence to add to the other fifty suspended sentences that he has and hey presto! guess who's strolling around the town again with his handy crowbar?

It would work though.

Is that supposed to be amusing after what's been on the news lately. People taking someone's life like it's nothing.

Big difference. Those people were innocent. This scum bag is not Innocent. Being wheel chair bound would be too good for him

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

What does it matter if he doesn't care about spending time in gaol? It means he's off the street not attacking innocent people with crowbars. Fúck his feelings on the matter.

If you are going to quote the chap, at least show honesty and quote him in full.
    No need, and not dishonest. I do wish that poster could have shown some honesty however:
    Big difference. Those people were innocent. This scum bag is not Innocent. Being wheel chair bound would be too good for him
    Yes, he is; he's innocent under the law until proven guilty. Some of you watch too much tv. Honestly.

What does it matter if he doesn't care about spending time in gaol? It means he's off the street not attacking innocent people with crowbars. Fúck his feelings on the matter.
    This. Too many mind readers and fortune tellers floating about here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Would it be more offensive if I said yes or no?

And what's been on the news - what are you referring to? Did I miss something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Dress up as a sexy rabbit, seduce him and then whack him over the head with a heavy-bottomed frying pan when he's not expecting it.
    Then roll him up in a carpet and throw him off a bridge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭garra

Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves.

Having more to lose than the scum-bag and living in a small town, you are in a tricky place .. having to watch your back every time you return from the pub is not ideal (re options of direct revenge assualt or reporting him to plod). Waiting in the long grass could be an option, if he is a dealer or falsely claiming benefits you could have opportunities for revenge without consequence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

The Irish judiciary bend the rules all the time, why shouldn't frustrated people like the OP ? Is justice really only confined to explicitly stated Irish law or are people like the OP justified every now and then ? This smug sense of "turn the other cheek, don't stoop to their level, rise above it, you're only as bad as them" is just idealistic crap. Can't always rely on the "law" to do the right or moral thing, so what kind of reaction would you expect in this case ?

I seem remember the sympathy Padraig Nally got. He more or less took the law into his own hands by putting down Frog Ward with his 50+ convictions and was hailed a hero by the majority of the country. The state failed him and he corrected the imbalance. Society isn't gonna descend into anarchy and chaos because some local knackers get a long awaited dose of their own medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

It would work though.

These are my feelings on the matter. Thanks for summing it up for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Wait around the corner next time with a 10-foot slash hook.

OP here.

Have had a think about it and have decided not to do anything about it.

Thanks for all the replies, but the people saying I'd be a fool not to go to the guards obviously have never been in a situation like this before. As Dangerous Man has pointed out above, if I do go, he'll know I went and will have to be back on the streets sooner rather than later and I'll be looking over my shoulder for a long time. It's not worth the hassle.

To rub salt into the wounds, I think the cut is infected and its hurting like ****!

Also, to the people asking if his sister is nice, her brother came at me with a crow bar because she lied about me trying to steal her handbag and she was walking the streets at 3am wearing pajamas.

You can surely tell if she was nice or not..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

OP here.

Thanks for all the replies, but the people saying I'd be a fool not to go to the guards obviously have never been in a situation like this before. As Dangerous Man has pointed out above, if I do go, he'll know I went and will have to be back on the streets sooner rather than later and I'll be looking over my shoulder for a long time. It's not worth the hassle.

To rub salt into the wounds, I think the cut is infected and its hurting like ****!

Might help with the infection, tbh.

Knex. wrote: »
    Might help with the infection, tbh.

:o

OP here.

Thanks for all the replies, but the people saying I'd be a fool not to go to the bviously have never been in a situation like this before. As Dangerous Man has pointed out above, if I do go, he'll know I went and will have to be back on the streets sooner rather than later and I'll be looking over my shoulder for a long time. It's not worth the hassle.

Seriously what's the prospects of returning the favour and getting away with it? Balaclavas are handy. He has so many enemies, he wouldn't know who hit him. Drinks are easily spiked. Town alley ways aren't all that busy

Back in the good old days, small towns were well able to police themselves against yobs like him. Mob justice, whether you liked it or not worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

Trust in karma or just probability.

You've got a life worth living in peace, so getting sucked into this guy's cycle of misery would cost you a lot.

It's a certainty that sooner or later he's going to flare up with someone with nothing to lose and he'll get what's coming.

Get that wound checked, but don't lose any sleep over this knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jippohead

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."

- Edmund Burke

Just hope he doesn't kill someone OP, but I can sympathise being from a small town myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

FFS OP go to the Guards. Keep going to the Guards if you are in any way harassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Crazy decision. You are leaving him open to attack others by not reporting this.
    You should think about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

What did your friend do while he was hitting you with the crow bar ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

You could do what we do up here. Few a balaclavas, a few mates and a good kneecapping.

Reoil wrote: »
    You could do what we do up here. Few a balaclavas, a few mates and a good kneecapping.

Very quick, extremely clean and efficient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Get his phone number. Write out at least a dozen notes with the following"Sorry I hit your car. Call me on 08******** and we can talk about getting the damage fixed". Place said notes on car windscreens of other known scumbags/dirt bird types. Hopefully they will end up beating the piss out of each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Does this scumbag own a car? if so just wait say 6 months and then destroy it. You won't actually feel any better, in fact you'll know you have reduced yourself but he'll be really pissed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Put his windows in with a brick saying "I know my tax money will pay for this glass but wow so worth it #FECKINEGIT"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Tell him "Maybe I've got broken ribs, but you're ugly. And in the morning you'll still be ugly, but I ....no, wait.

Find anything decent in his sisters handbag though?
    Typical boardsie comment. I hope you get get hit by a crowbar one day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Typical boardsie comment. I hope you get get hit by a crowbar one day

It'd have to be a low blow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

I would spray him and his whole crew. Braaaaaaap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

LadyAthame wrote: »
    “My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die!”

My all time favorite movie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Balaclava, Alleyway, Baseball bat. Simples !