Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

2 Now. Squeeky bum time for Meath fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭patmac

Great atmosphere with all the Dubs coming in can we do it?

.............Thats a lot of westmeath fans.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Oh dear Mickey Newman you greedy fecker.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Why didn't he pass it to the open man inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Wow fair play Westmeath some unreal bottle. Level.

Newman should have tapped it over.

Questionable free there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

This is pretty hilarious, have to say. Thought the second half would be mind numbingly boring, but what a comeback

Why the **** wasn't Martin playing Full Forward all day?

Class forward!

1 point up now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭blackcard

Decisions going with WM

Well Holy God...

Goal Heslin!

Un****ingbelievable!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭munster87

O Rourke is awful

Fantastic from Westmeath!

John Heslin 1-9. :eek:

Red for O Rourke!

Crazy

If he made as much effort to save Heslin's shot as he did to take your man out of it, they'd still have a chance!

Congrats Westmeath what a comeback!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭A-Train

The ref was a joke only looked at the Meath the whole match, a farce

• Registered Users Posts: 3,151 ✭✭✭letowski

Great scenes, great enjoyable game to watch.

As a 53 year old Westmeath man I'm nearly in tears here, all the years of hurt ended.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭MattB11

As brilliant a performance from a team in a single half of football as you will see. Well done Westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

That was fantastic. Fair play to Westmeath. On like Donkey Kong was it Joe?! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Meath can have no excuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

What a ****ing match .Brilliant stuff from Westmeath and that's the game of the championship so far. Heslin and Kieran Martin were outstanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Great finish. Congrats to all Dolanites on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

What a collapse from Meath. No excuses for it. Would like to say heads should roll but sure there's noone else to step in. Years of ignoring underage football in the county will haunt us for many more years to come.

Congrats to West Meath!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

fair play to Westmeath absolutely deserved it with the heart and fight they showed.

as a Meath supporter we were lucky against Wicklow and with the current management team they have actually shown know progression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

That's what the GAA is all about. Fantastic. Congratulations Westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭h2s

Eat your words Pat Spillane ðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

Wow, what a second half. Heslin and Martin were outstanding, some unbelievable points taken by some of the wing forwards also. What a shame that the Dublin game most likely will not be as good.

Put a fiver on Westmeath with 15 minutes to go, a meaty 14/1 being offered. Easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

Its not too often the championship throws up heart warming moments like that anymore! All neutrals will be delighted for Westmeath. The fact that Westmeath won't last 15 minutes against Dublin is at this moment irrelevant. This is up there with their best moments ever and to do it in such a fashion after I'm sure most people had switched over before half time made it all the more special.

You could pick a million holes in the performances and defending of both sides but it was enjoyable

The Graham Reilly black card had an affect but Newman blew 2 glorious chances for Meath to at least secure a replay. Meath will be looking for a new manager now I think. Taking off Mickey Burke when things were going well looks dubious now, they had no leaders coming towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

sensational stuff....absolutely fantastic game and wonderful for the GAA.

h2s wrote: »
    Eat your words Pat Spillane ðŸ˜

one of the most incredible days in recent GAA history and all you can talk about is Pat Spillane? f*ck sake,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Did anyone think meaths fitness was questionable

sensational stuff....absolutely fantastic game and wonderful for the GAA.

one of the most incredible days in recent GAA history and all you can talk about is Pat Spillane? f*ck sake,

Relax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Saw the first half in the pub and left at half time, said to my mate that it was game over. Can't believe Westmeath turned that around.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Fully deserved to lose. Atrocious. Bye bye Micko next weekend.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

And now Kildare to hammer Dublin?

....Maybe not

Did you know that in the last one match between Westmeath and Meath, Meath have never beaten Westmeath.

Fully deserved to lose. Atrocious. Bye bye Micko next weekend.
    Meath were 10 points up at one stage. Hard to blame O'Dowd for that collapse.

Your goal keeper was an embarrassment. He was at fault for the first Westmeath goal, he didn't exactly cover himself in glory for the third and then gets himself sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Congratulations to Westmeath! As a neutral, its great to see their people so happy after the match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

Well done Westmeath.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Not sure if it was fitness or moreso momentum for Westmeath. A team with momentum in sport is very very difficult to stop and Westmeath had that in buckets ad the 2nd half wore on.

That said just as the game entered injury time and down by a pt, Meath had a great chance to level it. Think it was no. 7 only 25 yards out almost straight in front of the posts and instead he hand passed it out to a teammate in a worse position. Then Meath turned it over & in 30 seconds Westmeath had a 4 pt lead.
    From being down by 10, that was some comeback.

Cant believe Meath were 1/9 to beat Westmeath. You couldnt have one banana to two bananas with the bookies.

Anyway the handicap for the Dublin game is 11. Will the Dubs beat it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

gizmo23 wrote: »
    So this years standings are what count... In other words down the 9th best (table toppers of division 2 and who only lost to Derry be a point and should have won) got beaten soundly by the team ranked 24th (bottom of division 3) ??

Bruschi whole heartily agree add in the fact we had no Kehoe lost panther to an early black card was Graham's first game back in months the juniors winning Leinster Thursday (of which I believe three are ready made for senior now) thins are starting to look nicely once more and I honestly believe power could be the best thing to happen us in many years
    Im not taking away from yere win at all at all and congratulations and I'm a fan of power

My point is merely down are a division one team this year just cause they won a division two i don't agree
    What division one opponents have they beaten
    Next year they will be

A huge huge win and he's building a good young side but to say ye beat a division one team imo is not correct in as it stands down are a division two team

To beat a huge traditional team where football is the holy grail and the fact yere a dual county is imo a phenomenon achievement and deserve huge credit

But down are not a division one team this year

What an excellent rob from Johnny Cooper! Should be shown to every you defender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Kildare getting destroyed on both sides of the kickout game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Marty "Given the space and time , he can score"

Can't we all Marty!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

DDC1990 wrote: »
    What an excellent rob from Johnny Cooper! Should be shown to every you defender.

Could you argue he was he holding an arm perhaps?, but if you give him the benefit of the doubt it was very composed and strong defending to be sure.

Kildare aren't helping themselves here.....

No upset here guys. Poor old Westmeath are probably beginning to grasp the sobering realities of being the next lambs to the slaughter. Kildare are chasing shadows. Like playing professionals