Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

The Times the rest is behind the paywall.

Jonathan Northcroft

http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/sport/football/article1562755.ece

If The Times are reporting it, it's probably legit. More so than most of these other people offering their opinions :rolleyes:.

For his sake, I hope they decide quickly, it can't be nice being in limbo like he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,912 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Since we are comparing on more than just this season.

CGSIrm6WcAE2ayF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

That we're even having this Rodgers v Klopp discussion.

The review is starting on Tuesday according to some of the papers tomorrow when Tom Werner flies in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Since we are comparing on more than just this season.

CGSIrm6WcAE2ayF.jpg

The only stat that matters is the last one. BR has about 1/2 the games that Klopp has, yet he doesn't have even 1 title, let alone 3. I highly doubt he's capable of achieving multiple trophies in the next 3 seasons, so Klopp is evidently the more successful manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Without being disrespectful, I think Rodgers may be like Steve Clarke and Rene Meulenstein. A brilliant coach, well respected within the game and very knowledgeable, but just doesn't have the spark that makes a successful manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Without being disrespectful, I think Rodgers may be like Steve Clarke and Rene Meulenstein. A brilliant coach, well respected within the game and very knowledgeable, but just doesn't have the spark that makes a successful manager.

I think BR's biggest problem is his personality. It's not just his bullsh*t which irks me, but he seems to be somewhat overconfident of his abilities. Mourinho is like this, but he backs it up (unfortunately), so when BR swears that he doesn't need a defensive coach, probably because he thinks he's good enough himself, or that he is '150% sure' he'll stay on, he comes across a bit John Carver-esque in that nobody really takes him seriously. Add that to the his usual catchphrases, overestimating players' abilities, and the cringefest that is the pre-match letter reading in the dressing room, I just think that if I were managed by him, I'd think he was a bit of an eejit, but nevertheless a great coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I like Rodgers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

I like Rodgering.

Rodgers is a bright young coach who's managing the mighty Liverpool FC , why wouldn't he be confident in his own ability? Better than being meek like Hodgson was talking about little old Liverpool IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Rodgers is a bright young coach who's managing the mighty Liverpool FC , why wouldn't he be confident in his own ability? Better than being meek like Hodgson was talking about little old Liverpool IMO.

He's 42/43, he's hardly Alex Neil. How many coaches markedly improve their careers from 40?? Or change tack? Rodgers has peaked and unless Liverpool unearth another Gerrard and Suarez he's going to be a 5-8th place manager at the club.

He's never had a club punch above its weight. There's nothing in his history to suggest that he's a galvanising force that brings a club together and makes them better than the sum of their parts. There's nothing wrong with that, but if you are below the top 4 the only way to crack that is to punch above your weight. Rodgers doesn't seem to be that type of manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Bentekkers is like a slightly younger Andy Carroll mark II. Let's sign him up.

But really, are we planning on switching to lobbing crosses all game, every game, the least effective way to score goals iirc.

Does any successful club do this effectively? Anyone above us?
    Re-sign Stu Downing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

He's 42/43, he's hardly Alex Neil. How many coaches markedly improve their careers from 40?? Or change tack? Rodgers has peaked and unless Liverpool unearth another Gerrard and Suarez he's going to be a 5-8th place manager at the club.

He's never had a club punch above its weight. There's nothing in his history to suggest that he's a galvanising force that brings a club together and makes them better than the sum of their parts. There's nothing wrong with that, but if you are below the top 4 the only way to crack that is to punch above your weight. Rodgers doesn't seem to be that type of manager.

Last season?

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

punk_one82 wrote: »
    Last season?

No no, last season was all suarez, even the games won without him, it was suarez that won them games also. It's simple, we win, the players performed and won the game. We lose, rodgers hasn't a clue :rolleyes:

Rodgers out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

No no, last season was all suarez, even the games won without him, it was suarez that won them games also. It's simple, we win, the players performed and won the game. We lose, rodgers hasn't a clue :rolleyes:

Rodgers out

Exactly. Starts the post saying Rodgers has never had a team punch above its weight, and the post also includes
    if you are below the top 4 the only way to crack that is to punch above your weight

Slightly contradictory.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Coaches get written off at 40 now? Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

The Times the rest is behind the paywall.

Jonathan Northcroft

http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/sport/football/article1562755.ece

LIVERPOOL are exploring alternatives to Brendan Rodgers, adding to uncertainty about whether the manager will survive an end-of-season review.
    He is to be appraised on his performance during 2014-15 in a process led by Mike Gordon, the executive from Fenway Sports Group with most responsibility for day-to-day business at Anfield.

Rodgers and Gordon have a good rapport and the manager remains appreciated by others in Liverpool’s hierarchy, but that has not stopped other options being explored.

A process is under way of examining the availability and credentials of other candidates, such as Jurgen Klopp, whose reign at Borussia Dortmund ended last night after the German Cup final, which Dortmund lost 3-1 to Wolfsburg. Klopp has indicated he would consider the Liverpool job – despite initially saying he planned a sabbatical when his time at Dortmund was over.

It is thought Rodgers still has a very significant chance of remaining in charge, provided he can satisfy FSG that a disappointing 2014-15 campaign – where Liverpool finished sixth in the Premier League and performed badly in Europe – was a blip. Inside the club, the expectation is Rodgers will still be manager when next season begins.

Embarrassing defeats in Liverpool’s final two games, a 3-1 home loss to Crystal Palace and 6-1 humiliation at Stoke, have increased the pressure on Rodgers. However, Liverpool are pressing ahead with attempts to sign Christian Benteke, Nathaniel Clyne, James Milner and Danny Ings – all targets favoured by Rodgers.
    Gordon is due to meet Rodgers, who is on holiday in Spain, in the next fortnight. An American, he is FSG’s second largest shareholder after John W Henry, sits on Liverpool’s board of directors, and spends significant periods in Merseyside.

Rafael Benitez, whose name a number of supporters chanted during the 6-1 defeat at Stoke, will be unveiled as Real Madrid’s new manager on Wednesday.
    Klopp, who led Dortmund to two German titles and a Champions League final during seven years in charge, is favourite to be offered the job if Liverpool decide to make a change. More than just the manager’s position will be scrutinised in Gordon’s review, with changes considered in Liverpool’s medical department and recruitment structure.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ronjo

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Villa fans...arsenal fans...kick in the nuts...or punch in the nuts?

It would be a pleasure to do either :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

fyfe79 wrote: »
    It really is the top earners who win you the prizes. If only we had offered Suarez's wage (200k) to Sanchez instead of 140k or whatever it was, he surely would've gone to LFC. That would've given 4th place, at least. Instead, we're not invited to the party next year and have allowed Utd back in so they'll only get stronger while we get weaker.

Today really was depressing for 2 reasons - to see Sanchez in action and realise what we could've had, and at the same time to see how easily they steamrolled Villa, the same team who Rodgers couldn't out-smart.

Ah here look. Two years ago we were ahead of where you were and tried to sign Suarez.

Last year you were miles ahead of us and nearly won the league.

Now we're ahead again.

This thread had gone full meltdown retard.

The simple truth is.

1: Liverpool had a bad year losing their two best players

2: When you buy a bunch of players for Europa league prices, a lot of them turn out to be not good enough for the champions league race.

3: The Gerrard bull**** was a massive massive distraction.

4: Rodgers isn't as bad as this season suggests nor as good as the last one suggests.

5: Klopp is a better option but not happening so need to stick with Rodgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

I'm aware of all that. Just pointing out that 1 world class player could've made all the difference. Suarez last year, Sanchez this.

Hopefully FSG see this and make a game-changer their top priority in the summer - it's more important than a managerial switch I think (although if Klopp is a possibility, he would be more likely to attract the calibre of player we need). Either way, they will need to spend big, both fee AND wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Hidalgo wrote: »
    How many 100k+ earners are on Liverpool's books. With Gerrard gone, Johnson on the way out is it just 2 that are over that mark.

I'm guessing that's a lot less than the sides Liverpool are trying to catch.

Arsenal have only 4. Ozil 140k, Sanchez 130K, Walcott 110k and Giroud 100K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Coaches get written off at 40 now? Jesus wept.

Just as well sane people don't think that, Shankly and Paisley would never have got a job!!

Shankly was 50 winning his first title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

murpho999 wrote: »
    That's because you do.

Your comparisons are nonsensical and you are not comparing honestly and omitting past events to suit your argument.

The fact is that Klopp has achieved a lot more with Dortmund than Rodgers has with Liverpool. You cannot ignore him taking Dortmund to Champion's League finals and winning Bundesligas and base his record on just one season.

Alex Ferguson had a few seasons where he didn't win anything and it never made him a bad manager, he was always the best around at the time.

Rodgers has won nothing in 3 seasons in Liverpool. His best achievement is mounting a title challenge last season.

Like Klopp he has had a bad season, and not all of it is his own making but the thing is Klopp has a lot more notches on his belt that he can point to that prove his qualities whilst Rodgers doesn't.

Now it may turn out that Rodgers is the man and this season was just a bad one and he could turn it around but it's completely up for debate and a gamble that FSG must assess.
    On the above, Murpho, Ferguson was on the point of being sacked after 5 seasons in charge without winning anything and huge sections of their fans were openly calling for him to be sacked immediately.

Then that little imp, Mark Robbins, scored the goal to win the FA cup and the dynasty we see today was founded.

There was just that 1 goal stopping ferguson being shown the door after 5 seasons. Even after the win, there were sections looking for him to be fired before the season started so they could use the cup win as a carrot to attract a manager who could manage the players better.

In a lot of ways, I find the current Rodgers debate similar, even if Rodgers doesn't have a European trophy to gain a stay of execution that ferguson received.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭Caovyn Lineah

On the above, Murpho, Ferguson was on the point of being sacked after 5 seasons in charge without winning anything and huge sections of their fans were openly calling for him to be sacked immediately.

Then that little imp, Mark Robbins, scored the goal to win the FA cup and the dynasty we see today was founded.

There was just that 1 goal stopping ferguson being shown the door after 5 seasons. Even after the win, there were sections looking for him to be fired before the season started so they could use the cup win as a carrot to attract a manager who could manage the players better.

In a lot of ways, I find the current Rodgers debate similar, even if Rodgers doesn't have a European trophy to gain a stay of execution that ferguson received.

TaraFergie.png

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

If the Times article is accurate, Rodgers will want to have his sales pitch in order and be ready for presentation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

ronjo wrote: »
    It would be a pleasure to do either :D

Would probably have better luck with the imaginary Liverpool fan from yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

FSG are actively looking for a top manager to replace Rodgers, but if they can't find one it looks like Rodgers will get another shot next season. If Rodgers had a bit of respect for himself and the club he would resign immediately.

So yesterday Rodgers was better than Klopp on ppg today he is just as good a Ferguson after 3 years.

This thread really is in The Twilight Zone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

We'll probably know one way or the other what's happening by Wed or Thurs and thank **** for that because all this uncertainty is driving everyone mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

FSG are actively looking for a top manager to replace Rodgers, but if they can't find one it looks like Rodgers will get another shot next season. If Rodgers had a bit of respect for himself and the club he would resign immediately.

FFS.......do you really expect anyone to walk away from a 3 year contract if the first year of it went badly. If you say yes then either your not being fair or not living in the real world.

We'll probably know one way or the other what's happening by Wed or Thurs and thank **** for that because all this uncertainty is driving everyone mental.

Is there uncertainty though?

Think its fairly obvious BR will be in charge in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,931 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Don't quite know what to say to that, absolutely mental.

NukaCola wrote: »
    Is there uncertainty though?

Think its fairly obvious BR will be in charge in August.

I don't think there's anything obvious about it at all.

If there was no uncertainty then why didn't the club just come straight out and say his job is safe? They could still do their review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

FFS.......do you really expect anyone to walk away from a 3 year contract if the first year of it went badly. If you say yes then either your not being fair or not living in the real world.

Rodgers is holding out because he knows he is a goner. The moment we went 5 nil down to Stoke and he stood there not knowing what to do, his face white like he had seen a ghost, completely shell shocked like a WW1 soldier in a fox hole, the players completely clueless and not bothering to play for him, was the moment he knew he was out the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Re his early years-
    Ferguson had claimed that it was ''a hell of burden running a club that hasn't won the title for 23 years and thinks it should do every season.''

And if Borini had any respect for the club he'd have left last summer.
    and if Sterling had any respect he'd be happy out to stay on his current deal.
    Players and managers alike are nearly nearly concerned about themselves first and foremost. Everything else comes 2nd.

From Rodgers perspective he can
    1. Hand in his notice, be out of a job, get no payoff but hey a few lads on the Internet will say fair play he did the noble thing.
    2. Stay on as I'm guessing in his own mind he believes he can turn things around.
    3. If FSG want him gone, let them sack him. They're the owners he's the employee.

If Rodgers is still manager at the beginning of next season don't blame him and don't spout this 'respect for himself, respect for the club' lark. Blame instead those who allowed him to remain in his role

I don't think there's anything obvious about it at all.

If there was no uncertainty then why didn't the club just come straight out and say his job is safe? They could still do their review.

Well, i suppose I'm just going off leaks from the club insinuating that BR is safe enough, BR Transfer targets being chased, end of season review will need an explanation but his job is not under serious threat, the transfer committee is being looked at and BR doesn't seem to be entirely blamed for recruitment etc.....all noises point to him being in charge IMO.

I'd be shocked if he was sacked but I suppose its very possible that these leaks are BS.

I would be disappointed with FSG if they weren't doing this at the very least.

https://twitter.com/JNorthcroft/status/604943132141191168

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

If Rodgers had a bit of respect for himself and the club he would resign immediately.

Be realistic, he's hardly going to give up a 10 million plus compensation payout and anyone expecting him to would be very niave.

I'd love Klopp to replace him, but even had he led us into a relegation battle I wouldn't expect him to resign. It may well be the biggest contract of his career, and he deserved it when he got it so you can't have it both ways.

Rodgers is holding out because he knows he is a goner. The moment we went 5 nil down to Stoke and he stood there not knowing what to do, his face white like he had seen a ghost, completely shell shocked like a WW1 soldier in a fox hole, the players completely clueless and not bothering to play for him, was the moment he knew he was out the door.

No manager is going to walk away from a deal. Why should they?

If you expect them to then you'll be disappointed.

Well, i suppose I'm just going off leaks from the club insinuating that BR is safe enough, BR Transfer targets being chased, end of season review will need an explanation but his job is not under serious threat, the transfer committee is being looked at and BR doesn't seem to be entirely blamed for recruitment etc.....all noises point to him being in charge IMO.

I'd be shocked if he was sacked but I suppose its very possible that these leaks are BS.

This is pretty much exactly how I feel but you have to admit there's a fair bit of uncertainty there,don't ya? That's all I was saying.

Players and managers alike are nearly nearly concerned about themselves first and foremost. Everything else comes 2nd.

And no-one should expect any different tbh

No manager is going to walk away from a deal. Why should they?

If you expect them to then you'll be disappointed.

Years ago when managers were getting paid FA you'd sometimes get one walking away but these days with the wages/contracts they're on? Not a hope and why should they?

I would be disappointed with FSG if they weren't doing this at the very least.

https://twitter.com/JNorthcroft/status/604943132141191168

Same as.
    I'd hope they're checking the possibility of an upgrade anyhow.
    Whether they can get one to agree to their terms is another issue. If not then it's pointless sacking Rodgers.

Same as.
    I'd hope they're checking the possibility of an upgrade anyhow.
    Whether they can get one to agree to their terms is another issue. If not then it's pointless sacking Rodgers.

Oliver Kay is agreeing with him so that is two pretty respected journo's saying.

https://twitter.com/OliverKayTimes/status/604949454542761985

Alot of posters have jumped the shark! I'm open to Rodgers going if Klopp is coming in, that's fair enough! But if that's not possible I have absolutely no qualms in giving BR another season, people are practically foaming at the mouth and probably refreshing Twitter every two seconds begging and praying that BR get's sacked. You guys are setting yourselves up for a lot of disappointment.

:P
    Jurgen Klopp will be the next Coach of Napoli after Rafa Benitez goes to Real Madrid, claims Franz Beckenbauer.

“Next season Klopp will be training in the South of Italy, at Napoli,” German legend Beckenbauer told Sky Sport Deutschland.

http://www.football-italia.net/67136/beckenbauer-klopp-napoli

Woooooo!

Are we there yet?