Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SSM why are you voting no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭gravehold

This account was never menat to last past today, I am going out no so it will be closed. It's really been fun the debates the laughs. Don't worry I will still be around another name another side of the debates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭ronivek

He knows when he's been rumbled.

But in fairness to the chap, he revealed the intolerant belly of the Irish Liberal beast. :)

If you mean intolerant to intolerance; yes indeed. That describes many of the 'Yes' advocates posting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭NewCorkLad

gravehold wrote: »
    Which side do I want to win in the election

As a "Yes Voting" Muslim Irish Female Transvestite from Turkey who has shown herself/himself to be a bigot, who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭SireOfSeth

newmug wrote: »
    There is such a thing as being equal, but different. I believe marriage is for a man and a woman. You can have same-sex civil partnership. That is equal, but different.

Sit down at the back Rosa, sure aren't you lucky you were let on the bus at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I admire your honesty.

Can I ask (and no, I'm not trying to bait you), is it a case that you dislike gay people?

Or do you believe that gay people in a civil partnership or other union (not marriage) should have the same inheritance/next of kin/tax rights as married straight couples?
    roverrules wrote: »
    They already do with civil partnership
    Wrong!

Think RR is right actually..

http://www.lynchsolicitors.ie/family-law-and-divorce/civil-partnerships/
    What is a Civil Partnership?

A civil partnership is legal recognition of a relationship between same-sex couples in Ireland for the first time.

Announcing the signing of the Bill, Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern described it as “one of the most important pieces of civil rights legislation to be enacted since independence.”

Civil partnership is a different legal union to that of civil marriage. However, civil partners will enjoy most of the same rights and responsibilities of a married couple with virtually all the same statutory rights and obligations being conferred upon the civil partners including maintenance, property, succession, pensions, social welfare and tax.

Comes down to that mythical 160 differences, as to next of kin
    When couples are civil partners – will they be each other’s next of kin?

Equality legislation has been updated in line with laws on civil partnership so hospitals and other service providers must treat civil partners in the same way they treat traditional married couples. Also, in terms of succession -civil partners will rank and have the same entitlements as spouses, followed by children, parents and siblings in that order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Black Menorca

The whole '160 differences' was never properly challenged by the No campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

walshb wrote: »
    Well then stay the fook where you are. Problem solved!
    Céad Míle Fáilte ........ NOT

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Céad Míle Fáilte ........ NOT

Ain't that the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

don't mind them mate.

The irony of Liberal Ireland is how intolerant they are.

I am sure you will have a wonderful time in Ireland. I wish you well. :)

Go build yourself a time machine and return to the Franco's Spain from whence you came.

Are comments like this really necessary?

Does it hurt when you remember that Franco's no longer around? :D

OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Is that it? Dear oh dear.
    I actually just copped that I posted the wrong link. What I meant to post was this link: http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=750283&sort=newest&date_to=&date_from=&query=*%3A*&forum=333

But a few choice gems from the last few days:
    Just got a Mass said for the No camapign.

This is not a Mass for a No result, but rather a Mass for those who were brave enough to stand up and be counted, as they faced the wrath of the Liberal orthodoxy.

Well done one and all. :)
    Why the need to mock people of faith?
    I find it encouraging, the interest in Mass attendance,in these times of decreasing attendances.
    Only God can answer that one.
    Fair play to her. I'll be going to early Mass on Friday and will offer it up for a No vote.
    I might look into using the services of Ashers for an upcoming event I'm planning. They seem to make exceedingly good cakes.

http://www.ashersbakingco.com/buns-traybakes/lis1zcxe5iev3gjfe85pawwfrplls0

It goes on and on... your religious agenda is quite clear, but the following two posts show your fundamental religious garbage knows no end.
    Well I am happy Iona are acting in the best interests of the organisation and the causes they fight for. :)

And my personal favourite (someone hand me a sick-bag)...
    LOL, you're gas.

Maybe ask them directly? I have no problem declaring my contributions to Iona and trust them. If that trust wasn't there, no money would be donated. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

You mean Gravehold wasn't really Gravehold?
    :eek::eek::eek:

People should stop treating anonymous online message boards as if they are some Noble Senate of Enlightenment. What the poster formerly known as Gravehold did is perfectly legitimate for this kind of social media.

Where were you when gravehold was posting... eh? :pac:

Gravehold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Where were you when gravehold was posting... eh? :pac:

AHA! (tears off Stewartgriffin costume and Gravehold jumps out.)

What we need here is Scooby Doo.

I actually just copped that I posted the wrong link. What I meant to post was this link: http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=750283&sort=newest&date_to=&date_from=&query=*%3A*&forum=333

But a few choice gems from the last few days:

It goes on and on... your religious agenda is quite clear, but the following two posts show your fundamental religious garbage knows no end.

And my personal favourite (someone hand me a sick-bag)...

All of which shows what, exactly?

You're doing a good job of counterbalancing it with religious whackjobbery in fairness.
    Got a link for that?

Do try to keep up now.

Goodnight, sweet prince :(

RIP in Pantibars. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Well I have done my bit anyway. I have voted twice already.

Just got my third No vote done. Off to pick up a polling card from a former apartment I lived in and Bob's my uncle for No number four!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Just got my third No vote done. Off to pick up a polling card from a former apartment I lived in and Bob's my uncle for No number four!

Of course you are :)

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Not merely voting to deny your fellow citizens equal rights, but breaking the law in order to do so.

You must be very proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭B17G

15% turnout by lunchtime. Whats the final figure going to be I wonder?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/turnout-across-the-country-averaging-around-15-678331.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Your wasting your time but please go ahead anyway and all the best ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭CaveCanem

B17G wrote: »
    15% turnout by lunchtime. Whats the final figure going to be I wonder?

I think this is looking very good for a Yes, the retired folks who are more likely to vote no would surely have been out in force by now, it's the younger students and working families that would be more likely to wait until evening?

Do try to keep up now.

But where is the whackjobbery? Or are you just being offensive for the heck of it?

B17G wrote: »
    45-ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

What we need here is Scooby Doo.

Mr Scooby Doo is the name of one of my dogs - he's out playing now but I can take a message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

If it is a no the amount of backtracking and crash landing back to earth will be hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

If it is a no the amount of backtracking and crash landing back to earth will be hilarious.

By who?

If its a Yes the amount of closed accounts and rereg's will be hilarious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Not merely voting to deny your fellow citizens equal rights, but breaking the law in order to do so.

You must be very proud.

Obviously little of what has been said over the last 6 weeks has registered with you. Its not about equality its about marriage being redefined.

By who?

The Liberal cosy consensus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

By who?

By the people going on about adoption and surrogacy as gay couples can still avail of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Obviously little of what has been said over the last 6 weeks has registered with you. Its not about equality its about marriage being redefined.

I personally want to go back to when woman were property. Should be a laugh.

It's the Gay Atrium, dammit! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

That sounds scary, what will that entail?

Will it be like the time we redefined voting?

Any affiliation with the Gay Lobby?

Hand in glove.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

It seems to me it's about admitting to a criminal offence. As for the last six weeks: yes, I've heard a lot about marriage allegedly being redefined, but mostly from people who were happy to have it "defined" as discrimination against same-sex couples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

I bet you didn't vote ONCE! Anyway the mods have your personal details.............. i anticipate they may take issue with you promoting illegal activity

If it's a "no", it won't be back-tracking and "crash landing" (whatever that is) for me; it'll be deep shame and another pro in the GTFO of Ireland column for me.

I've heard other threatening to leave if its a No result tomorrow.

Would you not be more determined to stay and fight your cause for future citizens who may share your mindset?

Why walk out on them?

Spook_ie wrote: »

You highlighted the wrong part of the text:
    What is a Civil Partnership?

Civil partnership is a different legal union to that of civil marriage. However, civil partners will enjoy most of the same rights and responsibilities of a married couple with virtually all the same statutory rights and obligations being conferred upon the civil partners including maintenance, property, succession, pensions, social welfare and tax.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

MOD: If you need to unburden your soul, please report yourself to your local garda station for electoral offences. Do not discuss committing criminal offences on boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

MOD: If you need to unburden your soul, please report yourself to your local garda station for electoral offences. Do not discuss committing criminal offences on boards.ie
    still, it'll balance up those coming from abroad to illegally cast their Ballot for a YES vote.

(now, they shouldnt have to do that, but thats another debate!)

still, it'll balance up those coming from abroad to illegally cast their Ballot for a YES vote.

How do you know that the majority coming from abroad are voting Yes?

Are you suggesting it is illegal for Irish people living abroad to return home to vote?

FFS. Every time I think I've read the stupidest thing on this site.

NewCorkLad wrote: »
    How do you know that the majority coming from abroad are voting Yes?
    If the pictures floating around Twitter are anything to go by, they're mainly "yes" voters.

But the vast majority of No voters do not seem to be broadcasting the fact that they are voting no for some reason.