Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A mate was killed today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Gardaí and the Road Safety Authority are urging motorists to take care over the bank holiday weekend, and to keep a particular look out for motorcyclists.
    Five people died on the country's roads over the May bank holiday weekend last year.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0501/698061-rsa-warning/

was reading the above on Friday , and always conscious of motorbikes , as I meet them every Sunday .

May he rest in peace .

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭ourheritage

I would like to offer my sympathy to you his family, and his other friends. It must be a very hard day for you, his other friends, and his family. By what I have read he seemed to be such a great and thoughtful person that gave up his time to help others that were in need. It was such sad way to die with all the wonderful work he'd done for others. I would like to suggest that his name be remembered by having an Aidan Lynam day, that would be for charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Lads of all the times to start a nasty debate this aint it....god knows I love a good cloak and dagger episode but we need to make this about the man that passed away not who or what was at fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Terrible news.

I met Aidan Lynam briefly on a number of occasions doing the TourdeMunster charity cycle a number of years back.
    A gent understates this mans presence.
    My high point of the Tour de Munster was when I was king up to descend the Conor Pass that Aidan said to hold his rear wheel as he would ride down in the motorbike blasting sheep and tourists out of the way. It was exhilarating - but sums the man up. He gave his time to make it better, more enjoyable and easier for others.
    A giant.
    Some loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭ratracer

RIP to that man and sincere condolences to his family and friends. I'd have done some bike marshalling for various local charity groups over the years, the thought of not coming home from a charity spin is beyond belief.

A selfless man by all tributes here, I hope his family take some comfort from all the positive work their son/brother/husband/father/friend did in his short time with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,836 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

just seen it on the news. very sorry to hear this op. rip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭padraigmck

Accident happened 15 minutes from where I live, RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Aidan is the cheery chap at the very start in white T Shirt.....

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭inajock

R.I.P Aidan.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Manitoban

Absolutely tragic, very sorry to you OP and his friends and family who must be beyond devastated.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭The Zec

RIP, a true gentleman in all respects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭Alkers

Does anyone know what happened with the rest of the run? Hearing talk of other bikers joining them on the route tomorrow (if its still going ahead?) which I think is a nice gesture?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Thoughts are with his family and friends
    Here's a link from Irish daily mail
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/dad-of-three-who-helped-raise-more-5631375

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Very sad news indeed. Didn't know him personally but knew of the great work he'd done. R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭cython

ROK ON wrote: »
    Terrible news.

I met Aidan Lynam briefly on a number of occasions doing the TourdeMunster charity cycle a number of years back.
    A gent understates this mans presence.
    My high point of the Tour de Munster was when I was king up to descend the Conor Pass that Aidan said to hold his rear wheel as he would ride down in the motorbike blasting sheep and tourists out of the way. It was exhilarating - but sums the man up. He gave his time to make it better, more enjoyable and easier for others.
    A giant.
    Some loss.

I encountered Aidan via a similar path to this, i.e. a charity cycle. Several years ago (I think 2012), an annual cycle from Maynooth to Galway chose DSI as their charity for the year. Aidan and several other motorcyclists came on board as outriders for the cycle, and did a sterling job in marshalling and keeping a peloton of over 200 cyclists safe on the journey west, and back east again.

However, Aidan being Aidan, this wasn't enough, and he and the other outriders have come back every year since (and each time for a different charity) and given their time and effort both over the course of the main event and on training cycles, to ensure the continued safety of these cyclists and more. The appreciation of their efforts can't be adequately expressed in words, and I can honestly say with certainty that the sense of loss within the Maynooth Students' for Charity community from Aidan's passing is massive - similar to the appreciation, I don't know that words can express how much he will be missed. And this is but one of many organisations that Aidan was a big part of

My deepest sympathies go out to Aidan's family and friends; as irreplaceable as he may be to the various communities he touched, it's obviously another level to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭KTR1C

I've known Aidan through IBF for years. Sound guy, such a shock seeing this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭DJDylan106

Heartfelt condolences to all his family and friends. Never got a chance to meet him but nevertheless, seemed like a true gentleman and a friend to many... May he rest in peace and ride free in heaven. I'm sure he's already trying to help the man upstairs with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

I'm lost for words, totally dumbfounded.

A great friend was killed on his bike today.

NEWS

F*ck. Man I'm lost for words on this one.

He was on a charity run for DSI (Downs Syndrome Ireland), he also lead the Christmas charity run to the womens shelter in Rathmines.

Sorry this is all a little disjointed but my head is all over the place.

RIP Aidan, God bless you, your wife and three beautiful children.

Sorry for your loss OP. From what i have read he seemed like a decent person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Awful news.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

jimd2 wrote: »

Ridiculous generalisation.

Spend a year on a bike and not in the comfort of your car, then get back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

RIP Aidan.....today we lost one of the good guys...

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Mutha

Gutted, RIP Aidan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭metrosity

I'm lost for words, totally dumbfounded.

A great friend was killed on his bike today.

NEWS

F*ck. Man I'm lost for words on this one.

He was on a charity run for DSI (Downs Syndrome Ireland), he also lead the Christmas charity run to the womens shelter in Rathmines.

Sorry this is all a little disjointed but my head is all over the place.

RIP Aidan, God bless you, your wife and three beautiful children.

Sorry to hear it. Regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

My friend was pally with him via cycling and the DS charity work - seems to have been well known throughout the country and exceptionally regarded.
    Seemed a pretty amazing guy.

What an awful awful tragedy and a waste. RIP Aidan. Deepest condolences to his family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sorry for seeming to ignore the thread but I was out with some friends tonight, chatting about Aidan, having the craic sharing memories and more than a few tears were shed.

As soon as I know funeral arrangements I'll post them here of course.

In the meantime, lads regards the car driver & the circumstances ~ please cut out the stupid arguing now, one knows the exact circumstances yet and I'm sure the lady driving the car never set out to be involved in an accident today.. You're engaging in silly talk, its stupid and disrespectful so please drop it.

Regards to you all, take care out there and thanks for the many PM's ~ I'll get around to replying when I've a clear head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,843 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Very sorry to hear of the loss. R.I.P

Was just out on my bike here in Vancouver today and had a few encounters with other road users. Please stay safe everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

Very sad news. May he rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

Very sad news. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

I only heard about this this morning and am in shock. Aidan was a gent, a truely nice guy. I was on the rev up for DI with him when Martin Finnegan was killed, and one of my most memorable rides (for many reasons) was riding with him and several others across from Donegal to go to the Carrickdale hotel to join the convoy bringing Martin home (It may be 7 yrs to the day today) I am truly saddened by this, and the motorbiking world has lost one of the true good guys. RIP Aidan. you will be missed. Makikomi, please post up funeral arrangements as soon as you know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭gipi

Simona1986 wrote: »
    Does anyone know what happened with the rest of the run? Hearing talk of other bikers joining them on the route tomorrow (if its still going ahead?) which I think is a nice gesture?

Simona, I understand that the participants on the run, along with anyone else who wants to jon them will escort Aidan on his journey back to Dublin from Limerick today. Haven't heard any definite details yet, there's a thread on biker which has mentioned 2pm departure from Limerick hospital.

RIP Aidan, one of the best, taken far too soon.