Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A mate was killed today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,930 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

May he rest in peace. Just reading the news stories he will be such a loss to so many. Thoughts are with his wife and kids at such a sad time.

Makes You really question God, if he does exist how can this be explained away, taking such a good man who did so much for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭gbob

KTR1C wrote: »
    I've known Aidan through IBF for years. Sound guy, such a shock seeing this :(

Ashamed to say I never got round to joining the DSI run despite greatly admiring Aidans obvious passion for the cause and have been promising myself every year since the original IBF thread I'd do it . Thankfully there are those like Aidan who selflessly give up their time for such a worthwhile cause. Unfortunately he also gave his life too.

R.I.P. Aidan and condolences to his loved ones on a very sad loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No funeral arrangements yet but Aidan is receiving a Garda escort from Limerick today ~ Leaving Limerick Regional Hospital at 2pm.. There are riders/clubs escorting Aidan to Dublin, and some bikers are leaving Dublin to meet in Portlaoise.. They'll be leaving the Red Cow car park at 1:30 sharp.

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭nerrad1983

Very sad news indeed, rip Aidan

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Makatomi really sorry to hear this - sincere condolences.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Pugzilla banned. In a thread like this anything other than condolences and relevant information will not be tolerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Chloris

This is heartbreaking.

He was 10 years fundraising and made €1.6m for Down Syndrome Ireland.

I truly shed a tear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Dave H

No funeral arrangements yet but Aidan is receiving a Garda escort from Limerick today ~ Leaving Limerick Regional Hospital at 2pm.. There are riders/clubs escorting Aidan to Dublin, and some bikers are leaving Dublin to meet in Portlaoise.. They'll be leaving the Red Cow car park at 1:30 sharp.

Very sorry for your loss mate, a good friend of mine was good friends with him and he's like you since yesterday, heartbroken.
    I just saw on facebook earlier that people are urging others to donate to DSI in his memory. Even in his death he's still raising for the charity, sounds like he'd have wanted it no other way from what my friend tells me about him.
    Rest in peace, my thoughts are with his friends and family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

(from RIP.IE)

LYNAM (Lucan and co-founder of Rev-Up4DSI) May 3rd. 2015 (tragically), Aidan, beloved husband of Nicky and dear father of Jake, Robyn and Harry; Sadly missed by his loving wife, sons, daughter, mother Carmel, father Johnny, brothers Paul and Keith, sister Yvonne, mother-in-law Ada, father-in-law Gerry, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, aunts, uncles, cousins, niece, nephews, relatives, colleagues in Down Syndrome Ireland, motor bikers and his large circle of friends.
    May Aidan rest in peace
    Reposing at Cunningham’s Funeral Home, Lucan on Tuesday afternoon (5th May) from 3pm to 7pm. Removal to St. Mary’s Church, Lucan, on Wednesday morning arriving for Requiem Mass at 10am, followed by burial in Esker Cemetery. House Private. Family flowers only please. Donations if desired to Down Syndrome Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭peter bermingham

Sorry for your loss RIP Aidan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Was coming back home up the N7 and got caught in the escort, never seen anything like it. There was bikers and garda everywhere and loads of people parked up on every flyover. .didn't know what was going on at first but herself found it online. Very sad..condolences to all who knew him...He got a truly monumental last journey home, sounds like an absolute gent, may he rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭emo72

Was on a galway rally at the weekend. So sad to hear this. I really hope his wife and children will be supported. He gave his all supporting others.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭traineeacc

Such a lovely man, been a great neighbour to us. My 3 year old is bike mad as a result of seeing his bike and letting him sit on it and talking to him about it. Life is so cruel and so unkind sometimes, none of us can get our head around it. We will all miss our wake up alarm hearing his bike head off. Why do bad things happen to good people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

These kinds of threads and this kind of news is never easy for our community. I never met the man myself but his reputation and legacy stand for themselves. The outpouring is really staggering. RIP Aidan. Condolences to your many friends and loved ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭dmc17

Well done to all involved. A nice tribute.

https://twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/595286564021862401

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Taken from facebook.
    63bd3H.png

http://www.downsyndrome.ie/

I've just donated now, Receipt number 5208

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Jonny1gixer

Having been involved with bikes I've seen both sides of biking and bikers get a lot of bad press some deserved a lot of it isn't.
    Aiden I never had the pleasure to meet but from the things I have read about the man he sounds like a true gent.

My condolences go to his family and friends A gent like him should never and will never be forgotten RIP Aiden.

Going to donate now so I don't forget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,364 ✭✭✭bladespin

Having been involved with bikes I've seen both sides of biking and bikers get a lot of bad press some deserved a lot of it isn't.

This is news to me, what are you referring to??? :confused:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

I'm lost for words, totally dumbfounded.

A great friend was killed on his bike today.

RIP Aidan, God bless you, your wife and three beautiful children.

R.I.P. Aidan

I think there are many people lost for words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Dexter Bip

ken wrote: »
    Taken from facebook.
    63bd3H.png

http://www.downsyndrome.ie/

I've just donated now, Receipt number 5208

Great idea.

Me too #9432
    Absolutely moved by this. Had no idea about him or the work he did before yesterday. What a loss. Let's make something positive come from this tragedy. Donating is easy and would be a comfort to his family and co-organisers in DSI. Think of it as a condolence message. The price of a pint. Post here once you have donated
    Edit. I donated a fiver. A small sacrifice in the circumstances.

Nodster wrote: »
    (from RIP.IE)

LYNAM (Lucan and co-founder of Rev-Up4DSI) May 3rd. 2015 (tragically), Aidan, beloved husband of Nicky and dear father of Jake, Robyn and Harry; Sadly missed by his loving wife, sons, daughter, mother Carmel, father Johnny, brothers Paul and Keith, sister Yvonne, mother-in-law Ada, father-in-law Gerry, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, aunts, uncles, cousins, niece, nephews, relatives, colleagues in Down Syndrome Ireland, motor bikers and his large circle of friends.
    May Aidan rest in peace
    Reposing at Cunningham’s Funeral Home, Lucan on Tuesday afternoon (5th May) from 3pm to 7pm. Removal to St. Mary’s Church, Lucan, on Wednesday morning arriving for Requiem Mass at 10am, followed by burial in Esker Cemetery. House Private. Family flowers only please. Donations if desired to Down Syndrome Ireland.

Thanks man, I thought I seen your mallet head coming out of the Castleknock Hotel this evening but I was way led and never got the chance to say HI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭ratracer

Done......

Thank you for your 2 Euro donation to Down Syndrome Ireland. SP www.likecharity.com Donation receipt 2739 Helpline 0766805278

I'm a bit concerned by the receipt numbers though, they don't seem to be following any sort of logical sequence.

KTR1C wrote: »
    I've known Aidan through IBF for years. Sound guy, such a shock seeing this :(

Just a reminder, Aidan was the guy selling the Women's refuge patches up at The Summit Pub on the Womens Toy Run last Christmas.

Another charity close to Aidan's heart.. He began that one with Brendan O'Gorman and the run celebrated its 21st anniversary at Christmas.

A short story, legend has it that at one of the womens refuge (its a shelter for the women and children who are victims of domestic abuse) one of the fathers/husbands showed up drunk and looking to beat up his wife and children ~ but fortunately Aidan and Bren were at the door of the shelter and not in much mood for chatting to a violent cowardly bastard of a husband/father.. The father had an awful slip on wet leaves and had to be taken to hospital by ambulance ~ the lads, apparently they never witnessed exactly what happened to him :cool:

Sorry for the constant updates lads, I'm mot post whoring.

If anyone would like to go to the funeral but can't its being streamed live from the church;

LINK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

I never met Aidan, unfortunately, but I know his work well.

I can only add to the condolences offered to his family and friends, and it has also reminded me - like others - to donate again to the DSI charity.

The man lives on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

I posted this on another forum yesterday....

It's not if we met Aidan just the once or twenty years ago, today we all lost a true biking brother. His tireless energy as a "can do" person, no challenge was tough enough for him, a gifted fundraiser he pressed the right buttons, got through to the people at the top and made thing happen. Some of his charitable ideas were totally bizzare, who else could come up with getting #45 Martin Finnegan to set the official slowest lap of Mondello in Father Ted's milk float? Last time I met him was on arriving at this year's RDS Bike Show and the first words uttered was "You all right for a pass Ted?"

A loyal devoted family man who doted on his loving wife and three kids, our condolences go to them tonight and the coming weeks ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Chloris

A short story, legend has it that at one of the womens refuge (its a shelter for the women and children who are victims of domestic abuse) one of the fathers/husbands showed up drunk and looking to beat up his wife and children ~ but fortunately Aidan and Bren were at the door of the shelter and not in much mood for chatting to a violent cowardly bastard of a husband/father.. The father had an awful slip on wet leaves and had to be taken to hospital by ambulance ~ the lads, apparently they never witnessed exactly what happened to him 

That's the best thing I've ever read. "Had an awful slip on wet leaves" HAHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I am not able rightly to convey how much this sucks. Go with God, Magnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭CBRLizzie

I had the honour to know Aidan, I'm completely gutted. My heart is broken for all his close friends, if I'm this upset, I can only imagine how devastated they are. I shaved my head for Crumlin Children's Hospital many years ago, and he helped me out with advice and stuff to raffle. He was a true gent, a hero, the world is most definitely a darker place without him. I always meant to do the DSI run, always saying "next year"...

Rest in Peace Aidan, condolences to his wife and children, family, many, many brothers from different mothers, and all his friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭KTR1C

Plenty of young, middle aged and old men and women biking in Ireland. Gender, age and marital status has nothing to do with it.

If anyone from the forum (Dublin and surrounding) is interested I'll be meeting a couple of mates in the Red Cow car park tomorrow at about 9:30 and heading over to the church in Lucan for the service.