Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Joe Canning had a nightmare today.....and Galway still won easily !

They'll have a right good go at Tipp the next day

I think Galway will be beaten next day. Galway blow hot and cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,958 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

It's clear as day who's actions were worse, yet there seems to be some condoning Rushes actions. Amateur players who have to go to work tomorrow, there's no excuse for doing something that could leave them out of pocket and potentially badly injured. He should be ashamed of himself, and those egging him on ashamed of themselves too.

Should an amateur player be goaded at in the manner than waterford did today?
    or in the manner than a Donegal minor player was subject to?

If you try to wind someone up - you are looking for a reaction, and they got the reaction out of rushe, there is no other reason to shout in someone's face is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Ralligher

If shanahan gives it out he should be man enough to take it, rushe should have been cuter an done it on the QT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭xredmanlfcx

dzer2 wrote: »
    No way would he even get on the panel in kilkenny

Give me a break, if Cork had won today he was a leading candidate for an all star. He may not be the work hard forward that Cody likes but there would surely be a place for him. One of the best hurlers in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Should an amateur player be goaded at in the manner than waterford did today?
    or in the manner than a Donegal minor player was subject to?

If you try to wind someone up - you are looking for a reaction, and they got the reaction out of rushe, there is no other reason to shout in someone's face is there?

Could be vindication for something they did earlier. As I said, Maurice does like fist pumping but I haven't seen him getting up into players faces all that often and you're deluded if you think it was pre conceived targeting of Rushe so I would suggest he was getting enough attention off him earlier in the game.

The bottom line is if someone is jeering get him back by winning the ball, slapping him in the face is cowardly and should not be justified end of really. Also, you say Waterford when it was between two players. Don't forget that.

Amprodude wrote: »
    I think Galway will be beaten next day. Galway blow hot and cold.

This is the question. You can't assume they will re produce today's form but if they do they will run Tipp close.

That said I'd put my house on Tipp or KK to win it outright now (as I would have before today).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

Can't believe there's people condoning Rushe's actions, someone even saying he should have hit him harder and ended his Championship. Disgraceful carry on. He lost the head, gave a filthy swipe and deserved the red card. Simple as that.

Ralligher wrote: »
    If shanahan gives it out he should be man enough to take it, rushe should have been cuter an done it on the QT

Took it fine to my mind. Nothing manly about what Rushe did. If Alan Nolan had gotten up and slapped Bubbles in the face last year would you be singing the same tune?

Could be vindication for something they did earlier. As I said, Maurice does like fist pumping but I haven't seen him getting up into players faces all that often and you're deluded if you think it was pre conceived targeting of Rushe so I would suggest he was getting enough attention off him earlier in the game.

The bottom line is if someone is jeering get him back by winning the ball, slapping him in the face is cowardly and should not be justified end of really. Also, you say Waterford when it was between two players. Don't forget that.

You can't strike a player with the hurley and looking at the replay, the red card was justified.

But in my opinion the "sledging" or trash talking is more of a problem. It is creeping into the game way too much and needs to be stopped. It can't be seen whereas physical blows can, so is so hard to track.

Shanahan is a hero, he was excellent today and I love to watch the way he gets the crowd going. But he was at those antics for a while and was even booked for it a while earlier. We could see from the stand that the off the ball was starting to get out of hand before Rushe hit him.
    Shanahan should have seen a second yellow, regardless of whether Rushe hit him or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Ralligher

Took it fine to my mind. Nothing manly about what Rushe did. If Alan Nolan had gotten up and slapped Bubbles in the face last year would you be singing the same tune?

If ya give it out ya gotta take it... Simples

Can't believe there's people condoning Rushe's actions, someone even saying he should have hit him harder and ended his Championship. Disgraceful carry on. He lost the head, gave a filthy swipe and deserved the red card. Simple as that.

That's not the point. Shanahan was goading him. That's where the problem is. Shanahan was actually pulling Rushe by his hurley towards him and smiling and laughing away the whole time. Yes Rushe lost the head, but there is not only one man to blame here.

Donal Og and King Henry got it wrong on the Sunday game imo. Rushe was not the aggresser.

You can't strike a player with the hurley and looking at the replay, the red card was justified.

But in my opinion the "sledging" or trash talking is more of a problem. It is creeping into the game way too much and needs to be stopped. It can't be seen whereas physical blows can, so is so hard to track.

Shanahan is a hero, he was excellent today and I love to watch the way he gets the crowd going. But he was at those antics for a while and was even booked for it a while earlier. We could see from the stand that the off the ball was starting to get out of hand before Rushe hit him.
    Shanahan should have seen a second yellow, regardless of whether Rushe hit him or not.

I haven't had the opportunity to see it again so maybe he should have gotten a second yellow, don't even remember the first. But what difference would sending him off have made? He'd be back playing the next day anyway and would have missed 10 seconds of play.

It was hardly a one way street now the off the ball, as it's being presented on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,964 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The criticism of Cork's performances both yesterday and today, and how they're limited and not at the races, pains me.

It's tough being from Clare, who lost to them in both codes

Poor and all as Cork were today they were only 4 points behind with ten minutes to go despite having 14 men.

Against Waterford they were within 2 points after 70 minutes.

Its certainly not all doom and gloom but the manner in which the heads dropped in the last ten minutes was disappointing.

JBM made a serious mistake in rejigging the defence today and accommodate Shane O'Neill coming back .
    The whole right hand side of the defence was changed from the last match and Galway had a field day down that side.

Cahalane ,in midfield,was madness,he shouldn't be on the pitch not to mind in midfield.

The half forward line went missing yet again ,Harnedy being the only exception.

Its rare Galway will put two back to back good performances so Tipp will likely beat them the next day.

I haven't had the opportunity to see it again so maybe he should have gotten a second yellow, don't even remember the first. But what difference would sending him off have made? He'd be back playing the next day anyway and would have missed 10 seconds of play.

It was hardly a one way street now the off the ball, as it's being presented on here.

From my position in the stand I wasn't even sure Rushe's blow deserved a red. Couldn't see properly from our angle. So that tells a lot. It was 100% a sending off.

Regards Maurice, it was probably not a one way street off the ball, but Shanahan had been booked (for refusing to let go of the ball I think) a few minutes earlier in an incident with Rushe.

Shanahan being sent off would not have impacted the game no, so makes no difference, but Rushe was sent off at the exact same point in time. It was irrelevant to the outcome of the match, but rules should still be applied.

The first incident before/after the first goal when Rushe i think struck out with hurl - 2 waterford lads were shouting in his face, when ref gave waterford a free.

If you think that that certain players in GAA are not targeted before games then you my friend are deluded. Wasn't so long ago that Darragh Ó Sé said that teams should target Connolly more to get a reaction out of him - is that fair - for an amateur player to be targeted?

0r the Donegal minor player - opposition players knew about his family situation and allegedly abused him - are you saying these thing are all ok?

If you mentally abuse players, one will snap - you said before that it's not the first time that Rushe was sent off - so maybe he was targeted?

From my position in the stand I wasn't even sure Rushe's blow deserved a red. Couldn't see properly from our angle. So that tells a lot. It was 100% a sending off.

Regards Maurice, it was probably not a one way street off the ball, but Shanahan had been booked (for refusing to let go of the ball I think) a few minutes earlier in an incident with Rushe.

Shanahan being sent off would not have impacted the game no, so makes no difference, but Rushe was sent off at the exact same point in time. It was irrelevant to the outcome of the match, but rules should still be applied.

Fair enough but ultimately it's not something we should get too bogged down about.

Just on that incident, I remember it. There was a bit of gamesmanship at that stage, put Rushe slapped his hand a few times with the Hurley at that point. He was getting himself wound up even at that stage. He can only look at himself for that. Not determined to completely destroy his character, but that's the second time he was lashed out violently in three years when his team were beaten. Just because he's annoyed does not give him the right to end somebody else's championship potentially or worse still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Rushe deserved to get sent off, no doubt about that. But I'd be very embarassed with Shanahan's antics if I was a Waterford man.

The first incident before/after the first goal when Rushe i think struck out with hurl - 2 waterford lads were shouting in his face, when ref gave waterford a free.

If you think that that certain players in GAA are not targeted before games then you my friend are deluded. Wasn't so long ago that Darragh Ó Sé said that teams should target Connolly more to get a reaction out of him - is that fair - for an amateur player to be targeted?

0r the Donegal minor player - opposition players knew about his family situation and allegedly abused him - are you saying these thing are all ok?

If you mentally abuse players, one will snap - you said before that it's not the first time that Rushe was sent off - so maybe he was targeted?

I don't think he was targeted. The incidents happened very late in the game. If they wanted him sent off, they would have tried it earlier.

Ah you're talking through your hat now if you weren't already before.

No I don't doubt some players have been targeted before but no way Waterford targeted Rushe. D'you think the fact that he just struck an 18 year old might have been why they got agitated or do you believe that if say Schutte was hit by Coughlan that Conal Keaney wouldn't be in letting him know if he was gonna do wrong by his team mate he'd have him to answer too?

Take that Dublin hat off and have a bit of sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Rushe deserved to get sent off, no doubt about that. But I'd be very embarassed with Shanahan's antics if I was a Waterford man.

Exactly. It's possible to criticise Shanahan seperate to and in no way condoning Rushe's response, which of course was unacceptable.

I don't think embarassed is fair. He is a passionate man, he gets carried away. Most of us agree what he was doing wasn't right, but I don't think it was pre meditated as others suggested, which in my opinion doesn't make it as bad.

Figsy32 wrote: »
    Exactly. It's possible to criticise Shanahan seperate to and in no way condoning Rushe's response, which of course was unacceptable.

Of course. Unfortunately, the consensus here seems to be he deserved if you look back a few pages Figsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

I don't think he was targeted. The incidents happened very late in the game. If they wanted him sent off, they would have tried it earlier.

To look at it as an isolated incident is wrong. Dublin got a free with 3 minutes to go and Shanahan wouldnt give Rushe the ball. The ref did nothing about it. The game was well and truly over and Shanahan was rather unsportman like and in Rushes face. A few minutes later and Shanahan was winding up Rushe in his face again whilst holding his Rushes hurl.

Rushe realising the game was over and possibly having enough of Shanahan at that stage took a swipe at him. Shanahan went down like he was shot from the stands by a sniper.

Rushe was deservedly sent off. You cant do that. But Shanahan whilst he got MOTM, was very unsporting. You cant do that either.

rushe-4.gif

the first incident happen i think just after the first waterford goal - where he struck out and got booked, 2 waterford lads shouting in his face.

The biggest problem in the this game was not him striking out with the hurl, it was the verbal abuse he was getting. It's happening in nearly every game and that is not what you want.

It seems posters on here believe that it is ok, to verbal abuse an amateur player hoping for a reaction, and then when a player reacts that they are 100% guilty and the guys winding him up are saints.

How would you like under age teams players mentally abusing their opponents?

Like i said, the moto Give respect, get Respect has been lost in the GAA in the last 2/3 years.

STB. wrote: »
    To look at it as an isolated incident is wrong. Dublin got a free with 3 minutes to go and Shanahan wouldnt give Rushe the ball. The ref did nothing about it. The game was well and truly over and Shanahan was rather unsportman like and in Rushes face. A few minutes later and Shanahan was winding up Rushe in his face again whilst holding his Rushes hurl.

Rushe realising the game was over and possibly having enough of Shanahan at that stage took a swipe at him. Shanahan went down like he was shot from the stands by a sniper.

Rushe was deservedly sent off. You cant do that. But Shanahan whilst he got MOTM, was very unsporting. You cant do that either.
    the first incident happen i think just after the first waterford goal - where he struck out and got booked, 2 waterford lads shouting in his face.

The biggest problem in the this game was not him striking out with the hurl, it was the verbal abuse he was getting. It's happening in nearly every game and that is not what you want.

It seems posters on here believe that it is ok, to verbal abuse an amateur player hoping for a reaction, and then when a player reacts that they are 100% guilty and the guys winding him up are saints.

How would you like under age teams players mentally abusing their opponents?

Like i said, the moto Give respect, get Respect has been lost in the GAA in the last 2/3 years.

I know lads. I agree. I quote myself :D;) :

Shanahan was goading him. That's where the problem is. Shanahan was actually pulling Rushe by his hurley towards him and smiling and laughing away the whole time. Yes Rushe lost the head, but there is not only one man to blame here.

Donal Og and King Henry got it wrong on the Sunday game imo. Rushe was not the aggresser.

Of course. Unfortunately, the consensus here seems to be he deserved if you look back a few pages Figsy.

I see can why that could be. Some people are of the view that a bad winner is worse than a sore loser.

For some winning is just not enough!

Rushe will look back at and regret it. Shanahan may never learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Rushe realising the game was over and possibly having enough of Shanahan at that stage took a swipe at him. Shanahan went down like he was shot from the stands by a sniper

The first incident you refer to Shanahan held the ball out in his hand and Rushe struck it a number of times.

Earlier in the half he struck out on Bennett and we've seen red cards given for those.

His final strike was outrageous and he should get probably 3 months for it.

Shanahan was on the receiving end of verbals from O'Dywer and Sutcliffe in particular in the first half but didn't react. Not sure you spotted that. Also, anyone who got wound up by him would want to cop on to themselves - he wouldn't be the most cunning of individuals...

hardybuck wrote: »
    The first incident you refer to Shanahan held the ball out in his hand and Rushe struck it a number of times.

Earlier in the half he struck out on Bennett and we've seen red cards given for those.

His final strike was outrageous and he should get probably 3 months for it.

Shanahan was on the receiving end of verbals from O'Dywer and Sutcliffe in particular in the first half but didn't react. Not sure you spotted that. Also, anyone who got wound up by him would want to cop on to themselves - he wouldn't be the most cunning of individuals...

:D:D:D
    Brilliant!!!

No. Shanahan held onto the ball and wouldnt give it back whilst displaying a fine set of teeth to Rushe. The ref did nothing about it. NOt even yardage.

The game was over at that stage.

3 months eh. Get off the stage you wind up merchant.

I see can why that could be. Some people are of the view that a bad winner is worse than a sore loser.

For some winning is just not enough!

Rushe will look back at and regret it. Shanahan may never learn.

Don't buy that. As I have said several times he has already done this. Do you not think given the game was over and they've lost that he could have left it too? I'd have more time for someone that pulled on a player after 20 minutes in a close game and got sent off. At least he has some consequences. What are the consequences for Rushes actions?

Sweet f all that's what. He'll miss two league games or something like that. I reckon if Liam Rushe was Paul Galvin we'd be singing a very different tune here.

I wouldn't be a fan of verbal abuse but think it's pretty farcical that another poster is suggesting the problem was him being wound up despite admitting he had already a pulled a stroke before players actually reacted to him in the incident where he got a yellow card.

Maurice does like roaring but as I said I've not seen him getting up in people's faces at inter county level anyway up to now, it's usually reserved for he crowd. So I think there's more to it than Shanahan thinking he's a hot head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭MfMan

Poor and all as Cork were today they were only 4 points behind with ten minutes to go despite having 14 men.

Against Waterford they were within 2 points after 70 minutes.

Its certainly not all doom and gloom but the manner in which the heads dropped in the last ten minutes was disappointing.

JBM made a serious mistake in rejigging the defence today and accommodate Shane O'Neill coming back .
    The whole right hand side of the defence was changed from the last match and Galway had a field day down that side.

Cahalane ,in midfield,was madness,he shouldn't be on the pitch not to mind in midfield.

The half forward line went missing yet again ,Harnedy being the only exception.

Its rare Galway will put two back to back good performances so Tipp will likely beat them the next day.

They certainly won't put as commanding a performance like that again the next day as Tipp on current form are light years ahead of Cork.

I guess if Galway do somehow manage to pox a win in this year's AI final they will be criticised for not being good enough to win 2-in-a-row without serious improvement. :D

No. Shanahan held onto the ball and wouldnt give it back whilst displaying a fine set of teeth to Rushe. The ref did nothing about it.

The game was over at that stage.

3 months eh. Get off the stage you wind up merchant.

Striking a player with the hurl into the face - my mistake should probably be 2 months as a Category III infraction.

The other two striking incidents we'll overlook.

Striking a player with the hurl into the face - my mistake should probably be 2 months as a Category III infraction.

The other two striking incidents we'll overlook.

Did they not change it from time based to game based bans in the last congress?

You're probably right. And I think 3 months or whatever the equivalent level of sanction is now brings club games into the ban?

Not sure Hardy. Think you were right though, pretty sure it was an automatic 3 months for striking before that.

Just checked. Two games for Cat III. Still working off the old system in my head!

Yeah that's what Brian O Sullivan got. Two league games though, v two championship games. Not exactly equal punishment is it?

Would it not even be two Walsh Cup games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

On a broader point, and forgetting about Rushe for a second, i understand flashes of temper. I wouldn't condone it but i understand it and wouldn't be too harsh on the culprit. Within reason of course.

What i can't abide though is the premeditated cheating in looking for a reaction in players, then hitting the ground like a sack of spuds hoping for a red card to be produced. Its cheating, its cowardly and goes against everything i like about sport.

Yes red card all day for striking a player but i'd always think less of the lad cheating, irrespective of what jersey they might wear.

corny wrote: »
    On a broader point, and forgetting about Rushe for a second, i understand flashes of temper. I wouldn't condone it but i understand it and wouldn't be too harsh on the culprit. Within reason of course.

What i can't abide though is the premeditated cheating in looking for a reaction in players, then hitting the ground like a sack of spuds hoping for a red card to be produced. Its cheating, its cowardly and goes against everything i like about sport.

Yes red card all day for striking a player but i'd always think less of the lad cheating, irrespective of what jersey they might wear.

But you're not suggesting that Shanahan did that!?

Seriously Dublin should be focusing on other issues. They put in a much improved performance and unearthed a few new players this year. After a lot of experimentation with the new management they might have found the right formula today.

But you're not suggesting that Shanahan did that!?

Seriously Dublin should be focusing on other issues. They put in a much improved performance and unearthed a few new players this year. After a lot of experimentation with the new management they might have found the right formula today.

I haven't seen the replay and don't care to tbh. Like i said forget about the Rushe incident, point stands for a huge number of incidents in the GAA.

Not sure Cunninghams stumbling can be classed as experimentation but i agree some of the younger lads got better as the season progressed and the effort from all couldn't be faulted today.

corny wrote: »
    I haven't seen the replay and don't care to tbh. Like i said forget about the Rushe incident, point stands for a huge number of incidents in the GAA.

Not sure Cunninghams stumbling can be classed as experimentation but i agree some of the younger lads got better as the season progressed and the effort from all couldn't be faulted today.

I would argue all day with you on the first point but we'd probably retain our positions. A strike is outlawed and even an attempt to strike is. I'd be more frustrated with lads who can't understand that and let their team down by losing the head.

I would point to the amount of bile that was directed to Derek McGrath in Waterford last year in his first year. The next year it's clicked and all that is forgotten. You might be saying the same in 2017.

I would argue all day with you on the first point but we'd probably retain our positions. A strike is outlawed and even an attempt to strike is. I'd be more frustrated with lads who can't understand that and let their team down by losing the head.

I get the feeling you might.;)
    I would point to the amount of bile that was directed to Derek McGrath in Waterford last year in his first year. The next year it's clicked and all that is forgotten. You might be saying the same in 2017.

You can only go on what you see and nothing i've seen or heard makes me believe that comparison has any relevance. The players have played for themselves the last two games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

The strike from Rushe was unacceptable but it didnt seem to have too much weight behind it. It looked like more of a glancing push with the hurl rather than a strike.

Shanahan went down like he was shot with a tomahawk, that was embarrassing. Is he that soft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Reckon thats why he stayed on the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

First of all thought our lads were absolutely top class yesterday. Magnificent performance all through especially from the forwards. Their link up play and creating of scoring chances was just top class. In fairness the backs and midfield contributed hugely to this aswell as the ball the forwards were getting was top class and cork's sweeper was basically nullified because the deliveries were so good. Obviously all the wides is a bit of worry as tipp's backs won't be as bad as cork's and won't give up all those chances. But to me the 23 wides should be looked upon as a good thing. Shows all the chances we created and gives us something to work on for the next day. To hit 2-28 while hitting say 10 wides would be impressive but to to do with 23 shows how utterly dominant we were from start to finish. Only awarded 3 scoreable frees too, one of which was missed.
    The margin of victory really flattered cork I thought, there should have been closer to 20 points in the difference. Also to do it while Joe's radar was totally off kilter is a big bonus. He'll never be that bad again, to get all the chances he got shows he was doing something right as he wasn't taking on crazy shots or anything but he just had a nightmare with his striking.

Thought Johnny Glynn gave one of the best performances you'd ever see on a hurling pitch. Just brilliant. Scored 1-2, made the 2nd goal and must have caught about 6 puckouts. Not to mention all the tackles he made. For me he was man of the match by a country mile and that's saying something given that Cathal Mannian hit 7 from play. Mannian really revelled in the space out in the half forward line and hopefully he might be able to be the player we've missed for years, a guy who can float around the half forward line and snipe over a few points from range at his ease, sort of like Bubbles does for Tipp.

The backs as I said were excellent too, a few too many fouls but a few of these were a bit soft. Thought Padraig mannian and Daithi Burke stood out back here. So tough and aggressive in attacking the ball and then used it so cleverly. Thought Tannian was a small bit off the pace and I think I'd be having a serious look at putting in Lally for the tipp game. Or else maybe Collins at wing back and pull Daithi across to 6.

Overall a very proud day to be a Galway man but tipp the next day is an entirely different kettle of fish and they certainly won't let us have more than 50 shots at the target so we'll need to be more clinical. I'm confident we have the personnel and the confidence now to give it a serious rattle.

The strike from Rushe was unacceptable but it didnt seem to have too much weight behind it. It looked like more of a glancing push with the hurl rather than a strike.

Shanahan went down like he was shot with a tomahawk, that was embarrassing. Is he that soft?

When watching the analysis after the game yesterday, it was clear that Eddie Brennan wanted to say something but let it go as Lyster ended the link. But tweeted afterwards (which has subsequently been retweeted by Richie Power and Shane Lowry).

No excuse for Liam rush but nothing worse than being beaten & getting verbals from your opponent #sportsmanship
    — Eddie Brennan (@NedzerB13) July 26, 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭buggy beag

I was in at the munster final, stand full terraces wedged and a stadium that holds 55k, had a right laugh when they announced 42 k attendance.

I think it only holds 46000 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

When watching the analysis after the game yesterday, it was clear that Eddie Brennan wanted to say something but let it go as Lyster ended the link. But tweeted afterwards (which has subsequently been retweeted by Richie Power and Shane Lowry).

<B>No excuse for Liam rush but nothing worse than being beaten & getting verbals from your opponent #sportsmanship
    — Eddie Brennan (@NedzerB13) July 26, 2015
    </B>

what would Eddie Brennan know about losing ?? must have been a club game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Very Bored wrote: »
    Incredible sideline cut.

How come the GAA dropped the rule for two points for a sideline cut that they trialled some years ago? Just not enough of them scored?

Said the same thing to a friend at the match. the reply was if I thought a side line cut was worth 2/3 of a goal which is a fair enough point.

I wouldn't tbh, definitely not these days.