Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

randd1 wrote: »
    Most of the childishness came from yourself in fairness, but agreed, lets move on and talk about the real things..

Dublin for me tomorrow, think they look in better shape than Galway. Ger Cunningham for me, going on the league, has looked like he was working on Dublins stick work since he came in, it was one factor of them in the league I was very impressed with. They have a much better defence and midfield than Galway as well, I think theyll take Galway. Then again you never know what Galway will turn up.

Its arguably a bigger game than the Likerick /Clare game last week, the winner will likely make a Leinster Final/AI quarter final, the loser likely to face Clare or one of the two losing semi-finalists in Munster. With so much riding on it, it could see a real hell for leather game, or a game of pure nerves. Hoping for a cracker.

Also, its mental to be sticking it on before the football. Pure stupidity.

Really? Dublin is a football first county. There will probably be a small Dublin crowd in for the hurling but It's better than having all the football fans leaving before the hurling starts IMO. Plus their fans get more time in the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

Really? Dublin is a football first county. There will probably be a small Dublin crowd in for the hurling but It's better than having all the football fans leaving before the hurling starts IMO. Plus their fans get more time in the pub.

I think that football always looks pedestrian when played after a game of hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

blackcard wrote: »
    I think that football always looks pedestrian when played after a game of hurling

I agree, it's just no surprise to me that a football county has the football on second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,108 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Was up at Waterford Vs antrim double header last march left 5 mins into the football it was so slow

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

There'll be very few dubs at the hurling so there'll be no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

citykat wrote: »

Now, now! A large amount won't be there until the football, but a large amount of us will be there for the Hurling. When assessing Dublin attendances in Croke Park, people just look at Hill 16. There are also a lot of Dublin fans around the rest of the stadium, arriving both early and of course late. I'll be there before 2pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tipparetops

looking forward to dublin and galway.
    this game should not be in croke park, it should be in portlaoise. they could have 2 football games in croker for the double header.
    it will be an empty stadium until 4.

This is an important game for both teams, lose this and it will be very hard road back to the final.
    I just about fancy galway, if they can get goals.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

Flukey wrote: »
    Now, now! A large amount won't be there until the football, but a large amount of us will be there for the Hurling. When assessing Dublin attendances in Croke Park, people just look at Hill 16. There are also a lot of Dublin fans around the rest of the stadium, arriving both early and of course late. I'll be there before 2pm.

Back in the 70's before the rise of the Dubs in football, the story was told of Kevin Heffernan bringing the footballers to a league match in Nowlan Park. Heffo was pleasantly surprised at the large attendance as he led his team into the dressing rooms. By the time the team came out for the match however, the preceding Junior B hurling match had ended and the crowd had left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

looking forward to dublin and galway.
    this game should not be in croke park, it should be in portlaoise. they could have 2 football games in croker for the double header.
    it will be an empty stadium until 4.

Putting aside all the Dublin in Croke Park nonsense that the other 31 counties come up with, a county should not be playing in two separate venues on the same day, no matter who they are. For that reason, the two games should be in Croke Park. They could use Portlaoise perhaps, as you suggest, but only if both games were played there. There are a lot of us Dubs that want to see our team play in both games. As for the stadium being empty until 4pm, the Galway fans mustn't be coming then, and all the Longford fans must be arriving late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

Putting aside all the Dublin in Croke Park nonsense that the other 31 counties come up with, a county should not be playing in two separate venues on the same day, no matter who they are. For that reason, the two games should be in Croke Park. They could use Portlaoise perhaps, as you suggest, but only if both games were played there. There are a lot of us Dubs that want to see our team play in both games. As for the stadium being empty until 4pm, the Galway fans mustn't be coming then, and all the Longford fans must be arriving late.

I think Dublin will have a reasonable support for the hurling. There aren't too many other sporting distractions tomorrow so you'd imagine a good few will go to the hurling.

There will be a small crowd from Galway. Galway aren't the best supporters at the best of times and hopes are very low for this year so wouldn't expect too many to travel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tipparetops

i do not want to watch dublin v galway with an empty looking croke park.
    there will be very few longford/galway fans there.

I think it would be great if both games were in portlaoise, spread the money around.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

i do not want to watch dublin v galway with an empty looking croke park.
    there will be very few longford/galway fans there.

I think it would be great if both games were in portlaoise, spread the money around.

As far as the Longford county board are concerned, the money is being spread around. Thats why the game is in Croke Park. No other reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,420 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I think Dublin will have a reasonable support for the hurling. There aren't too many other sporting distractions tomorrow so you'd imagine a good few will go to the hurling.

There will be a small crowd from Galway. Galway aren't the best supporters at the best of times and hopes are very low for this year so wouldn't expect too many to travel.

Would be surprised if there's more than a couple thousand from Galway. Been ages since there's been so little interest in the hurlers from within the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

citykat wrote: »

There will be fewer Galwegians.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Wasn't meant to be disrespectful. There is a good hurling following but it is dwarfed compared to the football. That following won't be enough to dampen the echoes in the stadium.

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭DulchieLaois

Maybe the Galway supporters would rather seeing their Hurlers play in Galway for a change rather than having to travel and who wants to go to Croker when theres a half empty stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Maybe the Galway supporters would rather seeing their Hurlers play in Galway for a change rather than having to travel and who wants to go to Croker when theres a half empty stadium

While I agree that they shouldn't be excluded from the opportunity to host games (another example of provincial council power reigning over common sense and the best interests of the game), Galway fans are useless to travel. I remember in 2005 they brought an estimated 3,000 fans to an All Ireland quarter final. I remember it for two reasons: one was that Michael Lyster tried to excuse it on the grounds the races were on that week, and the other was the the Galway county board announced after they made the final (when suddenly everyone in Galway was a long time loyal supporter sadly deprived of tickets) that anyone with a stub from the quarter final would be entered in a draw to get Hill tickets for the final. Galway probably have the worst hurling fans in the country. Kilkenny not doing too much better I might add. Wexford are probably the best, they turn up in huge numbers regardless of how bad they have been over the past decade and more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Not sure I want to get into who has the best fans but I don't recall a huge Wexford crowd and the Clare qualifier match in 2013, certainly nothing like last year. I think most fans are the same, success brings them out.

Limerick are the exception to this in my mind, have never been at a game where I've thought the Limerick crowd is poor. The lads underneath the scoreboard could be a bit more respectful of the national anthem though.

Not sure I want to get into who has the best fans but I don't recall a huge Wexford crowd and the Clare qualifier match in 2013, certainly nothing like last year. I think most fans are the same, success brings them out.

Limerick are the exception to this in my mind, have never been at a game where I've thought the Limerick crowd is poor. The lads underneath the scoreboard could be a bit more respectful of the national anthem though.

You might be right about Limerick, I don't really see them play very often, but I've always been impressed by Wexford's numbers showing up at Leinster championship games in which I honestly didn't think they had a prayer.

So it seems Cheddar has returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Get on Tipp now while their odds for AI are decent- They are gonna unleash a serious hiding to Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 The growler

Vanolder wrote: »
    Get on Tipp now while their odds for AI are decent- They are gonna unleash a serious hiding to Limerick.

Sure Tipp always have it easy against Limerick. I think the best thing for Tipp is to sleepwalk into this game and expect Limerick to roll over. I can't see that approach backfiring. Tipp by 20+.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Sure Tipp always have it easy against Limerick. I think the best thing for Tipp is to sleepwalk into this game and expect Limerick to roll over. I can't see that approach backfiring. Tipp by 20+.

Tipperary are the premier county and will wipe the floor with Limerick.

Impeccable logic. Limerick are the treaty county and therefore will make peace with tipp

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

that was said in 2013 and 2014 as well and look how that turn out.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

his abit old to be hurling.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

What's going on there at all?

Fireball07 wrote: »
    What's going on there at all?

No idea, would love to hear from someone in the know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Nothing to see here, move along, move along! :D

A west Laois club played two players in a challenge game with their manager's home club in Tipperary last Monday, May 25th. After Cheddar's massive personal and financial input into Laois hurling I guess he felt it was a huge slap in the face and reacted by leaving his role. Some time to cool off coupled with a groundswell of support for Cheddar along with a few meetings to clear the air has paved the way for his return.

Nothing more, nothing less.

Danno wrote: »
    Cheddar's massive... financial input into Laois hurling.

Sorry, what? Did he put his own money into Laois hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,108 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I think laois will have a big summer dis year. They will beat offaly and won't hold any fear in the semi final. I think at home they could beat a Munster team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

PTH2009 wrote: »
    I think laois will have a big summer dis year. They will beat offaly and won't hold any fear in the semi final. I think at home they could beat a Munster team

What's your basis for that?

In NHL 2015, they lost to Limerick, Wexford, Waterford, and Offaly. And the only games they won were against Antrim (twice). Overall they only scored 4-115 and let in a whopping 12-119.

And in the round robin series of the LSHC, they lost to Antrim, and only narrowly beat Carlow and Westmeath.

(And Antrim appear to be very poor this year).

What Munster team could they beat? :confused:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Kerry presumably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I reckon they will rattle off Offaly especially at home. Westmeath will give give Wexford a scare for a while this weekend, but I expect Wexford to prevail eventually, possibly with a bit in hand at the end.

Sorry, what? Did he put his own money into Laois hurling?

AFAIK he put alot of personal finance and personally fundraised for their recent trip to the Algarve. His "expenses" are used to make sure all professional help and top-class catering for the team is delivered.

Hence his reaction, it must have felt like a right kick in the goolies to have his team captain play in that club challenge game.

Danno wrote: »
    AFAIK he put alot of personal finance and personally fundraised for their recent trip to the Algarve. His "expenses" are used to make sure all professional help and top-class catering for the team is delivered.

Hence his reaction, it must have felt like a right kick in the goolies to have his team captain play in that club challenge game.

From the outside, it's hard not to see it that way, the difference he seems to have made is phenomenal, didn't realise it extended beyond just management. An amazing level of disrespect when you consider the state they were in before he stepped in.

Agree with all of your points. He is some all-rounder in fairness and I guarantee if he had better players at his disposal, or was managing a more high-profile county he'd be knocking on the door of All Ireland finals regularly.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 tippsy

Lads forget about it, Tipp are gona win the Liam McCarthy for Noel Mcgrath this year!! Tipperary Abú

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

tippsy wrote: »
    Lads forget about it, Tipp are gona win the Liam McCarthy for Noel Mcgrath this year!! Tipperary Abú

While wishing Noel all the best I have to say you have every right to try win it for him because he was never going to win it for himself.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11 tippsy

While wishing Noel all the best I have to say you have every right to try win it for him because he was never going to win it for himself.:)

We need to stop Shane Downling the next day, or at least stop giving away scoreable frees. He scored something like 2-10 last year in Thurles, mainly frees. Stop him and you stop limerick imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

We need to stop Shane Downling the next day, or at least stop giving away scoreable frees. He scored something like 2-10 last year in Thurles, mainly frees. Stop him and you stop limerick imo

Clare stopped Dowling from open play, but were giving away handy frees.

Dowling played well against Tipp last year, but only scored a goal from play; in fairness to ye, ye kept a decent leash on him. He still set up a good few scores though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Must be a different Noel McGrath that has won an AI medal at minor, U21 and Senior and in the process collected a young hurler of the year and 2 all star awards??

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

Classy as always....

Dowling is not the main threat at all, Mulcahy and Lynch are far more potent threats from open play.

Tipp's tendancy to give away needless 'soft' frees and the fact that 4 or 5 of their first choice defenders have not hurled for 6 weeks or more is a huge concern.

Limerick have home advantage, a game and a win under their belts and as always will have a larger support than Tipp, Tipp are a better team and will IMO go further in the championship, but this game is very tight and it wouldn't suprise me at all if Limerick complete the hat trick against Tipp.

Limerick to beat Tipp.
    And Tipp to play Clare in the qualifiers.
    That would be a great knockout match :D

Limerick to beat Tipp.
    And Tipp to play Clare in the qualifiers.
    That would be a great knockout match :D

The losers of Limerick V Tipp will play a beaten Leinster Semi Finalist.

danganabu wrote: »
    The losers of Limerick V Tipp will play a beaten Leinster Semi Finalist.

Ah ok, I didn't know it was set out that way.

Tipp v KK in the stadium would be tasty!

I wasn't aware of what way the qualifiers were working out this year, so I looked up the draw. Here it is:

Round 1
    Round 1A Clare v Leinster Quarter Finalist
    Round 1A Leinster Quarter Finalist v Leinster Quarter Finalist
    Round 1B Munster Semi Finalist v Leinster Semi Finalist
    Round 1B Leinster Semi Finalist v Munster Semi Finalist

Round 2
    Round 1A winner v Round 1B winner
    Round 1B winner v Round 1A winner

The two Round 2 winners go through to the Quarter Finals to play the losing Leinster and Munster finalists.