Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The BoomBoom Room

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bigronnie9

One thing I'd suggest is to just do mobility during a bit of downtime at home. Like rolling etc in the evening of you're watching tv/listening to music etc. You get into a habit and it just becomes a regular thing without even realising.

Best of luck with the goals for 2016!

Cheers Alf! Havent been on in afew days but definitely going to start leaving the foam roller in the living room :D

Monday 04/01/2016

Warmed up with some jumping jacks etc, gym was freezing so had to layer up on the clothes, even the bars were like grabbing ice! :o

A: Incline Bench Press
    10x20, 10x20, 4x35, 1x45
    6x60, 6x60, 6x60

B: Incline DB Bench
    6x20, 6x20, 6x20

C: Bench Press
    6x60, 5.5x60, 5x60

D1: DB Bench Press
    6x20, 6x20, 5x20
    D2: Situps
    x30, x30, x30

E: Punching Bag
    20seconds on/10seconds off x8

F: Jog
    3.4km in 19 minutes something

Watch was dead so had to go by phone so not very accurate on the time for the jog, found the run tough.

Dropped weight back to 60 on both bench exercises.
    Kept rest to 3mins between sets for A, 2 mins between sets for B, 3 mins between sets for C, and 1 minute between supersets for D.

Concentrated on:
    - making sure my left arm / chest was working as much as my right (had noticed before xmas that my right side was doing the donkey work on lifting the barbell)
    - Slowed down the lowering of the DBs on each rep
    - Consciously tensing my core during reps

As an end result of this/strict rests I couldn't finish out the last reps on C and D, but felt like id done a good session, and even done a good bit of stretching last night before bed. Tonight, Foam Roller time!

Weight yesterday morning: 78.2kg
    Weight this morning: 77.6kg

Tuesday 05/01/2016

Bit of warming up, place was freezing again.

A: Deadlifts
    8x60, 4x80, 2x90
    6x110, 6x110, 6x110

B: Bent Over Row
    6x70, 6x70, 6x70

C: Pull Ups
    4/4, 3/5, 3/5

D: One Arm DB Rows
    8x20, 8x20, 8x20

E1: DB Shrugs
    12x20, 12x20
    E2: Plank
    60seconds, 60seconds

F: Punching Bag
    20 on/10 off x 16

Deadlifts werent comfortable, chest / shoulders / lats (no idea why?!) all felt very stiff after Monday. Trying to keep back straight as possible and concentrate on pulling shoulder blades back. Found this difficult during negative portion of lifts.

Pull Ups....hate them.

Wasnt at home yesterday evening until late, so only foam rolled calves before bed...no greater pain is possible

Weight this morning: 77.2kg

Wednesday 06/01/2016

A: Military Press
    10x20, 10x20, 4x25, 1x30
    6x45, 6x45, 6x45

B: Lat Raises
    6x8, 6x8, 6x8

C: Seated Rear Delt Flys
    6x10, 6x10, 6x10

D: Face Pulls
    8x60, 8x60, 8x60

E: Farmers Walks
    20kg DBs 60seconds on/60 seconds off x3

F: 6 a side 70 mins

Wasnt confident going into the military press but actually felt ok :)

Flys were terrible, stiff across my back/shoulders so struggled here.

Calves threatening to cramp up during ball, need to get them sorted out.

Weight this morning: 76.2kg

Thursday 07/01/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x30, 1x40
    10x52.5, 10x52.5, 10x52.5

B1: Chin Ups
    x7, x6, x5
    B2: Dips
    x8, x8, x7

C1: DB Curls
    8x8, 8x8, 8x8
    C2: Tricep Pushdowns
    8x60, 8x60, 8x60

D: Crunches
    x20, x20, x20

E: Punching Bag
    90 seconds on/30 seconds off x5

Benching felt good suprisingly, i didnt think it would. Struggled badly on chin ups.

Ate enough food for two people yesterday, very enjoyable

Weight this morning: 77.2kg

Friday 08/01/2016

A: Squats
    10x50, 10x50, 4x60, 1x70
    6x90, 6x90, 6x90

B: Leg Press
    6x115, 6x115, 6x115

C: Stiff Legged Deadlifts
    6x70, 6x70, 6x70

D: Lat Raises
    12x5, 12x5, 12x5

E: Rear Delt Flys
    12x8, 12x8, 12x8

F: Circuits
    lots of box jumps / core exercises etc

Was pretty gassed after the squats etc but was after commiting to the circuits beforehand so had to fall in. Your mans an army trainer and from what I can tell loves seeing people exhausted :D first round was 30 seconds on/5 seconds off, second round 25 seconds on/5 seconds off, third round 20seconds on/ 5 seconds off. Cant remember how many stations, all I know is I was a sweaty mess.

Good craic though in fairness, the whole group exercise thing is enjoyable for a change

Saturday 09/01/2016

Have kinda planned on doing a jog Monday/Thursday/Saturday for the ext few weeks and slowly increase the mileage....yesterday my legs were exhausted after friday night....

Decided to go with a bit of broscience and said a jog and a stretch would sort them out.

3.41km in 20:27

And I was lucky to do it in that time, legs were like lead. Hamstring DOMS today are something else :(

OK so fell off the wagon with regards to logging, havent really been online for the last month.

January was a mishmash, done some training but work/birthdays/weddings other random events got in the way so it wasnt 100% consistent.

Will try to increase reps/weight everyweek, and also now doing circuits on fridays and hopefully monday nights as well.

Dropped weights on everything last week to try and solidify form. Looking to stay consistent from now on

Monday 08/02/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x35, 1x45
    6x55, 6x55, 6x55

6x20, 6x20, 6x20

6x52.5, 6x52.5, 6x52.5

D: DB Bench Press
    6x20, 6x20, 6x20

E: Circuits
    5x upper body, 5x lower body, 5x core or whole body exercises
    Set up as Upper, Lower, Upper, Core, Upper, Lower, Core etc

Round 1: 40 seconds on/10 off
    Round 2: 30 seconds on/10 off
    Round 3: 20 seconds on/10 off
    Finish: 16 rounds of 30 seconds, random bodyweight exercises

Weight this morning: 76.5kg

Tuesday 09/02/2016

A: Punching Bag
    2 mins

B: Deadlift
    6x60, 4x70, 2x80, 1x90
    6x97.5, 6x97.5, 6x97.5

C: Bent Over Row (underhand grip)
    6x60, 6x60, 6x60

D: Pull Ups
    3/5 negatives, 2/6 negatives, 8 negatives

E: One Arm DB Rows
    6x20, 6x20, 6x20

F1: Shrugs
    12x20 , 12x20

F2: Ab Pulldowns
    15x60, 15x60

G: Note taking during Hanley's webinar!

H: Eating Pancakes....loads of pancakes

Focusing on trying to keep shoulder blades pulled back during deadlifts so dropped weight.

Weight his morning: 76.6kg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,602 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bigronnie9 wrote: »
    Focusing on trying to keep shoulder blades pulled back during deadlifts so dropped weight.

There's no real need to keep your scaps back in a deadlift. You will always have a severely limited deadlift if you only try and do it that way and not doing it won't be the cause of flexion in your lower back. Concentrate on engaging the lats

cheers Alf!

I've actually video'd myself the last few deadlift sessions and form is grand on the lift, its when lowering the weight back down im losing it abit...recording also made me realise i need to tuck my chin down a small bit more!

Wednesday 10/02/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x25, 1x30
    6x42.5, 6x42.5, 6x42.5

6x8, 6x8, 6x8

C: Rear Delt Raises
    6x8, 6x8, 6x8

8x60, 8x60, 8x60

20kg Dumbbells
    60 seconds on/60 off x3

F: 6 a side

Thursday 11/02/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x30, 1x40
    10x50, 10x50, 10x50

x6, x5, x5
    x6, x5, x6

8x8, 8x8, 8x8

8x60, 8x60, 8x60

Friday 12/02/2016

10x50, 4x60, 2x70
    6x85, 6x85, 6x85

6x115, 6x115, 6x115

C: SLDL
    6x60, 6x60, 6x60

12x5, 12x5, 12x5

E: Rear Delt Raises
    12x5, 12x5, 12x5

Stations were split into 3 smaller 'circuits', upper body, core and lower body
    5 Minutes on each of these.

2 rounds altogether followed by a tabata of jump squats& push ups

Had a late night saturday night so feeling the lack of sleep/proper food over the weekend now, dreading the gym later :o

Monday 15/02/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x35, 1x45
    6x57.5, 6x57.5, 6x57.5

6x20, 6x20, 6x20

6x52.5, 6x52.5, 6x52.5

D: DB Bench Press
    6x20, 6x20, 5x20

E: Circuits
    loads of circuits

Sleeping has gone very bad again, thought i had it to a stage where getting to sleep was ok but i was just waking after 4 maybe 5 hours. Last 2 nights were a return to the not being able to sleep at all even though i was exhausted. May have to take a trip back to the doc, like a zombie today and meant to deadlift after work

Tuesday 16/02/2016

A: Punching bag
    3mins

B: Deadlifts
    6x60, 4x70, 2x80, 1x90
    6x100, 6x100, 6x100

C: BB Bent Over Rows (underhand)
    6x62.5, 6x62.5, 6x62.5

D: Lat Pulldowns
    8x40, 8x40, 8x40

E: One Arm DB Rows
    8x20, 8x20, 8x20

F1: DB Shrugs
    12x20, 12x20
    F2: Ab Pulldowns
    20x60, 20x60

Deadlifts felt good for a change, result :)

Wednesday 17/02/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x25, 1x30
    6x45, 6x45, 4x45

6x5, 6x5, 6x5

C: Rear Delt Raises
    6x8, 6x8, 6x8

10x60, 10x60, 10x60

20kg DBs
    60seconds on/60 seconds off

F: 6 a side

Tried focusing more on lifting MP with my shoulders and not triceps.....and dropped weight on lat raises so I could do them slowly.

Sure enough, some good shoulder DOMS today.

Thursday 18/02/2016

10x20, 10x20, 4x30, 1x40
    10x50, 10x50, 10x50

x6, x6, x6
    x6, x6, x6

9x8, 9x8, 9x8
    9x60, 9x60, 9x60

Some core stuff...

Friday 19/02/2016

10x50, 4x60, 2x70
    6x87.5, 6x87.5, 6x87.5

6x120, 6x120, 6x120

C: SLDL
    6x62.5, 6x62.5, 6x62.5

12x5, 12x5, 12x5

E: Rear Delt Raises
    12x5, 12x5, 12x5

Was away with work yesterday so missed the gym. Havent been sleeping at all lately and google has overtraining down as a possibility.

I wouldnt of considered myself overtraining but going to do some research into it and possibly take the rest of the week off the gym, maybe just go for a jog or two instead

It might not be overtraining....but if you're not sleeping very much then your recovery isn't what it needs to be.

recovery has definitely become an issue, i'm like a zombie in work from lack of sleep and heading to the gym after work then is tough, harder to increase lifts than it should be

Going to lay off the exercise for a week or two, due to get bloods tested and visit the GP over sleep issue so until all thats done ill just do some mobility work instead and maybe some jogging or even just walking

recovery has definitely become an issue, i'm like a zombie in work from lack of sleep and heading to the gym after work then is tough, harder to increase lifts than it should be

Going to lay off the exercise for a week or two, due to get bloods tested and visit the GP over sleep issue so until all thats done ill just do some mobility work instead and maybe some jogging or even just walking

No harm in that.

If you do fancy the gym though, just cut back on the workload so there's less to recover from.

Spending a bit of time doing some mobility work would stand to you as well. Not just in the gym. When I had time to, I used to maybe 90 mins once a week and felt great for it.

Hope all goes well with the doc!

Need to update this before it becomes obsolete :P

Have avoided the weights, done afew circuit classes in the club and even went for afew runs.

Went Tuesday night with lads from the running club, just over 6km at a pace of 4.50 to 4.58 a km..... I managed it but i was rightly fecked afterwards. Was more like a session than a long run so will need to work on that.

Also have started working on Pull Ups and Push Ups the odd day, following Hanleys "How to do more chin ups/pull ups" guide and one of those 100 Push Ups apps

Am finding getting to sleep abit easier but still waking after afew hours, have made inquiries to a sleep clinic so must see if im eligible

Back at the gym.

Tested Maxes on Saturday, made sure form was good by videoing myself, weights were abit disappointing but sure they can only get better.

Squat: 100kg (form dropped off slightly for 105 so ill use 100)
    Bench: 70kg (form was good, just felt like an age for the bar to get to lockout)
    Deadlift: 120kg (felt good, very slight rounding of the back so I didnt go any heavier)

Monday 02/05/2016

warmed up with various weights for squat

A: Squat
    70x8, 70x8, 70x8, 70x8, 70x8

B: Paused Squats
    50x8, 50x8, 50x8, 50x8, 50x8

C: Front Squats
    40x8, 45x8, 45x8, 45x8, 45x8

Three rounds of:
    D1: Split Squats x6
    D2: Step Ups onto Bench x12
    D3: Reverse Lunges x25

Felt good to be back in the gym, even if I was a sweaty mess after the first few sets!
    DOMS today.....not nice

Tuesday 03/05/2016

A: Bench
    50x8, 50x8, 50x8, 50x8, 50x8

B: CGBP
    35x8, 35x8, 35x8, 35x8, 35x8

C: Incline Bench
    35x8, 35x8, 35x8, 35x8, 35x7

3 rounds of:
    D1: Chin Ups x6
    D2: Barbell Rows 30x12
    D3: DB Rev Flys 2.5x25

Leg DOMS got steadily worse yesterday and are now out of control. Done some stretching last night, will need to do alot more tonight!

You did ask for it with all that leg volume :D

aw man the toilet seat has become an enemy!

Wednesday 4/5/2016

Stretching

5 a side 60 mins......not the most energetic performance given the leg DOMS situation!

More stretching

Thursday 5/5/2016

Mobility Circuit x3

A: Deadlifts
    82.5 x8, 82.5x8, 82.5x8, 82.5x8, 82.5x8

B: Rack Pulls
    60x8, 60x8, 60x8, 60x8, 60x8

C: Stiff Leg Deadlifts
    60x8, 60x8, 60x8, 60x8, 60x8

D1: Lying Leg Curls
    10x12
    D2: Weighted Situps
    5x12

Was late arriving so had to vacate the gym at this point to allow an underage team to use the place.

Finished the Weigthed situps at home, 3 more sets of 12

Couldnt do the last 3 sets of leg curls at home.....but with the leg DOMS I was more than happy to skip them!

Saturday 7/5/2016

Mobility circuit x3

A1: Push ups (x8)
    A2: Squats (60kg x10)
    5 and a half rounds

B1: Bent Over Row(50kg x10)
    B2: Military Press (20kg x8)
    6 rounds

C1: Deadlifts (85kg x2)
    C2: DB Flys (8kg x15)
    5 rounds

Sunday 08/05/2016
    mobility circuit x3

Had stuff on over the weekend so diet and sleep were extremely poor.

Hamstrings are still in bits, dreading tonights squat session :eek:

Monday 09/05/2016

A: Squat
    75x6, 75x6, 75x6, 75x6, 75x9

B: Paused Squat
    52.5x8, 52.5x8, 52.5x8, 52.5x8, 52.5x8

C: Front Squat
    47.5x8, 47.5x8, 47.5x8, 47.5x8, 47.5x8

D1: Split Squats x6
    D2: Step Ups x12
    D3: Reverse Lunges x25
    3 rounds

Tough, but not as bad mentally as last week.