Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How College Football Works?

• 05-05-2015 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭

Ok so I'm new to Boards so my apologies if this topic comes up often or has only recently come up. I'm a pretty casual NFL fan, I don't follow it religiously but I do enjoy the game, I love the NFL playoffs and I have a good understanding of how the professional season is structured.

But College football remains pretty much a mystery to me, so I'll cut to the chase and ask a few questions because I'm very curious about it.

1. How do College teams pick their players, presumably it's from high schools teams but is there a draft similar to NFL? do they offer scholarships to the better players? or do players just decide to go to the bigger colleges themselves?

2. Is it very popular in America? I only ask because some of the stadiums look enormous.

3. Are all the players amateur or would there be a certain amount of under the counter payments going on?

4. How many divisions are there and when does the season start and finish?

5. How do players enter the draft, have they to declare themselves? does their team declare them? or does it automatically happen after a certain amount of time?

6. Finally and most importantly, how on earth does the season actually work? I have no idea how they choose the playoff teams (assuming there are playoffs), also what's with all the Bowl games? and do they crown a national champion?

Comments

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522