Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Loungers who Toga! Toga! Toga!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

The ones I'm wearing are Sony, and I love them, but I have always rated Sennheiser for both headphones and in ear.

For the over ear ones, you may have issues finding really good ones that have a mic. You'd nearly be going into specialist like pilot headsets.

For your current Bose in ears, have you looked at sourcing just the ear bud? I do love ones like that, but as you said, they have to be the right size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

The ones I'm wearing are Sony, and I love them, but I have always rated Sennheiser for both headphones and in ear.

For the over ear ones, you may have issues finding really good ones that have a mic. You'd nearly be going into specialist like pilot headsets.

For your current Bose in ears, have you looked at sourcing just the ear bud? I do love ones like that, but as you said, they have to be the right size.

Yeah, I've looked for the buds. The headphones are 9 years old though. They owe me nothing.

The in-line mic on them has been fab so far for college. There's a Sony pair I'm eyeing up that have a mic on them.

I suppose when you do get as long out of them as you have, you can't ask for much more really.

Hopefully you can find ones to suit! It can be such a hassle. I only have the ones I have now as I killed a previous pair of Sennheiser HD205's on a flight to the states (I stood up and broke the jack on the end of the cable, which was plugged into the armrest) and replaced them in O'Hare. Nearly got booted off my connecting flight because of it (they were looking for me, and I was in no mans land between terminals)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,176 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Finished in just under 5 hours. Hard work but tis done now :)

Fair play RK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

11am and already done with today. 7 hours to go. I want my bed. :(

Hugs! Not long until lunchtime, and then the day is nearly over. And then the hardest day of the week is over! You'll get there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I also want my bed. And food. Send food.

After Galway there was not enough food on this planet. I ate for a full week. Multiple meals a day. I didn't care about calories. Just wanted all the food. I had put out about 13k calories over the weekend so I had some catching up to do!

It's "only" 3,500 ish for running a marathon at my weight, but still... today is rungry day because I couldn't face that much yesterday. Korean burger in Byron with sweet potato fries was awesome afterwards though.

Lol. I love the "only". It's amazing what we convince ourselves of sometimes!

Were hubby and baby there at the finish line to meet you?

Yep, at mile 25 and then came around to the finish.

Apparently my son absolutely bawled when I ran off to do the last 2k-ish to the finish because he thought mummy was done at that stage and he was going to be getting boob then rather than having to wait :(

My dad decided to install a plug socket at the top of the stairs today. He's not as manoeuvrable as he once was, so I got ordered to play monkey and squeeze my way around the attic, and dig under the 12 inches of insulation to feed cables.

I managed it, but it was unpleasant. I have spiderwebs in my hair, and a bruise on the pad of my little finger that I can't figure out. I see a shower in my very near future.

Eventually he'll remember to finish the job too and connect it to the electricity. Probably when he plugs something in there and it doesn't work.

(He used to be a plumber, and worked for the ESB for a while too. He knows what he's doing, or rather he's convinced us he knows what he's doing)

My boyfriend has no time for a boss at work lately who he used to think was grand. Asked him why last night because it was really bugging him. He said she was being a bit of a btich, but wouldn't elaborate. Eventually got out of him that she saw us together in town a while ago (I knew that cause she'd texted to say she'd waved but he didn't see her). Anyway the next day at work she said it to him again and added, "I never pictured you with a girl like that." When asked her what she meant she said, "oh nothing, never mind" and wouldn't say.

Doesn't feel like a compliment. :(

Did I kill the thread? :pac:

Happy bank holiday weekend all! :D

I'm meeting the boyfriend's mother in a bit :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    I'm meeting the boyfriend's mother in a bit :eek:

Good luck!

So I did an experiment for the month of April and I tracked almost every single expense for the full month and it's shocking just how much I spend!

I spent more than I made and I don't have any real expenses like rent or any of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Good luck!

So I did an experiment for the month of April and I tracked almost every single expense for the full month and it's shocking just how much I spend!

I spent more than I made and I don't have any real expenses like rent or any of that.

Hmmm I must really do that. I'm not making ends meet, and I should really be able to right now. Can't see where the money goes!

I'm reviewing mine now. I had an unexpected €90 come in so I put that all in to savings and my loan. Then I had to go to the doctor and get a prescription a week later so that cancelled out the €90.

Eating out and protein bars are killing me. The challenge for this month is to be smarter with my shopping and not eat out so much!

I'm reviewing mine now. I had an unexpected €90 come in so I put that all in to savings and my loan. Then I had to go to the doctor and get a prescription a week later so that cancelled out the €90.

Eating out and protein bars are killing me. The challenge for this month is to be smarter with my shopping and not eat out so much!

Know anyone who can access a wholesaler? I buy my protein bars in bulk there - they work out about €1.50 each (the fulfil ones)

sullivlo wrote: »
    Know anyone who can access a wholesaler? I buy my protein bars in bulk there - they work out about €1.50 each (the fulfil ones)

Yes actually! My mam works in a pub so they do be in Musgraves a lot. I'll ask them to look out for me. Thanks!

Well May has gotten off to a good start. A 10 week casual coaching job I'm doing gave me half of the payment today. I thought it would be one lump sum in June!

They have kinetica ones too, and some of the protein nature valley bars too. Oh and if clif bars are your thing they have them too. I'm semi addicted to the caramel and cookie dough fulfills though.

They're my favourite too! It used to be the cookies and cream but you can't eat them outside the house unless you have a toothbrush on hand. I'm trying to wean off the fulfil bars. I was actually craving them twice a day!

I found one in my bed yesterday morning.

Guess what I had for breakfast :pac:

You're both making me think I should be investigating next time I am in Musgraves. Stop that :pac:

Protein bars. Nature valley sweet n salty bars. Jellies. All in the same beautiful aisle.

I was going to put my fingers in my ears and go "I'm not listening lalalalala" until I remembered I'm reading... And I'm not putting my fingers in my eyes.

My friend died yesterday. I've just come from a discussion about her funeral. Planning etc.

She is being buried in her wonder woman onesie. Quite possibly the most apt outfit for her.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I am on holiday on killarney and have done something to my right knee which means it is twice the size of my left and cannot bend.

Waiting to go to the doctor

Stheno wrote: »
    I am on holiday on killarney and have done something to my right knee which means it is twice the size of my left and cannot bend.

Waiting to go to the doctor

Ouch. Mind yourself!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ouch. Mind yourself!

Cruciate rupture according to the doc :( felt it go pop (the knee) when I was sailing almost two weeks ago and it's just gotten worse since.

Gave the doc the history and before he even examined it he said cruciate, he was even more convinced after the exam :(

Sorry about your friend, sounds like you guys are planning a true tribute to her though.

Stheno wrote: »
    Cruciate rupture according to the doc :( felt it go pop (the knee) when I was sailing almost two weeks ago and it's just gotten worse since.

Gave the doc the history and before he even examined it he said cruciate, he was even more convinced after the exam :(

Sorry about your friend, sounds like you guys are planning a true tribute to her though.

Nuts, that's crap. Hope he gave you lots of good pain meds. Have you to follow up anywhere?

I'm not able to sleep. I have been awake since 3.30. I have a song stuck in my head and I can only hear snippets of the tune and random words, so I can't google it or Shazam it. I'm at the desperation stage. I had it on a mixed CD that I used to have in the car, so I dug out my old hard drive and checked every artist on it to see whether anything stood out and searched the potentials on Spotify.

No luck.

Back to the drawing board.

I HATE when that happens :(

It can drive you mad, and there are only two ways of dealing with it, forget it or pass it on (which requires knowing what it is).

That's horrible news about the knee, Stheno!

I HATE when that happens :(

It can drive you mad, and there are only two ways of dealing with it, forget it or pass it on (which requires knowing what it is).

That's horrible news about the knee, Stheno!

I went for option two. Kinda.

I thought it was the waterboys but it wasn't on any of their albums or anything they were on. So I widened my search to include other Irish bands.

I was telling my mum about it this morning about how I couldn't sleep and I had the song stuck in my head and then out of nowhere I shouted "Sharon Shannon" and mum searched and we got it.

Unfortunately that didn't give me back the 3 hours of my lost sleep :(

Unfortuunately that's the problem with these things, but at least you'll sleep well tonight!

Nuts, that's crap. Hope he gave you lots of good pain meds. Have you to follow up anywhere?

Hopefully getting an mri tomorrow.

Went to my own doctor today who upon seeing the swelling went "oh my"

It's the weekend. The only day of the week that I can have a lie in. (I was up early yesterday to cycle).

I have been awake since 6. Can't sleep. Dreading this week ahead.

I'm agony after the cycle too. It was advertised as 60km. We did 97.

Late for work - great fecking start to the week. :rolleyes:

I'm very sorry to hear about your friend, Sullivlo.

Had a fitness assessment last week, that was essentially telling me I'm fitter than I look and stronger than I think. That's good. The trainer demonstrated a number of weight exercises to build up my legs as part of my training, including calf raises (you're lifting a weighted sled using just your calves)

I was warned that the exercise messes with your legs afterwards.

I did my first training session of them yesterday. Today standing and walking were... eh... fun (she says in a masochistic tone)

Also, there may be an opening for someone to shout motivational slogans at me as I train. Any takers?

Had a fitness assessment last week, that was essentially telling me I'm fitter than I look and stronger than I think. That's good. The trainer demonstrated a number of weight exercises to build up my legs as part of my training, including calf raises (you're lifting a weighted sled using just your calves)

I was warned that the exercise messes with your legs afterwards.

I did my first training session of them yesterday. Today standing and walking were... eh... fun (she says in a masochistic tone)

Also, there may be an opening for someone to shout motivational slogans at me as I train. Any takers?

I did a TRX class once, and avoided using the toilet for about three days afterwards due to the DOMS.

Are you feeling that way?

If so I can scream at you as I did to myself.

It went along the lines of "wtf were you thinking, now get up and move you imbecile, you chose to do this"

It probably is a bit of DOMS. I can manage it, but it's certainly a reminder that I pushed myself.

There is the motivation in telling myself too that I paid for this gym membership, so I'm to get value for it. Hopefully that will get me through tomorrow, with a cardio, core and leg press routine to get through. After that I can soak in the pool for a while.

It probably is a bit of DOMS. I can manage it, but it's certainly a reminder that I pushed myself.

There is the motivation in telling myself too that I paid for this gym membership, so I'm to get value for it. Hopefully that will get me through tomorrow, with a cardio, core and leg press routine to get through. After that I can soak in the pool for a while.

After the TRX I literally could not squat for three days.

Add the sauna in tomorrow.

The sauna may be a good idea. It's been a bit odd the past couple of days since they did work to it, not getting up to temperature, but hopefully they've sorted it by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Oh god the DOMs the first time I did spinning! I literally (yes I mean that in the literal sense!) couldn't climb the stairs. Had to sit and shuffle my way up!

I'm not sure if the DOMS is better or worse today! I can only hope today's workout beats it into submission!

Wait till tomorrow..doms are always worse 2 days after the session!
    last 2 PT sessions this week and then its all down to me....agh

Yes. Two day DOMs are the worst. I'd play a match on a Sunday and be okay-ish on a Monday, but come Tuesday I couldn't lift my head off the pillow without huge effort.

And I too fell victim to a TRX class that resulted in me having to walk backwards down the stairs in work. Never again.

Today is day 2! I'll try and look at the positives and go by your thoughts that it gets better from here. The worst is over and all that!

Saw the trainer who designed my program at reception today, and proceeded to call her every name under the sun for what she did to me. Then I acknowledged that she did warn me it would happen, and got on with the days tasks.

Got through core (I'm slowly doing better) and cardio (ouch - I part collapsed, part lay down for a couple of minutes afterwards) before moving on to the weight routine for the day.

Leg presses yay! Warm up sets of 40 and 60kg, 3 sets at 90kg, and I was feeling good, so brought it to 110kg for the final 3 sets - essentially pressing my own weight.

Pool time allowed me to focus on relaxed movement, before heading to the sauna. It's still broken :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Chris Cornell :(

Just did my first 5k. I'm not a runner and my plans to train weren't successful, so I walked it. Did it in less than an hour so I'm unfit, but not as badly as I thought. Overtaken by people running the 10k version of the race but sure look. :pac: