Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is Great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

It's def not way ahead of anywhere else in the world but I get what you're saying.

It may rain a lot but we don't have horrible extremes of weather where we're snowed in or can barely walk outside because it's too hot.
    We're not prone to natural disasters like earthquakes, tornadoes etc.
    We don't have highly dangerous animals roaming around like poisonous spiders/snakes.
    The people are generally a very warm, friendly, kind bunch and are well known for it worldwide.
    We have beaches and mountains all within a short drive from wherever we live.

Could be a lot worse in fairness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Free Hat

BMJD wrote: »
    I want a free hat

Free Hat with every 100 thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Portlaoise Hospital

Catholic Church

Corrupt Politicians

Hepatitis C

Symphysiotomy

Babies being killed in Public Hospitals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

scdublin wrote: »
    We don't have highly dangerous animals roaming around like poisonous spiders/snakes.

According to last week's LiveLine there are anything from 30,000 - 1 million wild deer decimating the Irish countryside and causing car accidents

Unequal Society (despite what the blueshirts say)

Mother and baby homes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Complimentary headgear

I wont continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Moaners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Free Hat wrote: »
    People complain about Ireland relentlessly, which is natural, people of every nationality complain about their own country but actually, its a fantastic place to live and work.

It's not perfect but when you add everything up, I think its way ahead of anywhere else in the world.

Looking forward to coming home next month.

You've been everywhere else in the world then? Inteesting that you don;t actually put forward a single good thing about Ireland that is actually better than everywhee else.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

vicwatson wrote: »
    I wont continue

You can if you do it in the one post. Jaysus.

You've been everywhere else in the world then? Inteesting that you don;t actually put forward a single good thing about Ireland that is actually better than everywhee else.

I did, "Craic"! Which is really just about the people. I think Irish people have a great way about them.

I haven't been everywhere else but I don't plan on publishing a paper based on the findings of this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,429 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭jjC123

No such thing as 'the best country in the world' . Pure bollocks concept.
    Ireland's great. Good people, interesting history and culture, beautiful landscape, relatively good social welfare system/ standard of living. It also has a rotten climate, traditional food isn't great and the architecture in the majority of towns is horrible.
    Pro's and cons like every single country on the planet.

As a side note, can I point out, that we don't have a monopoly on 'craic'. Like, the word is ours but the concept is kind of universal. Go to a Brazilian block party or a German beer festival and tell me they're not having the craic too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I did, "Craic"! Which is really just about the people. I think Irish people have a great way about them.

I haven't been everywhere else but I don't plan on publishing a paper based on the findings of this thread!

Then don't say "everywhere else"!!

I've lived in Paris, Birmingham, Copenhagen, Stockholm and Berlin. I've always managed to find good "craic" as you put it in a far wider variety of nightlife in all of them. Okay, maybe not Birmingham. Also, I can stay out as long as I like and get a bus home at the end of it.

Sorry to burst the bubble, but Ireland really is nothing sepcial when it comes to "craic".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ireland is indeed Great.
    However, the cocks running it, the PR, spin, and advertising fucks, plus the lickspittle media are the ones that would turn it into a ball of shite if they had their way.

Then don't say "everywhere else"!!

I've lived in Paris, Birmingham, Copenhagen, Stockholm and Berlin. I've always managed to find good "craic" as you put it in a far wider variety of nightlife in all of them. Okay, maybe not Birmingham. Also, I can stay out as long as I like and get a bus home at the end of it.

Sorry to burst the bubble, but Ireland really is nothing sepcial when it comes to "craic".

The fact you think you were having "craic" in these places makes me think you've never had any real "craic" before.

I look outside and disagree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

The fact you think you were having "craic" in these places makes me think you've never had any real "craic" before.

im going to get sick.
    it's literally my biggest peeve is the use of the word "craic".

you must be a bogger are u?

im going to get sick.
    it's literally my biggest peeve is the use of the word "craic".

you must be a bogger are u?

Damn straigt.

Ta for the compliment! :D

So if someone critcises Ireland then the problem MUST be with them, as the country is beyond reproach? No where else on the planet is capable of having a good night out?

Kinda rose-tinted spectacles there, my friend.

No, I'd guess I'm just a guy who's lived and travelled and expereinced more life than someone who thinks the world stops when the ocean begins.

Ta for the compliment! :D

So if someone critcises Ireland then the problem MUST be with them, as the country is beyond reproach?

I think if you read through the thread, you'll see it's not overly serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ireland is great. Irish people are class. People are too hard on themselves.
    Ah dear. Travelling and living are two separate things, chum and you did say "visit". I don't say I'm visiting Spain while I'm settled down living, working and paying taxes in Spain :confused:. I'm...living here.

You live in Spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Ireland is a great place..If we had good weather it would be the cherry on the cake.

But alas...

I think if you read through the thread, you'll see it's not overly serious.

You'd be surprised how hard it is to tell sometimes around here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

If I was young and had zero responsibilities I wouldn't spend another minute in this kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

It really doesnt take a lot to keep us lot happy in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Panda_Turtle

Ireland has too many fields. It needs to plant alot of trees and get some forests back. Place used to be fully covered in forests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

According to last week's LiveLine there are anything from 30,000 - 1 million wild deer decimating the Irish countryside and causing car accidents

They really narrowed that down!

Newsflash: visiting a country for a pleasant, leisurely holiday of eating, drinking and sight-seeing with not a care in the world is not actually experiencing life in a country. Seems ridiculous I even have to point that out but hey ho.
    Travels includes living in places.
    Seems ridiculous I even have to point that out but hey ho.

Pssssssst, Honey Monster, you got a paddlin, tiptoe away, don't draw attention to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

If I was young and had zero responsibilities I wouldn't spend another minute in this kip.

Perhaps a career change may be beneficial?