Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Country funeral... what do I wear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

lachin wrote: »
    This op is painfully senseless..... It's like Dublin is a country within itself and the rest of the country is some backwards Neanderthal region.

Please, I did not denigrate anyone.

I just wanted to be respectful in accordance with Regional traditions!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Sorry, but no one EVER says "up the country". Strange that, now that you mention it!

I knew it, there is a secret code!

What is the code in the NW so?

Up der in "insert county name"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

People at funerals are going to be distracted by grief. So long as you don't dress disrespectfully and are there to support those in grief what you were is secondary to how you behave.

Sorry again Op.

Just be kind understanding and supportive.

Dress respectfully that's more or less it.

Axwell wrote: »
    Exactly..its clearly Dublin that is the Neanderthal region :pac:

I think you are jealous of our sophistication, and in my case a caring attitude to the traditions of my country cousins. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

When I die, I do not want an open coffin. Except for immediate family, the rest IMO are just nosey feckers.

I would hate anyone to say "she looks gorgeous" How can you look gorgeous when you are dead, it is vile the way people look at the body and pass comment.

Local funeral here the last day and one of my mates commented that "there was no loss on yer man in the coffin "!
    Keep your ears open for good one liners like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

A mini skirt and a pair of red hooker boots would be grand.

Axwell wrote: »
    Up der in "insert county name"

Cannot agree, sorry.

It is either "down the country", or Dublin.

Yikes, I will await the cowpats now!

Bullocks wrote: »
    Local funeral here the last day and one of my mates commented that "there was no loss on yer man in the coffin "!
    Keep your ears open for good one liners like that

Well, you know that kind of thing is what I am looking forward to. You know, the country way of saying things and all that.

I have not been to a country funeral before, so it will be an experience, with the 24 hour wake and all..

Although grief is the same the world over. And I will not be disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,492 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You would swear its a muslim country your going to!

Just turn your head a few degrees sideways and nod if you don't understand the language :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

You would swear its a muslim country your going to!

Just turn your head a few degrees sideways and nod if you don't understand the language :D

LOL.

But really, things are done a bit differently "down the country" than in a godforsaken place like Dublin.

I just want to hear what the differences are, and do the right thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Well, you know that kind of thing is what I am looking forward to. You know, the country way of saying things and all that.

I have not been to a country funeral before, so it will be an experience, with the 24 hour wake and all..

Although grief is the same the world over. And I will not be disrespectful.

I wouldn't worry about being disrespectful, in my experience of wakes the mood is generally light enough (unless it's a young person or someone leaving a young family in which case I wouldn't hang around for a 24 hr wake )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Wear a warm jacket! Cold at graveyard and especially if ya walk from church!! Im sure ya won't be at the wake the whole night! Be just like a regular funeral!!! Is north west bit sligo area? Someone said clare - that's south west? No?

Don't forget your Passport. Not sure if you need a Visa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭q2ice

Cannot agree, sorry.

It is either "down the country", or Dublin.

Yikes, I will await the cowpats now!

That would be correct if Dublin were the most northerly point in the country. Which it is not by any stretch of the imagination.

You are going up the country (unless you plan to go to the north west of the country by the southerly route - south over the poles)

q2ice wrote: »
    That would be correct if Dublin were the most northerly point in the country. Which it is not by any stretch of the imagination.

You are going up the country (unless you plan to go to the north west of the country by the southerly route - south over the poles)

Well excuse me now!

My next door neighbour is from Cavan. And she always says "we are going down the country to see the Mam and Dad!

Unless she is lying about where she is from :confused:

"Down the country" is a euphemism for anywhere outside the Pale I think!

Unless someone is specific about the county, ie, say Cork then it's "down to Cork"

Jayzz I'm even confusing myself now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 autumnrain

If you're going to the graveyard have a long warm cost and wear flat boots or something. Colours irrelevant. You might have to walk a bit after the hearse to get there and I've destroyed nice shoes clambering across muddy graveyards.
    It's nice you're thinking about what's best - but honestly, people will remember that you showed up not what you wear (unless it is a madly revealing gÃ႒ºna!).

q2ice wrote: »

LOL.

You are of course correct.

But in fairness, I have NEVER heard anyone saying they were going "up the country" for the weekend.

"Down the country" is so kind of normal speak, no matter where in the country that is!

autumnrain wrote: »
    If you're going to the graveyard have a long warm cost and wear flat boots or something. Colours irrelevant. You might have to walk a bit after the hearse to get there and I've destroyed nice shoes clambering across muddy graveyards.
    It's nice you're thinking about what's best - but honestly, people will remember that you showed up not what you wear (unless it is a madly revealing gÃ႒ºna!).

Thank you.

That is the advice I am looking for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Can't imagine there being any difference between a city funeral and a country funeral in terms of what the prevailing attire is? Would have thought you'd always wear just black.

That's where you'd be wrong. Only the chief mourners will wear large amounts of black. And some may even wear dark clothes for the entire year like my cousins did when their aunt (other side of the family) died. Even at weddings they dressed in mourning attire. The country can be very different.

If you wear black without breaking it up with another colour you're basically saying this person is an immediate family member and a deep personal loss. No real offense caused because the grievers probably wouldn't notice but everyone will be shaking your hand and saying "sorry for your loss"... awkward if you don't know the deceased.

I once went to a funeral in the UK wearing a dark but not quite black suit.. was very embarrassing because I stood out in a sea of black suits/ties. If you wore a dark suit in Mayo you'd break it up with a lighter tie which is what I did:o. The OP is right to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Silage wrap and wellies.

I don't know what part of dublin you're from OP but where I'm from a funeral is not a fcuking fashion parade.

Jesus Christ.

Ha ha!

Great thread, always good to see a wind up sneak in and people taking it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Daisy 55

Sorry, but no one EVER says "up the country". Strange that, now that you mention it!

I knew it, there is a secret code!

What is the code in the NW so?

We do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Imagine the funeral was in Dublin and then wear what you think would be appropriate for that.

Yeah, but leave the heroin at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Be prepared to dance at the cross roads.... they're big into that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Vaccinations too. Particularly against flukeworm and sarcoptic mange mites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't know what part of dublin you're from OP but where I'm from a funeral is not a fcuking fashion parade.

Jesus Christ.

+1.. I thought this was a wind-up when I read it - and as for the notion that "anything goes" in Dublin :confused:

Just wear something dark/black and respectable OP

Vaccinations too. Particularly against flukeworm and sarcoptic mange mites.

TRAFFIC REPORT!

Large tailbacks on the N4 at Carrick on Shannon due to Ebola screening checkpoint operated by Gardai, Customs and Dole office. Expect major delays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

The country is only an hour from where ever you are in Ireland. Grief is universal anyway. Don't alienate yourself.

You'll be fine.

Condolences.

Here in Tipperary, we go Up to Dublin, Down to Cork, Over to Limerick, In to Town and Out home.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

OK, laugh away, and have a go at the question, but it is genuine.

I am a true Dub. I am going to a funeral down the country where there is a wake in the house the day and night before the funeral. Dublin Funerals anything goes, as long as it's not a micro mini and belly showing. A bit of respect, but colours don't matter IME.

I am a gurrrlll. So, does anyone know what is the clothing protocol in the country, is it different to the cities?

I have asked my OH, and he doesn't give a shoot apart from dark colours, but not all black... men :D

I was thinking of a dark red long top and black trousers for the wake.

Then a nice black dress with a white and black bolero (short jacket) type of thing for the funeral. Black tights and shoes.

I don't know anyone going other than OH, so can't get any advice elsewhere!

Thaaaaaanks!!

At the end of the day, as long as I am comfortable, and dressed respectably, I'm sure I'll be ok, but I don't want to offend anyone.

Is it a funeral of a member of the "mobile" community? If so then black velvet top-hat with attached black mesh-veil just coming down to your nose. Scarlet lipstick. Black satin choker. Crimson velvet top with port-hole chest opening, displaying cleavage. Glitter on cleavage is optional but recommended. Black layered lace and taffeta ruffle skirt, mid-thigh on one side, knee-length on the other. Black fishnets or sheer black stockings with embossed black crosses. Completing the ensemble, 7 inch stilleto, platform, patent-leather, strappy hooker shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Don't forget your passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You'll find that we are a peaceful tribe of vegan tree-dwellers who while away the day in whimsical contemplation and whacking a leather ball up and down with sticks. Our womenfolk are hairy but the pig-meat and porter is good. We mean you no harm, we're just still a bit sore about the Famine, ye Jackeen bastards ye. Be well, peace out! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

AgileMyth wrote: »
    The people up there will be so amazed to see a proper dub they won't even notice what you're wearing. You can regal them with tales of the big city all day and night. Tell them of the wonders of the luas and junkies.

No doubt they'll already have heard tell of coppers, since Sean Og went and done a year in UCD back in 2008, so you can talk about that if you're stuck. Or Croke Park. That's basically a cathedral for country people.

I'm jealous of the people of down the country in the North West. What a day for them. An actual proper Dub.
    This may be the greatest post ever.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'm surprised nobody mentioned the shades, black wraparound is best. If it's not sunny at the graveyard you can stick them on top of your head to help keep the hair tidy. If it's raining you will need a BLACK umbrella, if it's raining and windy, that's not good.

I'm a culchie and was at a funeral in N. Dublin once. OMG the obesity of the people was terrible, still have this mental image of a young one wearing a thong who was so fat she couldn't actually get down to kneel for the prayers:o

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Have to get the Indo. and figure out which funeral you are going to.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Nekarsulm wrote: »

^^Most Irish comment ever...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

They are noble savages OP, I have lived among them for some time. Just bring some beads with which to barter for their land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Have you any idea where the Pale begins and ends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Bring a (black) umbrella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Indo is no good for the NW. Highland or nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Generally the drill is to wear your best brown Wrangler shoes, Crosshatch Jeans, A Stripey Shirt with a John Deere jacket and bring a pint of Bulmers with ya for the burial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

dungarees and strawhats,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

well done OP, 7/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

They take major credit cards , but will roide the arse off yah in charges if you use Amex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Pick a character from The Commitments and dress like that. All the bog warriors won't believe you're arriving from Dublin unless you look, act and speak like a Roddy Doyle character.

Don't forget to throw in the occasional 'ah sufferin' jaysus' and 'I will'n me bollox' to brighten up their dreary hay munching existence.

If in doubt, dress like any female character from Father Ted and you'll blend in just fine. Muck savages will be too busy getting all horny looking at their cousins to recognise you as fresh blood from outside their pool of frogspawn.

Pick a character from The Commitments and dress like that. All the bog warriors won't believe you're arriving from Dublin unless you look, act and speak like a Roddy Doyle character.

Don't forget to throw in the occasional 'ah sufferin' jaysus' and 'I will'n me bollox' to brighten up their dreary hay munching existence.

A useful alternative approach would be to turn up in a man's suit and attempt to sell everyone a crappy Chinese SUV while uttering phrases like "Ah me oul' coddle-waddioh wha' wha' wha'?? Sure if me granny had whee-als an' a saddle she'd be a boicycle!!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Miall108 wrote: »
    Generally the drill is to wear your best brown Wrangler shoes, Crosshatch Jeans, A Stripey Shirt with a John Deere jacket and bring a pint of Bulmers with ya for the burial.
    No no!! It's a check shirt!! The rest is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,492 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Well excuse me now!

My next door neighbour is from Cavan. And she always says "we are going down the country to see the Mam and Dad!

Unless she is lying about where she is from :confused:

Unless someone is specific about the county, ie, say Cork then it's "down to Cork"

Jayzz I'm even confusing myself now!

But yet the culchies say up in Dublin.I had these argument with the country cousins plenty of times.since it is not goegrahically correct in the west, does it mean that dublin is superior? "up" in standard up in Dublin?: )

@spanisheyes Back to the country funeral thing do not say anything that would make you sound or seem like in country parlance "a bit of a dub". Don't worry about attire they are almost like "us". But be prepared for men of the land with rough hands like shovels, almost taking your hand off when they shake it.
    Be prepared for a lot of drink , tae, hang sandwiches and more hang sandwiches! Never ever call them ham sambos. See warning about "bit of a dub" above. Also don't tell them about this thread some of the more advanced ones may have dial up broadband.
    Oh and don't mention their county final unless some one else brings it up, things may get heated otherwise. If you can sing preferably rebel ballads or Sean nos when the drinking starts do that. Good luck.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

But yet the culchies say up in Dublin.I had these argument with the country cousins plenty of times.since it is not goegrahically correct in the west, does it mean that dublin is superior? "up" in standard up in Dublin?: )

I live in Cork, but the last time I was in The Dublin I came in the Navan Road way through Phibsbudda. I was so confused I went to bed for three days after I got home.