Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wearing dog collar

• 12-05-2015 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

Seems one of our dogs had a go at the postman yesterday. I heard second hand that he nipped the postman on the tip of his finger, did not break the skin but has to be reported.

I have never had a problem, don't really know how to handle it to be honest, but waiting for postie now to see he is ok.

We have 3 dogs, one is a 12 y/o greyhound. Since we have had her, she cannot wear a collar. On occasions when we take to to the vets or groomers, she gets so stressed, that they know her and we carry her in and out or she will walk herself. If she sees a collar she freaks, sits and shakes.

Part of it was our fault for not training the fear out of her, but she was abused on a lead, continuously before we got her.

Back to the point, I am expecting a visit from the dog warden now, but because my greyhound has no collar she is in breach of the control of dogs act. The other 2 are fine, have collars etc.

She is a couch potato, we have a huge garden and she never leaves it.

I know I can't plead my case because a fact is a fact, any suggestions,

Please bear in mind whilst I am looking for advice, I really cannot just cop on and make her wear one,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

lazeedaisy wrote: »
    Hey guys,

Seems one of our dogs had a go at the postman yesterday. I heard second hand that he nipped the postman on the tip of his finger, did not break the skin but has to be reported.

I have never had a problem, don't really know how to handle it to be honest, but waiting for postie now to see he is ok.

We have 3 dogs, one is a 12 y/o greyhound. Since we have had her, she cannot wear a collar. On occasions when we take to to the vets or groomers, she gets so stressed, that they know her and we carry her in and out or she will walk herself. If she sees a collar she freaks, sits and shakes.

Part of it was our fault for not training the fear out of her, but she was abused on a lead, continuously before we got her.

Back to the point, I am expecting a visit from the dog warden now, but because my greyhound has no collar she is in breach of the control of dogs act. The other 2 are fine, have collars etc.

She is a couch potato, we have a huge garden and she never leaves it.

I know I can't plead my case because a fact is a fact, any suggestions,

Please bear in mind whilst I am looking for advice, I really cannot just cop on and make her wear one,

She doesn't have to wear a collar on your own property, only outside, in public. Have you tried a harness on her, instead of a collar?

Whereabouts do you live, maybe someone can advise a good behaviourist or trainer to visit your house and work with you and your dog on desensitising her to a collar. It needs to be done slowly and making it seem like a great thing for her, but usually it can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Was this as the postman was putting the letters through the letterbox? Does she have a prior history of aggression? If there are no marks then it does come down to your word against his; how would he prove that your dog bit him when he could have easily caught his finger in the letterbox? What's he doing sticking his hand through a letterbox anyway?

As muddypaws said your dog does not have to wear a collar on your property. If I were you I'd accept no liability as the event was unwitnessed, but I'd put a cage over the inside of the letterbox to show that you've taken steps to secure it as a sign of goodwill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

TTouch is the first thing I think of for desensitization?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Just need to clarify something here.
    Under the Control of Dogs Regulations 1998, dogs must at all times wear a collar with ID tag, so there is no defence in not keeping one on a dog in your own property, I'm afraid.
    cf Section 6 of the Regulations:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1998/en/si/0442.html

As already stated, most wardens will give leeway if you're seen to be taking remedial actions. I don't know how the incident happened, but taking steps to ensure the dog can no longer come into physical contact with the postman is a good step.

As for the collar issue, whilst there's no provision for this in law, it might do no harm to get your vet to write a report/letter to the wardens, that you keep to show them when needed, that states medical/welfare reasons why your dog can't wear a collar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

it doesn't help your case now but maybe get one of those wall mounted post boxes to prevent any further incidences. I can't figure out why a postman would be sticking his fingers through the mail slot.

I think it is perfectly reasonable for a postman's fingers to occasionally make their way past the opening of the letterbox! It is certainly not going to be a defence for an owner to say that his fingers should not have been there, when the postman is reasonably going about his duties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭lazeedaisy

Thanks for the responses,

I know they need collars in the garden,

Secondly, we did have a trainer twice over the years, it's just not possible,

Lastly, I was in work, himself was home and the dogs were in the garden. The postman comes in, plays with the dogs, he even has a gizmo to stop them barking at him he uses occasionally. The 2 male dogs are boisterous some times. Anyway, himself never bothers much when they are out. He did not know the postman got bitten, postie told my mother in law.

We know the guy well, he has dogs, but to be honest, I know he has to report bites, and near misses ?? I would never blame him, it's our dogs. Spammy bit him, he is a spaniel cross, a barker all the time with anyone other than us, but even with people he knows.

As I said when I am home we all go down to the gate. The postie said he would never be afraid of a dog that barks, but because he had never seen a greyhound, he was wary of her. But she did not bite him.

I appreciate the advice, initially from experience I thought he would have to be put down, happened to a friend of mine.

I am sensible when it comes to the dogs, any issues are usually handled with professional training.

They are great pets, insured, licensed, regular grooming, shots, but I would nt tolerate vicious behaviour.

The greyhound is a great pet, and anyone who has met her says she is a different dog off the lead. I was anxious that now we are going to get a visit from the dog warden, I wondered how (if any) flexible they are, but I do know the law is there for a reason.

Maybe we could consider an outside post box,

Typo, dogs name is sammy...

Lol, I'm afraid a laughed a bit at Spammy :o

Predictive text, is spammy even a word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

So the postie comes in to your garden and plays with your dogs when you aren't there?? Am i reading that right?

If so, you need to stop that asap in my opinion. Can you not put a letterbox at the gate?

You don't know what happens when you aren't there and god knows what could set the dogs off and cause an issue. I certainly would not be encouraging anyone to come in and play with my dogs in their environment when i am not present, its asking for trouble.

Thanks for the responses,

I know they need collars in the garden,

Secondly, we did have a trainer twice over the years, it's just not possible,

Lastly, I was in work, himself was home and the dogs were in the garden. The postman comes in, plays with the dogs, he even has a gizmo to stop them barking at him he uses occasionally. The 2 male dogs are boisterous some times. Anyway, himself never bothers much when they are out. He did not know the postman got bitten, postie told my mother in law.

We know the guy well, he has dogs, but to be honest, I know he has to report bites, and near misses ?? I would never blame him, it's our dogs. Spammy bit him, he is a spaniel cross, a barker all the time with anyone other than us, but even with people he knows.

As I said when I am home we all go down to the gate. The postie said he would never be afraid of a dog that barks, but because he had never seen a greyhound, he was wary of her. But she did not bite him.

I appreciate the advice, initially from experience I thought he would have to be put down, happened to a friend of mine.

I am sensible when it comes to the dogs, any issues are usually handled with professional training.

They are great pets, insured, licensed, regular grooming, shots, but I would nt tolerate vicious behaviour.

The greyhound is a great pet, and anyone who has met her says she is a different dog off the lead. I was anxious that now we are going to get a visit from the dog warden, I wondered how (if any) flexible they are, but I do know the law is there for a reason.

Maybe we could consider an outside post box,

Out of interest, what did the trainer do? A behaviourist would be different to a trainer, so I wouldn't give up all hope.

The dogs are only out when we are home.

I am a control freak, and always know where they are, when anyone comes to the gate I go out. Hubby is not like me, he just let's them out without minding them,

This cannot turn into a domestic.... Ha ha.....

I can't have a go at him for that (much as I would love to),

We have secure dog runs, but when I am home we spend a lot of time in the garden, we have signs on the gates (I was told I could not have a beware sign unless they are dangerous), just humorous signs about not letting the dogs out.

We live in a very rural area also,

So people come in, the dogs run up to them, with me in tow

muddypaws wrote: »
    Out of interest, what did the trainer do? A behaviourist would be different to a trainer, so I wouldn't give up all hope.

I don't think it was a trainer, it was a specialist in behaviours, but whilst expensive, I personally did not find them useful. The day they came it poured. Still went ahead with it, but not useful IMHO.

The vet knows her, and because of her age says nt to get her stressed

I don't think it was a trainer, it was a specialist in behaviours, but whilst expensive, I personally did not find them useful. The day they came it poured. Still went ahead with it, but not useful IMHO.

The vet knows her, and because of her age says nt to get her stressed

Do your dogs live outside? Trying to figure out what the weather has to do with it otherwise :o
    There are two ways to deal with the collar problem. Either go through a very slow desensitisation program, or avoid the issue. Each has its pros and cons. You've opted for the latter, and I can understand that given her age and your environment (large garden which she doesn't leave).
    I'm inclined to think the warden won't be too concerned (as long as he's not given an excuse to! Not saying at all that you would op, but if people get pissy with wardens, they will start to look for problems for you!) He may not even comment on it at all.

The dogs sleep indoors, are in and out during the day, or we put them in a run if it's needed.

The trainer called to do some work with the dog, it was horrendous weather so not much training etc. got done

Weird. I'd 100% be doing the desensitisation work inside, if that's where your dog lives and if the weather's rubbish!

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Michelle_b

Would it be possible to put a fence so dogs go out the back part of garden and not the front.... Avoid issue of people coming in the front. I have put up wire fencing on both sides so dogs still have freedom but if anyone comes in and out they are not interacting with dogs

I'd agree, with her age etc, that its probably not worth forcing the issue, but if the warden does insist that she now has to wear a collar, if you check out the APDT Ireland website, you will be able to find someone near you who will only use positive training methods, and who hopefully will be able to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Michelle_b wrote: »
    Would it be possible to put a fence so dogs go out the back part of garden and not the front.... Avoid issue of people coming in the front. I have put up wire fencing on both sides so dogs still have freedom but if anyone comes in and out they are not interacting with dogs

^This. Or I'd put a mailbox at the front gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Id definately put a postbox on the "pier" at the gate too. The postman need never go in to your garden...

As for the elderly greyhound. We had a similar problem with a dog who freaked with collars/restraints. Started off by putting a bit of elasticated cord on her neck (the very thin, fabric covered, very stretchy stuff) when stroking her on the sofa. This went on for several days - took it off when we stopped stroking/playin. Then got someone to knit a very narrow, soft, loose "cuff" and started leaving that on for longer and longer - again initially while stroking and playing with her. Gradually we worked our way up to a wider soft knitted cuff which she wore all the time, and eventually a nice soft 'collar' made up of a wide piece of velvet to which we attached a buckle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Basically its the postman's word against yours IF he actually does call the warden. So just say she your dog is elderly, and you can't believe she bit anyone. Also say - HOWEVER in the interests of respecting his position you are installing a post box at the front gate so that he will no longer have to enter the garden.

Don't worry. Just get a postbox and stick it up asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

Can you put a jumper or dog coat on the greyhound?

If so, I'd stick a tag on that, also it doesn't say what the collar should be made of, knitted one may do the job if she'll tolerate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

it doesn't help your case now but maybe get one of those wall mounted post boxes to prevent any further incidences. I can't figure out why a postman would be sticking his fingers through the mail slot.

I did the Christmas post for several years - your fingers do go through the letter box, especially if the springs are stiff and you have to push it open with one hand to get the letters through. I've had dogs pull the letters out of my hand through the letterbox! And the doors I dreaded were the ones with the letterbox at the very bottom of the door, where a fanatical Jack Russell might be silently waiting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

boomerang wrote: »
    I did the Christmas post for several years - your fingers do go through the letter box, especially if the springs are stiff and you have to push it open with one hand to get the letters through. I've had dogs pull the letters out of my hand through the letterbox! And the doors I dreaded were the ones with the letterbox at the very bottom of the door, where a fanatical Jack Russell might be silently waiting...

As a former paperboy I would concur, fingers through the letterbox are frequently necessary. Some of the springloaded letterbox flaps would cut you worse than a bite.