Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best frontman in music?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Eddie Vedder and Billy Joe Armstrong.

Despite that Axl Rose lost the run of himself altogether, he cannot be ignored!

Roger Waters and David Gilmore deserve a mention too and James Hetfield, Kurt Cobain, Steven Tyler, Freddy Mercury, David Bowie, Bruce Soringsteen.

I am sure I have missed some.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭1gunsnroses

AXL ROSE is the greatest frontman forget his ego

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭druidhill

(Early) Van Morrison performances that I have seen online are pretty cool.
    Jim Morrison was a big fan and copied a move of his, I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

druidhill wrote: »
    (Early) Van Morrison performances that I have seen online are pretty cool.
    Jim Morrison was a big fan and copied a move of his, I believe.

Van Morrison had a move!??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

AXL ROSE is the greatest frontman forget his ego

Hmm! I begrudgingly added him because he had to be added! My favourite band of all time they were! If he wasn't such a dick he'd have gone ahead of Eddie Vedder and Billy Joe Armstrong.

Couldn't choose one the best, just to name a few

Peter Steele
    Paul Stanley
    Jim Morrison
    Steve Von Till
    Phil Anselmo
    Josh Homme
    Layne Staley
    Al Jourgensen
    Bobby Liebling
    Frank Zappa
    Ronnie James Dio
    Ozzy Osbourne
    Ian Astbury
    Tom Waits
    Nick Cave
    Freddie Mercury
    Michael Jackson
    David Gilmour
    Dax Riggs
    Gregg Allman
    Bob Marley
    Rob Zombie
    Glen Danzig
    Alice Cooper
    Angus Young
    Joe Elliott
    Mike Patton
    Cedric Bixler-Zavala
    John Garcia
    Jimi Hendrix
    Wino Weinrich
    Maynard James Keenan
    Les Claypool
    Zack de la Rocha
    Ted Nugent

And many more!

Not sure you understand the question being asked there chief :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭black_frosch

Not sure you understand the question being asked there chief :)

Just got hooked sorry :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Bon Scott.

/thread.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

David Lee Roth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Freddie Mercury.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

Peter Cox from Go West
    Myles Kennedy
    Brandon Flowers (The Killers live at Royal Albert Hall)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Freddie would be my vote. What good frontwomen are there? Top one I could think of was Bonnie Raitt, and she's more blues than rock 'n roll...

Ficheall wrote: »
    Freddie would be my vote. What good frontwomen are there? Top one I could think of was Bonnie Raitt, and she's more blues than rock 'n roll...

No need for it to be rock and roll at all.

I suggested Karl Hyde of Underworld above.

I guess for frontwomen Siouxsie Sue would have to be up there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Michael Stipe

Jim Morrison

Mick Jagger

Huey Morgan

• Registered Users Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

zak de la rocha !!!!!!

For a woman it has to be Janis Joplin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Back in the day when I was going to gigs 3-4 nights a week, Glen Hansard was my favourite frontman. He should just never speak off stage….like a lot of them.

Bono can't be ignored, but I fell out of love with U2 a very long time ago.

Jim Morrison, Freddie Mecury and Dave Grohl all deserve a mention, with Freddie being a role model for many that came after him.

My personal favourites though are Phil Lynott and Thom Yorke.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

Dave Gahan
    Freddie Mercury
    Jim Morrison
    Robert Plant
    John Lennon
    Morrisey

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭boosabum

scott weiland of STP and velvet revolver fame....that's if he manages to show up for a gig

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Just basing it on who I've managed to see live.

Tom Meighan (Kasabian)
    Tom Smith (Editors)
    James Brown
    Paul Weller
    Malcolm Young (AC/DC)
    Dave Grohl

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

KungPao wrote: »
    Sorry but he's a cock.

You don't mess with us gingers :pac:

Ha, well yer man threw a shoe or something at him, and he's said that he regrets that incident. He's married to Brody Dalle, if he was in any way a cock she sure as hell wouldn't have married him.

Also lads sorry to be pedantic but it's Billie joe Armstrong, not billy :pac:

boosabum wrote: »
    scott weiland of STP and velvet revolver fame....that's if he manages to show up for a gig

And figure how how to work a jacket!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7HQ_eq6NXFY
    Ya, well yer man threw a shoe or something at him, and he's said that he regrets that incident.

I bet he does, references to "fxxxxts" and "buttfxxxxxg" must have had everyone in the record company screaming "just what were you thinking" at him!

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Chief87

Freddie Mercury..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Damon Albarn

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Damon Albarn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

Damon Albarn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Poor guy opened for Madonna at Slane, no one seemed interested in listening to him.

Long but around the 16.00 mark when he talks about when Iggy opened for the cure somewhere in scandinavia :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭StaticAge11

James Hetfield.

Honourable mentions to Corey Taylor, Josh Homme and Billie Joe Armstrong though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

Justin Hawkins is pretty good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Jonny rotten been mentioned? Not just of a band, but of a whole genre.