Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ulster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread II

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

awec wrote: »

They sent a child to do a man's job there.

Ulster team and replacements to play Ospreys, Guinness PRO12, Saturday 7th May, Liberty Stadium (kick-off 3pm):
    (15-9): J Payne; A Trimble, L Marshall, S McCloskey, C Gilroy; P Jackson, R Pienaar;
    (1-8): C Black, R Best (c), R Lutton, P Browne, F van der Merwe, I Henderson, C Henry, S Reidy;
    Replacements (16-23): R Herring, K McCall, A Warwick, R Diack, R Wilson, P Marshall, S Olding, D Cave

Very curious as to what the future holds for Darren Cave. He's currently no. 23 in the squad and this is with Ludik and Bowe absent both who are probably more likely to be included in the 23 than him. He hasn't started a game since the 21st of February which is a very long stretch for a guy who started games in the RWC.

Decent line up. The Ospreys getting a big result last week though keeps them just about in the hunt and they're not going to make it easy for Ulster who will need to keep their performance levels high again.

15 Dan Evans

14 Ben John

13 Owen Watkin

12 Josh Matavesi

11 Eli Walker

10 Dan Biggar

9 Rhys Webb (Capt)

1 Nicky Smith

2 Scott Baldwin

3 Dmitri Arhip

4 Rynier Bernardo

5 Rory Thornton

6 Dan Lydiate

7 Sam Underhill

8 James King

Fortunately for Ulster there's a significant number of key injuries for the Ospreys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Is Sam Underhill that good? I have read a lot about his performances but I've barely seen Ospreys play this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Is Sam Underhill that good? I have read a lot about his performances but I've barely seen Ospreys play this season.

Yes, he's an exceptional talent.

It's hard to say given he hasn't played much. He was very good against Munster.

But, if you take into account his age, he's a big prospect. He only turns 20 this summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 The Elk

Buer wrote: »
    Very curious as to what the future holds for Darren Cave. He's currently no. 23 in the squad and this is with Ludik and Bowe absent both who are probably more likely to be included in the 23 than him. He hasn't started a game since the 21st of February which is a very long stretch for a guy who started games in the RWC.

As far as I'm aware he only started one game - agaisnt Romanian.

He hasn't had a great season after the WC, he's picked up one or two knocks here and there meant he missed a few games then on the 2-3 times he did play, he was horrendously bad. His tackling had gone to pot.

No form, no game time. Unless there is an injury he's going to have to wait until next season to get a start again. Stu and Marshall have been too good.

Sad though, he had been playing very well end of last season and before the WC. Being selected as a specialist 13 and having someone who 'usually' plays wing picked ahead of him has maybe played on his mind. He's only human after all and he has been vocal in the past about being overlooked.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭jacothelad

The Elk wrote: »
    As far as I'm aware he only started one game - agaisnt Romanian.

He hasn't had a great season after the WC, he's picked up one or two knocks here and there meant he missed a few games then on the 2-3 times he did play, he was horrendously bad. His tackling had gone to pot.

No form, no game time. Unless there is an injury he's going to have to wait until next season to get a start again. Stu and Marshall have been too good.

Sad though, he had been playing very well end of last season and before the WC. Being selected as a specialist 13 and having someone who 'usually' plays wing picked ahead of him has maybe played on his mind. He's only human after all and he has been vocal in the past about being overlooked.

He was included several times in the 23 while still recovering from his shoulder injury and while he was ill as a 'break glass in emergency' player. Unfortunately for him he was needed early on in both games. After 8 minutes in one I think and it was evident that he was mad to agree to do it. He looks as if he is back to full fitness.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 The Elk

jacothelad wrote: »
    He looks as if he is back to full fitness.

That's good to hear then. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

I would give my left leg to see Reidy continue the form he was in last game. Really starting to come into his own.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Seems the IRFU aren't letting us sign a medical joker to cover Coetzee.

Perhaps you will sign someone on a one year deal though, as opposed to a medical joker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,817 ✭✭✭✭bilston

To be honest it may be better for us in the long run if someone like Dow gets a shot or Reidy continues his good form (couple of missed tackles at the weekend though) at 8. Put it this way I have nuch more faith in Kiss being able to make the most of what we have than I would if Clarke or Doak were calling the shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Pretty funny stuff. Pity Trimble couldn't keep it up for longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭launish116

Have we given up hope on another signing to be announced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

It should never have been allowed tbh. Ulster are already over the NIE limit and other provinces have had to deal with much worse injuries without getting a medical joker.

Bowe and Ludik gone for the season: http://www.ulsterrugby.com/news/14911.php#.VzH9OoQrLs0

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Bowe likely not going to South Africa then?

No chance.

At his age he should just concentrate of getting back. I hope we see him again.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

I'd be tempted to say Bowe's seen his last Ireland cap, but he's just so damn classy that I certainly wouldn't make that a cast-iron guarantee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Billysays no

Don't think ye have too much to worry about. If I was picking the Irish back line it would include Payne, Trimble, McCloskey, olding and Jackson. And I am a Connacht fan.

Paddy Jackson won player of the year at the Ulster awards tonight. Is he the only Irish player to win that award in the provinces this year? Aki and Te'o won it for Connacht and Leinster. Not sure about Munster?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Paddy Jackson won player of the year at the Ulster awards tonight. Is he the only Irish player to win that award in the provinces this year? Aki and Te'o won it for Connacht and Leinster. Not sure about Munster?

Don't think the Munster ones are out, it's between Scannell, Stander, and B. Holland.

I think Scannell had a fine season but it'll probably go to Stander.

Didn't know Te'o was the Leinster one, kinda surprised at it too.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Don't think the Munster ones are out, it's between Scannell, Stander, and B. Holland.

I think Scannell had a fine season but it'll probably go to Stander.

Didn't know Te'o was the Leinster one, kinda surprised at it too.

Not sure now who won the Ulster one now because they seem to be giving awards to everyone. McCloskey just won a player of the year one too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

just looked at the ulster twitter and it seems there were

ulster rugby supporters player of the year : PJ
    Rugby Writers' Player of the Year award: Van der Merwe
    Ulster player of the year: McCloskey

they like giving out player of the year awards up there!

McCaul got young player of the year.

My original question about Jackson still stands for McCloskey. I guess Stander winning for Munster would count as an Irish player as he is technically.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭ulster_Beef

[IMG][/img]FB_IMG_1463304575533.jpg

Good to see. I would put his joint league and Europe stats even higher when combined. That doesn't fit into d2 rhetoric

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Good to see. I would put his joint league and Europe stats even higher when combined. That doesn't fit into d2 rhetoric

d2 rhetoric?

Jackson had a success rate of 78% in the league so his joint stats would be low 80s. A good return.

I think Jackson had a couple of dodgy games right at the start of the season which maybe have affected his league stats. But since Christmas his stats must be very high. Hopefully I haven't put the scuds on him for next week!

One that really did get away due to dreadful player judgement.

He is one of six players involved in the two games six years ago still with the Chiefs and has remained an integral part of the side, spending more minutes on the pitch than any other player in the Premiership this season, starting 27 of Exeter’s league and Champions Cup matches and on the bench for the other two.

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Steenson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Who?

Steenson I guess?

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭gleesonisgod

Sorry if this has been asked and answered before, but are AOC and Hebst expected back for the Leinster clash?

AOC is out until next season. Herbst might bench but we'd be better sticking to Warwick as t/h cover.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭ulster_Beef

1 north stand ticket for sale. Face value etc

I see heavy rain is forecast for Dublin for 7pm on Friday night...FFS...

Ulster team and replacements to play Leinster, Guinness PRO12 play-off, Friday 20th May, RDS Arena (kick-off 7.45pm):
    (15-9): J Payne; A Trimble, L Marshall, S McCloskey, C Gilroy; P Jackson, R Pienaar;
    (1-8): C Black, R Best (c), R Lutton, P Browne, F van der Merwe, I Henderson, C Henry, S Reidy;
    Replacements (16-23): R Herring, K McCall, A Warwick, R Diack, R Wilson, P Marshall, S Olding, D Cave.

Is this on TV, anyone know? Other than Sky?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,666 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Pro12 website has a broadcast schedule page, it's "Live on Sky Sports/TG4 and BBC Sport NI"

If we can get parity in the forwards we can beat them with our back line which IMO is better in every single position other than 10.

If we can get parity in the forwards.

Is this on TV, anyone know? Other than Sky?

BBC were advertising it last night.

If we can get parity in the forwards we can beat them with our back line which IMO is better in every single position other than 10.

If we can get parity in the forwards.

What's the forecast?

bilston wrote: »
    What's the forecast?

Cool, windy and possibility of rain.

What's the forecast?

Gusts of hot air followed by heavy drops down Ulster fans cheeks.

What's the forecast?

Cool, windy and possibility of rain.

That is like the least Ulster benefiting forceast imagineable

Will suit Leinster perfectly who I imagine will be trying to avoid a game of rugby breaking out tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

You sure?

Cool - doesn't matter
    Windy - will disadvantage a team who rely on kicking for territory and their set-piece. Doesn't affect running and short passing as much.
    Possibility of rain - it's Ireland, "possibility of rain" is as good as it ever gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Billysays no

Will suit Leinster perfectly who I imagine will be trying to avoid a game of rugby breaking out tomorrow night.
    Now dont be like that. I wouldnt go with that for a second, a minute, an hour two hours yawnnn ok maybe

I haven't gone near the match thread yet so no idea what the board narrative is.

Anyway my thoughts would be well done to Leinster, you were excellent. In the first 20 mins we hardly got the ball. Reddan just kept putting the ball on a sixpence for Fitzgerald to put pressure on Trimble. You turned a strength into a weakness for us. Sexton was outstanding. He showed his class this evening. As I feared the Leinster tight 5 (plus Cronin, Furlong and Maloney from the bench) was decisive in the set piece, but credit to the Leinster back row too especially Heaslip.

Anyway enough about Leinster, different year, same old s*** for Ulster. There were some stupid handling errors and Leinster had us going backwards at the breakdown. When we did get front foot ball we were dangerous but we just didn't get enough. I think we are getting the 12 selection wrong at the moment. Olding should be starting with McCloskey coming on in the final 20-30 minutes, not the other way round. Gilroy showed tonight why he will never become a regular in the Irish team. The only thing bringing an utterance of a smile to my face at the moment is the prospect of Henderson on the hard and dry South African pitches in a few weeks time. Feck he was good tonight, in fact I'd go so far as to say that he was probably deserving of the man of the match award irrespective of the score.

Anyway it seems to me that the best way we can avoid the same disappointment happening again next year that has happened year after year is to finish in the top 2. Get a home semi final and then see where that takes us.

For now I'm afraid I'm going to have file tonight's game in the bulging choke cabinet. Pity, as there isn't much room left.

Same old, same old.