Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reasons To Be Cheerful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Woke up with an awesome tune in my head. :)

I always have a tune in my head, so I'm just happy I didn't wake up to It's a Small World After All spinning around in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The Monday working day is over :)

Football is done (and it was shít) so next stop bed and I can't wait!

In the past few weeks, I spent a weekend in Edinburgh with my bestie, got to cheer on people competing a marathon I hoped to do.

I've had a roadtrip starting in wexford and taking me to, Wales, The beautiful English countryside, the Lake District, Glasgow, Derry, Donegal, and I'll land in Sligo before I'm done. I did most of this with a simple old school map because I had no data! So much fun!

I've been to two weddings and a festival, dance and laughed with great friends and family, stayed in some of the most stunning country inns, eaten in some of the most beautiful restaurants (we'll forget about all the awful food I had too :p).

I've walked for miles upon miles across hills and mountains, drank delicious ales while sitting on lakeside terraces. I took a steam train along lake Windermere.

Today the amazing cliffs of Slieve League left me breathless, I found a hilltop restaurant with views of the Atlantic Coast. Tomorrow I'm going to try my hand at surfing, and Friday I'll get to have tea and talk shyte with some of my most favourite people on the planet.

I'm feeling pretty goddamn cheerful right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

Father's day is coming.

I have plans this Friday evening.

A friend has wonderful birthday plans this Saturday involving museum cafe then drinks.

The weekend after that is the pride parade.

Next week I am going to a book evening.

AAAaaand my birthday is coming soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Father's day is coming.

I have plans this Friday evening.

A friend has wonderful birthday plans this Saturday involving museum cafe then drinks.

The weekend after that is the pride parade.

Next week I am going to a book evening.

AAAaaand my birthday is coming soon!

Let me be the first - Happy Birthday Lady! Just be careful on Friday :D

Well when I say soon ...about three weeks...so you definitely are the first ! THANK YOU!

Na bac!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

96 consecutive days of meditation. About 30 hours in total that I could have spent being angry at someone or something. Total 100% me time. :)

Jai Guru Dev

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Will hardly reach those heights but who knows. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,227 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I know it is a cliche but reasons to be cheeful is I am alive. With the last few difficult days for those families who died in Berkley it is important to realize the important stuff. Cherish every day people do things you enjoy no matter what others may think it does not have to cost money or be expensive. Be happy for those you have around you and those special memories. 1 for me is me is my niece she is 2 and goes around without a care in the world and always makes people laugh. I know for after hours it maybe a be 2 heavy and we should be disgusted with DOB croynism and all that S#$T but as they say CHOSE LIFE CHOSE TO LAUGH CHOSE JUST TO FORGET EVEN FOR A WHILE CHOSE LIFE.

Going for some FNB's after work tomorrow so looking forward to that! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Myself and the four year old picked the first strawberrys in this years crop. We only have a few troughs growing, but they give us that lovely summer feeling every year when we pick them. Yummy too.

Ruu wrote: »
    96 consecutive days of meditation. About 30 hours in total that I could have spent being angry at someone or something. Total 100% me time. :)

Well done.

Steak.

Oops, wrong thread :D

Steak.

Oops, wrong thread :D

You can be cheerful about steak ya know

kfallon wrote: »
    You can be cheerful about steak ya know

Dracula wasn't

Lovely day out, Saturday pints, good racing on! Just the way I like it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Wales are going to the Euros next year. First time in our lifetime they've qualified for anything.

fiachr_a wrote: »
    Wales are going to the Euros next year. First time in our lifetime they've qualified for anything.

It's not official yet, is it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

-I'm alive and healthy (long may it continue)
    -My family that mean the most to me (i.e. my mam) are alive and healthy
    -I've a good job, close to home, that I enjoy
    -I've a good group of friends that I meet each week for drinks and grub
    -I've a fantastic car that I love and love driving
    -I seem to get no shortage of dates thanks to Tinder/POF/OKCupid, and lots of girls seem to want to be with me
    -It's summer and the sun is shining!
    -I'm going to Belfast with the mates next week for a mini holiday
    -I've had two job interviews in the past two weeks with companies that want to offer me a huge pay rise
    -I've a good chunk of savings in the bank
    -I've passed all my college exams and got a distinction for my Higher Cert (going on to do the full degree!)

Well, when I look at things like that, I've a pretty good life all told :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Got my honours degree a few days ago. Well the results anyway. New job is going well, get paid on Thursday after a month working in lieu of payment and I'm due a grotesque shopping spree next weekend. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Elessar wrote: »
    -I'm alive and healthy (long may it continue)
    -My family that mean the most to me (i.e. my mam) are alive and healthy
    -I've a good job, close to home, that I enjoy
    -I've a good group of friends that I meet each week for drinks and grub
    -I've a fantastic car that I love and love driving
    -I seem to get no shortage of dates thanks to Tinder/POF/OKCupid, and lots of girls seem to want to be with me
    -It's summer and the sun is shining!
    -I'm going to Belfast with the mates next week for a mini holiday
    -I've had two job interviews in the past two weeks with companies that want to offer me a huge pay rise
    -I've a good chunk of savings in the bank
    -I've passed all my college exams and got a distinction for my Higher Cert (going on to do the full degree!)

Well, when I look at things like that, I've a pretty good life all told :)
    And you're very modest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Ansum

The weather is absolutely beautiful. Tis a great day for a match with the lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

We'll have a Socialist Republic soon. And then you'll be forced to be cheerful whatever your current mood is. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

The only people who'll be cheerful under a SF government are the ones who think Ireland has too many multinationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Looks like I have a new job, the first one I have managed to get after moving away from Ireland (for marriage), currently working in a place where I more or less had the job lined up before leaving.

Decent day for a Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

My Mam put on a lovely roast lamb, spuds, veg the works yesterday. Gave me some in a lunchbox to take away. Arrive home after a long Monday and heat it up and tastes just as yum as yesterday. :)

Nib wrote: »
    And you're very modest.

It's not immodest to appreciate when things are going well. It's nice to hear people happy about things.

I'm cheerful because I'm had a great day. Got lots of work I was dreading behind me, had a lovely swim in a pool all to myself for about an hour and a nice dinner afterwards. A great day all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,738 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Today's reason to be cheerful is that I'm going to sit down in a few minutes with a mug of coffee and a few Kimberly biscuits :)

Today's reason to be cheerful is that the day is pretty much over, an hour of football and then home to relax and bed!

I woke up in awful bad form, I'm worried about a friend but my mood has got better during the day.

Have to pick up some parcels later that will hopefully put a smile on some kids faces this week! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Getting a new tattoo on Wednesday! I'm both nervous (mainly about the pain factor) but also excited! Woooooo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Wow Beks, very exciting. Is it a complete career change?

Sorry I've only just seen this.

Nah I'll still be a journalist of sorts, but instead of working for a news network, I'll be working for a start-up that serves as an alert system for journalists in newsrooms around the world. I'll be getting to the news first, passing it to clients (mostly TV networks) and providing analysis.

One of these mad American firms that's doing big things stateside and is expanding globally. A bit of a jump into the dark for me, but having sat in newsrooms for almost a decade now, it smacks of the future for breaking news and will propel me further into the digital/social media world.

Anyway. My reason to be cheerful today: since I've announced I'm leaving I've been in an insufferably happy, chirpy mood at work and having the craic with anyone and everyone. It's amazing the amount of people who have confided in me about all kinds of things since I've handed in my notice. It's like people feel free to get closer to you because you'll no longer be a piece of the work furniture. It's lovely :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

beks101 wrote: »
    It's amazing the amount of people who have confided in me about all kinds of things since I've handed in my notice. It's like people feel free to get closer to you because you'll no longer be a piece of the work furniture. It's lovely :)

And the amount of people who tell you that they are very envious because you can leave, while they are stuck there (apparently unhappy/unfulfilled).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Seeing doting owners stopping to let their elderly, and no doubt much cherished, dogs have a rest while making sure they get out for a walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Alzo90

The fact that we can talk to people all over the world right now but we choose to converse amongst our own.

I love you guys :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

The smell of tattoo ink, antiseptic and Bepanthine are making me feel giddy right now. Finally got a new tattoo and it is gorgeous! The font looks like someone wrote on my arm with a feathered calligraphy brush and while it was no skin off his nose to ink such a simple design, it's a credit to Barry's skill that I'm so delighted. I gave him an extra €10 when I was paying and he was adorably flustered by it. :D I love hanging out in the studio- sound bunch of lads down in my local ink shop. I'm already itching to get another one! Like feckin' Pringles, they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,738 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

McChubbin wrote: »
    The smell of tattoo ink, antiseptic and Bepanthine are making me feel giddy right now. Finally got a new tattoo and it is gorgeous! The font looks like someone wrote on my arm with a feathered calligraphy brush and while it was no skin off his nose to ink such a simple design, it's a credit to Barry's skill that I'm so delighted. I gave him an extra €10 when I was paying and he was adorably flustered by it. :D I love hanging out in the studio- sound bunch of lads down in my local ink shop. I'm already itching to get another one! Like feckin' Pringles, they are!

Have you got a pic of it up in the I'll show you mine thread ? Love tattoos :)

My reason to be cheerful is I got good results at hospital appointment the other day , forgot to post it then :D

New dishwasher delivered today. Dying to use it but there is not a dirty dish in the house...need to have a feast tonight!

Going home tomorrow and at some stage over the weekend I'll see all my nieces and nephews!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

My wife and kid are going to visit her mother for the weekend.

Having the house to myself happens once a year. So this weekend will be all mine!

Bike ride first...
    Coffee out with the newspaper
    A film later that's not a cartoon
    Indian takeaway with a few cold beers

Doesn't sound like much...but this is like a trip to Vegas for me!

I ordered new things from sports direct :D

I like new things :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Spent time out in the sun at lunchtime

I am having beer in a pub. Tis nice here....and beery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Got a free trip to Galway have to meet family for stupid this that will take about 1 hour but free hotel overnight will be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I ordered new things from sports direct :D

I like new things :D

My new runners and shorts from Start Fitness arrived today. I also like new things :D

Sneaky walk at lunchtime in the sun, a quite balmy 25c out. I'm a happy kirby :)

My new runners and shorts from Start Fitness arrived today. I also like new things :D

Sneaky walk at lunchtime in the sun, a quite balmy 25c out. I'm a happy kirby :)

Oh whatcha buy whatcha buy?

I got these, in pink and in blue, and I got a new yellow top, and compression socks, and capri pants. I'm very excited. And next week I'm getting these. Also VERY EXCITED.

I love Under Armour stuff, I was at an outlet recently and bought ALL the running gear. All.Of.It.

None left for anyone now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

These runners (Asics DS-Trainer 19) and these rather bright shorts. Need a lighter pair of runners than my Kayanos for faster running and races (I'm not racing over 10k/Olympic distance tri for the rest of this year) and the shorts worked out at around a fiver because I was using them to beat the free shipping cutoff. I have a pair of the shorts in blue and black already and they are so very comfy :D