Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Denis O'Brien, Catherine Murphy and the threatening lawsuit letters....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I have been thinking about this over night. And the question I keep coming back to is this.

What can we do now, what is next?

Surely this cannot be allowed to be brushed under. There are some very serious issues here. Ranging from, freedom of speech, what seems like a judge siding with DOB and a bank who are tax payer funded that hasn't learned from the past.

I personally want the EU to investage this not Ireland I don't trust us to do it and if the outcome is wrongdoing a massive fine handed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,729 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

smash wrote: »
    I'd like to think Vinny B would have the balls to jump on this and talk about it tonight.

Probably won't happen.

Wasn't he silenced before on another issue?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

TallGlass wrote: »
    I have been thinking about this over night. And the question I keep coming back to is this.

What can we do now, what is next?

Surely this cannot be allowed to be brushed under. There are some very serious issues here. Ranging from, freedom of speech, what seems like a judge siding with DOB and a bank who are tax payer funded that hasn't learned from the past.

I personally want the EU to investage this not Ireland I don't trust us to do it and if the outcome is wrongdoing a massive fine handed out.
    Theyll find another referendum, or water bill 'grant' to distract people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Have you seen what passes for governess here the last few years, illegal promissory notes changed in the dread of the night and more

I've no doubt that the top brass will step back, which in my eyes would point to them being involved in some way. But independent's like Stephen Donnelly or Shane Ross should be jumping on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I think the pressure needs to be external and internal.the British media reporting on the issue is a great start.corruption looks bad on a national level but terrible on an international level.the international pressure will be the only thing that let's our government know that this nonsense isn't good enough.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Probably won't happen.

Wasn't he silenced before on another issue?

All he has to do is report on a dail speech and point people in the right direction to gather more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jcon1913

Has it reached the stage where DOB will be booed publicly like Bertie Aherne whenever he is seen out and about? He certainly deserves a few boos at this stage. Mind you I dont see him making public appearances too often.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

I've no doubt that the top brass will step back, which in my eyes would point to them being involved in some way. But independent's like Stephen Donnelly or Shane Ross should be jumping on this.

But without a massive public rising this weekend the few will be picked off and next week it will be something new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

What about taking action against his specific interests. Organise a campaign going after individual companies of him. Start with one of the radio stations and spend a day bombarding them through social media,phone ins etc etc. Move on to the next company start boycott etc.

jcon1913 wrote: »
    Has it reached the stage where DOB will be booed publicly like Bertie Aherne whenever he is seen out and about? He certainly deserves a few boos at this stage. Mind you I dont see him making public appearances too often.

Oh no, booed you say, house will be ever get over that, with his €5,000,000,000 tax free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Not sure that the good people of malta are up to speed on irish current affairs.

Bambi wrote: »
    Not sure that the good people of malta are up to speed on irish current affairs.
    I'm not sure they care either. He generates enough jobs over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

He wouldn't want to sully himself by brushing shoulders with us pleps. Its funny though, people will give out and moan about DOB and yet the independent is the best selling paper in the country. Typical Irish attitude.

floydmoon1 wrote: »
    What about taking action against his specific interests. Organise a campaign going after individual companies of him. Start with one of the radio stations and spend a day bombarding them through social media,phone ins etc etc. Move on to the next company start boycott etc.

That's a great idea, why didn't someone think of that before

I did 8 days straight outside my local topaz last year highlighting his debt writedowns

I have
    Surely this cannot be allowed to be brushed under..

Take a look at everything that's come out up to now, where did it all end up, except for the water issue that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

He wouldn't want to sully himself by brushing shoulders with us pleps. Its funny though, people will give out and moan about DOB and yet the independent is the best selling paper in the country. Typical Irish attitude.

Thats cus it appeals to the lowest common denominator. Hes very shrewd with how he runs it trying to redirect peoples attention with garbage sensationalist journalism

That's a great idea, why didn't someone think of that before

I did 8 days straight outside my local topaz last year highlighting his debt writedowns

Fair play, honestly. But that will do bugger all in the grand scheme of things.

On a side note, you know he now owns Esso in Ireland. He acquired it sometime last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,543 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Take a look at everything that's come out up to now, where did it all end up, except for the water issue that is

Personally I think this story is only starting and any further discoveries will cause a walk out by labour simply as they will see that the government is probably finished and will use it as an attempt to buy some electoral success. Unfortunately for them, they would be about 3 years too late with that tactic.

mickdw wrote: »
    Personally I think this story is only starting and any further discoveries will cause a walk out by labour simply as they will see that the government is probably finished and will use it as an attempt to buy some electoral success. Unfortunately for them, they would be about 3 years too late with that tactic.

Wouldn't vote for Labour, wouldn't even know who my local TD even is for Labour. This goverment has lead scandal after scandal. Enda wouldn't want to sit on the fence to long on this and end up with another Minister of Justice and Garda Commissioner situation on his hands.

Fair play, honestly. But that will do bugger all in the grand scheme of things.

On a side note, you know he now owns Esso in Ireland. He acquired it sometime last year.

I beg to differ that it did buffer all,I spoke to hundreds of people about his debt writedowns when acquiring topaz, siteserv and the hotel, so many didn't know. Thousands drove by really slowly to read my huge sign explaining the same. 99.99% gave me thumbs up, I even got brought sandwiches, cooked Indian meals, coffees and treats from a local artisan cafe restaurant. All in all our was very productive

On a sidenote, did you know he's buying another 3 radio stations in England worth a combined listenership of over 3m people

mickdw wrote: »
    Labour will fall the way of the Greens in the end. If they want to keep any form of credibility for the future of the party they should walk out, but I fear they just love the temporary power trip too much to think towards the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

How big of a deal is this for FG? Because from where i'm sitting they would seem to have enormously uncomfortable questions to answer....or will they ride the marriage equality wave all the way to the 2016 general election?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,543 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Labour will fall the way of the Greens in the end. If they want to keep any form of credibility for the future of the party they should walk out, but I fear they just love the temporary power trip too much to think towards the future.

I agree that they are more or less finished. I feel even at this stage it is far far too late for them to successfully pay that card.
    This story is building and the media blackout attempt is only adding to it.
    As mentioned above, Kenny could find himself in a bit of a pickle. I wonder who will be sacked this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,706 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Could somebody take the time to make a list of all the ways this could possibly/realistically pan out from now on?

How big of a deal is this for FG? Because from where i'm sitting they would seem to have enormously uncomfortable questions to answer....or will they ride the marriage equality wave all the way to the 2016 general election?

They only need to hobble on for a couple of weeks or more and its summer holidays for the dail yey :)

osarusan wrote: »
    Could somebody take the time to make a list of all the ways this could possibly/realistically pan out from now on?

This weekend is a bank holiday, get back to us middle of next week when the sheep recover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Well he does own the indo.

Yeah that's what I mean

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

floydmoon1 wrote: »
    ...spend a day bombarding them through social media,phone ins etc etc...

He'll charge you for the privelige.

Genealogy Forum Mod

They only need to hobble on for a couple of weeks or more and its summer holidays for the dail yey :)

It still puzzles me to no end that the people responsible for running our country can take a 2 month break in the middle of the year.

It puzzles me that we allow it when faced with the Anglo tapes 2 years ago peoples went broke all summer while our elected went all over the world on holidays with not a care in the world about the finances to do so. This year will be no different if sheep continue to only get upset because they don't like being called sheep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Denis o Brien along with the parasites and gangsters in government think they can get away with anything, the tide is turning though, i cannot wait until a general election is called and these parasites are voted out, as for DOB a self imposed tax exile, people have gone to jail for less, it's amazing what money can buy you, he will get his comeuppance im sure of it.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Denis o Brien along with the parasites and gangsters in government think they can get away with anything, the tide is turning though, i cannot wait until a general election is called and these parasites are voted out, as for DOB a self imposed tax exile, people have gone to jail for less, it's amazing what money can buy you, he will get his comeuppance im sure of it.

Don't yo see they're trying on everyone waiting for the general elections, **** needs to kick off now like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

I don't know that there are any parasites or gangsters in government. Bear in mind there is zero evidence of any wrong-doing by the government parties in this transaction (of course, this may change...).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Seriously though a radical change is needed in Ireland, its abundantly clear that the same vicious political merry go round of FF/FG/LAB has not and will never work, they are all but the same, Labour especially deserve to suffer after abandoning practically everything they ever stood for.

There is no difference between FG and FF, they break every single promise they ever made,bailed out bankers, the golden circle,austerity, crony ism, water charges,etc,etc,etc the list is endless.

I wouldn't necessarily be a big fan of the likes of SF , People before Profit, Socialist Party and Independents, but surely there is no way they can be any worse than FG / LAB.

What is required to prevent this happening again? Legislation? Another referendum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Now is the ideal time for Labour to break ranks.
    As it is, they are sleepwalking their way to getting decimated at the polls next year.

Given the SSM referendum success is still fresh in people's minds, if they stand up to corruption now it will boost their standings.

Wonder if anyone in Labour is thinking along similar lines

I don't know that there are any parasites or gangsters in government. Bear in mind there is zero evidence of any wrong-doing by the government parties in this transaction (of course, this may change...).

you have go to be joking mate, this is the worst government in the history of the state, just when you thought you couldn't get any worse than FF this lot are even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Seriously though a radical change is needed in Ireland, its abundantly clear that the same vicious political merry go round of FF/FG/LAB has not and will never work, they are all but the same, Labour especially deserve to suffer after abandoning practically everything they ever stood for.

There is no difference between FG and FF, they break every single promise they ever made,bailed out bankers, the golden circle,austerity, crony ism, water charges,etc,etc,etc the list is endless.

I wouldn't necessarily be a big fan of the likes of SF , People before Profit, Socialist Party and Independents, but surely there is no way they can be any worse than FG / LAB.

Yes they can be. How do think we will fund everything they want to give out for free?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

What is required to prevent this happening again? Legislation? Another referendum?

Nothing more than an electorate that holds it's politicians to account.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

but surely there is no way they can be any worse than FG / LAB.

Famous last words

JillyQ wrote: »
    Yes they can be. How do think we will fund everything they want to give out for free?

are you talking about any party in particular?

id suggest you look up their manifestos , i highly doubt they want to give out everything for free.

you have go to be joking mate, this is the worst government in the history of the state, just when you thought you couldn't get any worse than FF this lot are even worse.
    Bullsh!t.

Sorry, but that is just rubbish. They've got about 30% of it wrong but 70% right - that's one of the best records of any government we've had. Doesn't make the 30% any more palatable, and we will disagree on what they did wrong or right (e.g. water charges are right, but many will disagree), but to claim that this is 'the worst government ever' is hilariously far off the mark.

Hermy wrote: »
    Nothing more than an electorate that holds it's politicians to account.
    Every 5 years? And the alternative is a far more corrupt shower who actually bankrupted us? Or some populists who promise all things to all men?

I'd rather we fix the system.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Famous last words

no easy solution to this, im certainly willing to give someone else a chance, as i outlined the vicious political merry go around that has plagued this country for decades has gotten us nowhere,people need to come out of their bubble and realise that change is needed badly.

id suggest you look up their manifestos , i highly doubt they want to give out everything for free.
    No, they want to tax 'the rich' to pay for everything usually. The fact that 'the rich' can all leave the minute you start going after them for even more money doesn't seem to register with them.

Bullsh!t.

Sorry, but that is just rubbish. They've got about 30% of it wrong but 70% right - that's one of the best records of any government we've had. Doesn't make the 30% any more palatable, and we will disagree on what they did wrong or right (e.g. water charges are right, but many will disagree), but to claim that this is 'the worst government ever' is hilariously far off the mark.

not bull**** at all, i can give you numerous examples as to how bad this lot are.

do you vote for them yourself?

The people showing they're not going to take it anymore and it will take mite than a vote to do that