Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015/16 EPCR draw, Wednesday 17 June 1:15pm Irish time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Well that's Leinster doomed. Ulster have it tough as well.

Great draw for Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

its_phil wrote: »
    Sorry Leinster fans, but that draw for pool 5 can't help but chuckle. The laughter at background in draw is hilarious.

I think it's actually Bruce Craig crying hysterically in the back of the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Piss.

The only upside is it's going to be very, very hard to get bonus points in our pool. Potentially nobody will get a home quarter and winner will take all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Awful for Leinster. Just awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Gotta go grab some kitchen roll...just vomited all over my laptop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Big game in The Aviva at Christmas. Bring it Toul-on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Can you have 5 groups of death?

Nope. I wouldn't have minded pools 2 or 4 at all, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

.ak wrote: »
    Piss.

The only upside is it's going to be very, very hard to get bonus points in our pool. Potentially nobody will get a home quarter and winner will take all.

I'm struggling to see how that is an upside?

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Leinster could easily finish last in their group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

On the upside, we'll all be miserable together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

What an epic pool for Leinster, some massive games there. They'll certainly get massive crowds at the Rioch for all of Wasps home games, pity they wont get through!

With so many changes at Toulon next year their not guaranteed either especially with Bath's win against Toulouse away this season.

• Ah there's some good away days to be had with that group in fairness.

Ricoh & The Rec are both decent trips. SMM also an absolute experience.

Reckon Leinster's head coach search just got a bit more convoluted though!

Indeed. I'm all but certain that the runner up in our pool doesn't have a sniff of going through. The 4th seed makes all the difference in that regard. If you can take 9 or 10 points off them and finish second, you're in with a great shot.

Lost the stream. Can someone post the pools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Holy **** for Leinster anyway. Reasonably happy with minsters group. Well capable of beating state Francois and the games against Leicester will be absolutely vital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

vienne86 wrote: »

I think its better you dont see them....

its_phil wrote: »
    I think its better you dont see them....

....I know about pool 5..............!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1:mad:

• vienne86 wrote: »
    Champions Cup
    Pool 1 Pool 2 Pool 3 Pool 4 Pool 5
    Sarseholes Clermont Glasgow Stade Francais Bath
    Ulster Ospreys Northhampton Munster Toulon
    Toulouse Exeter Racing 92 Leicester Leinster
    Oyonnax Bordeaux Scarlets Treviso Wasps

• awec wrote: »

Leinster at their most turgid beat and drew with Wasps last season, beat Bath, and were a drop goal away from beating Toulon. And there's this new signing, Jonny something. It's highly unlikely Leinster will come last.

Let me have this.

Holy **** for Leinster anyway. Reasonably happy with minsters group. Well capable of beating state Francois and the games against Leicester will be absolutely vital.

SF hit a happy run of form at the right time against an exhausted Toulon and Clermont. I don't think they pose anywhere near the threat of a fit and firing Clermont/Toulon.

What's more, I'd expect them to keep their focus on the T14 still. They don't have massive depth.

Munster will have to be wary of that scrum, though.

• POC and Goppareth will be quaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

CHtDQp1WoAAJXxs.png

Be grand

Sexton back and we top the group. :pac:

Leinster at their most turgid beat and drew with Wasps last season, beat Bath, and were a drop goal away from beating Toulon. And there's this new signing, Jonny something.It's highly unlikely Leinster will come last.

Bath and Wasps look to be coming to the end of their period of transition and will be looking to take the next step. Bath needed the losses against Leinster and Saracens to say they weren't quite there yet but aren't far away, which is a brilliant motivator.

Leinster will go through a transition year next year IMO and I won't be surprised to see them not win away from home next year while winning 2/3 at home. 3 tough places to go and Toulon just don't give a damn where they play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I look forward to cheering on POC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

awec wrote: »

why? With our worldclass coaching setup.....oh wait.Ye we're fecked

• its_phil wrote: »
    Bath and Wasps look to be coming to the end of their period of transition and will be looking to take the next step. Bath needed the losses against Leinster and Saracens to say they weren't quite there yet but aren't far away, which is a brilliant motivator.

Leinster will go through a transition year next year IMO and I won't be surprised to see them not win away from home next year while winning 2/3 at home. 3 tough places to go and Toulon just don't give a damn where they play.

The Leinster squad isn't in transition from last year. What does that even mean? It's going to be essentially the exact same personnel with Sexton for Jimmy and Isa back.

• I look forward to cheering on POC.

Whilst blocking the sun from your eyes with your Leinster Season Ticket? :pac:

Big homecoming for Jimmy Gopperth and Brendan Macken too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Leinster probably better off with a zero expectation pool than a winnable but tricky pool. I actually think it'd make a new coach more likely to take the job.

Bath will have a lot of players at the World Cup which is good. Toulon and Wasps not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

we'll beat all of them at home..and bath/Wasps away is certainly not that daunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭sweetthing

The sadist in me is really enjoying The reactions of The ulster and leinster fans. Sorry lads!

Well I have zero expectations for Leinster in that pool, so things can only get better.

The Leinster squad isn't in transition from last year. What does that even mean? It's going to be essentially the exact same personnel with Sexton for Jimmy and Isa back.

New coaching team, players away at RWC meaning young lads will have to step up during Pro12. Sexton won't just slot back in initially that easily (not long between end of RWC and EPCR games) and Isa is going to be an unknown after that long out of the game.

You finish 5th badly outside the playoffs with a new coaching team you're back to the drawing table and rebuilding IMO. Leinster will be fine the season after next but I don't see 15/16 being a smooth ride just because Sexton is back as good an impact as he will have.

• It actually shouldn't be the Toulon game that moves to Lansdowne imo. Best chance of beating them is in the RDS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

People are saying the Munster group is easy, and it is one of the handiest, II would expect us to beat Leicester and obviously Treviso is a boost for getting BPs at least but Stade are well-deserving of their place as top seeds and I wouldn't fancy us against them at all. They did beat Toulon when it mattered in a big knockout match.

Poor Leinster though, although if they can get a win against Toulon at home, anything is possible. I reckon Ulster could definitely get through.

• It actually shouldn't be the Toulon game that moves to Lansdowne imo. Best chance of beating them is in the RDS.

Bath in Lansdowne imo.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Fireball07 wrote: »
    People are saying the Munster group is easy, and it is one of the handiest, II would expect us to beat Leicester and obviously Treviso is a boost for getting BPs at least but Stade are well-deserving of their place as top seeds and I wouldn't fancy us against them at all. They did beat Toulon when it mattered in a big knockout match.

There should be two teams coming out of Munsters group, so being better than Leicester will do :-)
    Seriously though I'd expect 10 points from Treviso and homes wins against Stade and Leicester. It'll come down to bonus points between the top three to decide the qualifiers I'd reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

any clue when the first round of fixtures will be announced

Toulon will be in the Aviva, without doubt. They'll sell the place out.

Poor Leinster though, although if they can get a win against Toulon at home, anything is possible. I reckon Ulster could definitely get through.

SF have to be the worst of the top seeds. Then add Treviso. Easiest group for Irish teams for sure.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Iang87 wrote: »
    any clue when the first round of fixtures will be announced

Weekends usually by mid July and the exact dates and times for the first 4 rounds a few weeks laters.

It actually shouldn't be the Toulon game that moves to Lansdowne imo. Best chance of beating them is in the RDS.

Artist's impression of Mick Dawson upon hearing that Paul O'Connell will be coming back to the Aviva one last time:

d0f745a6cc086a7a3ca23f6c4ab7033b.480x352x1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

You would nearly handpick that as the worst nightmare for Leinster.
    You would nearly handpick that as the best result for Munster.
    Ulster in the deep end too.

Will be exciting to watch it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Tough slog for Ulster and particularly Leinster.

Happy with our group, not a foregone conclusion at all... but some nice trips in there with Leicester, Paris and Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

There should be two teams coming out of Munsters group, so being better than Leicester will do :-)
    Seriously though I'd expect 10 points from Treviso and homes wins against Stade and Leicester. It'll come down to bonus points between the top three to decide the qualifiers I'd reckon.

Well, that is true. I would expect us to qualify but if we don't qualify as table-toppers, we probably won't make it past the quarter-final. If you get a home QF, you have a big big chance of making the semis, a home SF and anything could happen.

.ak wrote: »
    Toulon will be in the Aviva, without doubt. They'll sell the place out.

This is probably true, it will definitely draw a huge crowd. But you would probably have a better chance of winning in the RDS.

SF have to be the worst of the top seeds. Then add Treviso. Easiest group for Irish teams for sure.

Based on history, maybe but Stade are the Top 14 champions. Where they beat Clermont, one of the other top seeds. They beat Racing & Toulon by fairly big margins on the way. They have a very strong pack and are adding Will Genia to their squad for next season. I rate them pretty highly tbh.

It is the easiest group for Irish teams, but that's mainly down to Treviso. Munster will qualify. But Stade are still favourites to finish ahead of us; I would have much preferred to be top seeds and take our chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Leinster can't blame anyone but themselves really but I do feel for Bath and even Toulon a bit.
    Bath as top seeds can't have expected that.
    Toulon win the competition and top the French league but due to the seeding process lose one game and it means they drop a seed. Seems very harsh.

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Leinster can't blame anyone but themselves really but I do feel for Bath and even Toulon a bit.
    Bath as top seeds can't have expected that.
    Toulon win the competition and top the French league but due to the seeding process lose one game and it means they drop a seed. Seems very harsh.

Leinster can only blame themselves for drawing Wasps rather than Treviso, Oyonnax, Bordeaux or Scarlets

• Leinster can only blame themselves for drawing Wasps rather than Treviso, Oyonnax, Bordeaux or Scarlets

I blame Craig Doyle.

But in seriousness, we got the absolute worst possible draw that we could have. That is some going :D, we should be proud of ourselves at excelling at bad drawing.

But Stade are still favourites to finish ahead of us; I would have much preferred to be top seeds and take our chances

Where are you finding the odds?