Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

XCOM2 - Glorious PC Exclusive (for now)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

How big is the steam download?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Okay, what's with those timers? Are there timers for each turn? That is mental if true.

its a turn based strategy. You know, the whole definition of taking your time and plan ahead. Timers will really ruin game experience. It being on steam I bet there will be mod soon to turn it off.

I am working next two days and off Sunday and I wonder if I pick it up... I am still loving darkest dungeon which is pretty much medieval 2d x com...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

How big is the steam download?
    It's just shy of 23 GB I believe.
    Okay, what's with those timers? Are there timers for each turn? That is mental if true.
    I can't imagine it'll be every single mission, just so happens that they feature in both of the first 2, I've not seen the 3rd yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

i had a 12 turn timer on my first 3 missions and im playing on commander difficulty.. 4th was a defending one so that had none. looking at the steam forum people dont seem to fond of it ! Cant say i am either as i use to enjoy taking my time planing out my attack in the previous games, i dont know i just didnt expect the game have timed missions, maybe i should have read up about it prior to buying but i probably still would have gotten it. In a way it makes sense because your a little guerrilla warfare squad but it's poxy anoying when it is your turn and your beside the mission objective etc. im sure it will get easier as you progress luckily i have not lost anyone yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

gah timed missions, hope its possible to mod this out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Finally installed and up and running, was concerned with timed missions but they are not timed as in a clock, but a number of turns (phew) which is IMHO not so bad as I got used to them a lot more in Enemy Within

Is there and Iron Man mode available in your 1st play through?

I am the epitome of Save Scum and want to give myself the full experience this time :)

duh tip, press shift to move between your guys when its your turn with out using your turn.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

God damn this is much harder. Took me a few tries just to get through the 2nd mission. Those Advent Commanders are bastards, marking my troops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Don't suppose anyone's got a fix for the graphics glitches? It's really ruining gameplay.

Examples:

http://i.imgur.com/tJ7Ziel.png
    http://i.imgur.com/SeYuV2Y.png
    http://i.imgur.com/kAksw48.png

Anyone?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,917 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Kiith wrote: »
    God damn this is much harder. Took me a few tries just to get through the 2nd mission. Those Advent Commanders are bastards, marking my troops.

The videos make it look so easy!

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I'd never tried Iron Man before because it didn't appeal to me stress wise vs enjoyment, as I said before, I am puuuuurrrrreeee save scum.

But I'm giving it a go. Only about 3 or 4 missions in, but honestly, it's exhilarating.

Real fist in the air kind of stuff.

Haven't had anyone die yet thankfully though.

I really don't think the timed missions are all that bad, that being said I beat the last 2 on the last turn, bare in mind they seem optional in some cases to actually complete it.

I think I've figured something out

I was on my last turn and sprinted (i.e. both movements) into the Evac zone and was allowed Evac even though I was given the impression they'd be left behind (not sure if your troops can be left behind or what tbh), might be helpful.

That being said, I'd killed all the enemies and reinforcements

dont mean to brag but take that alien overlords !

2016-02-05_00002.jpg

2016-02-05_00004.jpg

2016-02-05_00003.jpg

2016-02-05_00001.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

The timed mission are annoying in general until you get your first weapon upgrade and can start one shotting guys again...

Anyway; got chased down by the alien UFO and honestly it's silly good for you. First of all you get to kill a ton of aliens (ended up with 25 aliens killed) which means a ton of leveling. Secondly they send out more soldiers to support you who appear to get the latest weapon tech weapons for free (rather than you having to manufacture them) AND your rookies automatically level up just by showing up... Sitting there with 10 guys in overwatch waiting for their ships to land was amusing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

The timed mission are annoying in general until you get your first weapon upgrade and can start one shotting guys again...

Anyway; got chased down by the alien UFO and honestly it's silly good for you. First of all you get to kill a ton of aliens (ended up with 25 aliens killed) which means a ton of leveling. Secondly they send out more soldiers to support you who appear to get the latest weapon tech weapons for free (rather than you having to manufacture them) AND your rookies automatically level up just by showing up... Sitting there with 10 guys in overwatch waiting for their ships to land was amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

My first soldier was Jane Kelly, a ranger, from Ireland. :p

Was that just a happy accident? Or is your first soldier based on your steam location or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Kirby wrote: »

Was that just a happy accident? Or is your first soldier based on your steam location or something.

Same here :)

Kirby wrote: »

hay so was mine .. hmmm

Steam location it is so. Nice touch. Although its a shame everybody will end up with the same ranger unless she dies. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

@Jane Kelly - Yeah, mine too. I wonder is that for everyone or maybe you get one from the country your IP is based or something?

Day 1 on Commander + Iron Man:

- My brother is dead and so is one of my friends. To be fair, Simon was killed through a wall, which I guess is a glitch/bug familiar with this game. He won't ever open that computer game museum, but maybe I will do it in his honour.

- I have lost 9 XCOM soldiers so far.

- I have made contact with all of Africa and about to:
    assault the first ADVENT blacksite
    My 'panic' is on five blocks.

-
    One of my other friends was captured by the aliens, but we managed to rescue him. However, rescuing him came at the cost of my own character being captured. A somewhat obscure and complicated prisoner exchange took place! :P

The war rages on...

@Jane Kelly - Yeah, mine too. I wonder is that for everyone or maybe you get one from the country your IP is based or something?

Day 1 on Commander + Iron Man:

- My brother is dead and so is one of my friends. To be fair, Simon was killed through a wall, which I guess is a glitch/bug familiar with this game. He won't ever open that computer game museum, but maybe I will do it in his honour.

- I have lost 9 XCOM soldiers so far.

- I have made contact with all of Africa and about to:
    assault the first ADVENT blacksite
    My 'panic' is on five blocks.

-
    One of my other friends was captured by the aliens, but we managed to rescue him. However, rescuing him came at the cost of my own character being captured. A somewhat obscure and complicated prisoner exchange took place! :P

The war rages on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,754 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I have a jane kelly too,

i'm stuck on a mission atm, got a large map with an 8 turn countdown from the get-go, a van on the opposite side, 3 patrols, one unavoidable on the way to it - cannot get the objective done, save scumming the last two hours on this map and it's driving me nutso :D

i actually dont think it's possible because by the time i get to the van even fully concealed - all hell breaks loose when the 3 fcukers behind the van spot me or i ambush them and like 12 others appear from behind.

I get that it's supposed to be hard and all, but that's just not possible to get the objective and have any of the team survive. Especially when you've got 2 mindcontrol mobs and a hape of vipers trying to lick-hug ye

bleh, i should probably give up trying to actually do that objective and just evac

lol just did it.. took ages and ages, and save scumming but yeah thanks Paul O'Connell :)

I lost my first soldier. A british specialist. He was one shotted by an electric stun batton. Ironically, or rather tragically, his call sign was "Sparky".

I suppose Sparky died how he lived. :P

Otherwise I'm making great progress. No other casualties. I have Africa under control and am moving onto Brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,149 ✭✭✭Patser

Jane Kelly too, and by mission 3 I have 4 Irish out of 8 - not by creating characters.

Game a bit unstable for me, plays ok when going but all cut scenes, even voice video in corner take ages to load. Missions very slow to start.

Probably laptop being stretched to limit.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Anyone who hates the timers, there's already mods to remove them (not using them myself, but they are there)

I didnt like it at first but it stoped bothering me so much after a few games and now i kind of like it well.. depends on the mission only gripe with it is that it makes me save scum when i run out of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Someone convince me to buy this :D

dreamers75 wrote: »

Sorry i dont have time, i'm far too busy playing XCOM2 :P

dreamers75 wrote: »

We don't need to, its quality speaks for itself :P

All I can say is that if you played EU/EW then you'll know what you're getting and whether you'll enjoy it or not. If you haven't, then it's on sale and is a cheap way to find out if you dig it (and you'll have a classic game that'll give you hundreds of hours of fun).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,917 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Is it wonderful? I bet it's wonderful.

Here, is there an Irish accent voicepack this time?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

It's some kind of wonderful... :D

No Irish Voice Pack... yet! We might put one together ourselves :eek:

" top a da morning to ya" click click boom

By the way, would ye say this is well optimised?

There's two northern Irish accents (1 x male and female)in the British English stock voices, also a Scottish ones - they're fairly decent

Would be nice to get as gaelige orders barked over though :)

Not in the slightest. Performance issues, random crashes, irregular frame-rate, etc. Still though, I can't stop playing! :D

There's two northern Irish accents (1 x male and female)in the British English stock voices, also a Scottish ones - they're fairly decent

Would be nice to get as gaelige orders barked over though :)

Nice touch. I'd prefer a nice Donegal one though.

Falthyron wrote: »
    Not in the slightest. Performance issues, random crashes, irregular frame-rate, etc. Still though, I can't stop playing! :D

That's the laptop out. This must be how a neutered pet feels.

No, it's polished really well - but some load screens can take upwards of 2 minutes or so unless you're using a SSD. There are some imo minor graphical glitches, like camera angles with the actioncam and once i had a hackscreen that was covered over by treebranches... tbf that was more realistically accurate than glitchy though :D

It's the only drawback to the game i can see - slow load times, but i'll just assume they'll be optimized with a future patch

No, it's polished really well - but some load screens can take upwards of 2 minutes or so unless you're using a SSD. There are some imo minor graphical glitches, like camera angles with the actioncam and once i had a hackscreen that was covered over by treebranches... tbf that was more realistically accurate than glitchy though :D

It's the only drawback to the game i can see - slow load times, but i'll just assume they'll be optimized with a future patch

It's a coin that'll cost £35 to flip though. If it was fairly well optimised I think I might get away with 30fps at 720p or similar. My poor laptop's already handled more than I thought I'd get away with such as Mass Effect 3.

might be a risk alright, well if you're stuck you can laugh at me save scumming my way through the campaign on normal :P

https://youtu.be/3jiEclXQ6VU

It's not terribly well optimised, but it's not terrible :D

done a black site mission that was feckin hard to do plenty of retries, lost our gal kelly r.i.p !! i spent ages trying to get her body to evac site lolz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭KilOit

Bit the bullet and bought it, better be good or else!
    first turned based i've ever played too

it's a bit crap the way if you get to an objective like hack some thing for example and you know you cant beat the rest of the enemy's, if you retreat and do an emergency evac with the objective done but dont kill the remaining npc's it counts as a failed mission.

tip also, hold down ctrl when moving to make your guys move the way you want, so they dont go smashing through windows etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Wish there was a way to skip animations, especially the gremlin hacking one.

go into the options - gameplay and uncheck action cam

I highly recommend the Free Camera Rotation Mod - moving by 45 degrees rather than 90 when you rotate gives you a much better opportunity to spot something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I started on Veteran for 'people familiar with TBS and people who played X-COM'. ****s sake its difficult!

Had to pack in two playthroughs :( Had basically ran out of intel and supplies, had all inventory flogged on black market and was left with just two lads knocking around an empty barracks as the rest had been killed or injured.

Going to start a new game on Normal now, which I imagine should be fine. Shocked at the difficulty of Veteran as I put some ammount of hours into X-COM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭lulzordan

J Mysterio wrote:
    Going to start a new game on Normal now, which I imagine should be fine. Shocked at the difficulty of Veteran as I put some ammount of hours into X-COM.

Is rookie supposed to be normal? Currently playing veteran and having a hard time surviving!

J Mysterio wrote: »
    I started on Veteran for 'people familiar with TBS and people who played X-COM'. ****s sake its difficult! .

It actually says Regular for people familiar with XCOM. Veteran for people familiar with XCOM 2. For your second playthrough etc.