Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fancies For Today II

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭irish_major

Dollseyes wrote: »
    Cheers. Drifted out to 10/1 too.

Is a certainty next time, got an awful ride. Watch the race, was actually hoping, in running, that it would come 6th as might have gone further under the radar for next time.

Put that one in the tracker folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭zimmermania

8/1 at each way surely would have seen a profit?

I got 10s ew and I agree the horse would probably have won.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Merlin44

Ickymasho 9/1 kempton 7:45 might need a run but has shown obvious class on ocassion when winning 3 of last 5 , a winner over c+d likes aw and one of his trainers favourites .

The 7 45 at Kempton is a mile and a half handicap with a few runners stepping up in trip and ridden by amateurs so it could be a bit of a puzzle.

HIGH BAROQUE has a bit of class and the top weight if getting the trip has a chance.
    SENNOCKIAN STAR has won off much higher marks and in higher grade handicaps and is running well without getting his head in front but it would not surprise me if he won but his pilot lacks experience.

ALCATRAZ ran well last time,has a useful enough jockey on board and the horses in front of him last time have come out and run well since,he was staying on well last time and can win,he should stay the extra furlong.I will back him ew to do so.
    SENNOCKIAN STAR looks certain to be placed and I will do a few full perm forecasts and tri-casts with him,ALCATRAZ and HIGH BAROQUE.

NEW RICH at around 13/2 -7/1 is worth a little ew in the 6 45 at Kempton.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

NEW RICH at around 13/2 -7/1 is worth a little ew in the 6 45 at Kempton.

Out to 8-1 on pp now

• Registered Users Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭vandriver

The 7 45 at Kempton is a mile and a half handicap with a few runners stepping up in trip and ridden by amateurs so it could be a bit of a puzzle.

HIGH BAROQUE has a bit of class and the top weight if getting the trip has a chance.
    SENNOCKIAN STAR has won off much higher marks and in higher grade handicaps and is running well without getting his head in front but it would not surprise me if he won but his pilot lacks experience.

ALCATRAZ ran well last time,has a useful enough jockey on board and the horses in front of him last time have come out and run well since,he was staying on well last time and can win,he should stay the extra furlong.I will back him ew to do so.
    SENNOCKIAN STAR looks certain to be placed and I will do a few full perm forecasts and tri-casts with him,ALCATRAZ and HIGH BAROQUE.

Winner and 2nd 24/1 csf

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Merlin44

Merlin44 wrote: »
    Ickymasho 9/1 kempton 7:45 might need a run but has shown obvious class on ocassion when winning 3 of last 5 , a winner over c+d likes aw and one of his trainers favourites .

Pity Ickymasho was edged for 3rd but as the big drift suggested he wasn't near ready to win that said he will come on for that run and I expect him to run and win soon . Sennockian Star was overdue that win

Merlin44 wrote: »
    Pity Ickymasho was edged for 3rd but as the big drift suggested he wasn't near ready to win that said he will come on for that run and I expect him to run and win soon . Sennockian Star was overdue that win
    He did run well in a tough handicap and should win soon.

Two good handicaps at Newcastle,the 3 30 is worth £13,000 and the 4 30 is worth £28,000 to the winner,a very good pot for the AW and a good field are chasing it.

The fav,Holiday Magic has won his last 3 races and will be fancied by many but not by me. This is a tougher race and he will have to improve a lot to feature here.Quaffal, Fort Bastion,Pactolus and Flaming Spear will all have their supporters and I think the race is between them and my selection,STEEL TRAIN and I believe he will be better suited by the 7 furlong trip than the others who might prefer a mile (though the likely fast pace will help them).

Oddly enough Fort Bastion, Quaffal and Steel Train are drawn 14,13 and 12 and the race could get a bit rough as they try not be too wide and those out the back early might not feature at all.
    STEEL TRAIN is in good form and though behind Pactolus two runs ago he missed the break that day and is 8 lbs better off now and is my ew bet and I might have have a small stakes dabble on the tri-cast with those mentioned above.

The 3 30 should be won by NATURAL SCENERY who was 3rd to Burcan last time and a good 2nd before that,Josephine Gordon was on board when he last won and is on board again.
    The current price is too short and I will not be backing it unless it drifts as it is no certainty,but should win.

BERLUSCA is a good bet in the 7 oc at Chelmsford,a good 4th to Coillte Cailin and just ahead of Sennockian Star (won a nice race yesterday) and a close up 5th before that.

Now rated 79 his lowest rating since he won a class 4 off 79 in 2014.Has a tremendous record in December and January and has won regularly when rated in the 80s. With Josh Doyle taking off 5 lbs the top weight looks something to bet on and I will be having a strong bet ew.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Mr Bob is a surprising 8-1 considering he is a CD winner
    has a good jock onboard, Tony Hamilton And I will be placing a good e/w bet

3pm Newcastle

Course stat: has won 1 times from 3 run(s) at Newcastle (33% strike rate).
    Jockey stat: T Hamilton rides Mister Bob for the first time today.
    Distance stat: has won 5 times from 11 run(s) over 16f (45% strike rate).
    Going stat: has won 5 times from 18 run(s) on Standard (28% strike rate).

And a 20/1 long shot in the 14:50 catterick Raktiman
    medium e/w bet

Course stat: has won 1 times from 4 run(s) at Catterick (25% strike rate).
    He has won three hurdle races and a chase from 2m 3f to 2m 5f on ground varying from good to soft

although a longer trip I think he will stay

Jockey stat: Jonathan England rides today & has gained 3 wins from 16 ride(s) (19% strike rate).

Doing fine is probably the fave at 4-1 and i will have a saver on it but I do like big odds!

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭razorhead

Two good handicaps at Newcastle,the 3 30 is worth £13,000 and the 4 30 is worth £28,000 to the winner,a very good pot for the AW and a good field are chasing it.

The fav,Holiday Magic has won his last 3 races and will be fancied by many but not by me. This is a tougher race and he will have to improve a lot to feature here.Quaffal, Fort Bastion,Pactolus and Flaming Spear will all have their supporters and I think the race is between them and my selection,STEEL TRAIN and I believe he will be better suited by the 7 furlong trip than the others who might prefer a mile (though the likely fast pace will help them).

Oddly enough Fort Bastion, Quaffal and Steel Train are drawn 14,13 and 12 and the race could get a bit rough as they try not be too wide and those out the back early might not feature at all.
    STEEL TRAIN is in good form and though behind Pactolus two runs ago he missed the break that day and is 8 lbs better off now and is my ew bet and I might have have a small stakes dabble on the tri-cast with those mentioned above.

The 3 30 should be won by NATURAL SCENERY who was 3rd to Burcan last time and a good 2nd before that,Josephine Gordon was on board when he last won and is on board again.
    The current price is too short and I will not be backing it unless it drifts as it is no certainty,but should win.

The forecast paid nice there Zimmer....

razorhead wrote: »
    The forecast paid nice there Zimmer....
    I invested 24 euro in the tri-cast but had STEEL TRAIN in it.He ran no sort of race and I am wondering if a few trainers here were reluctant to blow the handicap mark of their horses when it became apparent that the winner was being heavily punted and as Bloom his owner,a shrewd professional punter was backing his horse they thought perhaps they could not beat him and waited for another day.

I have doubled my bet on BERLUSCA but racing may not go ahead now.

I invested 24 euro in the tri-cast but had STEEL TRAIN in it.He ran no sort of race and I am wondering if a few trainers here were reluctant to blow the handicap mark of their horses when it became apparent that the winner was being heavily punted and as Bloom his owner,a shrewd professional punter was backing his horse they thought perhaps they could not beat him and waited for another day.

I have doubled my bet on BERLUSCA but racing may not go ahead now.

There didn't seem to be any will to get him going anyway.

Modest fare today.The versatile PIVOT BRIDGE former high class handicap hurdler and no slouch on the flat looks to be too good for the rest in the 6 45 Wol and not too many are likely to take him on if they are watching their handicap mark as this horse is sure to go up a good bit if successful here.

One who will take him on is DREAM SERENADE,he is a one paced slow stayer who always does his best has such a low rating that he often finds himself out of the handicap.Runs off correct mark today and could run into a place at a very big price and might be worth a small forecast with PIVOT BRIDGE.

ZABEEL STAR is up 2 furlongs in the 7 45 Wol,should stay and is worth backing with the right man on board.Seems only to have the fav to beat and if he stays he can win.

STILL WAITING 1 30 Ling ran well over a mile at Kempton last time and left on the same mark should go one better today.Lightly raced, he still has more improvement to come and at around 7/2 is worth backing today.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Modest fare today.The versatile PIVOT BRIDGE former high class handicap hurdler and no slouch on the flat looks to be too good for the rest in the 6 45 Wol and not too many are likely to take him on if they are watching their handicap mark as this horse is sure to go up a good bit if successful here.

One who will take him on is DREAM SERENADE,he is a one paced slow stayer who always does his best has such a low rating that he often finds himself out of the handicap.Runs off correct mark today and could run into a place at a very big price and might be worth a small forecast with PIVOT BRIDGE.

ZABEEL STAR is up 2 furlongs in the 7 45 Wol,should stay and is worth backing with the right man on board.Seems only to have the fav to beat and if he stays he can win.

STILL WAITING 1 30 Ling ran well over a mile at Kempton last time and left on the same mark should go one better today.Lightly raced, he still has more improvement to come and at around 7/2 is worth backing today.

Im on still waiting as well, but notice Lingfield is running very slow, so might be a few surprises

I got money back on STILL WAITING as a free bet and I took the trouble to visit a few Lads offices as they are money back as free bet at Wol and Dun and I have a good few quid on ZABEEL STAR at 5/2 with Lads,the money back offer being too good to refuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

If handbrake is let off Arbourfield 4/1 he wins.He is the best in the race by some distance ,Dundalk 7.30.

My dearest other half came home with a tip to me today. Kempton 4.40 DOESYOURDOGBITE. Had a quick peep at the form with 3 wins out if 3 runs over hurdles. Up 6lbs which hopefully is not too much of a rise to hinder the past progress. At 11/2 an ew maybe worth it. She knows nothing about horses not that I'm an expert but it leaves enough value for an ew I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Niallers87

sting60 wrote: »
    If handbrake is let off Arbourfield 4/1 he wins.He is the best in the race by some distance ,Dundalk 7.30.

Thank you sir!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Great shout, won comfortably

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Sham Squire

Great job!

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭razorhead

Just didn't get home Zimmer, unlucky...great shouts today...thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 36,162 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sheisdiesel for me in the 8.30

Still at post .
    9-1

I got money back on STILL WAITING as a free bet and I took the trouble to visit a few Lads offices as they are money back as free bet at Wol and Dun and I have a good few quid on ZABEEL STAR at 5/2 with Lads,the money back offer being too good to refuse.

Did the 4 horses I put up in an ew lucky 15 1 winner 3 placed €154 back for €90 invested,backed the rest except Pivot Bridge and have money back as free bets on Still Waiting and and Zabeel Star and a nice touch on Winter Lion who I put up on the tips thread.

The importance of taking any advantage we can get cannot be overstated.I really fancied Zabeel Star even though I could not be certain he would stay and the cushion of the free bet enabled me to have a decent bet and I have saved my stake in the form of a free bet.
    Even though I had good info for WINTER LION it was nice to know that if he was beaten by the fav all was not lost.

Taking advantage of these offers is vital if we are half serious about our betting.

I am backing 4 horses on the AW today,BOOMERANG BOB has been running well lately and can pick up a race worth more than £7,000 to the winner,the 1 25 at Ling.A c and d winner who was a good 2nd over a month ago and the first time cheekpieces can help him to win this race.
    The 2 oc is a very good handicap headed by the fav,the classy THIRD TIME LUCKY who won the Cambridgeshire 2 years ago and was 4th in it last year.He is a very good horse but I don't believe he should be fav for today's race.
    A straight 9 furlongs in Newmarket is not the same as a mile at Lingfield where horses can not go flat out until they have negotiated the final bend and while I expect Third Time Lucky to be running on strongly at the finish I am happy to take him on with MY TARGET whose Ling form reads 3-1-2-2-1-1.

MY TARGET is a few pounds worse off with Third Time Lucky,Mister Bossy Boots and Bold Prediction who were all close up behind him last time and expect this course specialist to come out on top again.

At Wol I fancy Mark Johnston's BYRE'S ROAD to win 6 15 following his easy win last time,he is up a few pounds but can continue to improve and beat an ordinary enough buch. In the 8 45 I expect OBERYN to win again after his surprise victory just over a week ago.He carries top weight but the fact that the 2nd fav and nearest horse to him in the weights was beaten in a seller last time is enough for me.

These all have realistic chances and I am going to do an ew lucky 15 as well as punting a few of them in decent ew singles.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Granted luck in running Magic City 5/2 Wolves 6.15 will win and is the best bet anywhere today.

One more for today,CHESTNUT STORM has run well since stepping up in trip on last two outings.
    It was a different surface last time when chasing home Canadian Diamond (who has bossed a few of these regularly) but it was still a good performance given that they went no pace early on.
    Showed promise on previous run at this trip and if there is any kind of gallop today will be in the shakeup.These are mainly a bunch of plodders and CHESTNUT STORM who has been held up out the back on only runs at this trip will probably be ridden closer to the pace today now that it is certain he stays and is a decent ew bet.
    Runs in the 6 45 at Wol and I have added it to the 4 already selected to make up an ew lucky 31.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Granted luck in running Magic City 5/2 Wolves 6.15 will win and is the best bet anywhere today.

Jack of diamonds for me,
    Magic city is by no means the best bet of the day whether it gos on to win or not.
    He always finds trouble in running and gets going to late