Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boston College v Georgia Tech @ Aviva Stadium 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

I was thinking of getting the Dart from South Dublin to Lansdowne Station, but I've to use the Orange entrance and the Aviva website says for Orange you have to go to the next Station (Grand Canal Dock) and then walk back. Is there any way of using the Lansdowne Station and still getting to the Orange entrance? It's meant to be raining a lot tomorrow and I don't fancy a 15 min walk when there's a station right beside the ground!

Why is it so awkward to get to a big event in a National Stadium in this country? :(

J.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

jasonb wrote: »
    I was thinking of getting the Dart from South Dublin to Lansdowne Station, but I've to use the Orange entrance and the Aviva website says for Orange you have to go to the next Station (Grand Canal Dock) and then walk back. Is there any way of using the Lansdowne Station and still getting to the Orange entrance? It's meant to be raining a lot tomorrow and I don't fancy a 15 min walk when there's a station right beside the ground!

Why is it so awkward to get to a big event in a National Stadium in this country? :(

J.

Get off at Lansdowne Rd, go left and walk up the road towards Ballsbridge to the lights on Shelbourne Rd, turn right along Shelbourne Rd and first right down Lansdowne Lane. Stiles D/E/F are at the bottom of the lane.

Ask any steward/Garda if you get lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,078 ✭✭✭OU812

Deco99 wrote: »
    Would one be out of place in a volts jerset....colts jersey..damn
    you will see all types, i'll be in my titans t shirt

Will be in Seahawks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,431 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Is it being televised live in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,927 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

aer lingus a320 doing a fly over, thats it.

Probably should expect it to get there some time in the middle of the second half, if my experience is anything to go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Larbre34 wrote:
    Is it being televised live in Ireland?

It's on BT Sport ESPN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,384 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I know the forecast was for rain,but it's tipping it down fierce heavy in cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

jasonb wrote: »

J.
    From my experience of attending LR for football, rugby and concerts, they only enforce the route system for football matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

Thanks prinzeugen and Richard, that sounds good to me, I'll get off at Lansdowne and walk around to the Orange route...

J.

Lashing rain here about 100m from the Aviva. Good day for some ground and pound!

Who do you fancy to win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Triboro

Any shuttle service from Trinity to Aviva?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭raheny red

Triboro wrote: »
    Any shuttle service from Trinity to Aviva?

"A complimentary shuttle bus service will run from the Lincoln Gate entrance of Trinity College to the Aviva Stadium from 10am to ensure you don’t miss a moment of the action!!"

http://hub.collegefootballireland.com/event-posts/trinity-village/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Triboro

raheny red wrote: »
    "A complimentary shuttle bus service will run from the Lincoln Gate entrance of Trinity College to the Aviva Stadium from 10am to ensure you don’t miss a moment of the action!!"

http://hub.collegefootballireland.com/event-posts/trinity-village/

Sound, Thanks very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

A few Boston coaching staff in Starbucks Westmorland st.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Tempted to try and fit as many different nfl and college teams onto my body as possible

Who do you fancy to win?

I would imagine Georgia Tech by a TD or more but sure what do I know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

What time do gates open at lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Tickets don't have a gate time but I think it's 11

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

What's traffic like lads around the stadium ? Gonna get a taxi from Hurston as train coming in a bit late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,078 ✭✭✭OU812

Lashing in Trinity. Great atmosphere though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

OU812 wrote: »
    Lashing in Trinity. Great atmosphere though

That's why I love College Football.
    Fantastic atmosphere; especially with all the tailgating parties (in the States).
    It's an all-day/night affair.

On the way in. We're in with the Boston fans and decided to wear Pats jerseys, but I won't be telling them I have money on Georgia Tech :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Some weather for it. Enjoy it lads and lasses.

BT Sport/ESPN shoe horning ads in all over the shop. FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Is there a US channel this is on?

"Just down the road from the AVIVA Stadium is Croke Park"

Eh... ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Has anyone got rapidq working in the stadium?

anthems were nice.

looks on TV to be a solid 30k in attendance.

anthems were nice.

Was gonna say that the Kilkenny choir's version of the Irish anthem was the best I've heard in yonks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

BT Sport/ESPN have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

The weather could play a big factor. Probably a lot of people just using it for a day out and decided against it with the rain

You can probably factor in A) Electric Picnic weekend and B) the weather for a lack of walk ups on the day.

Croker was cavernous but it worked in people's favour a bit whoever bought tickets for the Hill because we were given unallocated seating in the gods.

Jesus. Georgia tech love the aul pitch.

First TD.

QB run around the left edge from 4 yards.

Georgia 7-0 up

mmmm. .... A 50c 'frostie'
    what a time to be alive.

US ads are sh*t!

Jesus. Georgia tech love the aul pitch.

They've adapted well to the pitch/conditions.

That_Guy wrote: »
    They've adapted well to the pitch/conditions.

I hear the grass is long in Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Does anybody have any idea what country/city this match is taking place in?

The commentators haven't mentioned it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

D4 is a state of mind... today its thinking of america

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Does anybody have any idea what country/city this match is taking place in?

The commentators haven't mentioned it at all.

I believe it's Dublin I-are-land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,272 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Is there a US channel this is on?

ESPN2 in the US

I'll take it over U2 any day. ;)

Yowza, that was some block for the FG attempt.

a chrysler with an in built vacuum cleaner!

Shame it's a chrysler.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Fat man int!!

This is poor stuff

That Boston QB may as well have handed that ball to Georgia. Bad bad turnover.

ScummyMan wrote: »
    Fat man int!!

This is poor stuff

He was just been obliging.