Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans in Temple Bar Tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭LincolnsBeard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

About time the poxy Wolfe Tones were decommissioned. Remove the banjos and bury them under concrete...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Time to grow up ffs. Them days are gone. "English knackers" says yer man when there were kids there with their dads supporting England who have no recollection of the troubles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Darpa

Where's the obligatory lad with the Celtic top and the "NO to Foreign Games" sign ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Time to grow up ffs. Them days are gone. English knackers says yer man when there were kids there with their dads supporting England who have no recollection of the troubles.

I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing.
    ya have idiots saying that they are their second favourite team now.... are we really that thick and easily fooled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Yep it was Tony and Harry from Brighton over for the weekend that done killed them all. Jesus, by that logic we're all 'RA bombers down at Canary Wharf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

chair28 wrote: »
    I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing..

The England national football team were murdering innocent people in Ireland a few years ago?

I knew John Terry had character flaws but wow.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Yep it was Tony and Harry from Brighton over for the weekend that done killed them all. Jesus, by that logic we're all 'RA bombers down at Canary Wharf.

Could very well be Tony and Harry it was so recently. they people who did it arent even dead yet and We're licking English arse. Its pitiful to be honest.

The England national football team were murdering innocent people in Ireland a few years ago?

I knew John Terry had character flaws but wow.

Is that really what you got from my message or have you nothing better to say?

I don't really think i need to explain what i meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing.
    ya have idiots saying that they are their second favourite team now.... are we really that thick and easily fooled.

Im not saying forget the past. Steady progress is being made up North for republicans through democratic means. Both sides had casualtys and its better for everyone if we can move forward peacefully and have the English as Allies rather than enemies.

Of course we should never forget what happened but there is a time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

thebaz wrote: »
    people died cause of the recession - people i know - so less of the patronising ****e - Germany did us little favours in our time of economic need , they wanted all debt payed to there precocious bankers & investors . Obviously they weren't solely to blame , but the British were much better friends to us in our time of economic need

britain gave a loan to ireland. they didn't bail anyone out. they gave a loan which had significantly better interest rates than what they would have gotten on the open market, so we still ended up paying them back at rates similar to the ECB and IMF loans.

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Im not saying forget the past. Steady progress is being made up North for republicans through democratic means. Both sides had casualtys and its better for everyone if we can move forward peacefully and have the English as Allies rather than enemies.

Of course we should never forget what happened but there is a time to move on.

Sorry FalconGirl, i dont accept that, how can it be just that easy to move on. They have done some pretty ****ty things to us, walked all over us for years cos they could. You could write an essay about all they horrible things that has happened in the last 50 years alone. That to me cant be forgotten that easily.

What do you mean as Allies? we're a neutral nation that dont need allies.

britain gave a loan to ireland. they didn't bail anyone out. they gave a loan which had significantly better interest rates than what they would have gotten on the open market, so we still ended up paying them back at rates similar to the ECB and IMF loans.

This is the kinda thing im talking about Ballsy, Irish people hear something and believe it as gospel. They probably heard it down the pub that we got free money.....
    Without sounding too critical on ourselves,we can be very gullible and simple sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Is that really what you got from my message or have you nothing better to say?

I don't really think i need to explain what i meant.

I just don't understand what Roy Hodgson and his team have to do with political stuff that happened before his players were even born. Although I hear Danny Welbeck's father Stan Welbeck, used to work I'm Bomb difusal.

Again, is that what you think i meant or are you just a wind up merchant?

Either that or your incredibly stupid..... what i dont think ya are to be fair to ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

So, similar but not the same?

They were getting better rates from us..... IE they were benefiting more from the deal while looking like the nice guys that people seem to think they are now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

They were getting better rates from us..... IE they were benefiting more from the deal while looking like the nice guys that people seem to think they are now

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-14256280

similar.... broadly in line with... whatever phrase you're having yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-14256280

similar.... broadly in line with... whatever phrase you're having yourself.

Capitalism at its finest then. Depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

This is the kinda thing im talking about Ballsy, Irish people hear something and believe it as gospel. They probably heard it down the pub that we got free money.....

Hearing it down the pub is probably a better source of information than a Wolfe Tone's album
    Without sounding too critical on ourselves,we can be very gullible and simple sometimes

Now there's a fine bit of irony

Hearing it down the pub is probably a better source of information than a Wolfe Tone's album

Do the Wolfe tones have a song about it?
    U must be well up on your Wolfe tones.

I suppose ya think we shouldn't sing rebel songs aswel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

people died cause of the recession - people i know - so less of the patronising ****e - Germany did us little favours in our time of economic need , they wanted all debt payed to there precocious bankers & investors . Obviously they weren't solely to blame , but the British were much better friends to us in our time of economic need

How exactly were the British much better? Basically, are there any facts at all for your anti German opinion.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Either that or your incredibly stupid.... what i dont think ya are to be fair to ya

I love when this happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Because of one stupid boring 0-0 friendly in which all the scumbag English fans weren't aloud to aloud to travel they are your new second favourite team??? My god

Thats one huge chip on your shoulder son.(some people just get off from hateing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Do the Wolfe tones have a song about it?
    U must be well up on your Wolfe tones.

I suppose ya think we shouldn't sing rebel songs aswel?

Rebel songs have no place in a Sporting situation.Again that huge chip ,is weighing you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Tilly wrote: »
    I'd rather eat my own shít.

Weird that you seem to think those are your two options but whatever you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Whatever man, you're so badly dedicated and informed on the situation, im not gonna bother.

If ranting on boards about the Germans and how it's all their fault makes you feel better, I won't stand in your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Either that or your incredibly stupid..... what i dont think ya are to be fair to ya

Just read it out loud mate.

People also died during the Famine. That was a time of need. Our English friends continued to export corn.

Not that I would lay that on any English person. I take people as I see them, British, German, whatever, but if I was to generalise yes I like the English because as you also said we can relate to them on many levels.

But sheesh, to be nice to a people because their Government give us better interest rates on a loan? That's a bit...servile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

News just in: Temple Bar still standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

anncoates wrote: »
    News just in: Temple Bar still standing.

Indeed. This thread had a bit of everything apart from any actual hooliganism.

Let's hope it's not another twenty years before we play them again over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Collie D wrote: »
    Indeed. This thread had a bit of everything apart from any actual hooliganism.

Let's hope it's not another twenty years before we play them again over here.

Why? The game was incredibly boring, but it's an end if season friendly.

I'd say if we were drawn against them in a qualifier it would pass off without a hitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Friendlys should be 10% exhibitions I think. Almost like a snooker exhibition is.

God that game was boring. It was so boring that this morning there is a articles just about how boring it was. Never seen that happen after a game of football before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

tigger123 wrote: »
    Why? The game was incredibly boring, but it's an end if season friendly.

I'd say if we were drawn against them in a qualifier it would pass off without a hitch.

Agreed, it was ****e both in terms of football and atmosphere but as you say it was an end of season friendly. A Saturday 5pm kickoff for a qualifier will be much better. And if Ireland had scored the place would have erupted and the tedium that went before it forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

was in temple bar yest
    gardai everywhere all in their semi military "public order" uniform.

overtime galore for the boy...

It was sad to see a departure from the normal policing spirit espoused by the garda. it was quite a step up in intimidation than what should be and reflected badly on the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

arayess wrote: »
    was in temple bar yest

It was sad to see a departure from the normal policing spirit espoused by the garda. it was quite a step up in intimidation than what should be and reflected badly on the city.

Can't do anything right can they.

After the last time they couldn't take any chances and leave themselves open to criticism.
    We really love a good whinge and moan in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

They should have penalty shootouts after friendlies that end in a draw (or even if there is a winner) especially pre tournament friendlies .

makes the finale more exciting, someone will win.
    might keep everyone there until the end
    England (and Ireland) need the practice.

a team can practice penalties until the cows come home, but doing it in front of 40-45,000 people, I think would be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

was in temple bar yest

They had to imitate the attitude of the english cops for the best effect, things will return to normal now the invaders are gone :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I passed through temple bar around tea time yesterday, the amount of riot cops was unbelievable, attack dogs and all they had

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Can't do anything right can they.

After the last time they couldn't take any chances and leave themselves open to criticism.
    We really love a good whinge and moan in this country.

I don't think you are being fair.

They could have stayed discretely back not hanging about in mobs on corners looking like a paramilitary force , which is what yesterday did look like.
    It's not the aims of the garda to behave like that.

last time I thought the gardai handled the situation pretty well.

But its' been almost 20 years , both societies have moved on dramatically. football related violence is nothing what it was in the 90's or 80;s. It wouldn't be that hard to take a assessment of the current situation rather than base your whole planning on an event 20 years ago.
    20 years is arguable 25% of the average persons' lifetime. That's a huge amount of time when you think of it like that.

Given I saw about 50-60 english fans it hardly warranted that number of gardai.

I wonder who pays that OT bill - people on trolleys in our hospitals but we can pay overtime for a mob of police for a poxy nothing game.
    jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

K-9 wrote: »
    How exactly were the British much better? Basically, are there any facts at all for your anti German opinion.

Did Germany not push for the sub-ordinated debt from Anglo Irish be paid in full by the Irish people or taxpayers . These were gambles that German (mainly) institutions took and failed due to the ineptitude of a few Irish developers and chosen few. The Iris economy is in serious recession due to the actions of tiny chosen few , , my point is Germany did us little favours , and many people are still suffering including myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The Iris economy is in serious recession due to the actions of tiny chosen few , , .

The Irish economy has not been in recession since September 2013 when we posted 2 successive quarters of growth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I wonder who pays that OT bill - people on trolleys in our hospitals but we can pay overtime for a mob of police for a poxy nothing game.
    jaysus.

Yeah thats how it works, people have been kicked out of hospital beds cus of this.......... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Menas wrote: »
    The Irish economy has not been in recession since September 2013 when we posted 2 successive quarters of growth!

i don't believe it - I certainly am not - and I still don't think we should pay sub-orinate debt for loans on a bank , that hardly any Irish citizen ever used. and people infer I am stupid and deluded - good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

i don't believe it - I certainly am not - and I still don't think we should pay sub-orinate debt for loans on a bank , that hardly any Irish citizen ever used.

Sorry that you dont believe it, but it is true and has been true since Sept 2013!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0919/475202-economy-recession-cso/

But this is in the globally accepted definition of recession as "a period of temporary economic decline during which trade and industrial activity are reduced, generally identified by a fall in GDP in two successive quarters".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Typical Irish attitude to the public sector showing again.

If the Gardai don't have a large presence and something kicks off then they are useless, lazy BASTARDS.

If they do have a large presence then they are intimidating, jack booted BASTARDS.

A nation of angry teenagers getting annoyed at mom and dad just because........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

There really is no topic on this site that ye won't find a way of forcing us all to read more ill informed gibberish about the bank guarantee. Just ****ing drop it and let us get back to hiding our disappointment that it didn't all kick off yesterday as we secretly were hoping it would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

There really is no topic on this site that ye won't find a way of forcing us all to read more ill informed gibberish about the bank guarantee. Just ****ing drop it and let us get back to hiding our disappointment that it didn't all kick off yesterday as we secretly were hoping it would.

You mean The Baton Olympics? Would have been more craic than the game yesterday, tis true.

That being said, if all the fans who came were only allowed drink in temple bar, I'd say they suffered enough, meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So were there any survivors? Who will sing the songs to remember the fallen in the Battle of Temple Bar?