Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England fans in Temple Bar Tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

thebaz wrote: »
    Did Germany not push for the sub-ordinated debt from Anglo Irish be paid in full by the Irish people or taxpayers . These were gambles that German (mainly) institutions took and failed due to the ineptitude of a few Irish developers and chosen few. The Iris economy is in serious recession due to the actions of tiny chosen few , , my point is Germany did us little favours , and many people are still suffering including myself.

So the British acted differently how? Gave us a loan?

You also realuse loads of these institutions are often run from London and the states, with German bases? Which is why the praise for Britain is baffling.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

K-9 wrote: »

You also realuse loads of these institutions are often run from London and the states, with German bases? Which is why the praise for Britain is baffling.

So it turns out the CIA knew the agent was selling secrets to the Russians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

K-9 wrote: »

I have many British friends - we share much in common - football, music, booze .
    I grew up in an environment where I was encouraged to hate England , thankfully today , after spending much time over there , this is not true now- like any culture or group - Irish , German or English there is good and bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Typical Irish attitude to the public sector showing again.

If the Gardai don't have a large presence and something kicks off then they are useless, lazy BASTARDS.

If they do have a large presence then they are intimidating, jack booted BASTARDS.

A nation of angry teenagers getting annoyed at mom and dad just because........

your post is stupid.
    I hate the public sector as much as the next man but that's not what I said in anyway.

if you saw the gardai yesterday you'd know they weren't the normal gardai you'd see. they were dressed in combat gear with batons and whatever else they were carrying.
    It wasn't pleasant viewing. if it was necessary , why not keep them discretely out of view until they were needed (if needed)
    It made the city look bad and for no reason.

that said - they could have killed time by riding the city of junkies.
    abbey street and liffey street were infested with them yesterday while i was walking through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh, Manx . . . . .

We're all very similar, all connected by geography, living as we are on a group of islands off the NW coast of Europe. England & Ireland are really just like two old estranged siblings who really should get along better, seeing as we're so inter related and connected through the millennia. And we always will be connected, unless one of us sinks!

Watched the match on ITV HD, and the amount of Irish players who play in the English Premiership is amazing . . . now Rooney gets tackeled by O'Shea "His Man U team mate", etc etc etc...

Thankfully the old England fans of the yobbo variety have either died off or had their passports confiscated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

arayess wrote: »

I can see the headlines now!

"Dublin Riot Cops in Drug Fuelled Shagathon!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

So were there any survivors? Who will sing the songs to remember the fallen in the Battle of Temple Bar?

It's also time to boycott the establishments that profiteered from the queens shilling this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

LordSutch wrote: »
    English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh, Manx . . . . .

We're all very similar, all connected by geography, living as we are on a group of islands off the NW coast of Europe. England & Ireland are really just like two old estranged siblings who really should get along better, seeing as we're so inter related and connected through the millennia. And we always will be connected, unless one of us sinks!

Watched the match on ITV HD, and the amount of Irish players who play in the English Premiership is amazing . . . now Rooney gets tackeled by O'Shea "His Man U team mate", etc etc etc...

Thankfully the old England fans of the yobbo variety have either died off or had their passports confiscated.

I was in the oval bar in Dublin last night. If you were there you'd realise how wrong this statement is.

I'm not anti British by any means but last night was confirmation that the scumbag element of Englands football support has never gone way.

your post is stupid.
    I hate the public sector as much as the next man but that's not what I said in anyway.

if you saw the gardai yesterday you'd know they weren't the normal gardai you'd see. they were dressed in combat gear with batons and whatever else they were carrying.
    It wasn't pleasant viewing. if it was necessary , why not keep them discretely out of view until they were needed (if needed)

abbey street and liffey street were infested with them yesterday while i was walking through.

A very very unfortunate spelling mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭RecordStraight

i don't believe it - I certainly am not - and I still don't think we should pay sub-orinate debt for loans on a bank , that hardly any Irish citizen ever used. and people infer I am stupid and deluded - good luck
    Imply.

The word is imply.

the Garda presence was absolutely needed - nothing happened - but if they weren't ther something unsavoury could easily have kicked off - and everyone would have said where was the response - Most cities I have armed police - and many games escort away fans , under heavy escort . Am not always complentary on the Gardai, but they did a great job at weekend - ensuring a peaceful weekend

Imply.

The word is imply.

What the ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

anncoates wrote: »
    It's also time to boycott the establishments that profiteered from the queens shilling this weekend.

That may not work out well them being Ireland's biggest trade partner in the EU.

the Garda presence was absolutely needed - nothing happened - but if they weren't ther something unsavoury could easily have kicked off - and everyone would have said where was the response - Most cities I have armed police - and many games escort away fans , under heavy escort . Am not always complentary on the Gardai, but they did a great job at weekend - ensuring a peaceful weekend

People tend to forget it happens all over the world with football massive police presence.

What the ****
    Pet hate.

Infer is something the reader does. Imply is what the writer does.

I was in the oval bar in Dublin last night. If you were there you'd realise how wrong this statement is.

Were they actually causing trouble or threatening people though?

I personally agree that I would hate to hear that IRA stuff being chanted (because it would suggest they're probably right-wing boneheads) but lots of football away trips, including the Ireland national team or Irish clubs, would involve people putting flags everywhere and singning or chanting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I'm not anti British anti English by any means but last night was confirmation that the scumbag element of Englands football support has never gone way.

Just had to adjust that 4 you, and very sorry to hear that the scumbag element still exist.

I lived in England for many years, and I have very good English friends who had told me that the old Yobbo/scumbag element were a thing of the past, obviously they're not :mad: although I guess they're a very small element within the England supporters.

Full credit to the Gardai for keeping them in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Pet hate.

Infer is something the reader does. Imply is what the writer does.

Right... Isn't that how he used it?
    That people infer from his writing that he is stupid.

There are problems with the paragraph, but I think in this case infer is the correct verb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

There are problems with the paragraph, but I think in this case infer is the correct verb.

I think you just set the record straight.

Without re-reading the whole thread, I'll have to agree with you and give Mr. TheBaz the benefit of the doubt.

This post has been brought to you by the letter 'P' and the colour 'yellow'. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

your post is stupid.

The are visible for a reason, their presence on the streets is the deterrent, surely its better for them to be out and visible so nothing happens instead of be hiding around the corner waiting for it to happen?

Your making it out like this is the gardai's fault, you understand this happens for a huge amount of matches in england and across the continent and is an unfortunate part of football?

VinLieger wrote: »
    The are visible for a reason, their presence on the streets is the deterrent, surely its better for them to be out and visible so nothing happens instead of be hiding around the corner waiting for it to happen?

Your making it out like this is the gardai's fault, you understand this happens for a huge amount of matches in england and across the continent and is an unfortunate part of football?

And I did not see the same people moaning about the presence on Patrick's day. They were moaning about some tourists getting battered. The Garda can't win.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

delahuntv wrote: »
    cheaper that UK cities at night - €6 = about £4.30. Most bars in Birmingham city are £4.50 - £5 for bottles/pints at night. London is way more.

That really only has to do with the strength of the pound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So were there any survivors? Who will sing the songs to remember the fallen in the Battle of Temple Bar?

"The Ballad Of the Empty phoca" is doubtless being writ as we we type.

• Registered Users Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Who won the drinking session after? A lot of our young talent has gone abroad so I'd have expected the English to nick it with a few late shots at the death.

Were they actually causing trouble or threatening people though?

I personally agree that I would hate to hear that IRA stuff being chanted (because it would suggest they're probably right-wing boneheads) but lots of football away trips, including the Ireland national team or Irish clubs, would involve people putting flags everywhere and singning or chanting.

They were not threatening specific people but they were behaving aggressively. I dare say they were looking for a reaction. Then it would have kicked off rightly. What's even worse is they were probably too young to remember the good Friday agreement.

99% of traveling sports fans will carry either their national flag or the flag of the club they are supporting. In the vast majority of cases this dies not cause undue offence.

I doubt any set of fans in our group will travel to Germany and start singing about Auschwitz or Belsen though.

This sort of Aggression is symptomatic of a low level of intelligence.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Just had to adjust that 4 you, and very sorry to hear that the scumbag element still exist.

I lived in England for many years, and I have very good English friends who had told me that the old Yobbo/scumbag element were a thing of the past, obviously they're not :mad: although I guess they're a very small element within the England supporters.

Full credit to the Gardai for keeping them in order.

It's not so much that they're a thing of the past. It's more a case of out of sight is out of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The Garda can't win.

Which one? I know they're under resourced, but surely the commissioner didn't leave one poor sod to deal with Paddy's Day on his own?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

At least he supports his own, our league, 20 years ago we had the Chelsea Headhunters/ Combat 18/West Ham Inter City wrecking havoc. It amazes me that Irish people could support clubs like Chelsea and West Ham to this day. Chelsea especially, the Blues Brothers Alliance Chelsea-Linfield-Rangers, No Surrender!!

A lot of nonsense most gers fans don't care about this so called Blues brothers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

A lot of nonsense most gers fans don't care about this so called Blues brothers

Haha yes Rangers fans hate Chelsea after the Chelsea fans Rioted in Manchester dressed as Rangers fans

• Registered Users Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Haha yes Rangers fans hate Chelsea after the Chelsea fans Rioted in Manchester dressed as Rangers fans

No you are talking nonsense again now why not go and play with your toys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

yeah - lol - it was the Germans who pushed us to pay back money we didn't have - and didn't want make any concessions - and drove many to an early grave. Lived in England much of my life , and like any society there is the good and the bad. Some of my best mates are now English , but growing up I too was told to hate them

I have no problem with the English whatsoever, one of my grandparents was English, I wasn't told to hate them growing up, if anything my father hated the Provisional IRA and not the English. But your reasoning that you get on with English soccer supporters because their government gave the Irish exchequer a loan strikes me as bizarre, they gave us a 'bailout' loan because their economy has many ties with ours, it wasn't out of the goodness of their hearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

was in temple bar yest
    gardai everywhere all in their semi military "public order" uniform.

overtime galore for the boy...

It was sad to see a departure from the normal policing spirit espoused by the garda. it was quite a step up in intimidation than what should be and reflected badly on the city.
    You've obviously never been to a football match in England or Europe have you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

chair28 wrote: »
    Is that really what you got from my message or have you nothing better to say?

I don't really think i need to explain what i meant.
    chair28 wrote: »
    I really don't understand this attitude of "lets forget the past" bullsh1t. its only a few years ago that they were murdering innocent people on the streets of this island. Thats hard to take and stupid friendlies like this mean nothing.
    ya have idiots saying that they are their second favourite team now.... are we really that thick and easily fooled.

So you're saying we should hate them a bit more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

We had loads of English fans in the pub for the match yesterday, things have changed so much because it was great to see them mix with the locals and have a laugh. There wasnt a spot of bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

The scumbag element is far from gone from the english national side and their clubs.

In fact our league has a few clubs with a scumbag element. They dont go for the football. Its just a chance to cause trouble in a crowd. They have little else in their narrow stupid lives.

It mirrors society. Unfortunately the scum will always be with us on the fringes.

That's what the Irish "fans" of english clubs dont understand. They are absolutely loathed.

porsche959 wrote: »
    I have no problem with the English whatsoever, one of my grandparents was English, I wasn't told to hate them growing up, if anything my father hated the Provisional IRA and not the English. But your reasoning that you get on with English soccer supporters because their government gave the Irish exchequer a loan strikes me as bizarre, they gave us a 'bailout' loan because their economy has many ties with ours, it wasn't out of the goodness of their hearts.

i stated that i got on with English now - after living ther, and a shared love of good music, drinking and football- but as always my words get twisted - i never learn - signing off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    If there's anybody who should be arrested it is the 'oirish' idiots wearing english club tops.

The mind boggles

Why?

The mind boggles

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    The scumbag element is far from gone from the english national side and their clubs.

In fact our league has a few clubs with a scumbag element. They dont go for the football. Its just a chance to cause trouble in a crowd. They have little else in their narrow stupid lives.

It mirrors society. Unfortunately the scum will always be with us on the fringes.

That's what the Irish "fans" of english clubs dont understand. They are absolutely loathed.

Name 1 League of Ireland game were their has been crowd trouble this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Was The Temple Bar evacuated last night after someone left off a flare in there? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The 'loan' was self-interest. British banks were up to their necks in the Celtic pyramid to the tune of almost £140 Billion.

Regardless, good to see that the whole thing passed off without any major incident(s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Why?

The mind boggles

For being idiots and embarrassing their country.

Not the point. There is an element there at certain clubs. It's a bit like saying the hooligan problem is gone in england.

They were not threatening specific people but they were behaving aggressively. I dare say they were looking for a reaction. Then it would have kicked off rightly. What's even worse is they were probably too young to remember the good Friday agreement.

99% of traveling sports fans will carry either their national flag or the flag of the club they are supporting. In the vast majority of cases this dies not cause undue offence.

I doubt any set of fans in our group will travel to Germany and start singing about Auschwitz or Belsen though.

This sort of Aggression is symptomatic of a low level of intelligence.

To be fair, I'd conflate singing No Surrender To The IRA with the Irish lads giving a belt of A Nation once Again or Kevin Barry if we were playing in England which you can bet would probably happen.

Don't get me wrong, I hate the Surrender songs myself (as much because it will usually be a certain type of right-wing supporter singing it) but you're going to get national flags and political songs like that at charged games. It's just good they're were seemingly no assaults on innocent people or smashing up bars and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Egginacup wrote: »
    That really only has to do with the strength of the pound.

That's the only way to measure across currency.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

here's one from last season

http://www.thejournal.ie/pre-match-clashes-in-city-centre-between-bohs-and-rovers-fans-1375059-Mar2014/

Here's one from this season

http://www.herald.ie/news/bohs-fans-facing-stadium-ban-over-40-man-brawl-31262841.html

Fran1985 wrote: »

Presumably he meant in the actual stadiums. It's impossible for clubs to police events that happen away from grounds.

That's what the police were doing over the weekend and people are giving out because it was over the top.

Also, head along to the next match in Dalymount park between bohs and Rovers. When you look over at the car park from the main stand, you'll see the guards. If you cant see that far, they'll be in before the end of the game anyway to keep the fans seperated

That's what the police were doing over the weekend and people are giving out because it was over the top.

Easy to police this as the English supporters were more likely to end up in one tourist area.
    Also, head along to the next match in Dalymount park between bohs and Rovers. When you look over at the car park from the main stand, you'll see the guards. If you cant see that far, they'll be in before the end of the game anyway to keep the fans seperated

Rovers supporters are in the shed end now, not the Connaught terrace (facing the Jodi) which is closed down. They physically can't mingle with the Jodi stand anyway because it's two different stands with separate entrances.

The point was that grounds here - like England - are usually perfectly safe. Anything that happens is away from the ground which nobody can really legislate for.

Rovers supporters are in the shed now, not the Connaught terrace. They physically can't mingle with the Jodi anyway because it's two different stands with separate entrances.

The point was that grounds - like England - are usually perfectly safe. Anything that happens is away from the ground which nobody can really legislate for.

yeah, i'm aware of where they are, I was pointing out the garda presence which lies in wait. They can mingle if they really want to, but it involves coming in via the pitch which is when the guards make their presence known.

Dalymount (and presumably tallaght) are kept safe because of a strong Garda presence which was replicated in Temple Bar over the weekend which meant only minor scuffles, like those seen within the grounds of said LOI matches, took place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

sugarman wrote: »
    The difference in LOI tho is its usually just kids between 15-19/20

Oh that's alright then.