Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E09: The Dance of Dragons - Have NOT read the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

DeVore wrote: »
    Last season we had the reveal of the white walkers and I thought, given that, that we would see a lot of them this season... well, certainly more than a 20 minute fight scene no matter how awesome it was.

Weren't the white walkers revealed in season 2 or something? Some could argue season 1 even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Sheeeeit wrote: »
    Just look at that face though..

tumblr_mn5z3q3LZN1s72ffzo1_500.gif

The face only a mother of dragons could love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

...Part of the problem has been that there are 5 distinct areas this season... Arya

I think they're making a dogs dinner out of Ayras revenge. The whole Sir Merrin sequence was quite strange and poorly done. Ok, granted we have not seen the crescendo yet so I'm hoping it's good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Did anyone else find the scene with Meryn Trant in the brothel very uncomfortable?

I'm not saying they shouldn't be allowed to portray characters who are paedophiles, but when it's used as a plot device (i.e. something that will presumably allow Arya to get close to Trant and exact her revenge), it does seem slightly distasteful.

Yes, I'm aware this may sound ridiculous considering the show has depicted mutilation, torture, rape and child murder before.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Did anyone else find the scene with Meryn Trant in the brothel very uncomfortable?

I'm not saying they shouldn't be allowed to portray characters who are paedophiles, but when it's used as a plot device (i.e. something that will presumably allow Arya to get close to Trant and exact her revenge), it does seem slightly distasteful.

Yes, I'm aware this may sound ridiculous considering the show has depicted mutilation, torture, rape and child murder before.
    It seemed unnecessary and hamfisted emotional manipulation to me. I just felt like they were flagging it for everyone "hey, this guy is a bad man, its ok if Ayra wants to kill him". Given that they are using it for that reason (seemingly) then yeah, it seems distasteful. It also felt a bit patronising... I don't need it laid out blatantly like that. Its about the same level as putting a black cowboy had on him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

I admit the old guy wasnt much better but he was better.

After that we're just splidding heirs.

I thought the old guy was much better! He projected an air of cold arrogance and genuine danger.

The new guy looks and acts as if he's in a romcom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

It seemed unnecessary and hamfisted emotional manipulation to me. I just felt like they were flagging it for everyone "hey, this guy is a bad man, its ok if Ayra wants to kill him". Given that they are using it for that reason (seemingly) then yeah, it seems distasteful. It also felt a bit patronising... I don't need it laid out blatantly like that. Its about the same level as putting a black cowboy had on him...

I think they used it to show a way for Arya to get access to assassinate him.
    He said "You'll have a fresh one for me tomorrow yeah?".
    If Arya presents herself to be his next victim she can quietly take him out when they are alone in the room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Sheeeeit wrote: »
    I think they used to show a way for Arya to get access to assassinate him.
    He said "You'll have a fresh one for me tomorrow yeah?".
    If Arya presents herself to be his next victim she can quietly take him out when they are alone in the room.

I felt that was pretty obvious, alright.

Does anyone know how young the actress was that played the girl Trant took aside? You looked younger than 16 (though I'm aware actors and actresses often play roles far younger than they are).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

What shocked me about that episode (apart from burning the princess OMG...) was that its the second last of the season... it kinda feels like the season is only getting into its stride now. Last season we had the reveal of the white walkers and I thought, given that, that we would see a lot of them this season... well, certainly more than a 20 minute fight scene no matter how awesome it was.

I'd say the White Walkers will be more prevalent next season and will have something to do with Bran's storyline (I'm assuming he'll reappear with his new Jedi powers next season....). Those powers could come in very handy for Jon right now. I can't wait for at least some of the surviving Stark siblings to finally reunite!

Speaking of which, does anyone know how close Sansa is to Jon in Castle Black? I'm assuming if Stannis is close enough to attack the Boltons, Castle Black isn't that far away?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Yeah, we basically saw none of Bran's (rather dull so far) timeline this season, which I guess was purely for reasons of time constraint... I know the answer is basically "the production levels are so high" but it seems crazy that they cant do more than 10 episodes in a season.

We have to wait until Spring 2016 for another 10 episodes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

Would the Dragon Skin disease caught by Jorah from the Stone Men be contagious in its early stages?When Jorah took Danerays hand i thought she maybe perhaps contracted it from him.Just a thought

He has it well covered up so I doubt it. They were very clear in an earlier episode that its only transmitted by direct touch.

As in her actually touching the infected area on his arm you mean?
    So she's grand so when she took his hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Yeah, we basically saw none of Bran's (rather dull so far) timeline this season, which I guess was purely for reasons of time constraint... I know the answer is basically "the production levels are so high" but it seems crazy that they cant do more than 10 episodes in a season.

We have to wait until Spring 2016 for another 10 episodes

I think Bran's story was just starting to really pick up last season. It was one of my favourite plot threads. I'm pretty disappointed we didn't see anything of him and the three-eyed raven this season.

As in her actually touching the infected area on his arm you mean?
    So she's grand so when she took his hand?
    He had it covered with leather as I recall...

PressRun wrote: »
    I think Bran's story was just starting to really pick up last season. It was one of my favourite plot threads. I'm pretty disappointed we didn't see anything of him and the three-eyed raven this season.

I remember reading somewhere on the Internet last year that they would not be showing Bran's storyline in season 5 and that it would continue in season 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

They clearly focused on the hands touch between Friendzone and Dani and also Dani and your one.

I wonder why they did this if it does not transmit that way. Who's he going to infect, he's definitely going to infect someone

They often sell us a dummy, like hubby arriving late and saying he was "taking care of details" made me certain he was in on it .... until stabby stabby! And they built up to the lads not getting back inside the wall very well but then went the other way... it might be that Ser Friendzone will infect everyone... or it might be exactly what they want us to think! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭gazzamc

nm wrote: »
    They clearly focused on the hands touch between Friendzone and Dani and also Dani and your one.

I wonder why they did this if it does not transmit that way. Who's he going to infect, he's definitely going to infect someone

Maybe Dani is immune but can still transmit it, hence why they showed her touching hands with your one.

gazzamc wrote: »
    Maybe Dani is immune but can still transmit it, hence why they showed her touching hands with your one.

Na , I think that was more to the point that they were about to embrace death together.

Another highlight for was when Jorah first stepped out to the pits and and they were waiting for Daenerys to give he clap. Her husband to be is about to speak and Dario quickly tells him "shut your mouth" as if realising himself how hard the decision is for her. Many probably didn't notice but I thought it was a powerful part of the scene.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Overall that was a pretty decent episode.

Stannis is no longer fit for the Iron Throne, completely and utterly corrupted by hocus pocus spouted by Mellisandre. I give him kudos for his heroics at the Blackwater, but ever since he used black magic to dispose of Renly, that was the beginning of the end for him. He is beyond saving now, and is now marching a weakened army into certain annihilation at the hands of the Boltons at Winterfell. I too believe that he is merely a pawn in a greater plan that Mellisandre has.

I was thinking that Dario was behind the Sons of the Harpy, but he rushed to Danys defence at the end when it would have been a perfect time for him to kill / capture her. I still don't trust him though, but I am sure this means her army will leave Mereen and head elsewhere instead.

The Dorne plot went somewhere this week. It will be interesting to see what happens when they all arrive back in Kings Landing. Surely Jamie and Myrcella will be thrown in jail too as soon as the sparrows know their whereabouts. Not sure I trust Oberyns missus either, I think something is going to happen with one of her daughters and Bronn. He may end up double crossing Jamie.

The Arya plot was a bit so so, not really getting into it that much this season.

I miss Varys and Littlefinger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Couldn't ever see Bronn double crossing Jamie but you never know with Game of Thrones!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

seligehgit wrote: »
    Couldn't ever see Bronn double crossing Jamie but you never know with Game of Thrones!

Bronn is a sellsword and is available to the highest bidder, but I agree, he has a bit more honour than most sellswords and I don't think at this stage he'd stitch Jaime up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Davos should stab Stannis in the face and take the Black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

So the enemy have just torched half my camp, I've executed a bunch of guards and the remaining men are freezing and starving. How will I lift morale....?

Prior to this I was rooting for Stannis - OK he killed his own brother with black magic, but Renly was an idiot and they were at war. This is beyond misguided evil though, in one move he has lost the loyalty of his wife, his men, his right-hand-man Davos and he's killed his only heir (what's the point in taking the throne with no heir??). Also Melisandre is only using him towards her own ends (whatever the hell they may be).

Sorry Stannis, I'm out.

Also after last week's homage to Army of Darkness, this week they ripped off another old classic:

story.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mikefoxo

Bronn was made a "Ser" by the Lannisters so he's doing pretty well out of that friendship.

As for Stannis, he sacrificed his daughter for a reason - so the the Red God would give him something (a victory over the Boltons?) I wouldn't write him off as a spent force just yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

karma_ wrote: »
    Davos should stab Stannis in the face and take the Black.

Repeatedly, and then set him on fire.

I do like the idea of Davos joining the Night's Watch. Could see him and Alliser having some good verbal battles.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

seligehgit wrote: »

He is all about self preservation and money. A few seasons ago Tyrion asked him would he question him if he requested that he kill children. Bronn said he would ask how much. If it is in his interests to double-cross he will and he does seem very smitten (to the point of hypnotic) with one of the sand snakes.

I dunno if he's smitten all that much beyond pragmatism... it seems like Bronn is quite a womaniser! I think he is open to any offer but the offer Jamie Lanister has on the table is pretty good and, well, a Lanister always pays his debts.

I agree that Bronn has a good deal going with Jamie, but if he finds out that the Lannisters are no longer the major players they were in Kings Landing he may (correctly) assume that this is one debt they will be unable to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

loyatemu wrote: »
    So the enemy have just torched half my camp, I've executed a bunch of guards and the remaining men are freezing and starving. How will I lift morale....?

Host a barbecue, apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Puddle Q wrote: »
    The unsullied becoming useless spastics is also unbelievable.

Have the unsullied became useless? They always seem to be pretty outnumbered when they are being attacked. Also it happens in an away ground so to speak.

There weapon of choice is plain teribble when A fighting in confined spaces and B facing more than 1 advisary.

There was also an unfinished batch that were said to be not very good but I cant remember the number of them.

Not saying your wrong, itll give me something to look out for on my rewatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

The biggest thing that worries me about this episode is the serious lacking of deaths. Only 2 significant deaths, Shireen and Khalessi's husband (can't remember if they did get married or were they engaged at the time of his death?). I'm not sure if I could handle next week's episode. No doubt there will be a few characters killed off..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Noticeable change this season and you can kind of see how they're basically starting to steer the show towards the ending. It's been a gradual buildup to this point but I'd bet/hope that season 4 and 5 will be considered tame compared to what's gonna come over the next few seasons. Arya's plot's getting more and more interesting!

I'm hoping they reve it up a bit but I think it will start getting interesting when all the players are in the same region, hopefully dani goes to westeros soon.

I'm not a book reader btw but this season feels as though they've gone away from the source material and made their own ****e up.. It doesn't really feel the same as the last few seasons.. Any book readers want to chime in here? Have they? Or is it the case of cutting a lot of sub plots out to progress the main one faster (fit it into a certain amount of seasons) I'm not asking for spoilers just want to know :)

I can't believe next week is the last ep, it really needs a few more..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

I'm not a book reader btw but this season feels as though they've gone away from the source material and made their own ****e up.. It doesn't really feel the same as the last few seasons.. Any book readers want to chime in here? Have they? Or is it the case of cutting a lot of sub plots out to progress the main one faster (fit it into a certain amount of seasons) I'm not asking for spoilers just want to know :)
    //MOD

Since book readers are told not to post in this thread I'd suggest you use the dedicated thread for non book readers to ask book related questions without getting everything spoiled (yes shameless plug for it!)

//MOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

I think the Unsullied are the GoT version of Stormtroopers: supposed to be elite soldiers, but can't shoot straight and can't killed by the dozen!

Why is it so hard to believe that the unsullied could be taken by surprise and outnumbered? Seems everyone is freaking out about it, when it still happens to the most elite and technologically advanced troops in the world today versus much lesser opponents who have rudimentary training and local knowledge.

What exactly do you expect of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I wasn't Daarios biggest fan before but after he was bragging about how the little man always wins, and comparing himself to him only to see the guy get his head flung off I was afraid Daario would die, especially when they started attacking, made me realise I value him more than I thought.

Maybe after losing most of my favorite characters it has made me grow fond of Daario without realising, potentially becoming one of my new favorites.. and with that sentence I have just condemned him to imminent torture and/or death! :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    The biggest thing that worries me about this episode is the serious lacking of deaths. Only 2 significant deaths, Shireen and Khalessi's husband (can't remember if they did get married or were they engaged at the time of his death?). I'm not sure if I could handle next week's episode. No doubt there will be a few characters killed off..

Presumably Stannis is finally going to reach Winterfell so we can expect a sticky end for him or the Boltons or both.

Merys Trant will probably get his comeuppance too (but not before they reveal that he really killed JFK, and was also Jack the Ripper and the guy who invented "New Coke")

At some point the Mountain will reappear too, or whatever Qyburn has turned him into. Considering how the special effects have been in the last 2 episodes I'm expecting him to look like this:

1369162884_Hulk.jpg

Why is it so hard to believe that the unsullied could be taken by surprise and outnumbered? Seems everyone is freaking out about it, when it still happens to the most elite and technologically advanced troops in the world today versus much lesser opponents who have rudimentary training and local knowledge.

What exactly do you expect of them?

We expect them to kill at least a few before dying haha they look like they haven't fought a day in their lives..

I understand that their spearman but the guy fighting Jorah was 100x better than them and he was a slave.

We expect them to kill at least a few before dying haha they look like they haven't fought a day in their lives..

I understand that their spearman but the guy fighting Jorah was 100x better than them and he was a slave.

They did kill a few. And some were taken by surprise and stabbed in the back etc from what I recall.

Also Jorah was fighting trained fighters who had obviously been through all of the preliminary fights and qualifiers - one of them seemed to be a Bravosi water dancer. They would have been some of the best fighters in the pits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Presumably Stannis is finally going to reach Winterfell so we can expect a sticky end for him or the Boltons or both.]

Or all of the above.
    The witch only said that she saw the Bolton banner torn down from winterfell, she didn't specify that it was Stannis who beat them.
    But rather than kill off Stannis, I'd say he will continue down this path and the audience will grow to hate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Maybe after losing most of my favorite characters it has made me grow fond of Daario without realising, potentially becoming one of my new favorites.. and with that sentence I have just condemned him to imminent torture and/or death! :pac::pac:

Hopefully.

He's ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

The unsullied & everybody's reaction to them this year reminds me of the Vietnam War. They're fighting in a new environment against a well oiled guerrilla outfit who know the streets & can blend in with the civilians. Like the US, the Unsullied are superior soldiers but when you don't know who your enemy is or where they're coming from next then it's incredibly difficult to defeat them (this is also one of the things which make Littlefinger so dangerous imo; nobody else in Westeros realises he's their enemy to begin with).

Also Meereen is huge; the Unsullied are likely operating many patrols in small numbers to guard as much of the city as they can whereas the Harpies are able to concentrate their attacks in quick bursts & large numbers and know every route of escape before adequate backup can arrive.

Also the guy fighting Jorah was a trained fighter from Bravos; even the other guy in the pit knew he was better off stabbing him the back & going 1-on-1 with Jorah than letting Jorah die first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭lbj666

Or all of the above.
    The witch only said that she saw the Bolton banner torn down from winterfell, she didn't specify that it was Stannis who beat them.
    But rather than kill off Stannis, I'd say he will continue down this path and the audience will grow to hate him.

Can anyone recall what Mellisandres visions in the fire have been in the show. I don't want to google it cause there are still spoilers about.

What did she see before the shadow baby
    What did she see from burning the leaches.

I know the most recent one has been the great battle in the snow

Yeah, I'm not a huge Dario fan... he's a bit too much in love with himself for my tastes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

But incest is a game for all, right????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Presumably Stannis is finally going to reach Winterfell so we can expect a sticky end for him or the Boltons or both.

Merys Trant will probably get his comeuppance too (but not before they reveal that he really killed JFK, and was also Jack the Ripper and the guy who invented "New Coke")

At some point the Mountain will reappear too, or whatever Qyburn has turned him into. Considering how the special effects have been in the last 2 episodes I'm expecting him to look like this:

1369162884_Hulk.jpg

I didn't think the CGI was too bad except for the scenes of daenerys flying on the dragon, that looked like something that belonged on SciFi lol. For a TV show the CGI is, for the most part, excellent but obviously they could do with spending a bit more time and money on it. If they're going to be doing more IMAX screenings each year then I'd hope they'd sort these kind of scenes because it'd really take you out of the experience seeing that on a big screen.

The unsullied & everybody's reaction to them this year reminds me of the Vietnam War. They're fighting in a new environment against a well oiled guerrilla outfit who know the streets & can blend in with the civilians. Like the US, the Unsullied are superior soldiers but when you don't know who your enemy is or where they're coming from next then it's incredibly difficult to defeat them (this is also one of the things which make Littlefinger so dangerous imo; nobody else in Westeros realises he's their enemy to begin with).

Also Meereen is huge; the Unsullied are likely operating many patrols in small numbers to guard as much of the city as they can whereas the Harpies are able to concentrate their attacks in quick bursts & large numbers and know every route of escape before adequate backup can arrive.

Also the guy fighting Jorah was a trained fighter from Bravos; even the other guy in the pit knew he was better off stabbing him the back & going 1-on-1 with Jorah than letting Jorah die first.

That makes sense.. It could also come down to her having no commander since Ser Barristan was killed off.. Btw I was talking about the guy who he fought at the end with a spear as his weapon not the other fella who nearly killed Jorah.