Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst films and why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,292 ✭✭✭jh79

Tony EH wrote: »
    'Ilsa: Shewolf of the SS' is a hoaky, but yeh I agree with you the 'The New York Ripper', which IIRC, was a nasty film. Another horrible one is 'The House by the Edge of the Park'. Some vile stuff there.

Never saw 'Fight for Your Life'. Is it any use? Relative terms, of course. :pac:

While Ilsa is a bit camp it ticks a lot of boxes taboo wise. I liked the sequels too.

Fight for your Life is about a gang of escaped convicts who take an African American family hostage. The racial abuse in it is very strong and relentless.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭MattB11

Rubber, horror movie about a killer tyre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

MattB11 wrote: »
    Rubber, horror movie about a killer tyre

That was a goodyear for B movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Has nobody mentioned Eight Legged Freaks yet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Has nobody mentioned Eight Legged Freaks yet?

C'mon, that was awesome!

Well it was better than Kill Bill anyway.

Ain't nutting wrong with Kill Bill. It is to violence what porn is to sex. ;)
    Now back to really bad movies:
    Attack of the Killer Tomatoes. Top that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Ain't nutting wrong with Kill Bill. It is to violence what porn is to sex. ;)
    Now back to really bad movies:
    Attack of the Killer Tomatoes. Top that.

Van Helsing.

Top THAT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

For some reason I lump eight legged freaks, the tremors movies and Evolution all together. I must have watched them all around the same time in my younger days.

I see evolution has 43% on rotton tomatoes, but it'll never be a bad movie to me as it inspired my thing for Julianne Moore :D

For some reason I lump eight legged freaks, the tremors movies and Evolution all together. I must have watched them all around the same time in my younger days.

I see evolution has 43% on rotton tomatoes, but it'll never be a bad movie to me as it inspired my thing for Julianne Moore :D

I love Tremors, its the perfect B movie, it just gets everything right. It could have been made by Jack Arnold in the 50's. He was the grand master of the genre. Just check out Tarantula and Creature from the Black Lagoon.
    Oh boy, now we need a brilliant 50's B movie thread.

God I haven't seen tremors in years. It scared the bejasus out of me when I was a kid. I used to check under the bed for those feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Sucker Punch, biggest load of bollocks i have ever seen, directed by the most over-hyped director ever zack snyder, it just doesnt even work at on any level, i could barely see any sign of a coherent story in there, none of the character were in anyway appealing,

i think i gave it a pitiful 2 outta ten just on the basis they actually got someone to fork over 80 million dollar to make this piece of **** they call a film, and that definitely deserves a clap,

80 million, i mean if you wasted 2 or 3 fine, take the film for what it is, but 80 ****ing million,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

I'm making a submission on behalf of the OH: The Interview. Without doubt the worst film she's seen.

She's Korean and I recommended it as I thought she'd get a laugh out of mocking Kim. While she did laugh at the more Korean orientated jokes and taking the mick out if him, she did not like the newer American style comedy, the classic James Franco/Seth Rogan spiel.

The swearing etc. I'm quite a fan of swearing myself and thought the interview was a middle of the road affair but she hated it. 1/10

• Registered Users Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Signs. I despise that movie. A movie so full of holes that it became impossible to suspend your disbelief. This movie made me realise that M. Night Shyamalan was the emperor with no clothes.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭MattB11

Lost River directed by Ryan Gosling what a pile of garbage

don ramo wrote: »
    Sucker Punch, biggest load of bollocks i have ever seen, directed by the most over-hyped director ever zack snyder, it just doesnt even work at on any level, i could barely see any sign of a coherent story in there, none of the character were in anyway appealing,

i think i gave it a pitiful 2 outta ten just on the basis they actually got someone to fork over 80 million dollar to make this piece of **** they call a film, and that definitely deserves a clap,

80 million, i mean if you wasted 2 or 3 fine, take the film for what it is, but 80 ****ing million,

I am actually now intrigued. Its one if those movies that has a middling rating, but not because that's the true average, but because people will either give it 8 to 10 or 1 to 2.
    I usually end up liking those. Some movies are Marmite, either because they are too weird or too complicated, let's see which one this is.
    I'll see if I can locate a copy and report back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭furiousox

Kev W wrote: »
    Van Helsing.
    Top THAT.

Snakes on a plane?

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    Snakes on a plane?

untitle.JPG

I just remembered Runaway Car. Fantastically terrible. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,566 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

'The Car'

Big name 70's awfulness about a car possessed by satan.

(Runaway Car)
    Now THAT is terrible! :D
    Just read the comments. It came out 3 years after speed. Bahahahaaaa!!!

Taken 2. Ridiculous storyline. The girl was a learner driver, yet she could speed through narrow streets doing handbrake turns! For a car that was smashing into other cars etc., it was unscathed for most of the chase! As for the smoke coming from the chimney, isn't that what they're for??!!

I was going to mention Speed 2 but then I thought of Titanic 2. :)

People went further than a mere movie:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Titanic_II

Doesn't that just scream Bad Idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Unstoppable,

absolute pile of shíte with Denzel Washington and the guy from star trek on a train,

with the camera endlessly rotating around the locomotive like a never ending bloody carousel.

I usually like Denzel, but for this one, I'd say he literally turned up, shot all his scenes in a day or 2, and collected his cheque for 10 mil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Unstoppable,

absolute pile of shíte with Denzel Washington and the guy from star trek on a train,

with the camera endlessly rotating around the locomotive like a never ending bloody carousel.

I usually like Denzel, but for this one, I'd say he literally turned up, shot all his scenes in a day or 2, and collected his cheque for 10 mil.

It was based on a true story, wasn't much they could do, no Klingons, drug cartel overlords, ferengi or gunplay allowed I'm afraid

I quite liked Unstoppable.
    Towering Inferno. Legendary movie, actually quite terrible when you watch it.
    The Concorde: Airport 79. So utterly, utterly dreadful.

Wang King wrote: »
    It was based on a true story

A true story can still be made into a crap film.

That is certainly true. But it's far from the worst. Watch a few movies on True Movies, you'll never complain about Unstoppable again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

The Dumb and dumber 'prequel' - when Harry met Lloyd.
    A comedy that actually makes you angry instead of making you laugh.

To fail to create something even moderately amusing from it's predecessor is actually quite an achievement, but to make something that was entirely devoid of any humour, well that takes a degree of f**kwittery that deserves a mention here.

That is certainly true. But it's far from the worst. Watch a few movies on True Movies, you'll never complain about Unstoppable again.

Oh, Absolutely, but in terms of mainstream Hollywood, I thought it was not great.

The filler (while they are catching up with the runaway train), I just thought was awful, the way the camera was constantly rotating around them, talk about overusing a technique!!

Oh and then there was the media coverage inside the movie, they knew almost every detail about every player in the entire situation as it happened, seriously?? it was that detail that did it for me!!! "We understand the driver, who was laid off this morning". In anything close to a real life situation, do you really think the media would have so much information on an unfolding event like that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,566 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

'The Giant Spider Invasion'

See it, if you dare!

Or don't...whatever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,292 ✭✭✭jh79

Think i'll give Umberto Lenzi's Ghosthouse a re-watch tonight , remember it was bad but can't remember how bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭rob316

ArtyM wrote: »
    The Dumb and dumber 'prequel' - when Harry met Lloyd.
    A comedy that actually makes you angry instead of making you laugh.

To fail to create something even moderately amusing from it's predecessor is actually quite an achievement, but to make something that was entirely devoid of any humour, well that takes a degree of f**kwittery that deserves a mention here.

Dumb and Dumber 2 was pretty bad too. The 2 lads were good but the storyline was so boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Some of the movies being mentioned here are actually good! tremors is a classic.
    The worst movie I've ever seen is "Belly" written and directed by Hype Williams who was most famous for making rap music videos, All the main actors are rappers . It has some truly awful acting and from what i remember there is a gang from Jamaica and you can't understand a single word they say in it

^^^
    Oh, nobody saying anything bad about Tremors, was mentioned as a good example. Even the sequels aren't entirely terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Only God Forgives is probably the worst film I've ever seen. How anyone could like that film is beyond me.

Atrocious pile of shíte.

I thought Hanna was terrible. Saoirse Ronan running around like a possessed mini ninja, and some of the cheesiest dialogue I've ever heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

The Starship Troopers sequels. Absolutely dreadful stuff. The first one is great for a watch for a bit of fun.

Battle Royale II was a total failure also.

I thought Hanna was terrible. Saoirse Ronan running around like a possessed mini ninja, and some of the cheesiest dialogue I've ever heard.

It was a bit of cheesy fun that took itself a bit too serious, but I enjoyed it. But I'd watch her in anything, because The Lovely Bones was just so utterly moving. You'd want to be a rock not to be affected by that.

Yeah that's the main problem with it, it takes itself too seriously. I found myself laughing for the wrong reasons. Speaking of films that made me laugh for the wrong reasons, Barb Wire with Pamela Anderson. :D There were moments where it was trying to be serious and I was just bursting my hole laughing. She looked well in it all the same. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Yeah that's the main problem with it, it takes itself too seriously. I found myself laughing for the wrong reasons. Speaking of films that made me laugh for the wrong reasons, Barb Wire with Pamela Anderson. :D There were moments where it was trying to be serious and I was just bursting my hole laughing. She looked well in it all the same. :)

I think I remember this. Is this more or less a total remake of Casablanca moved to the present day or the future dealing with some present day war instead of WW2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

And the winner for worst movie ever goes to - LOCKE the acting was ok but it was just so bloody boreing, an entire film set in a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

shamrock55 wrote: »
    And the winner for worst movie ever goes to - LOCKE the acting was ok but it was just so bloody boreing, an entire film set in a car

What? I thought it was brilliantly handled. Tom Hardy was exceptional in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

That film with Adam Sandler where hes playing a woman,forget what it was called.Turned it off after 15 minutes into it,coulden't take any more.

Edit:Jack And Jill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Did you not realize that going in? Such a compelling film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

darkdubh wrote: »
    That film with Adam Sandler where...

Turned it off after 15 minutes, couldn't take any more.

You could probably reuse this line a number of times. His output is made for this thread.

There are some movies that are cheap and badly put together that stand out as just a bit rubbish, but I think the worst films are the ones where you've had your hopes raised, the anticipation built up, and then you come out of the cinema and say "What the hell was that?!!!"

Mainly the big blockbusters are guilty of this. Huge budget, stellar cast, massive marketing boost... and then... crap-o-rama!

The cruelty of waiting the best part of twenty years for the Star Wars prequels and then they produce not one, but three god-awful movies, each one just another twist of the knife.

The same with the fourth Indiana Jones movie. Years of talking about waiting for the right script and they produced that! How? They even had Cate Blanchett on board as a baddie and managed to make her look mediocre.

The Matrix sequels were just awful. All the Transformers movies: dreck. Pearl Harbor looked like it might have had potential to be a Saving Private Ryan in the Pacific, but then it went to Bay-hem mode and was no good.

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen was so bad it made Sean Connery quit movies altogether. Based on an amazing comic book by Alan Moore (he of Watchmen) and Kev O'Neill it could have been terrific, but it all went horribly wrong.

I was reading something about how The Godfather Part III got made. They had been throwing around the idea of doing a third movie for years, but when Francis Ford Coppola finally got the go ahead he was told that he had to get the film made within a crazy short timeframe. I think the studio wanted to release it before Christmas and that meant Coppola, starting with a blank page, had less than six months to write, film, and edit the thing otherwise they wouldn't fund it. So starting with those kind of time restraints you can see where the wheels came off.

So, in conclusion, the movies that should have been good to great and were actually middling to rubbish are the worst ones. The smashing of hopes and dreams is the cruelest blow!

I think I remember this. Is this more or less a total remake of Casablanca moved to the present day or the future dealing with some present day war instead of WW2?

What Barb Wire? Didn't put me in mid of Casablanca.

darkdubh wrote: »
    That film with Adam Sandler where hes playing a woman,forget what it was called.Turned it off after 15 minutes into it,coulden't take any more.

Edit:Jack And Jill.

Adam Sandler deserves his own Top 10. Still better than Rob Schneider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

Worse film I seen recently

The Interview - My dog could write a funnier film. The 'This is the end' group of actors were fresh a few years ago but now we have seen it all before. All they do is joke about dicks and vaginas or something sexual.