Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most profitable machine to hook on a tractor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Sam Kade wrote: »
    My ancient round baler and wrapper I'm saving a small fortune with them over using a contractor :) about 5 years ago I went to the main dealer for a part for the baler the store man laughed at me and said those balers are obsolete :mad:

Lol. What is it?
    Our kit was paid for through hire work. I won't be upgrading them though. Mower maybe but baler and wrapper I could definitely knock another 10 yrs of work out of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Lol. What is it?
    Our kit was paid for through hire work. I won't be upgrading them though. Mower maybe but baler and wrapper I could definitely knock another 10 yrs of work out of

Rp12 baler and kv wrapper. I hope to get another few years out of them unless I win the lotto :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

raypallas wrote: »
    A very underated machine, neighbour bought one for €800 a few years and has made some excellent woth it. Turns his silage while leaving it in rows for baler. Almost nothing to go wrong.

Is it considered acceptable to wuffle more than once?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

kowtow wrote: »

Not great for the eyesight I'm told

Some of the best movies wouldn't be possible without some one to "wuffle" the stars ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

The square baler has to be up there. Father bought a second hand one for 700 quid in the late 70s and had it paid back that summer baling for a few neighbors.
    Same here. She paid for herself last year so it's all profit from now on

Reggie. wrote: »
    Same here. She paid for herself last year so it's all profit from now on

How much did you pay for the new holland Reggie? Is it a 276?

274 with the wheels and split pto of a 276. So really it is a 276 then as the bodies are the same.

Paid 800 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We don't have much machinery and what we have is old but well maintained. We get the contractor in to spread slurry, we don't use chemical fertilizers anymore.
    I reckon that the disc mower (Lely) is probably the most profitable bit of kit that we have. I regularly top fields after moving cattle on to the next field. It keeps the grass sweet and breaks up the dung pads. We also use it to mow silage and hay.
    OH uses it to trim the bank/hedges along the road and the driveway :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Has to be the fert spinner here anyway. Between ourselves and the neighbour it handles a serious amount of stuff. We miss a round we run out of grass for the cows simple as that really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Timmaay wrote: »
    Least profitable here use to be the topper, bloody yoke set way too high. Going to put it on the tractor early next week and lower it to the last.

Did this with our topper, it takes all fcuking day to do any few paddocks with it down at 4cm. Got the mower man to do one or two paddocks this year instead, isn't ideal if some patch of field has a good bit of stemmy grass as the mower leaves it lying on top of grass whereas a topper would mulch it a bit but I just don't have the time to go topping

274 with the wheels and split pto of a 276. So really it is a 276 then as the bodies are the same.

Paid 800 euro
    I had a 377 from new 22k bales a year at it's peak. I sold it around 2000 :(

She only does about 1000 to 1500 a year. Few here had the 377 and 378. Caused trouble with knotters getting clogged up with dust and chaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

kowtow wrote:

Ya you can, his has doors on it so it's left in the rows about 5 foot wide for a baler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

raypallas wrote:
    Ya you can, his has doors on it so it's left in the rows about 5 foot wide for a baler.

So it's ok to wuffle wildly and frazz says there are film stars that want wild wuffling.

I wanna wuffler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

She only does about 1000 to 1500 a year. Few here had the 377 and 378. Caused trouble with knotters getting clogged up with dust and chaff

Any photos reggie of the baler, curious what kind of condition for €800, did you have to do much work to it? Thanks, Mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Have a perfect set of knotters here for NH 370 or 376 if anyone's looking for same !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

The most profitable is my 30yr old generator for the parlour when the esb goes at least once a year, that and i got it free!

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Any photos reggie of the baler, curious what kind of condition for €800, did you have to do much work to it? Thanks, Mac

Never touched it since I bought it bar I'm going to put a new tyre on the right side to be safe as the old one is well perished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Never touched it since I bought it bar I'm going to put a new tyre on the right side to be safe as the old one is well perished

Cheers reggie, she's clean looking alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Never seen a New holland sq baler round here. Twas all welgers, Jones or mf.

How do they pack the hay into chamber? Don't see any arms out the top, different system?

Muckit wrote: »
    Never seen a New holland sq baler round here. Twas all welgers, Jones or mf.

How do they pack the hay into chamber? Don't see any arms out the top, different system?

Same system just the arms don't stuck out the top.

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Cheers reggie, she's clean looking alright.

The same one would be about 1500 now. Prices if them went mad since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Same system just the arms don't stuck out the top.

So are the arms totally inside the tinwork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The same one would be about 1500 now. Prices if them went mad since

Can be bought handy in uk

Muckit wrote: »
    So are the arms totally inside the tinwork?

Yeah. I'll take a photo when I'm home tomorrow

Can be bought handy in uk

Not too sure about that. Was looking at a nice clean yellow new holland 377 I think it was at an auction last year. Went for over £2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Not too sure about that. Was looking at a nice clean yellow new holland 377 I think it was at an auction last year. Went for over £2000

Auctions are mad.... Farmers bring the cheque book and leave brain behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Auctions are mad.... Farmers bring the cheque book and leave brain behind

In fairness joe soaps forget their brain too. I remember goin to auctions lookin to get a car and the ones that were ready to drive out the gate were the same price as in any dealers courtyard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Reggie are you running a sleigh behind it? Or flat 8?

Panch18 wrote: »
    Reggie are you running a sleigh behind it? Or flat 8?

Yeah I run a sleigh as required. You need about 5 acres or bigger to use a sleigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭emaherx

Paint work is a bit dull for behind that shiny 399, you would want to get that sorted ;)

emaherx wrote: »
    Paint work is a bit dull for behind that shiny 399, you would want to get that sorted ;)

Not touching a thing on it in case I jinxed the knotters. If they start to give bother I may just burn it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭patjack

A mulcher, like this one http://www.teagle.co.uk/en-gb/category/flail-mowers-and-forestry-mulchers.php

I see a market for them in marginal areas, to reclaim areas with furze etc. Seen a bit done on a hill near us lately, it did a fine job.

Not sure about charge out rate, but with the land eligibility issue etc I think there could be a few good years work if a lad had such a mulcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

It depends on the farm however on most farms I expect that it would be a sprayer, I saw figures be teagasc that lots of farms have 30%+ weeds in there grass land. You can buy a Jarmet sprayer new for 1200 euro. It costs in the region of 10-15 euro/acre to spray. If you increase grass o/p by 30+% think of the saving on fertlizer and weight gain on cattle. As well when makeing silage you are bringing in full bales of grass not a half bale of weeds alot of which you have to be drawing away from the feedface during the winter.

On costing over eight years on a 60 acre farm where 20 acre are sprayed every year (allowing for a bit of reseeding) 300 for spray (do not think I have spend that much in years) 150 depreciation so 450 for the year or about 7.5 euro/acre for having top class grass land. At the end of the eight years you still have a good sprayer at a guess 30 euro/year would maintain until year 20++

It depends on the farm however on most farms I expect that it would be a sprayer, I saw figures be teagasc that lots of farms have 30%+ weeds in there grass land. You can buy a Jarmet sprayer new for 1200 euro. It costs in the region of 10-15 euro/acre to spray. If you increase grass o/p by 30+% think of the saving on fertlizer and weight gain on cattle. As well when makeing silage you are bringing in full bales of grass not a half bale of weeds alot of which you have to be drawing away from the feedface during the winter.

On costing over eight years on a 60 acre farm where 20 acre are sprayed every year (allowing for a bit of reseeding) 300 for spray (do not think I have spend that much in years) 150 depreciation so 450 for the year or about 7.5 euro/acre for having top class grass land. At the end of the eight years you still have a good sprayer at a guess 30 euro/year would maintain until year 20++

+€200 for sprayer course +PPE

ganmo wrote: »

Once off cost over 8 years will it cost 40/year or 66cent/acre:D

Most other equipent has more expensive hidden costs such as liciences, down times etc

Anybody have a cost of a contracter spraying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

10 euro an acre here

gazahayes wrote: »
    10 euro an acre here

Virtually impossible to get contractors to spray grass land. No contractor wants to put on a sprayer to spray 8-10 acres and then arrive to find it is too windy to spray. If you want to spray land you need to have a sprayer yourself.

Before I had a sprayer I found that it wasimpossible to get him if you got him weeds were too strong or field for reseeding was being grazed. You then had to try to get the lad to till it.

For the cost of it and even with the new regs having your own sprayer is still the only way of being sure you can clean up weeds etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

Cash machine lol

ya not sure where I'd get a contractor to spray the place, and the home place is horrible to get the weather right, has to be a very still evening we're at the top of a valley that funnels alot of wind right up to us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

patjack wrote: »
    A mulcher, like this one http://www.teagle.co.uk/en-gb/category/flail-mowers-and-forestry-mulchers.php

I see a market for them in marginal areas, to reclaim areas with furze etc. Seen a bit done on a hill near us lately, it did a fine job.

Not sure about charge out rate, but with the land eligibility issue etc I think there could be a few good years work if a lad had such a mulcher.

Have one of them for a quad,bough it last year as a non runner,we have the rotor sent away to be fixed and it needs a few bearings but once it gets going I'll either put it behind the quad of the 784 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

Suckler wrote:
    Aul lad still talking about benefits of a wuffler!

Are them wuffler any good or are you better shakening out flat and rowening in again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

dodo mommy wrote: »
    Are them wuffler any good or are you better shakening out flat and rowening in again?

Making hay yes; the way it throws out the row helps it dry quicker. The gates throw it in to rows for the baler as well. Don't beat the grass in to dust like the haybob does. Horses for courses, it worked well for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

IH784man wrote: »
    Have one of them for a quad,bough it last year as a non runner,we have the rotor sent away to be fixed and it needs a few bearings but once it gets going I'll either put it behind the quad of the 784 :cool:

That's something I'm interested in. Where does one go get one balanced and roughly how much? (I know it's a 'how long is a piece of string' question)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭josephsoap

Your sprayer also has to be tested, you could be talking approx €200 + vat (local guy's price for a test) for the test + any nozzles, filters etc that need to be replaced or fitted, pity in a way, but unfortunately the cost of having a sprayer on a farm has increased significantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Have a lad that sprays for me. Not being in the environment of the spray is nearly worth it alone for me

josephsoap wrote: »
    Your sprayer also has to be tested, you could be talking approx €200 + vat (local guy's price for a test) for the test + any nozzles, filters etc that need to be replaced or fitted, pity in a way, but unfortunately the cost of having a sprayer on a farm has increased significantly.

So we will give it another 66 or 79.5c/acre. If you like we will make it a tenner even/acre. FFS we are splitting hairs here it would be hard to get to much above 10/acre it still cheap and one of the best value for money machines on a farm. You do not need a bigger tractor, you do not need to replace too many parts in it.

Lads go away spending 10+k on slurry tankers and watering slurry and needing to get a 120HP tractor instead of an 80HP tractor. A sprayer for 1200 euro will increase grass o/p by 25%. It a f@@king no brainer. And the real beauty is that it is only 6-8 hours work/year.

So we will give it another 66 or 79.5c/acre. If you like we will make it a tenner even/acre. FFS we are splitting hairs here it would be hard to get to much above 10/acre it still cheap and one of the best value for money machines on a farm. You do not need a bigger tractor, you do not need to replace too many parts in it.

Lads go away spending 10+k on slurry tankers and watering slurry and needing to get a 120HP tractor instead of an 80HP tractor. A sprayer for 1200 euro will increase grass o/p by 25%. It a f@@king no brainer. And the real beauty is that it is only 6-8 hours work/year.

Deep breath Pudsey. ....deep breath :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

patjack wrote: »

What are the limits of these machines like how hevey of stuff could they cut on say with 100hp driveing them and what would be the story if it hit a stone or something