Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How did people pre 1998 survive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

bnt wrote: »
    What about those poor folks a hundred years ago? There was no recorded music at all: there were concerts, but if you wanted to hear a popular song at home, you had to buy the sheet music and play it yourself.
    that was the charts back then too! chart placing depending on how much sheet music you sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    We played football on a Daily basis. Games usually lasted hours with Jumpers as goal posts.

Sad that this completely died 20 years ago.

My kids and their mates now play football against other from the house with remote-controlled robots.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Now life is **** for alot of teenagers. Your life monitored by social Media and there is always a camera to catch you ****ing up.
    This in a big way. I would hate to be going through my teens today. Of course if you are it's natural for you, social media has been there all your life pretty much, but they do face far more social stresses than when I was a teen. Plus that crap lives on forever in google land. Teens are finding their way in the world and that means lots of daft mistakes, many embarrassing ones. In my day *Grandpa Simpson's voice* the embarrassment was limited to one's peers and didn't generally last for long. Today a mistake can be a world headline/meme within hours. The only thing about today is memes cycle incredibly quickly. A while back it was the Fappening, last week is was transexual Jenner, next week it'll be something else, so the pain shouldn't last too long. Still...
    Pretzill wrote: »
    We didn't care how each other dressed, what each other had or what each others parents did for a living. We weren't that into ourselves.
    Narcissism was most certainly less in evidence alright. Whle the need for social acceptance was always part and parcel of humanity, it was rarely as intense as it is today. The only sub groups of society I can think where it was close was among your very rich elite types who were always trying to outdo each other, but among average people, not nearly so much.

I'm convinced that both the above changes have massively influenced the rise of mental illness in western society. I do not buy the "oh we're better at diagnosis today" as a full explanation of the reported increase in mental illnesses, particularly among the young. IMH it has certainly gotten more prevalent.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭The Dark Side

"FFS! I thought you meant O'Neill's on Suffolk Street, not O'Neill's on Pearse Street."

"Anyway - did ye end up having a good night?"

"FFS! I thought you meant O'Neill's on Suffolk Street, not O'Neill's on Pearse Street."

"Anyway - did ye end up having a good night?"
    ha done that

when i walked in the door of secondary school and saw punks, goths, metalers, cure heads, ska's......i thought...YES!!

everybody is the f**ing same nowadays....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

No broadband
    No digital television
    No mobile phones (except rare gigantic bricks)
    No lots of other things we have now.

Sounds like a pretty happy existence, not being a slave to push notifications. When my iPhone broke last summer and I heard it would take a few weeks to fix, I was initially furious. After a week or two I became incredibly relaxed, so much so that I didn't actually bother getting it fixed until April. Just switched back to an old Nokia 3310 I had lying around. Was nice, although it was incredible initially how offended and angsty people got when confronted with the fact that I wasn't IMable 24/7 :p
    Even worse - how did people in the 80's survive?:eek: At least they had discmans in the 90's.

In Dublin? Apparently heroin. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Playing 3 games of football in a day was a pretty good way of living tbh!

Those of you (kids or adults) who weren't around to witness Italia '90 have no idea what ye missed out on, 25 years ago yesterday the adventure started!

Sports stadium the TV show!!

weren't the latest results written on a board??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Michael Lowry gave us Feile festival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

No broadband
    No digital television

Even worse - how did people in the 80's survive?:eek: At least they had discmans in the 90's.

And how about the 70's?:eek::eek: Some tvs still did not have colour!

It just, it just does not bare thinking about how bleak life must have been.

Is there any boardsies of this vintage on AH to share their experiences of these desolate times?

In the very early 80's it was CB radio for communication with a big-ass 50 ft antenna on the roof, or a DV27 antenna on the roof of the car, that damn 'skip' (interference from other countries) in the daytime was annoying.

Lots of socialising hanging around with ghetto blasters and a flagon or 3 litre bag of cider. Lots of cannabis smoking listening to bob marley and UB40.

Lots of reading books. Plenty of Disco dancing. Television wasn't too bad, great horror movies every weekend late at night. Lots of cycling around the country, amazing camping trips. Atari gaming and the amusement arcades.

It wasn't as bad as you think, definitely more social though. The internet made me very lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,812 ✭✭✭lertsnim

The summer weather was far better too. It was actually possible to get sun burned by just walking around.

That happened last year and the year before too. Glorious weeks of sunshine was had.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

No broadband
    No digital television

And how about the 70's?:eek::eek: Some tvs still did not have colour!

It just, it just does not bare thinking about how bleak life must have been.

Is there any boardsies of this vintage on AH to share their experiences of these desolate times?

I had full internet access at work in 1994/5 and free dial up from home, granted it was 19.2k. Lived in the US so it was cable tv. Have digital TV but don't watch it much anyway. Whoopee, I can pause Mock The Week while I go for a piss :rolleyes:
    Still hate talking on the phone whether it's mobile or landline. Only thing I'm happy for is text messaging. I can tell someone something or be told something without having to have a conversation.

"Get wine"
    "OK"
    "Mulligan's for the match at 2:30?"
    "Sound"

"My husband's at work. Come over" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,812 ✭✭✭lertsnim

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Most of Ireland's urban areas have had cable for a very, very long time. A lot of effort went in to avoid having to watch RTE!

Did you know that it was RTÉ, through RTÉ Relays, that brought cable tv to the cities in the 1970's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,346 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

We had marla and imagination in the 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

How did people pre 1998 survive?

Ah it was great OP, you don't know what you missed.

People used to actually have real engaging conversations and some great craic.
    It was a time when people had eye contact and the only time you actually looked down, was to make sure you didn't piss on your shoes while in the bog.
    Photographs were for special occasions, narcissistic **** didn't exist back then.
    Everyone could meet up at an agreed time & place and actually be on time.
    The beer was better and cheaper.
    The Eighties through the Nineties was a golden age for music, where so many genres evolved.
    People lived for themselves in the moment, not for others through a lense.
    The only time hands were raised at a concert, was to dance or show appreciation.
    We didn't need to validate our existence or try to proves ourselves to others via photography or a video camera.
    If you couldn't hold your drink and collapsed on the street, you were laughed at and exiled from the group as a liability.
    If you screwed up, it wasn't video recorded or photographed.

Socially, life was just way better. Today Humans have almost forgotten how to Human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

mfceiling wrote: »
    I was born in 1974. As a kid we were playing outside constantly. We ate together as a family and watched tv programmes together...crystal maze, treasure hunt.

Liar. I was born in 74, I'd remember if anyone else was:D

On the TV thing - do you remember the streets emptying because everyone, and I mean everyone, went running home to watch V! No series record back then.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

The Curly Wurly Fatwa was grim though until they lifted it in 1979. Took a few years for the good stuff to filter through to the sticks though.

My first phone was in my twenties and was an Esat Digifone one. And actually admired by my peers at the time for being quite slimline! It was the size of a sodding courgette :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Liar. I was born in 74, I'd remember if anyone else was:D

On the TV thing - do you remember the streets emptying because everyone, and I mean everyone, went running home to watch V! No series record back then.

NightRider:)
    Streethawk:)
    Airwolf:)
    the equalizer:eek:

Forging your mammys signature to rent A Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th or any over 18 movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Less was more, also we had attention spans of more than 38 seconds

Renting the video recorder along with your movies for 24 hrs.

Neyite wrote: »
    Renting the video recorder along with your movies for 24 hrs.

Recording Music from the radio station or tape to tape

Needing two single deck 'stereos' pushed together to tape from one to the other! Nobody say anything or it'll be caught on tape!

Halfway thru, cue your Ma bursting into the bedroom, "Your dinner will be ready in 5 minutes!!!" You'd have to start again :mad:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Pffftttt video shops had a special binder behind the counter for adult movies.

Mobile phones, nobody needed to get hold of me in a hurry so it was all good.

Also we had none of your fancy pants snickers bars, we had the Marathon bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Neyite wrote: »
    My first phone was in my twenties and was an Esat Digifone one. And actually admired by my peers at the time for being quite slimline! It was the size of a sodding courgette :pac:

I had this bright blue flip lid one (with a tiny strip of screen so you had to read your text messages as they scrolled across) and I never once got beaten up for using it in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Music was waaaay better.

RayM wrote: »
    Over what though? Live at Three?

Ah, Thelma...

Remember, you can't spell "Mansfield" without "MILF" :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

kfallon wrote: »
    Halfway thru, cue your Ma bursting into the bedroom, "Your dinner will be ready in 5 minutes!!!" You'd have to start again :mad:

Aaahhh!! Flashbacks !!!

The mother used to have a gift for that. You'd wait all fecking week for Larry Gogan, then wait through every sodding song of the top 40, and just when you were recording the one sodding song you wanted, the one time Larry shut the fcuk up talking over said song, recording going lovely and the mother would burst through the door roaring at the top of her voice at you for leaving a floater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭patmac

There was a nice time around the late 90's when you could send and receive offensive emails to and from friends, sometimes even at work, without people getting offended. But as a man in his 50's I have to say the 70's and 80's were very bleak, basically as we were a third world country and everyone saw us as terrorists especially in the UK. The few plus points being lack of Health & Safety, the fact that cameras and phones are everywhere, and we never seemed to get lost and always managed to meet your mates on time, still I wouldn't go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

& then been sooo annoyed when the DJ cut in and starting talking before the song was over!!

messrs wrote: »
    & then been sooo annoyed when the DJ cut in and starting talking before the song was over!!

:eek: Calling the radio station to request a song with the finger hovering over the record button

This

Atlantic 252 - We play the same 8 or 9 songs over & over again and spend the rest of the time talking about how our DJ's do less talking than other DJ's :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

In the 90s I lived in Africa where there was digital TV. Europe was so backward in those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Going to a nightclub for a sausage supper, and drinking pints because only people with notions drank shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Joeface

Ah the 80's and 90's when you could arrange to meet someone 6 weeks from now in the middle of know where and they would f'in turn up with out you needing to remind them ....now you have to text them 20 bloody times and facebook and whatapps the same to find out they forgot 10min after they were suppose to turn up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Pffftttt video shops had a special binder behind the counter for adult movies.

Did anyone ever look through that binder for more than 42 seconds.

It was always just a quick pointing at the first one you hadn't seen and no eye contact:

"Eh yeah, this one please, yeah, cheers.."

..with a quick glance around to make sure the ultimate nightmare of someone you know walking in wasn't about to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Going to a nightclub for a sausage supper, and drinking pints because only people with notions drank shorts.

By cracky yes, apparently at the time the law required the serving of food in order to get a late bar license. Hence the feed-ups at 1:30 am. At our local hop it was chicken suppers. :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

jimgoose wrote: »
    By cracky yes, apparently at the time the law required the serving of food in order to get a late bar license. Hence the feed-ups at 1:30 am. At our local hop it was chicken suppers. :pac::pac::pac:

You had to be in the first fifty to get chicken in ours(well 48 because two were saved for whoever was in the patrol car outside :p), after that it was sausages, and if they all went, it was the dreaded chicken nuggets.

This thread has kinda answered the Op's question

before the naughties you felt alive and involved in Society.

Now people are chained to technology to dictate daily life.

Anyone wanna see what im having for dinner?

You had to be in the first fifty to get chicken in ours(well 48 because two were saved for whoever was in the patrol car outside :p), after that it was sausages, and if they all went, it was the dreaded chicken nuggets.

It's all coming back to me now. The suppers were allocated via a standard book of raffle-tickets, which were doled out by the doorman as you paid in. Some of the gravitationally challenged lads kept a thriving black-market alive for those things. :pac:

This thread has kinda answered the Op's question

before the naughties you felt alive and involved in Society.

Now people are chained to technology to dictate daily life.

Anyone wanna see what im having for dinner?

Yep, I'm starving but on a diet, I like looking though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dlouth15

Companies used to sell paper versions of google maps. You could also get google earth made out of metal or plastic that you could spin around by hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

jimgoose wrote: »

at ours it was whatever crap was leftover from the carvery from that Saturday afternoon

messrs wrote: »
    at ours it was whatever crap was leftover from the carvery from that Saturday afternoon

And fcukan glad ta get it ye were, an' all! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

Lots and lots of ****

that and lots of booze and heavy metal...worked just fine...

Yep, I'm starving but on a diet, I like looking though :)

Might take a while. I need to cook it, Prepare the plating, and wait for the right lighting conditions.

You might want to know i am going to the Gym but I will send you a video of my cat doing awesome stuff while you wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

We rented Sega Megadrive games and a video recorder (until we got a hand me down top loader one :p). We only got a phone in the mid 90s and Sky a few years after that.

Can't wait.