Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Signs you're getting older

All I know is, I recently got a present of a Debenhams gift-card and I'm gonna buy a steam-cleaner with it.

I already have a steam cleaner. :o

Not as good on grout as you might hope, btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

haha...oh God :)
    People at that gig who were about 30 were probably the second youngest after him. :pac:
    I was 34 at it and I felt pretty young compared to a lot of the other attendees. :D
    I was 11 when The Stone Roses album was released, others at the gig would have been in their 20s for that particular musical landmark.
    My 16 year old cousin told me that if could travel through time he'd like to be a teenage in the 90's! :o
    Ah ffs... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

People at that gig who were about 30 were probably the second youngest after him. :pac:
    I was 34 at it and I felt pretty young compared to a lot of the other attendees. :D
    I was 11 when The Stone Roses album was released, others at the gig would have been in their 20s for that particular musical landmark.

Ah ffs... :o

I'm even struggling to remember if it was 2012 or 2013 :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Candie wrote: »
    I already have a steam cleaner. :o

Not as good on grout as you might hope, btw.
    I got a mould-cleaner the other day, delighted.

Does it have a detachable bit that cleans windows? Coz that would be heaven.

Erm, eh.....does it work in the shower? :o

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

In fairness, the '90s was the last proper decade (i.e. a decade with a proper name). The '00s and the '10s have been terribly nondescript. For that reason alone, I'm looking forward to the '20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

When you go to the underwear dept in pennys and see all the lovely lingerie.

And what do you do ?

Go over and buy the bloody 4 pack the size of tents

Does it have a detachable bit that cleans windows? Coz that would be heaven.

Yes, but it's as much effort as the trad way. And you have to keep refilling the damn thing. Overall it's probably a bit easier to use the usual Windex or detergent method.

One of those window vacuum jobs, now that would be the biz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Yes, but it's as much effort as the trad way. And you have to keep refilling the damn thing. Overall it's probably a bit easier to use the usual Windex or detergent method.

One of those window vacuum jobs, now that would be the biz.

Scrunched up newspapers and Windolene is the ultimate window cleaner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

kfallon wrote: »
    Erm, eh.....does it work in the shower? :o

:P
    Just buy the Cif Mould and Mildew..spray it on for a few days and dont wash it off..:o

Scrunched up newspapers and Windolene is the ultimate window cleaner.

I have a thing about the newspapers though! Can't stand the print on me, and hate rubber gloves. :(

Colser wrote: »
    Just buy the Cif Mould and Mildew..spray it on for a few days and dont wash it off..:o

Really? That works well? Do you have to scrub it off eventually?

I have a thing about the newspapers though! Can't stand the print on me, and hate rubber gloves. :(

I hate it when the tabloids write me up, too. Specially with the saucy snaps taken by the paps.

Boom boom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Really? That works well? Do you have to scrub it off eventually?
    No..No elbow grease at all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

We should start a cool secret housekeeping tips thread! How to get a burn mark off a wooden table!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I'm so glad this cleaning thing isn't just me. I love nothing more than discovering a new use for baking soda and vinegar as household cleaners.
    It's the ultimate in cleaning buzz when your homemade concoction actually does what it says it will on Pinterest.

We should start a cool secret housekeeping tips thread! How to get a burn mark off a wooden table!?

Ye can have the first 12 months of meetings at my gaff, practical tutorials only tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Using coupons...for everything. Bulking buying as mentioned. :p

Cigarette ash! My gran is full of this kind of stuff.

Also, steam clean your oven by putting a large casserole of boiling water in it after you've used it for cooking, leave it an hour, and then just wipe the icky off it after the steam has done it's magic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Staying up really late on a Friday night because you're waiting for the washing machine to finish.

RayM wrote: »
    Staying up really late on a Friday night because you're waiting for the washing machine to finish.

I have done this on several occasions.

Also, steam clean your oven by putting a large casserole of boiling water in it after you've used it for cooking, leave it an hour, and then just wipe the icky off it after the steam has done it's magic!

YOU MAY HAVE JUST CHANGED MY LIFE!!! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Are you watching me right now??? :eek::(

<slowly takes hand out of pants>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

The steamer is great for defrosting the freezer. A big chunk of ice forms under our bottom freezer drawer and sometimes I pull out the bottom drawer and cant close it again over the massive ice lump. A blast of the steamer fixes it. Much easier than hacking at it with a knife until the ice comes away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

life hacking thread is over there.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Hangovers that are harder to deal with now than what comedowns felt like 10 years ago pisses me off no end.

life hacking thread is over there.......

I love your Spanish eyes ;-) With those Spanish eyes you could direct me anywhere....

Wish you were here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Not being able to break your PB at 10k and half-M, despite being in better shape than you were 5 years ago. Realising that this means you'll be one of those 40-year olds trying so hard to keep breaking 3 hours in the marathon.

Wish you were here.

So you could direct me way way over there :-) ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The steamer is great for defrosting the freezer. A big chunk of ice forms under our bottom freezer drawer and sometimes I pull out the bottom drawer and cant close it again over the massive ice lump. A blast of the steamer fixes it. Much easier than hacking at it with a knife until the ice comes away.

Our (ex) freezer had shelves in it. Those carried the coolant. Defrosted with a knife, bye bye freezer.

For me:
    When you're quoting from South Park, feeling all young, hip and with it and you realise the episode you're quoting from is nearly 20 friggin' years old! Especially when you're talking to someone who might have been 5 years at the time it was aired. :eek:
    Also, using words like hip and with it. Bonus points for "being down with the kids"

So you could direct me way way over there :-) ?

LOL. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

When your penis no longer watches you shave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Not wanting to paint any rooms too dark, because it will require a few coats of white to cover in a few years.

Organising the bedsheets in the hot press into handy piles. Doubles and singles, flat and fitted...

I have glasses for the car, glasses for TV and glasses by the bed for reading. Just like my mother used to.

I'm 23 and feel like a bleedin oul wan. When I get that hideous chain for hanging glasses around my neck, smother me with a pillow. Probably won't be long now.

And when it's finished at 1am or so FGS what do you do with the washing?

Don't tell me you hang it on the line.

What if it RAINS OVERNIGHT. Do you sit up and watch the forecast all night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Sometimes I put it in the tumble dryer and stay up for that. :-(

Don't worry I will go out this weekend and make up for it!

Signs that I'm getting older:

I'm eating with a plate now for most things.

I've eaten in a restaurant at least once a year.

I sometimes wear shorts when not playing sports.

I have yet to own a suit but I have two ties.

twice on a fri night

Well that song was a bit of a downer! You need Jethro Tull stat!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=enIdTGckjKs

Signs that I'm getting older:

I'm eating with a plate now for most things.

I've eaten in a restaurant at least once a year.

I sometimes wear shorts when not playing sports.

I have yet to own a suit but I have two ties.

Is that a plate in your mouth or a china one.

Haha...I had a plate put in my head after being wounded in 'nam. Charlie came at us from nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I hang stuff on the line overnight all the time. Then if it rains, I just wait for it to dry again. I had bedsheets out there for a good week recently.

That makes me feel young and stupid
    Phew :o

Haha...I had a plate put in my head after being wounded in 'nam. Charlie came at us from nowhere.

Well that's a relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

This explains it. Faint hearts please don't read further!
    http://www.heretical.com/pubs/esknell.html

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I hang stuff on the line overnight all the time. Then if it rains, I just wait for it to dry again. I had bedsheets out there for a good week recently.

That makes me feel young and stupid
    Phew :o

That's a memory problem. Get help.

I may have Alzheimers but at least I don't have Alzheimers

This explains it. Faint hearts please don't read further!

Thank you...just thank you...i love this!

Insomnia.

Age thing. We all have it I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Poxy nosehairs.Twice the coke,half the buzz :(