Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Who is your RB? Like myself with United are ye surprised you are not in for Clyne at 12m?

RasTa wrote: »
    Who is your RB? Like myself with United are ye surprised you are not in for Clyne at 12m?

With Bellerin and Debuchy i cant see the need to go in for Clyne. Bellerin especially is a top prospect

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Definetly wont be signing a RB. Debuchy and Bellerin with Chambers as third choice.

Can Chambers play that DM role that Coq covers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Can Chambers play that DM role that Coq covers?

Answer is No.
    Many of us thought he'd make a good one when he first came but he was played there once or twice and showed clearly that he was like a duck out of water.
    He might make a CB in time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Answer is No.
    Many of us thought he'd make a good one when he first came but he was played there once or twice and showed clearly that he was like a duck out of water.

Played away to Southampton alongside Coquelin and it was a disaster

Bit early to be ruling Chambers out of the DMF role now imo. He probably wont be playing there next season but who would have predicted Coq behind an important first team player this time last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Hard to tell. Debuchy is an established PL player, solid and unspectacular but that's fine for a fullback. Injured for most of last season in fairness.

Then there's Bellerin, who for me renders Clyne moot. May not be as good as him right now, but the potential is there for him to be a great. Pretty much nailed down a starting spot for the second half of the season, great on the ball and lightning quick. Still a bit dodgy defensively for me, but he's only just turned 20. Really high hopes for him.

Chambers I don't really regard as a fullback, much prefer him as a CB.

And Jenkinson, who seemed to do well at West Ham on loan last season. Good solid player, but he'll probably be loaned out again.

So yeah, far too many players to be thinking of adding another to the mix. I'd personally rather have Debuchy and Bellerin than Clyne anyway.

shano_88 wrote: »
    Bit early to be ruling Chambers out of the DMF role now imo. He probably wont be playing there next season but who would have predicted Coq behind an important first team player this time last year.

Coq was a pleasant accident imo. Might never have got the chance except for injuries.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Answer is No.

One or two games are enough to judge a player's position for his entire career? I remember him playing there once last season at Southampton and that was a game where no player could say they were up to scratch. I'm not saying he will end up there but you can't just flat out say it won't happen based on a couple of games.

It's only my opinion. I didn't like the look of him at DM at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Dont really want to turn Chambers into another Phil Jones, jack of all trades, master of none. Per's long term successor for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

It's only my opinion. I didn't like the look of him at DM at all.

That's fair enough and I'd be inclined to agree with you, he did look out place that day but that said there's been enough surprises in the past to make me take a never say never attitude. If Wenger sees something that makes him think Chambers can play there then maybe we should give him time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

DM is a specialist position like full back, no way Chambers will play there unless it's in a Phil Neville or John Oshea kinda way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

You either need to be ultra mobile like Makeleke or Coq, or a fantastic ball player like Pirlo or Alonso.

I don't think it's too early to state that Chambers will be neither.

He'll only ever be a CB tbh.

Apparently the most reliable media in Spain :eek:

https://twitter.com/MessiMinutes/status/615290258972872704

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Few different places going with it tonight

Things just got real....,..

Hopefully!

I still dont think it will happen.

The Italians going with it too but to a lesser extent. Must resist getting excited.

https://twitter.com/yousef738/status/615292010413584385

€30 million would be a serious bargain. €40 million and Id still be on board!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

They broke Ozil to Arsenal rumours too apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

I don't give a **** how many midfielders we have I'll genuinley lose my **** if we sign Vidal !!

In years gone by we have seen players of his calibre go to United, City and Chelsea and thought to ourselves member when this guy would have come here before we built the stadium if we sign Vidal along with Alexis and Ozil 2 years ago now ......**** me

and what kind of message would it send out to a Gonzalo Higuian or Karim Benzema who may also be weighing up there options ...delighted i'd be ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Not a chance that Juve would let Vidal go for 30 million euro, i hope im wrong but I call bullsh1t on this one, based on that fee anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Maybe there is some clause in his contract or something because it does seem awfully little , Then again Wenger is a miser when it comes to money, Maybe they've been brushing up on our clauses after the debacle the time with suarez

shano_88 wrote: »
    Hopefully!

I still dont think it will happen.

Its not going to happen, its not going to happen, its not going to happen.....

ah its no use feck it im just getting giddy now :D

homer-spinning-o.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Not gonna happen lads, curb your enthusiasm!

greendom wrote: »
    Season before last we did very well against most teams but were awful against the top 4 sides. That improved last year but we did poorly against the teams just below top 4. Spurs, Swansea, Southampton and Stoke. Improve results against those teams snd perform just as well as we did against the rest and we'll be there or thereabouts.
    Both seasons were much and the same if you check statto. We were never more than 2 games off the previous season's total last year and ended below it.

giphy.gif

Argh!

We ARE NOT signing Vidal.

AAAARRRRGGGHHHHH!!!!

OK, nearly got me there but rational hat back on.

This is a story someone made up. Other apparently credible sources are running with it because it's a good story.

But it's not true.

Edit: Ah, it is made up. Some guy said that @Hfeler was on the radio in Chile confirming it but he wasn't at all; arsenal fans online started the rumour that @hfeler was the guy who broke the Sanchez story but he wasn't at all; and then @hfeler retweeted the lie made up about him being on the radio which gives you an idea of the kind of journalist he is. Everyone else has just run with it but there's no source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

cope.es broke the James, Morata and Thiago transfer stories so they seem reliable enough.
    It is just the fee that appears to be the strange part of this but perhaps he has a clause that we do not know about.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭ronjo

gosplan wrote: »
    Nah, bar an injury crisis or total collapse, we'll put up a good points total.

One of those happens every bloody season though, often both !

cope.es broke the James, Morata and Thiago transfer stories so they seem reliable enough.
    It is just the fee that appears to be the strange part of this but perhaps he has a clause that we do not know about.

No really, there's a story on 101 great goals with tweets from the guy that made it all up.

It's a fabricated story. Some dude with 250 followers tweets that he's translating from Spanish but was making it all up. 2 days later it's in the dailys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

If there was a clause that he could go for that fee, more than Arsenal would be interested in him tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

No really, there's a story on 101 great goals with tweets from the guy that made it all up.

It's a fabricated story. Some dude with 250 followers tweets that he's translating from Spanish but was making it all up. 2 days later it's in the dailys

There was a story that was made up but that is not were this story came from apparently.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

OK, nearly got me there but rational hat back on.

This is a story someone made up. Other apparently credible sources are running with it because it's a good story.

But it's not true.

Edit: Ah, it is made up. Some guy said that @Hfeler was on the radio in Chile confirming it but he wasn't at all; arsenal fans online started the rumour that @hfeler was the guy who broke the Sanchez story but he wasn't at all; and then @hfeler retweeted the lie made up about him being on the radio which gives you an idea of the kind of journalist he is. Everyone else has just run with it but there's no source.
    The story has been around for a month (http://metro.co.uk/2015/05/24/arsenal-to-announce-arturo-vidal-transfer-after-copa-america-2015-5212621/). Doesn't mean it's true of course, but it wasn't fabricated by a twitter troll yesterday.

No, just the 30 million figure and the Chilean journo who allegedly had the inside track on Sanchez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Is cech to be announced today?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I'd say nothing will be announced until July 1st - club are funny about these sorts ofthings

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭emmetlego

SSN reporting that Cech will be unveiled later today. Journalists asked to attend for an announcement.

Sky also reporting that the Vidal rumours are "wide of the mark"!

Back to reality now lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

As arsenal fans yer all supposed to enjoy this

2/3 seasons ago we wouldn't wven be linked with this type of player, we had to put up with the gervinhos and what not

Now we're been linked with top top players and there is a possibity it could happen

IM not leaving my rational side take over and im going to enjoy silly season I think we deserve it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

This Vidal talk will be a distant memory when we go to Stamford Bridge with a Flamini - Arteta double pivot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

This Vidal talk will be a distant memory when we go to Stamford Bridge with a Flamini - Arteta double pivot.

A song for you Bob,

"Always look on the bright side of life, de dum de dum de dum de dum":D

greendom wrote: »
    A song for you Bob,

"Always look on the bright side of life, de dum de dum de dum de dum":D

Sorry I forgot to add the :pac: face. It Is not beyond the realms of possibility tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭snowblind

Vidal wants out of juve and wanted out the last two seasons
    This is the most inaccurate post I have ever read. All Vidal has been saying recently is that he wants to stay in Juve indefinitely, has Juventus and the trophies tattooed on himself and has positioned himself in Juve long term. This is basically every time Vidal ever speaks about Juve, if you have any other info, can you provide links?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Am I alone in being positive about our future now? I mean, we're about to unveil a world class goalkeeper. Last year we got Alexis, and prior to that Mesut Ozil. I mean, we are back eating at the top table, and a marquee signing of a top forward could be enough to push us beyond our threshold. We appear to have our injuries resolved now too, so naturally we'll be stronger if we remain relatively injury free...

I'm very excited at the prospect of 2015/2016

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Sometimes Bob, I think this is just what you want. What would you give out about otherwise. You're a pretty negative dude. Think positively. It's good for the soul!

Again, there was a :pac: face in there. Thanks for you concern Ed but I'm perfectly happy!

Calling me a negative person because I complain on a forum about a football team when they do something wrong is pretty daft in fairness.

emmetlego wrote: »
    Am I alone in being positive about our future now? I mean, we're about to unveil a world class goalkeeper. Last year we got Alexis, and prior to that Mesut Ozil. I mean, we are back eating at the top table, and a marquee signing of a top forward could be enough to push us beyond our threshold. We appear to have our injuries resolved now too, so naturally we'll be stronger if we remain relatively injury free...

I'm very excited at the prospect of 2015/2016

No. I think we have everything needed to go on a whopper run and challenge all the way.

People will say 'ah sure that happens every year etc etc' but we lost a player a game to injury for the first couple of months last season. We lost Giroud at the very start, had to get used to Alexis and had a woefully out of form Ozil and Mert.

I fully believe we'll hit the ground running and that this season is gonna be very different. But Shad is the most important link in this. Are his methods really that much better or did we just get lucky for the last five months?

But obviously after Ozil two years ago and Sanchez last year, people are mad for another signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Sky sources? It's in the bag.