Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards come dine with me

13»

Steak juice sounds worse than blood. :(

Juice. From a steak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Then chuck me a member from the Hip Hop or Boxing forums to have a grand chat with all week and of course Boards.ie's hottest young wan for me to *cough** all week

** to cook great food to and provide platonic and compassionate conversation and interest in to illustrate I am a "good guy" :rolleyes:
    Thanks for the rolleyes - it makes people realise that you're actually not "beta" and are instead a bad-ass playa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Would it not be easier for all invoked just to get the steak cooked??

As I just can't bring myself to eat something that I be worried isn't cooked 100% and fear getting sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Would it not be easier for all invoked just to get the steak cooked??

As I just can't bring myself to eat something that I be worried isn't cooked 100% and fear getting sick
    It is perfectly safe to eat rare/blue steak. As long as the exposed area of the meat is cooked, you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

El Weirdo wrote: »
    It is perfectly safe to eat rare/blue steak. As long as the exposed area of the meat is cooked, you'll be fine.

Rationally I know this....but nada a chance I could force myself!

Couldn't force myself to eat food I view not to be cooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Come Dine with me is a truly awful show.

It has absolutely very little in common with an actual dinner party. A show with awful standards of cuisine, non-existent table manners and low-brow uncouth conversations throughout.

Let's just say if I were invited to a 'dinner party' that asked me to dress up in a cowboy outfit, consume copious amounts of cheap grog and endure some 'entertainment' of dancing like a buffoon then I'd be RSVPing "No thank you".

Dinner parties at chez Von Bismarck are certainly nothing like that anyway. There are some decent cooks in the cooking forum I'd consider inviting and there are one or two posters in the politics forum that are not raving shinners who I would be interested in chatting with. Needless to say, not many posters in AH would be welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I can cook my own steak and onions, why the fluck would I want to be stuck listening to any of yous yahoos when I'm eating it?

I can sing?

It has absolutely very little in common with an actual dinner party. A show with awful standards of cuisine, non-existent table manners and low-brow uncouth conversations throughout.

Let's just say if I were invited to a 'dinner party' that asked me to dress up in a cowboy outfit, consume copious amounts of cheap grog and endure some 'entertainment' of dancing like a buffoon then I'd be RSVPing "No thank you".

Dinner parties at chez Von Bismarck are certainly nothing like that anyway. There are some decent cooks in the cooking forum I'd consider inviting and there are one or two posters in the politics forum that are not raving shinners who I would be interested in chatting with. Needless to say, not many posters in AH would be welcome.

I'm crushed, Aongus. Truly. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Despite the fact an overwhelming majority of your posts are in AHers? Yes, I did have a look because I have no life.

Anyway, you're more than welcome to attend my dinner parties. I make a nice steak and kidney pie. Slice it open and let the juices flow. A pie is no pie at all without a bit of meat in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Needless to say, not many posters in AH would be welcome.

Ah be nice Aongus, there are some fine specimens in AH that would be sufficient at polishing the silver, ironing the tablecloth and peeling the peas.

You could hunt them for sport after the plethora of desert wines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Burn my steak, scorch it. Burn my chips too. Burn my wine. Burn my chair. Burn my table cloth. Burn everything. Everything is better just a little bit burnt. That's just how things are. But especially steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I'm not sure that's always the case.

I was once sent on a cookery course, and she told us that the more fat on a particular cut of steak, the safer it is to go medium-rare or even medium.

I like my beef rare, but I'd be careful about applying blanket rules, especially considering most people probably buy their steaks in Tesco or from some other mass-produce line in a supermarket chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Candie wrote: »
    It's never euphemism or innuendo with me, I don't know how!

More's the pity :(

:P

OneOfThem wrote: »
    Burn my steak, scorch it. Burn my chips too. Burn my wine. Burn my chair. Burn my table cloth. Burn everything. Everything is better just a little bit burnt. That's just how things are. But especially steak.

Toast a little bit burnt is the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

All these posters with a big long list of boardsies they'd invite to dinner.

I picture the scene as the guests arrive, a doorbell rings, inside a dark room, curtains drawn, the glow of a laptop behind the couch where said poster sits quivering with fear until the real people go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm crushed, Aongus. Truly. :(

I'm as crushed as the french garlic on italian bread that he'd serve (From M&S)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

conorh91 wrote: »

I was once sent on a cookery course, and she told us that the more fat on a particular cut of steak, the safer it is to go medium-rare or even medium.

I like my beef rare, but I'd be careful about applying blanket rules, especially considering most people probably buy their steaks in Tesco or from some other mass-produce line in a supermarket chain.

Depending on the cut of steak it can actually taste better if it's well cooked.

Grayson wrote: »
    I'm as crushed as the french garlic on italian bread that he'd serve (From M&S)

I'm sure his pot noodles are truly haut cuisine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

AvB, Egginacup and Electro~bitch.

The two lads can have a chef in a box. I'd cook electro~bitch a nice bibimbap, vegetarian if needed.

Myself, a big bowl of popcorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

3 in 1 and a can a coke

anna080 wrote: »
    3 in 1 and a can a coke

I'm happy to be one of your guests!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

conorh91 wrote: »

How much to cook a steak depends on the cut of steak you are using. Some cuts have a higher fat content and some are tough muscle and sinew and need a bit longer to render the fat. When you were told 'safer to cook' I think they may have meant 'better to cook'.
    Steak can be eaten raw and a steak tartare is a lovely thing but only if made from a good tenderloin fillet. On the other-hand if you order a sirloin (which comes from the ass of the cow) they can be a bit tougher and hence require a little more cooking. For a loin fillet go blue, for sirloin go medium rare and cook both over a high heat for that delicious charred flavour.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

God I am hungry. Wish somoene would cook for me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

anna080 wrote: »
    3 in 1 and a can a coke

Throw a half portion of chicken balls in and we are in business.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I can't believe no one is bringing me to dinner. :(

Shower of b@stards! :mad:

No one invited me either :(

I'd invite you to mine but I'm not that cruel :pac:
    It's never euphemism or innuendo with me, I don't know how!

You keep saying that but we all know it's a lie :P
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    Myoglobin is haemoglobin's poor cousin. It's found in muscle and like haemoglobin it binds oxygen. However it doesn't bind oxygen as tightly so the O2 can be released into the muscles quicker. I won't actually talk like this over dinner.

You never answered my ATP question :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

Probably more I'd like, but off the top of my head;

TheBeardedLady, The Backwards Man, Electrobitch, Beks101, Wibbs, Steddyeddy, Mickey Dolenz, and Seamus.

Mainly because I would enjoy speaking about science and possibly anthropology with Steddyeddy and Wibbs, I think I would get along well with TheBeardedLady,The Backwards Man,Electrobitch, Micky Dolenz and Seamus because I usually agree with their posts or else find them very funny so they might possibly be of a similar personality and sense of humour to me, and Beks101 because I think I could listen to her speaking all day just because I love reading her posts and her posts in more serious threads make me think about life or the situation more deeply so think she's a great writer. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Throw a half portion of chicken balls in and we are in business.

That'd be a 4 in 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Gongoozler wrote: »
    That'd be a 4 in 1.

Not a fan. I prefer the chicken balls seperate so they remain crispy and I can dip them into the 3 in 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

OldGoat wrote: »
    How much to cook a steak depends on your personal preference.

Just changed that slightly for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Valetta wrote: »
    Just changed that slightly for you.

Agreed, "Too thine own self be true". For me - to under cook a piece of gristly steak is just as terrible a waste of meat as overcooking a tenderloin fillet.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Nim wrote: »

Of course you're invited to mine, you're the co-host :)

You're worse than I am! We're the confused ones. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

When I read this first I taught you were going feeding her boardsies I never heard of :pac:...

Be the job, wha'?? beards.ie's very own Clarice and Hannibal! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Nim wrote: »

You never answered my ATP question :mad:

I will dude but I'll expect my invites to be cancelled after I bore people into a life support machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭ISOP

I agree with the point about the absolute dregs of Irish society posting in the AH forum

ISOP wrote: »
    I agree with the point about the absolute dregs of Irish society posting in the AH forum

Ironically posted in the AH forum.

I'd rather be with the so called 'dregs' than one of the stuck up cúnts who look down their nose at everyone tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

ISOP wrote: »

Takes one to know one babe:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,481 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Dregs of AH? This was such a pleasant thread.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

*Bump*

What about a boards Come Dine With Me gone-but-not-forgotten special...

I'd like Beardedlady, ColdWarKid and Strobe at the table.

We'll get drunk on cheap wine and talk about why y'all abandoned us all.

Bluewolf, Candie, Electrobitch, KingofMoo and FatChristy can come too for the LOLZ.

EDIT: ColdWarKid is still alive!!!!! She can bring dessert ;)