Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Dublin Bike Ride - Sunday 13th September **no entry requests/offers**

1131415161719»

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭maldondo

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Were there not loos in Garristown? I'm sure I saw a row of them at the food stop.

Yep, definitely we're a few dotted around. Just not enough :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Blustez

As a first time volunteer for an event like this (I was a route marshall on the St. Margarets roundabout at the back of the airport) I just wanted to say its great to hear so many compliments on boards today all the volunteers.

I especially wanted to send a shout out to all the cyclists who also gave a thanks on the way round. It meant a lot to hear that and as someone who has cycled these kind of events plenty of times I know it can be hard when your struggling a bit.

I have to apologize to one rider who turned left at the roundabout as we didnt shout out in time to turn right. We were supposed to have a Garda at that roundabout but none turned up so it made the job a little harder and at times our attention was more focused on ensuring that cars entering the roundabout were aware of the cyclists.

Again thank you for all the thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

maldondo wrote: »

Hello to anybody I met, I was wearing a Dublin top and on a red Kestrel bike.

Was that the Dublin replica cycling jersey, saw someone wearing one yesterday and it looked class. Was going to pick one up on the oneills site at lunchtime but might pop into a store to suss out sizing instead.

Edit: I saw your later post about getting it from O'Neills, will have to pop into them now and nab one.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭Mec-a-nic

Dummy wrote: »
    - this is a really good, really enjoyable sport. So, once I buy some lycra gear, I'm off to join a club.

And another MAMIL is born :) As one, I was annoyed to miss this event, but did roll the kids out to the coast road to wave ye on, before heading to a family event. I've a reminder for next year's event in place to get one of the early entries...

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭woppi

Crocked wrote: »
    Was that the Dublin replica cycling jersey, saw someone wearing one yesterday and it looked class. Was going to pick one up on the oneills site at lunchtime but might pop into a store to suss out sizing instead.

Edit: I saw your later post about getting it from O'Neills, will have to pop into them now and nab one.

https://www.oneills.com/dublin-gaa-cyc-top.html
    They just have small and medium sizes listed on the website, but they do look good. Are they made with a wicking material or something suitable for cycling? My guess at the price is that it's 100% polyester.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

woppi wrote: »
    They just have small and medium sizes listed on the website, but they do look good. Are they made with a wicking material or something suitable for cycling? My guess at the price is that it's 100% polyester.

I have one, (which I wore under the race jersey on Sunday). It is indeed 100% polyester. I got mine in the O'Neill's outlet store on the Long Mile Road. I was there with a mate and there was some kind of deal like buy one get 50% off, so we got one each. Mine's a medium, I often have to 'go large' with cycling jersey's but this fits OK (being polyester probably helps).

Fear not my country friends other counties are also available.

Sunday was great, the rain holding off certainly helped, I've done about half a dozen sportifs in Ireland. This is only the second one where I haven't been soaked and shivering as I queued for a hot drink in the feed station. A lot more fun in the dry!

Fair play to the volunteers, organisers and Gardai.

Oh and my dream has come 50% true, as sometimes they do:

Dublin 200 if there was one?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭ted1

woppi wrote: »

For an extra fiver this might be more useful over the winter https://www.oneills.com/dublin-gaa-cycling-fleece-ls-jacket.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

ted1 wrote: »
    For an extra fiver this might be more useful over the winter https://www.oneills.com/dublin-gaa-cycling-fleece-ls-jacket.html

I'm nearly certain they are 48e in the O Neills Outlet on the Long Mile Road and Buy one get one Half price.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Oh and my dream has come 50% true, as sometimes they do:

Dublin 200 if there was one?

http://audaxireland.org...