Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught doing 136 km/hr on motorway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Cabaal wrote: »
    I never said anything about children, the issue here is speeding is against the law. You don't get to pick and choose what laws you think should apply to you.

Have I sped? , sure on occasion, but if I get caught I know I broke the law and have cop on enough to accept it and move on.

If you don't want to be caught then don't speed, it's seriously simple.

In terms of cost/benefit this sort of policing achieves very little in safety terms (IMO, as explained above), reduction of genuine crime (as opposed to arbitrary rule bending), or general "feel good" for the population.

It is a box ticking, revenue generating exercise. The only "defence" of it comes from the high horse or think of the children camps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Maybe it's time the randomly selected speed limits were revised instead of blindly following them because it's the law. If the same effort of enforcing speed limits went into other aspects of driving we would have very safe roads, instead people do loads of unsafe stuff but once they're going past the gosafe doing under 100 sure aren't they grand

Indeed, I much prefer a clampdown on phone/makeup than oh Lord jebus 136kmph on a dry motorway mother of mercy he'll kill us all ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Ollygolf

The money isn't a big deal it's the penalty points that rattle me. It's my first three but it shows you how quickly they can add up. And it's the insurance hike aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

marno21 wrote: »
    And of course when they have to be undertaken, that's not dangerous at all. Fools

ye.. exactly.. and thats one thing I dont do as if I see some loon out in the OT lane I can only assume that they are completely oblivious to the entire world around them and expect to be taken out on an undertake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

Cabaal wrote: »
    I never said anything about children, the issue here is speeding is against the law. You don't get to pick and choose what laws you think should apply to you.

Have I sped? , sure on occasion, but if I get caught I know I broke the law and have cop on enough to accept it and move on.

If you don't want to be caught then don't speed, it's seriously simple.

yes.. of course, but it would be better to see systems that provide better value to society in terms of harm reduction etc..

speeding is an easy win revenue generator that often serves little value in harm reduction*

*facts and figures pulled entirely from my own ar3e of course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

km991148 wrote: »
    yes.. of course, but it would be better to see systems that provide better value to society in terms of harm reduction etc..

speeding is an easy win revenue generator that often serves little value in harm reduction*

*facts and figures pulled entirely from my own ar3e of course..

Indeed, it's a revenue generator you can turn on and off by having "speed awareness weekends"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Stheno wrote: »
    In the m8 near fermoy you'll regularly see them out with the gun and no car in sight

shiiit....I'm probably off the road about 6 months ago in that case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I've said this multiple times round these parts and I'll say it again: if you're incapable or unwilling to do the speed limit on a motorway - especially in Ireland where all the old routes still exist and are maintained - you shouldn't be ON the motorway.

The speed limit may be a limit and not a target, but that does not in itself mean that doing significantly, or in the case of some people VERY significantly, less than it is safe. It's not. It caused people to become dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Merry Prankster

sdanseo wrote: »
    I've said this multiple times round these parts and I'll say it again: if you're incapable or unwilling to do the speed limit on a motorway - especially in Ireland where all the old routes still exist and are maintained - you shouldn't be ON the motorway.

Wouldn't be an issue if people stopped using overtaking lanes as driving lanes.

I'm still waiting for something to come in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Ollygolf wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for something to come in the post.

I know that feeling...

I may have gotten hit for ... ahem, fairly far above a 50. Which I wouldn't mind if I hadn't hit the brakes well before seeing the parked mondeo because... well, that was just stupid.

I thought it would be out within a week. Maybe it won't come. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

The limit on the downhill stretch heading northbound out of the M1 tolls should be increased to 200km/h. :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The limit on the downhill stretch heading northbound out of the M1 tolls should be increased to 200km/h. :pac:

After Drogheda?

I'm currently driving that route every day.

Fierce easy to put the foot down :D

Then the horrifying thought that there might be speed cams struck me after two days!

Seriously though the driving lane is hogged with people doing as little as 80 kph

That's the spot. Nah, there's never any cams along there, you'd see them from so far off which makes it a nice spot to give it a bit of welly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's the spot. Nah, there's never any cams along there, you'd see them from so far off which makes it a nice spot to give it a bit of welly.

Yeah I get this irrational urge to put the foot down and spend all my time in the overtaking lane from there to the services after Castlebellingham

Tis a grand stretch

The Gardaí know this too. Hence why I got done 5 years or so ago by Dunleer, same thing as mentioned above, speed gun facing down the off ramp, then they come after you from the other side down the on ramp.

142 I think I was doing at that split second, after having cruise control on all the way from south Dublin at 120, was raging.

The Gardaí know this too. Hence why I got done 5 years or so ago by Dunleer, same thing as mentioned above, speed gun facing down the off ramp, then they come after you from the other side down the on ramp.

142 I think I was doing at that split second, after having cruise control on all the way from south Dublin at 120, was raging.

142.............. hmmmmmm

I tend to have surpassed that by the first exit after the toll bridge :pac:

Think it's the time of day for me, its usually like seven/eight am I am up that way :0

Then there was the morning I woke up at twenty to seven and was due in Belfast by 8:45

That will remain unspoken of :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭James Delaney

I dont know if you drive a high powered car - If you do I suppose I can understand you doing 136.
    Then again, if you didn't realise the speed you were travelling at, you more than likely travel at similar speeds frequently.

Put it down to experience & be more aware of your speed. Unfortunately, you'll have a fine, penalty points & probably an increase on your Ins premium.
    I feel your genuinely remorseful & you will be much more aware of your speed in future - At least thats what happened to me 17 yrs ago.

Best of Luck & slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

So what's the best way of checking your actual speed over the speedometer. Is an app on an android smartphone accurate enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    So what's the best way of checking your actual speed over the speedometer. Is an app on an android smartphone accurate enough?

GPS.
    My GPS shows 114 when my speedo shows 120.
    76 when speedo shows 80.
    47 when speedo shows 50.
    The higher the speed the higher the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

snaps wrote: »
    GPS.
    My GPS shows 114 when my speedo shows 120.
    76 when speedo shows 80.
    47 when speedo shows 50.
    The higher the speed the higher the difference.
    yup, my speedo shows nearly 220 when "only" doing 200 on the GPS, which is a damn big difference wether you take it in kmh or a %

A 1.9TDI golf James so it is very comfortable and easy to cruise along. Ya I am extremely regretful but I've learnt my lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

MiskyBoyy wrote: »

Dutch Average Speed camera says my phone was spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

I downloaded the Speedview app on Android. Showed up in MPH and when I was doing what said 80mph on my speedo earlier, the app said 80mph too so must be spot on in my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Got done in the same place today, 139kph between Crusheen and Gort northbound. Annoying!

Also re the speedo thing, mine read 140 or 141, so must be fairly accurate!

Padkir wrote: »
    Got done in the same place today, 139kph between Crusheen and Gort northbound. Annoying!

Also re the speedo thing, mine read 140 or 141, so must be fairly accurate!

I still haven't recieved anything in the post! Did they step out in front of you aswell? Appartanty there always there too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

I still haven't recieved anything in the post! Did they step out in front of you aswell? Appartanty there always there too!

They were in the place where you pull in to park; kinda ran across that to the hard shoulder to wave me down but didn't actually step out in front of me.

Daft thing to do as I didn't realise it was a guard at first and could have easily slammed on the brakes thinking he was going to run out in front of me, with 2 cars coming behind (which were going the same speed as me but anyway...)

Got my present in the post today. €80 and 3 penalty points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Got my present in the post today. €80 and 3 penalty points.

I will always think that the fine + points system is ridiculous and it doesn't matter where it is implemented.

I know what you guys think - 12 points is more than enough, but is it really?

You do 56kph in a 50 zone, you get fined.
    Here, you can see the OP doing 136 (just barely above 10% over the limit) and he got another 3 points.

If the points cleared after a year, then yes, I'd agree, but with them resetting every 3 years and affecting your insurance, it's just plain stupid.

Penalty? Either pay a massive fine OR take the points, not both. That's double punishment.

But this is just my opinion.

High horse brigade, I await your arrival.

PS. I have my doubts about the accuracy of the devices used by the Gardai (the way they use them, calibration etc) as I've been caught doing 147 on a 100 (late for work) BUT I had my Cruise Control set just below 140 (135-138). I thought my speedo is off, but I have now confirmed with a GPS, that it's only 1kph off, even at that speed. If I was any wiser and not in such a hurry, I would doubt the readout. I was never actually shown the reading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Sobanek wrote: »

PS. I have my doubts about the accuracy of the devices used by the Gardai (the way they use them, calibration etc) as I've been caught doing 147 on a 100 (late for work) BUT I had my Cruise Control set just below 140 (135-138). I thought my speedo is off, but I have now confirmed with a GPS, that it's only 1kph off, even at that speed. If I was any wiser and not in such a hurry, I would doubt the readout. I was never actually shown the reading!

Under the law, you are not allowed challenge the use or results of the equipment used. IIRC there is an ongoing challenge to this as it is seen as unfair. Rather than making it absolute, there could be a rebuttable presumption approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Marcusm wrote: »
    Under the law, you are not allowed challenge the use or results of the equipment used. IIRC there is an ongoing challenge to this as it is seen as unfair. Rather than making it absolute, there could be a rebuttable presumption approach.

You can challenge away to your heart's content and produce any evidence you have to support your challenge and a judge will consider that evidence.
    It's just that there's no legal obligation on the Gardaí to prove the equipment was working correctly so there's no point in claiming a refusal by the Garda to show a calibration cert is evidence that the readings are dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

slimjimmc wrote: »
    You can challenge away to your heart's content and produce any evidence you have to support your challenge and a judge will consider that evidence.
    It's just that there's no legal obligation on the Gardaí to prove the equipment was working correctly so there's no point in claiming a refusal by the Garda to show a calibration cert is evidence that the readings are dodgy.

European Law requires all radar based devices to have a callibration/legalisation certificate or something like that. There was a huge issue with Russian radar guns in Poland, as they have not been approved for use in the EU. Obviously those here aren't that, but I think they take no pictures/videos either, which is somehow in breach of the EU rules etc etc. Must look into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Sobanek wrote: »
    European Law requires all radar based devices to have a callibration/legalisation certificate or something like that. There was a huge issue with Russian radar guns in Poland, as they have not been approved for use in the EU. Obviously those here aren't that, but I think they take no pictures/videos either, which is somehow in breach of the EU rules etc etc. Must look into that.

Irish Legislation, rightly or wrongly, overrules that at present. I don't agree with the current Irish legislation at all but you'd want very deep pockets to challenge it. I doubt any district judge is going to listen either as it would set a massive precedent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

ironclaw wrote: »
    Irish Legislation, rightly or wrongly, overrules that at present. I don't agree with the current Irish legislation at all but you'd want very deep pockets to challenge it. I doubt any district judge is going to listen either as it would set a massive precedent.

yes, but it's sometimes the only way to cure idiocy and laziness in public servant heads. besides, it would be for loosing party to cover costs as Irish courts is not where it stops. Remember, there is an EU court as well that stands higher than local. ;)

slimjimmc wrote: »

The legislation is much more widerangng than you think in that not only do they not need to provide a calibration certificate but actually removes the ability to seek proof that they type of camera used was one approved for use - the signing by a Garda renders the purported documentary proof as evidence. There is no onus on the Garda to satisfy himself as to the valididty of it.

I can see how a parliamentary draughtsman considered this to be possible but without underlying regs concerning the acceptance into service, ongoing maintenance and calibration or procedures for a Garda member to satisfy himself as to the evidence taken together with the outsourcing through go-Safe will likely render all of this susceptible to legal challenge - which I understand will eventually hit the High Court by means of judicial review or reference from the DC. Fair procedures are required and there is little evidence of them having been followed.

The hilariously incompetent aspect is for them not to have realised, through equivalent experiences in the UK, that the authorities have to be very careful in these areas.

ironclaw wrote: »

You are not familair with JUdge Durcan - see the attached report - this wasn't his first strike out but it was 98 in one go. He had raised the issue almost a year previously with little ongoing effort to remedy matters. It is capable of remediation but ostriches abound.

Marcusm wrote: »
    You are not familair with JUdge Durcan - see the attached report - this wasn't his first strike out but it was 98 in one go. He had raised the issue almost a year previously with little ongoing effort to remedy matters. It is capable of remediation but ostriches abound.

"Because ostriches abound" sounds like it could have genuinely been used in an irish court as an excuse for why something can't be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭tom_murphy112

This is killing me, so a quick question out of topic
    If I was caught speeding this evening (around 5ish) by a gosafe van, doing about 85ish in an 80 zone.
    Can I contact the RSA in the morning to confirm if I got any points or would it usually take them a while to update the system ?

Really appreciate the help.. I am getting very anxious about it. Since I already have few points on my license :(

If I was caught speeding this evening (around 5ish) by a gosafe van, doing about 85ish in an 80 zone.
    Can I contact the RSA in the morning to confirm if I got any points or would it usually take them a while to update the system ?

Really appreciate the help.. I am getting very anxious about it. Since I already have few points on my license :(

If you read this thread people suggest that your speed gauge may not be as accurate as you think so the likely hood is if the gauge says 85 km/hr then you were doing a little less so I'd imagine your okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Alas, that''s not how the points system works.

Your speed if over would be notified to the Gardaí in the fixed charge section in Thurles, who would issue a FCPN. You would then have anything up to 56 days to pay the fine, and only when you pay it are the points notified to the RSA for addition to your licence.

I'm expecting something myself as I was caught out a few days ago by a van in a place that can only be described as shooting fish in a barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You won't know till you get the fine.
    I think the points don't apply till they receive payment for the fine if I remember right.

Points system is ridiculous.

ok.. thanks for the reply.. I was around 85-87 kmh.. so I am hoping that I am good, but again would like to be certain

Thanks again!

So Guess what.. Looks like I wasn't speeding after all.. Went by the road again today and it shows as 100kmh.. The Speed camera was about 200 meters from where I merged on the road. And every one was doing about 80kmh, even people on the outside lane just before the speed camera. So I was most certain that I was speeding..
    Not sure why people reduce their speed drastically when they see a speed camera (to about 80 in this case on a 100 stretch of road, even on the outside lane!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Not sure why people reduce their speed drastically when they see a speed camera (to about 80 in this case on a 100 stretch of road, even on the outside lane!!!)

It seems to be a reaction to seeing the camera with respect to not being clued into what they are doing. Pity a camera can't pick that up.

That dumbassery pales into insignificance compared to the people who are afraid to overtake a GoSafe van in dual carriage way traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Are they just normal people or guards? I see gosafe vans breaking all kinds of driving rules all the time. Most annoyingly seeing them sitting in the overtaking lane speeding. Must be in a hurry to go save lives from people ..er... sitting in the overtaking lane speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

GoSafe operators are just civies, they're not Gardaí and therefore are subject to the same traffic laws as you and me when it comes to driving on the left, within speed limits, etc.

• Site Banned Posts: 39 yz450man

Today on the motorway a guard stepped out onto my lane and flagged me down! He said I was doing 136 km/hr in a 120 km zone! I was kinda shocked! He came outta nowhere! I've a clean drivers license and i was in shock when he pulled me over! There was no squad car or anything! Very unusual! He gave me no piece of paper and just said it would come in the post! What fine and penalty points am I looking at? Also when I went to produce my license at the Garda station,they needed my car reg! Is this the usual? Oh and do I need to ring my insurance company?

ye broke no law,did you harm anyone?no so therefor you shouldn't be getting extorted by these gangsters,just send their letters back with no contract no consent. there a bunch of scamming bastards who break the law everyday,an they have the neck to say you broke the "law". load of bull****.im in a certain situation where i got an invite to pay a "fixed penalty fine" by these gangsters in uniform,they didn't even get out of the car to issue me with the ticket.all i got was a letter in the door asking to pay 40euro. as far as im concerned that's only an invite,i don't have a contract with them,i didn't break the law by harming or killing anyone so i don't need to pay there extortion fee's.i sent back their letter with no contract no consent etc. they mention in the letter that under the road traffic act,well i don't think i should have to abide by acts or statutes,acts & statutes are only law if i or anyone else consents to them.so therefor i don't consent.they cant do **** about it. they will be like little spoiled children though throwing there toys out of the pram when they don't get there way,that's to be expected though when your dealing with our corrupt "peace officers" :)
    so,bottom line,know your rights and you will be free

• Site Banned Posts: 39 yz450man

Today on the motorway a guard stepped out onto my lane and flagged me down! He said I was doing 136 km/hr in a 120 km zone! I was kinda shocked! He came outta nowhere! I've a clean drivers license and i was in shock when he pulled me over! There was no squad car or anything! Very unusual! He gave me no piece of paper and just said it would come in the post! What fine and penalty points am I looking at? Also when I went to produce my license at the Garda station,they needed my car reg! Is this the usual? Oh and do I need to ring my insurance company?

ohh an by the way, its actually illegal for a cop to hide in a bush or in other words not be seen clearly to motorists when doing this illegal activity by speed traps,they have to be seen visibly and not trick people traveling in this way.