Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any recommendations for this build?

• 28-06-2015 1:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭

Well I'm looking at building a PC for gaming and the odd bit of video editing and have come up with this build from Dabs. Any feedback or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Asus Intel Gamer Bundle (Includes Z97-P, Intel Core i5-4690K and Corsair 8GB DDR3 Vengeance Pro) - €458.55

MSI GeForce GTX 960 2GB PCI-Express 3.0 Gaming - €237.05

Samsung Super-WriteMaster SH-224FB - DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM drive - Serial ATA - €16.92

Corsair 600W Builder Series CX Series CX 80+ Bronze ATX Power Supply - €71.09

WD 1TB Blue SATA 6GB/s 7200RPM 64MB 3.5" Hard Drive - €58.56

CoolerMaster CM Storm Devastator Keyboard & Mouse - €37.55

iiyama Prolite 24" 1920x1080 VGA DVI-D HDMI LED Monitor - Black - €172.27

Zalman Z11 Plus High Performance Mid Tower Case -€73.98

Also, was just wondering if I'd need a CPU cooler as the case already has five fans but have heard mixed reviews about how good the fans actually are. I also wouldn't have much interest in overclocking but that could change down the line.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Well I'm looking at building a PC for gaming and the odd bit of video editing and have come up with this build from Dabs. Any feedback or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Asus Intel Gamer Bundle (Includes Z97-P, Intel Core i5-4690K and Corsair 8GB DDR3 Vengeance Pro) - €458.55

MSI GeForce GTX 960 2GB PCI-Express 3.0 Gaming - €237.05

Samsung Super-WriteMaster SH-224FB - DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM drive - Serial ATA - €16.92

Corsair 600W Builder Series CX Series CX 80+ Bronze ATX Power Supply - €71.09

WD 1TB Blue SATA 6GB/s 7200RPM 64MB 3.5" Hard Drive - €58.56

CoolerMaster CM Storm Devastator Keyboard & Mouse - €37.55

iiyama Prolite 24" 1920x1080 VGA DVI-D HDMI LED Monitor - Black - €172.27

Zalman Z11 Plus High Performance Mid Tower Case -€73.98

Also, was just wondering if I'd need a CPU cooler as the case already has five fans but have heard mixed reviews about how good the fans actually are. I also wouldn't have much interest in overclocking but that could change down the line.

Better joy over on pc building board.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=842

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭LovelySpuds

Dcully wrote:
    Better joy over on pc building board.

Feck, completely forgot about that board. Thanks!

Asus Intel Gamer Bundle (Includes Z97-P, Intel Core i5-4690K and Corsair 8GB DDR3 Vengeance Pro) - E458.55

MSI GeForce GTX 960 2GB PCI-Express 3.0 Gaming - E237.05

Samsung Super-WriteMaster SH-224FB - DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM drive - Serial ATA - E16.92

Corsair 600W Builder Series CX Series CX 80+ Bronze ATX Power Supply - E71.09

WD 1TB Blue SATA 6GB/s 7200RPM 64MB 3.5" Hard Drive - E58.56

CoolerMaster CM Storm Devastator Keyboard & Mouse - E37.55

iiyama Prolite 24" 1920x1080 VGA DVI-D HDMI LED Monitor - Black - E172.27

Zalman Z11 Plus High Performance Mid Tower Case -E73.98

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

Just at a glance I reckon there is savings of over €150 to be had by ordering from hardwareversand. Also no SSD is criminal. Not sure about the monitor so can't really say anything on that front.
    Its a solid enough build all the same.
    I suppose I'm just looking at it from a savings point of view and with my budget hat on I would be questioning the following:
    Ram, could save a few bob here.
    CPU, if not thinking of over clocking why pay a premium? Dropping to a i5 4460 could save ~40/50.
    If you weren't over clocking you could make savings on the mobo also.
    Do you need 600watt PSU? No harm having some extra I suppose.
    Standard Intel fan that comes with the CPU is "fine" but definitely not recommended for over clocking.
    Any reason your looking to buy from dabs as they are not theost competitive on price?

Just a few initial thoughts for you to mull over.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Vade

Never been a fan of the Zalman cases but I remember looking into this one in particular a while back and one thing really bothered me. The front USB 3.0 aren't connected to a USB 3.0 header meaning you'll need to loop the cables out and into the USB 3.0 sockets on the back of your MOBO or buy an adapter like this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Header-Ports-Adapter-Connector-Converter/dp/B005IVLK3W

Not exactly the end of the world, it just really annoyed me. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Bit unbalanced. Can get i5 4460, 8gb RAM and motherboard for €320 or less, no difference gaming.

Can get a 380x, 290x or a 970 in there with budgeting and an SSD.

Do you want to give a final budget and I'll see about a different build. Happy enough to order from hardwareversand?

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

Total:
    822,28 €
    Intel Core i5-4460 in-a-Box
    175,83 €

8GB-Kit Crucial Ballistix Sport Series DDR3-1600
    49,61 €

Crucial SSD 250GB BX100
    84,89 €

WD Blue 1TB 6Gb's
    49,81 €

Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC (New Edition), 4GB GDDR5, 2x DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort, lite retail
    ready for dispatch
    288,71 €

be quiet! PURE POWER L8 500W
    ready for dispatch
    60,77 €

ASRock B85M Pro4, Sockel 1150, mATX
    ready for dispatch
    63,94 €

Cooler Master Silencio 352 Matt, ohne Netzteil
    ready for dispatch
    48,72 €

Sorry, I'm on my phone so its not laying out the info too well but just to give an idea of a build I've been looking at myself.

Thanks everyone for ye're suggestions. Have made a new list using hardwareverstand and have taken on suggestions. Let me know what ye think of this.

Total:
    1.120,51 €

Intel Core i5-4460 in-a-Box
    183,99 €

8GB-Kit Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 MHz CL9
    53,99 €

Crucial SSD 250GB BX100
    89,99 €

Seagate Barracuda 7200 1000GB, SATA 6Gb/s
    52,99 €

MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB GDDR5
    250,99 €

be quiet! Pure Power L8 CM 630 Watt

86,99 €

CM Storm Enforcer - black, ohne Netzteil
    81,99 €

ASUS Z97-P, Sockel 1150, ATX
    100,99 €

Sale: BenQ GL2450HM
    130,62 €

CM Storm Octane
    41,99 €

Samsung SH-224DB schwarz
    13,99 €

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

If I were you, I'd go for a nvidia Tiitan X or gforce 980 4g-6gb card. If it's a gaming PC, it would do you for a long time to come. Just making sure to use heavier cooling.

You only need a 500w PSU, BeQuiet System Power L8 or something can save €25
    Get an R9 280X, 290 or 390, all better cards than the 960, similarly priced.
    Drop motherboard to a B85, H87 or H97 to save upwards of €20
    Case is grand, can't say looks appeal to me though.
    Need in a CD drive?

Finally, run all the parts through geizhals.de to knock another bit of money off. If you save a decent hack, hit up amazon and get a mechanical keyboard. Don't buy keyboard from hwvs unless you're sure it's got UK layout.

Mainly money saving suggestions aside from GPU so you can choose to ignore if you wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Ant695

Vade wrote: »
    Never been a fan of the Zalman cases but I remember looking into this one in particular a while back and one thing really bothered me. The front USB 3.0 aren't connected to a USB 3.0 header meaning you'll need to loop the cables out and into the USB 3.0 sockets on the back of your MOBO or buy an adapter like this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Header-Ports-Adapter-Connector-Converter/dp/B005IVLK3W

Not exactly the end of the world, it just really annoyed me. :P

They fixed that and added an internal header. I was considering this case for my build at one point and at some point they updated it to address the flaw.

You only need a 500w PSU, BeQuiet System Power L8 or something can save €25
    Get an R9 280X, 290 or 390, all better cards than the 960, similarly priced.
    Drop motherboard to a B85, H87 or H97 to save upwards of €20
    Case is grand, can't say looks appeal to me though.
    Need in a CD drive?

Finally, run all the parts through geizhals.de to knock another bit of money off. If you save a decent hack, hit up amazon and get a mechanical keyboard. Don't buy keyboard from hwvs unless you're sure it's got UK layout.

Mainly money saving suggestions aside from GPU so you can choose to ignore if you wish.
    Yeah decided to go for the R9 280x after looking up reviews on it compared to the 960.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

RopeDrink wrote: »
    Moved it for you - good luck with the new machine ;)

Its now a dupe thread though. Lock time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

If I were you, I'd go for a nvidia Tiitan X or gforce 980 4g-6gb card. If it's a gaming PC, his ars would do you or long time to come. Just making sure to use heavier cooling.

He does not need a Titan X or a 980 for 1080p gaming but he should go for a AMD R9 200 series card to keep costs down.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

Twinned threads merged :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

He does not need a Titan X or a 980 for 1080p gaming but he should go for a AMD R9 200 series card to keep costs down.

I'd go for the 980 over a AMD R2, but if it costs are an issue, he can, but the 980 would do you for gaming for years

980 is way OP for 1080p

A €250 card now and a €250 card in 3 years will cost less and last longer. Performance at the end of the first three years will be suffering obviously but small incremental upgrades are definitely worth more to me.

Look at the Titan X, upgrading a €300 card every 2 years will get better performance after 6 or 8 years at a lower or similar cost, and the difference will likely be unnoticeable during the 2 year spells

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I'd go for the 980 over a AMD R2, but if it costs are an issue, he can, but the 980 would do you for gaming for years

For someone who picked a 960 they are obviously thinking of costs. A 980 is a better card but as I said in my post he should pick a R9 200 series card to keep costs down and get better bang for buck than the 960. And he is only gaming a 1080p if it was 1440p or higher then he would have to up the price of the card to get good performance.