Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands best sporting moments, proud/funny etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Ireland beating England in the cricket World Cup.

Soccer means more to me. But think that was the time where an Irish side so wildy punched out if its weight and overcame all the odds that it shocked the sporting world.

The scale of the Ireland comeback in that game cannot be understated. England had Ireland on the ropes in a big way. The football equivalent would be like that Spain Ireland game in the 2012 Euros where we had conceded a bunch of goals and looked finished. Imagine if someone popped up and scored 4, and a fifth was added all inside the last 10 minutes to win the match. That's how big a comeback that one was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Michelle De Bruin Cleaning up at the Olympics

It's a shame what the Media did to discredit her subsequently but she still has her medals and it was still an amazing result for an athlete from Ireland all the same.

You do know she cheated her way through the Olympics don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

ComfortKid wrote: »
    Created by an Irish man, for the Irish people who moved to Scotland to escape the famine. Are the millions of celtic supporters around the world wrong as well? The fact ye are pulling me for saying green white and gold shows ye just want to disagree with anything I say. I suppose non of ye support an English club either. I'm out. Bye.

I do, I support Liverpool, nothing wrong with supporting any club in the world in my opinion, no matter where you're from. I would just never call Liverpool, or any other English or Scottish team an Irish club when they quite clearly are not!

check_six wrote: »
    The scale of the Ireland comeback in that game cannot be understated. England had Ireland on the ropes in a big way. The football equivalent would be like that Spain Ireland game in the 2012 Euros where we had conceded a bunch of goals and looked finished. Imagine if someone popped up and scored 4, and a fifth was added all inside the last 10 minutes to win the match. That's how big a comeback that one was!

Yeah, it was over after the English innings, definitely over after their first ball, and definitely definitely over when we were at 111/5.

I think the Irish cricket team gave us so much to be proud of, a marginal sport but the players play without fear and give their all, causing a fair few shocks in recent years, there is no tip the hat mentality or pride in losses that are "moral victories". On the other hand, when they do win, they seem to be able to enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ireland as a small island has produced a great run of Major golf winners in the past 8 years. Padraig Harrington, 2 Opens 1 US PGA, Mcilroy 2 PGAs 1 Open 1 US Open. Graeme McDowell US Open, Darren Clarke British Open.

Previous to 2007 you'd have to go back to Fred Daly in 1947 to find an Irish Major winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Katie Taylor, London 2012. I hate the overuse of the word "legend", but I genuinely think she is one, or certainly will be remembered as such in years to come.

And I say that as someone with very little interest in boxing- but I greatly admire how hard she works at her sport, her commitment, dedication and focus, but remaining very grounded at the same time. It's what you'd want from any athlete, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Yeah, it was over after the English innings, definitely over after their first ball, and definitely definitely over when we were at 111/5.

I think the Irish cricket team gave us so much to be proud of, a marginal sport but the players play without fear and give their all, causing a fair few shocks in recent years, there is no tip the hat mentality or pride in losses that are "moral victories". On the other hand, when they do win, they seem to be able to enjoy it.

Anyone who thinks cricket is boring should definitely watch Ireland play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

I think the whole are Celtic Scottish /Irish is a touchy subject and there is valid points on both sides
    My own view for what its worth is that there is an Irish flag flying above Celtic Park which the club refused to take down in the 1950s when they were asked to do so,the club itself was founded by an Irishman to feed Irish people who were shunned by the locals in Scotland,the first sod of turf in Celtic Park was laid by an Irish Politician Michael Davitt I think maybe mistaken.The club and its supporters in Scotland have always been very proud to have a huge Irish connection and whenever I have been in the pubs around the ground they make a huge fuss over Irish visitors and really make you feel welcome and proud to be Irish.
    An Irish club based in a British city is how I would view it.

Sorry for the totally off topic reply.

We are lucky we have many great moments across all sports and many more to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,248 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Created by an Irish man, for the Irish people who moved to Scotland to escape the famine. Are the millions of celtic supporters around the world wrong as well? The fact ye are pulling me for saying green white and gold shows ye just want to disagree with anything I say. I suppose non of ye support an English club either. I'm out. Bye.

I support liverpool but i wouldnt say oh i was proud to be irish the day liverpool won blah blah blah, then again there is probably more irish people in liverpool or even manchester then glasgow,and both have alot of irish fans in ireland and around the world so does that mean they are irish teams too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

shamrock55 wrote:
    I support liverpool but i wouldnt say oh i was proud to be irish the day liverpool won blah blah blah, then again there is probably more irish people in liverpool or even manchester then glasgow,and both have alot of irish fans in ireland and around the world so does that mean they are irish teams too

Now you're just being silly!! The only connection between Ireland and Liverpool or United is that a lot of Irish people support them. Theres no other link. Read the post above this to see why we think Celtic is Irish! It's not just because alot of Irish support them.

howyanow wrote:
    I think the whole are Celtic Scottish /Irish is a touchy subject and there is valid points on both sides My own view for what its worth is that there is an Irish flag flying above Celtic Park which the club refused to take down in the 1950s when they were asked to do so,the club itself was founded by an Irishman to feed Irish people who were shunned by the locals in Scotland,the first sod of turf in Celtic Park was laid by an Irish Politician Michael Davitt I think maybe mistaken.The club and its supporters in Scotland have always been very proud to have a huge Irish connection and whenever I have been in the pubs around the ground they make a huge fuss over Irish visitors and really make you feel welcome and proud to be Irish. An Irish club based in a British city is how I would view it.

Finally. Spot on.

Now you're just being silly!! The only connection between Ireland and Liverpool or United is that a lot of Irish people support them. Theres no other link. Read the post above this to see why we think Celtic is Irish! It's not just because alot of Irish support them.

Years ago Liverpool had strong connections with the Orange Order, which I guess is a strong link to this island anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

So are Hibernian an Irish club too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Why does almost every irish soccer fan support celtic in some form or another, why do they play in green white and gold?

I am a Fulham fan and I travel to most of our games, home and away and I have a very good idea about the volume of support that various clubs have. Liverpool, Man United, Chelsea, Arsenal & Leeds would bring more fans to games from here than Celtic. How often do Celtic sell out these days? They badly need Rangers back in the top flight.
    Go to an Ireland match and there is more celtic jerseys and flags than there is Irish ones.

That may explain why the FAI is having so much trouble selling tickets for games these days. Even with a healthy volume of Poles and Scots in the home stands for their respective games, they couldn't fill Lansdowne road. If the support and team was connected to the RoI, as opposed to Celtic FC people might go to games.

Berserker wrote:
    I am a Fulham fan and I travel to most of our games, home and away and I have a very good idea about the volume of support that various clubs have. Liverpool, Man United, Chelsea, Arsenal & Leeds would bring more fans to games from here than Celtic. How often do Celtic sell out these days? They badly need Rangers back in the top flight.

What has this got to do with what I'm trying to say? I know the Big English clubs have more Irish in attendance than Celtic do. Celtic not filling the ground has absolutely zero relevance? Im not sayin celtic are Irish because they have Irish fans. Read my posts to see why I think that theyre an Irish club for Irish people who were based in Scotland.

And off topic, Rangers back in the top flight doesn't mean a thing,only that there will be a few big games. They still wont sell out against the likes of Calley thistle ect. Again this has nothing to do with anything on this thread so I dont know why you would bring it up.

Berserker wrote:
    That may explain why the FAI is having so much trouble selling tickets for games these days. Even with a healthy volume of Poles and Scots in the home stands for their respective games, they couldn't fill Lansdowne road. If the support and team was connected to the RoI, as opposed to Celtic FC people might go to games.

Ridiculous. The stadium isn't being filled because people are wearing celtic jerseys? I think you'll find its because of ticket prices mostly.

Berserker wrote:

Reading this again, there is no way you were being serious. You got the bite, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

**** Celtic, I wish they'd go bankrupt like Rangers and then we'd see a lot less nonsense surrounding them in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

The successes of Roche and Kelly have to be up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Ridiculous. The stadium isn't being filled because people are wearing celtic jerseys? I think you'll find its because of ticket prices mostly.

I agree the ticket prices are too high, but surely it's cheaper than getting a boat or a plane over to watch a Scottish team play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

I think you'll find its because of ticket prices mostly.

As another poster said, it costs less to go to an Ireland home game than it does to go to any match in England or Scotland. Secondly, ticket prices for rugby and the big GAA games (all-Ireland) are on a par with tickets prices for RoI qualifiers. The GAA and rugby games sell out in a flash.

fullstop wrote:
    I agree the ticket prices are too high, but surely it's cheaper than getting a boat or a plane over to watch a Scottish team play?

Yeah, of course it'd be cheaper than going to Glasgow. What are you getting at?

Berserker wrote:
    As another poster said, it costs less to go to an Ireland home game than it does to go to any match in England or Scotland. Secondly, ticket prices for rugby and the big GAA games (all-Ireland) are on a par with tickets prices for RoI qualifiers. The GAA and rugby games sell out in a flash.

Maybe people just don't have an interest in International football then?And can't justify paying big money to do it. What has this got to do with my claims that celtic is an irish club based in Scotland?

How much is it to see an Ireland match in the Aviva just out of interest? I can get a return flight to Glasgow for 25 and match ticket for 20. Not that this has anything to do with my argument, just out of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

100% serious. Go over to a game, interact with the Scottish fans over theyre. Go on a stadium tour, if the club itself says it's Irish then of course they are

Hibs are more of an Irish team than Celtic.

Not into commercial sport and its corruption (Hi Fifa) and I'm not unsure of my Irishness enough to seek outside recognition for Irish "greatness" (Hi drug use in cycling, swimming, athletics...) but at any rate for me there is no competition to the following ones which are still the most memorable sporting summers for me:

The four Meath v. Dublin football matches in the summer of 1991, the first three of which were draws in the last seconds. What a summer! Kevin Foley, Colm O Rourke, Charlie Redmond. Brilliant sport. The behaviour of hundreds of thousands of Dublin and Meath fans who filled up Croker each week did more honour for Irish sport than anything else. It was very moving to see the goodwill and banter between so many people all in a spirit of "we're all Irish here lads".

The rise of Clare, Wexford and Limerick in the late 1990s - all of whom won all-Ireland hurling finals. The march of Clare from nowhere replete with great songs and larger than life figures - Ger Loughnane, Jamesie O'Connor and Davy Fitz - brought the summers alive. It was the time of the underdog - no Kilkenny, Cork or Tipp. It gave all us underdogs hope!

Yeah, of course it'd be cheaper than going to Glasgow. What are you getting at?

I was following on from Berserker's point about people trekking over the water instead of supporting the national team, or better still, the domestic league.

razorblunt wrote:
    Hibs are more of an Irish team than Celtic.

Maybe they are? I never said they weren't, I know nothing about the history of Hibs only that they had Irish/Catholic connections. Can you explain to me how they are MORE Irish?

Explain? I thought we were just throwing out silly comments like "almost every Irish football supporter likes Celtic".

fullstop wrote:
    I was following on from Berserker's point about people trekking over the water instead of supporting the national team, or better still, the domestic league.

You quoted my post not his. Why does it bother you where I travel to watch football? I also watch my local junior team nearly every week so I do support a domestic team!

Katie Taylor has to be up there alright, to be so dominant over so many tournaments is incredible.

I can't agree with the Ireland-NZ close call. I don't think any top tier rugby team would have lost to them with such a half time lead especially if they were at home.

The 2002 World Cup performance against Spain was incredible too, penalties aside.

razorblunt wrote:
    Explain? I thought we were just throwing out silly comments like "almost every Irish football supporter likes Celtic".

What are you on about. You said hibs are more irish than celtic, I asked how? What makes them more Irish? They have a very similar history to Celtic, founded by the Irish for the Irish in Scotland.

You quoted my post not his. Why does it bother you where I travel to watch football? I also watch my local junior team nearly every week so I do support a domestic team!

I quoted you to say I agreed with the first part you posted. Did you conveniently not read that bit? Didn't realise I had to ask permission to reply to you.
    Anyway, I thought you were done with this thread a while back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Meangadh wrote: »
    Katie Taylor, London 2012. I hate the overuse of the word "legend", but I genuinely think she is one, or certainly will be remembered as such in years to come.

And I say that as someone with very little interest in boxing- but I greatly admire how hard she works at her sport, her commitment, dedication and focus, but remaining very grounded at the same time. It's what you'd want from any athlete, I think.

What the hell is it with this word 'Legend'? A legend is a story, not a person.

(And there is very little to admire in women's boxing. If it wasn't for the fact that Ireland has a world class competitor, very very few Irish people would be remotely interested in the sport. Personally I think its an abomination)

fullstop wrote:
    I quoted you to say I agreed with the first part you posted. Did you conveniently not read that bit? Didn't realise I had to ask permission to reply to you. Anyway, I thought you were done with this thread a while back...

Yeah I saw that part. Look most people dont choose a team to support, I was brought up a celtic fan, going there since before I can remember. I have zero interest in International football. Why should I go to one, or a loi game when I have no interest. I enjoy Glasgow as a city and the nightlife after the games. You can't get that experience in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Yeah I saw that part. Look most people dont choose a team to support, I was brought up a celtic fan, going there since before I can remember. I have zero interest in International football. Why should I go to one, or a loi game when I have no interest. I enjoy Glasgow as a city and the nightlife after the games. You can't get that experience in Ireland.

Can't experience Glasgow In Ireland alright

wp_rathead wrote:
    Can't experience Glasgow In Ireland alright

You can't experience anything like the Glasgow nightlife in Ireland smart bum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

When Diana won the Eurovision back in 1970, it had the whole country in uproar as it was the only thing we won at the time. :-) it was kinda sporty...

realies wrote: »
    When Diana won the Eurovision back in 1970, it had the whole country in uproar as it was the only thing we won at the time. :-) it was kinda sporty...

When she went on to marry Prince Charles the Ra were raging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

The mighty Dunne picking himself up off the floor, twice, to win a World Title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

You obviously haven't a clue about the club if that's what you think. Who founded celtic and why? Why does almost every irish soccer fan support celtic in some form or another,

Absolute nonsense. if only.

why do they play in green white and gold?
    They dont
    Go to an Ireland match and there is more celtic jerseys and flags than there is Irish ones..
    More utter nonsense and lies

Celtic is an Irish club playing in Scotland, go to one of they're games and try tell me they're Scottish.

It's ok to support the Ireland national team though, thats made up mostly of English rejects that would be playing for England if they were good enough?

You're at it. There were just two English born players on the starting team V Scotland and Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The rise of Clare, Wexford and Limerick in the late 1990s - all of whom won all-Ireland hurling finals. The march of Clare from nowhere replete with great songs and larger than life figures - Ger Loughnane, Jamesie O'Connor and Davy Fitz - brought the summers alive. It was the time of the underdog - no Kilkenny, Cork or Tipp. It gave all us underdogs hope!
    [/QUOTE]

Limerick didn't quite get there in the 90s, they were beaten by Offaly and Wexford in the two finals they reached. They had some memorable Munster final wins though such as coming back from ten points down at halftime to beat Tipp in 96.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

You do know she cheated her way through the Olympics don't you?

No she didn't .

She was never accused, let alone found to have cheated in competition.

Perhaps you should check facts before posting rubbish.

Yet you wrongly claim that there would be more cletic flags/jerseys than Irish ones at an Ireland game. How would you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,248 ✭✭✭shamrock55

If celtic are playing in european compatition what nations flag are they playing under?

shamrock55 wrote: »
    If celtic are playing in european compatition what nations flag are they playing under?

He must be at it, only a tiny tiny minority of Celtic fans would spout the bull**** that he is and im speaking as an Irish celtic fan.

Yet you wrongly claim that there would be more cletic flags/jerseys than Irish ones at an Ireland game. How would you know?

Unfortunately they do show games on television and my friends family watch it. I wouldn't turn it on if I was at home. I actually watch the other qualifiers that are on at the same time. The irish team has been pure depressing since mick McCarty left.

They dont

All my celtic jerseys must be duds so? Every away kit has green white and gold on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭weadick

Pighead wrote: »
    Dundalk FC winning the airtricity league title last year after 19 years of hurt. Was great to see the whole country get behind our little town as we fended off mighty Cork. Sometimes living up here on the border you get detached from how the rest of Ireland feel about your people but that glorious night in October proved how much we are loved all around the country.

Haha are you for real? I think the rest of the country took pity on ye to be honest.