Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you relate to the lifestyle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

jimgoose wrote: »
    Some Ultan Shirt manager-type who tries to persuade me otherwise is in for a less-than-pleasant afternoon. :D

I must admit, your bad-ass attitude is turning me on. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

jimgoose wrote: »
    Various retailers have a habit of doing this, that is expiring vouchers after some period of time. My view on this is that I bought the thing, with money that had to be found somewhere, it's the same as a bank-draft and it's mine. Some Ultan Shirt manager-type who tries to persuade me otherwise is in for a less-than-pleasant afternoon. :D

If I have any problems, I'm calling you in.

catallus wrote: »
    Do they not expire after six months or so?

How is that even legal? Shouldn't be. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh that'd be me alright, Bad-Arse to the myeloid tissue. I'm like a cross between a Hell's Angel and a slightly dotty physics professor. :cool:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Candie wrote: »
    How is that even legal? Shouldn't be. :(

I believe they are bringing in legislation so that it won't be legal for gift cards to expire, don't think its active yet though.

Edit: http://www.irishtimes.com/news/consumer/expiry-dates-on-gift-vouchers-to-be-scrapped-under-new-law-1.2224504

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Mise freisin.

I believe they are bringing in legislation so that it won't be legal for gift cards to expire, don't think its active yet though.

Good. It's crazy to be able to keep peoples money and not fulfill your half of the bargain.

My young cousin got a lot of HMV gift cards a few years ago, bought only days before they closed. They didn't have to honour them. That's wrong on a few levels. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

No matter how fancy pants an item is that you buy, the novelty wears off eventually and so there's this ongoing cycle of having to keep buying to keep happy.

I find that once you have the basics covered and a bit of extra cash for the odd holiday or dinner night out etc, if you can find a project to be passionate about, thats a big thing.

Projects like:

- Training for your 1st triathlon.
    - Learning a musical instrument.
    - Gym'ing it to loose weight
    - Fixing up a classic car
    - Plan to travel around South America
    - Setting up a mini company etc etc

Look at folks like Ron Dennis or Richard Branson. Brimmed with cash but not retired. They keep working on projects they are passionate about. Find a project you enjoy and it will be far more rewarding that 1000 euro curtains or a 2 grand watch.

Good. It's crazy to be able to keep peoples money and not fulfill your half of the bargain.

My young cousin got a lot of HMV gift cards a few years ago, bought only days before they closed. They didn't have to honour them. That's wrong on a few levels. :(

Blatant robbery really. You spend money and get nothing in return for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Not sure why it has to be BT though, rather than the Internet.

It doesn't have to be BT, but they are one of the few bricks and mortar stores in Ireland selling higher end men's clothing brands. Of course online offers a much better choice.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    That's not really what the tone of the article was about buying well made clothes is a good idea you will have them for years and you will be the type to look after them. The whole tone of the article was aspirational life style that the bit I cant relate to at all.

I suppose different people see different things as aspirational. I don't see stores like BT or Harvey Nichols as aspirational, I just see them as places to shop because I don't want to buy the stuff in Penney's and Topman etc.

I'm not someone that's into social climbing or conspicuous consumption though. It's the social climbers that buy labels rather than clothing and care where Kim and Kanye are going on holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭FactCheck

I just had a look at the article and I didn't really take away what you did.

I don't think it was an interview about her opinions on happiness or materialism. It was primarily about how she got her job, how much work it is, and what it's like day to day. I found it fairly interesting (but I have a weird fascination with logistics). I liked that she didn't bull**** about how simple it is. A position like this means long hours, lots of pressure, and only seeing your family properly at weekends (and sometimes you're lucky to get that).

I also didn't really think the brands she was wearing were that outre. I mean fine if you've never heard of Hermes or Balenciaga, no judgement, who cares, but they aren't exactly obscure?

As another poster pointed out, clothes made in fashion houses in Europe/the West are fundamentally a very different thing to the mass-produced high street stuff made in developing world factories. That's not a judgement on either, it's not more virtuous to wear either one, they're just different.

Everybody has an interest they'll spend time or energy on that others don't understand. Watches, cars, following a sports team abroad, cutting edge technology - if you have the money and it makes you happy, go for it says I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I prefer to spend my money on experiences rather than items. Gigs, footballs matches, holidays etc are things I'll remember for the rest of my life and the people I experienced them with.

+1. I'm doing more of this lately. Far more satisfying than buying yet more stuff I don't need and plenty of things to talk about afterwards. :)

I read the article too. She seems to be a pragmatic and down to earth kind of a person.

Each to their own though, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I was in Dealz this morning and Dunnes.....a million miles away from the Brown Thomas lifestyle!

I've never even been in BT, not even to pop in and watch the security guard follow me round for half an hour :D

kfallon wrote: »
    I was in Dealz this morning and Dunnes.....a million miles away from the Brown Thomas lifestyle!

I've never even been in BT, not even to pop in and watch the security guard follow me round for half an hour :D

I go there for my make up which I buy about once a year.

I'd spend most of money on experiences as well, rather than clothes and sh*zzle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Now I know how a city person feels when I make a thread about turf.

The Louboutins wouldn't last an hour in the bog!! :D

I must be turning in to a curmudgeon as I grow older I will have to stop myself before I become really cranky.

I use to love the weekend papers now they seem full or dross or else I am totally our of touch.

Aglomerado wrote: »

Ah yeah, the bog air is great for them yokes. I have to pay a fortune for oul' ointment. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Aglomerado wrote: »

The midges would run them..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Pretty much the only paper I buy now is the Irishtimes on Saturday so flicking through the magazine I started reading an article about the luxury good buyer for Brown Thomas she is dressed head to tow in the luxury brands they sell, none of whom I have ever heard of except for the iPhone. The whole tone of the article was having nice things is an amazing life style something to aspire to, surrounding your self in luxury.

I cant relate at all. Do lot of people think having such things is the be all and end all, the rout to all happiness is to have expensive stuff.

I pity such people, and I make good money, so it's not sour grapes. I'm just not materialistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Since the backwards chap turned up the ads on the bottom went from men's clothing to sheep dip.
    :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I use to love the weekend papers now they seem full or dross or else I am totally our of touch.

That's why I can't read the Sunday Indo, makes me want to break things.

It's just the same handful of "journos" writing about the self-appointed "Irish celebrity set" every week.

E.g. Barry Egan writing about how life is so great for Gerald Kean appears about once a month.

Since the backwards chap turned up the ads on the bottom went from men's clothing to sheep dip.
    :-(

That's not sheep dip. That's the latest fragrance to hit the cosmetics counter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I still wear cords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ruu wrote: »
    I still wear cords.

You NEVER wear cords. They wear you.

Saipanne wrote: »
    I pity such people, and I make good money, so it's not sour grapes. I'm just not materialistic.

Did you read the article? Why would you pity her? She seems nice, she's successful at her job - what's to pity?

I bet if you were to write out everything you've spent disposable income on in the last year, you'd find someone on AH thinking you were wasteful, foolish or materialistic. But presumably you're happy with your own interests, hobbies, and indulgences so who cares?

I'll be driving my ancient Volvo until it falls apart around me, but I don't look down on people who change cars every year because they obviously love cars and if it makes them happy, who I am to sneer at them for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I still wear cords.

My granny bought me a pair of cords one summer when they were in fashion. Wore them first day of school, everyone else was in jeans and laughed at me. :(

Valuable lesson about the volatile trends of the clothing industry for a six year old to learn.

I still wear cords.

So do I! :D

My granny bought me a pair of cords one summer when they were in fashion. Wore them first day of school, everyone else was in jeans and laughed at me. :(

Valuable lesson about the volatile trends of the clothing industry for a six year old to learn.

Jammy so and so. You had NEW ones. I had a mustard-coloured hand me down pair from one of my cousins. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭bolopapa

Music switches my moods and makes me happy when am sad, but expensive sh1te only makes my fiance ans friend happy.
    I just dont see the point, if you sad download videos and music.

FactCheck wrote: »
    Did you read the article? Why would you pity her? She seems nice, she's successful at her job - what's to pity?

I bet if you were to write out everything you've spent disposable income on in the last year, you'd find someone on AH thinking you were wasteful, foolish or materialistic. But presumably you're happy with your own interests, hobbies, and indulgences so who cares?

I'll be driving my ancient Volvo until it falls apart around me, but I don't look down on people who change cars every year because they obviously love cars and if it makes them happy, who I am to sneer at them for it?

People obsessed with image and things. I pity them.

But does buying an expensive skirt, or handbag, or car, make you "obsessed with things". Where's the line? I could buy a skirt for €5 in Penney's. Am I obsessed with image and things if I buy a different skirt in Gap for €50? Or Brown Thomas for €500? At what point do I cross the line and become pitiable?

I know it a PR fluff piece and in and of its self its harmless, the woman is only doing her job, however it is a part of a continuum that promotes very subtly certain brands as a lifestyle choice and subtly links brands to life style. The article was not going to out right say buy these brands it does not work like that.

But does buying an expensive skirt, or handbag, or car, make you "obsessed with things". Where's the line? I could buy a skirt for €5 in Penney's. Am I obsessed with image and things if I buy a different skirt in Gap for €50? Or Brown Thomas for €500? At what point do I cross the line and become pitiable?

When your life revolves around it. Ergo, obsession.

It's fine to want to own nice things, as long as the nice things don't end up owning you. Its fine to want to look good, as long as there's more to you than looks.

I don't pity people who acquire for the sake of acquiring, I just don't understand them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Yes but is their really that large a population of the very wealthy in Ireland is my point.

I worked in Brown Thomas head office for a stint, it doesn't just rely on the very wealthy. As long as the average Joe or Jane aspires to been seen with premium labels/brands then they'll make up a very large % of the customer base.

It's fine to want to own nice things, as long as the nice things don't end up owning you. Its fine to want to look good, as long as there's more to you than looks.

I don't pity people who acquire for the sake of acquiring, I just don't understand them.

It often extends to a superiority complex, for them. They are obsessed with objects. They have the best objects. Therefore they are better than the plebs.

There's a deep psychological issue at play, under it all, I think. Hence the pity.

Good quality well made clothes and shoes as an investment is vastly different from buying a heavily marketed brands, those sort of well made clothes are often brands that are have very loyal customers and are not heavily marketed, they don't need too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

At a level just above my limit of expenditure.

It often extends to a superiority complex, for them. They are obsessed with objects. They have the best objects. Therefore they are better than the plebs.

There's a deep psychological issue at play, under it all, I think. Hence the pity.

At what point does liking nice things become being obsessed with nice things, and who decides where the line is?

What you're describing isn't a superiority complex, its an inferiority complex, as they feel they're only as valuable as the things they own, rather than having their self esteem come from within.

Yeah, that's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,776 ✭✭✭✭fits

Theres a lot to be said for having a few nice things, rather than lots of mediocre things. And some nice things can be got in Brown Thomas. So what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Or they could just be Snobs who would not be seen dead in anything that is not sold in BT or Harvey Nicks!

Menas wrote: »
    Or they could just be Snobs who would not be seen dead in anything that is not sold in BT or Harvey Nicks!

Thats the same thing though, no? Their self esteem is derived from being dressed in labels and not from their own sense of self worth.

If a person is secure in themselves they don't care about being seen going into Aldi or wearing chainstore clothes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If someone can afford to buy nice things and feel it makes them happy then the best of luck to them, it's their own money they're spending.

Better than having to listen to freeloading skangers looking for everyone else to finance their lifestyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Just a little Samba

The richest man I know, worth tens of millions of dollars, wears jeans from The Gap and regularly shops in places like Macy's, Khol's and Sear's.

He can afford to wear whatever he wants, have whatever gadget he wants, drive whatever he wants and fly first class anywhere he wants.

Instead he shops in department stores, uses a 4 year old blackberry, drives a honda (an opel while he's in Ireland) and flies economy with Delta trans-Atlantic.

Himself and his wife are two of the most down to earth, contend and happy couples I've ever had the pleasure of meeting.

That said he does live in a 5 dedroom mansion in south florida. So there is always that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

That she was wearing certain luxury brands doesn't mean that they were hers. Of course, some suppliers may give buyers for key accounts small presents or allow them to buy items at a discounted price.
    mailforkev wrote: »
    That's why I can't read the Sunday Indo, makes me want to break things.

It's just the same handful of "journos" writing about the self-appointed "Irish celebrity set" every week.

E.g. Barry Egan writing about how life is so great for Gerald Kean appears about once a month.

Years ago we engaged a PR company to promote a fashion business. This they did but one day the owner of the PR company called me to ask if I'd be interested in being in the Sunday Independent in a column they used to have called "Me and my car". The PR company would have arranged a loan of a top of the range car from one of their other clients and all I'd have to do was go along with the charade and pose for a few photos with the car. The text for the article would also be supplied by the PR people. So the PR company was getting exposure for two of their clients as the article would imply that "Gyalist, owner of fashion business X drives a top model German car supplied by Y".

Of course, none of this was true and all my friends know that I've long since disposed of my car but the majority of readers wouldn't have known that and assumed the article to be fact.

By the way, I declined the PR company 's kind offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Good quality well made clothes and shoes as an investment is vastly different from buying a heavily marketed brands, those sort of well made clothes are often brands that are have very loyal customers and are not heavily marketed, they don't need too.

Oh, they are heavily marketed all right. Probably not in the the media that you read though. It's difficult to not notice all the ads for expensive cars in the ICAEW professional magazine. I doubt that, for example, Christine Lagarde pays full price for all the Hérmes scarves that she wears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I honestly think that luxury products decrease quality of life, they just make you greedy and selfish and always wanting more, nothings ever good enough. My parents spoil myself and my two siblings and I hate it, I appreciate their kindness but my siblings always just want that next biggest shiniest piece of tech going once they get something new and it sickens me.

Having less things makes you appreciate life more. When I have kids they wont be getting iPhones and xboxes , they'll appreciate nature and the real world around them. IF I splash out on them it'll be on interesting holidays far away so they have precious memories to hold onto , not on some shiny screen that is cool for a year only until the next best ****e comes out .

wakka12 wrote: »
    I honestly think that luxury products decrease quality of life, they just make you greedy and selfish and always wanting more, nothings ever good enough. My parents spoil myself and my two siblings and I hate it, I appreciate their kindness but my siblings always just want that next biggest shiniest piece of tech going once they get something new and it sickens me.

Having less things makes you appreciate life more. When I have kids they wont be getting iPhones and xboxes , they'll appreciate nature and the real world around them. IF I splash out on them it'll be on interesting holidays far away so they have precious memories to hold onto , not on some shiny screen that is cool for a year only until the next best ****e comes out .

Given that you and your siblings receive the same things, doesn't that kind of suggest that "spoiling" a child is not down to the $dollar amount of stuff you hand over, but rather the attitude you do it with? If your siblings are so awful and you are so down to earth, surely this is because of some parenting failure? Or maybe an inherent personality flaw of theirs?

Because if ingratitude was purely a result of being given lots of valuable things, then you'd be an asshole, but you are not?

I just say it because I've known some people who were given jawdropping advantages as children, who are perfectly lovely, and others who received far less but are greedy and unpleasant nonetheless, so I think it's all down to attitude, not a magic formula of "new technology screens every three years, not every two years" delivering a child unspoiled.