Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF competitions + prizes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Paully D wrote: »
    I really wish they'd increase the league limit next season even from 15 to 20.

4 Public leagues are allowed in addition to the 15 which are a complete waste of time. An additional 4 private leagues would be a much better alternative as public leagues are pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

zarquon wrote: »
    Here's another one for extratime.ie. Some nices prizes for any Dubs.

fantasyfootballPoster4.jpg

That's from last season mate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

It's a fundraiser for the club so they won't care. They'll only be too delighted to have an influx of boardsies. It's only a tenner so very tempting but i'd have to give up a spot i don't have to give.

It's very badly advertised though as they were running it last year and barely anyone knew. Derry City had one last year too but didn't advertise it well. They don't seem to have one this year but i'll keep an eye on them in case it pops up. I think the early PL start this year might be catching some off guard as it usually starts a week later and i notice some leagues only coming back in the last day or 2.

I knew Derry had one last year but couldn't enter it for moral reasons. :)

Just noticed that Hackers won it. Feckin hero!! Hope you got your prize, honouring their debts wouldn't exactly be one of their strong points. :mad:

Good to see yis supporting the LOI ones. Seriously stuck for league spots but need to defend my bronze medal in Longford. 20 spots would be a huge improvement.

That's from last season mate. :)

You're right, my bad. Didn't check the league code before posting :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Hackers

Ha, in fairness they paid up no bother! No sign of it this season though.
    FHFC wrote: »
    I knew Derry had one last year but couldn't enter it for moral reasons. :)

Just noticed that Hackers won it. Feckin hero!! Hope you got your prize, honouring their debts wouldn't exactly be one of their strong points. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

why not boards???

I don't like to mix business with pleasure. It's a very high standard basically a league full of a hundred lads that know what they are doing. Although the likes of the harps league is going that way now.

'We Love Betting' have a free league with a £100 voucher for the winner for a new drinks website launching in September called The Drinks Basket. They're a cracking bunch of lads on that site so should be absolutely no bother getting the prize at the end and they'll have monthly prizes of cash and/or free bets:

http://welovebetting.co.uk/2015/08/fantasy-premier-league-201516-entry-open/

489263-122495

Just paid up for Longford town.

Any idea of the (expected) prize pot for this and what way they divide up the money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Only 22 in Longford so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭dahat

SSssshsshhsshhhhhh

Any idea of the (expected) prize pot for this and what way they divide up the money?

Last year it was straight 123. I came third, think i got €40. First was around €200 if i recall. Changed phone so dont have the text.

That makes a prize pot of 105 so far for €10 entry. Only 2 days to go so i can't see it getting too much bigger. I can't really justify giving up a league spot for that unfortunately.

It filled up late in the day last year but yeah, looking flimsy. They didnt even contact the people who were in last year about rejoining.

On another note i got confirmation earlier that the Finn Harps Champions League is now full with two days to spare! Delighted as we weren't sure when the idea was discussed whether we'd get 64 to pay another €20 on top of the Classic League. Thanks to all who entered.

There are over 145 in the Classic League already, increased by over 30 today. With over 40 on the final day last year 200 is still possible. Spread the word! As someone said above we don't care who is in as a fundraiser which brings in 2 grand so easily is gold dust. On a personal level however, I hate you all. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

ye may give that a miss aswell now

Cleverbets free €500 league. league code: 775587-191328

http://cleverbetstips.com/fantasy-premierleague-2015-16/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Peter Crouch is a Fizzer?! http://fantasy.premierleague.com/entry/1797538/history/

Has a Stoke City H2H as his only other

We'll that's a first, having a PL footballer in one of my mini leagues. I'm not sure why a millionaire needs to join a cash league though I'll gladly take his tenner

Looks like bojan is the best of the stoke lads with a 50k finish last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 J0E_90

The Junior Soccer Portal running a league

Prizes TBA

889866-217378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

We'll that's a first, having a PL footballer in one of my mini leagues. I'm not sure why a millionaire needs to join a cash league though I'll gladly take his tenner

Looks like bojan is the best of the stoke lads with a 50k finish last year.

Bless him he probably got addicted during his layoff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Hackers

Just a quick update on the below. 33 teams paid up now which includes 4 from the forum here, thanks lads for joining.

Will take more entries of course but I will have limited access to here tomorrow as I will be on Doonbeg golf course, probably spending more time looking for golf balls rather than actually hitting them!!

Hackers wrote: »
    I have been running a mini league for the last number of years and so far have 24 teams entered this season. Entry fee is €30, there are monthly prizes ( minimum €30) and then also overall prizes ( 20 entrants-top 2, 30 entrants -top 3, etc etc.) There is also a Champions League style competition as well ( minimum €150 winner, could be larger depending on number of entrants) with everyone getting updates via email. Prize fund is fully given back out to all the winners so I gain nothing out of it.

I would be delighted to take entries from anyone on the forum if anyone is interested. Payment options are via bank transfer or paypal. If anyone is interested you can drop me a PM.

I do not post here as often as a lot of you but I enter all the regular leagues here and contribute when I can.

If the mods see this message as inappropriate in any way please feel free to delete this post

Found a €10 entry cash league with about 580 in the pot so far. Only 5 have a top 10k finish so it's not overly competitive. Will give the details via PM only as i'm no longer posting good leagues here. Based on league sign up pattern after posting here i see far too many leaches jumping on leagues without contributing anything which goes against the community spirit imo. I am also seeing a huge number of lurkers that aren't even registered or else don't bother posting at all.

If you've been contributing to the cause and are interested, PM me for details.

Good leagues are subjective though. Case in hand, this one has no interest for me but could be a holy grail for Mr.Prodston. :)

https://twitter.com/TheCarrowCrowd/status/622499605712801792

Have a league with monthly prize of 2 Man United match tickets. PM for details if you have contributed to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'm so joining that one!

Breaking news. One spot in the Finn Harps Champions League has become available. Move fast and enter, or PM me and I'll save it for you till you do.

CL slots all gone again.

Brucebetting €500 1st prize.

CLeCsdTWEAA0Udv.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I really need to go through this thread tomorrow and join a few leagues. What free ones are people prioritising?

I'm in enough pay private ones with friends so not starting joining random online ones!

Lemlin wrote: »
    I really need to go through this thread tomorrow and join a few leagues. What free ones are people prioritising?

I'm in enough pay private ones with friends so not starting joining random online ones!

Contrary to popular activity i would prioritise smaller prize leagues with lower participation and therefore less competitive. The larger leagues with the biggest prizes are the ones that everyone jumps on and are almost impossible to win due to their sizes as there usually someone in the top 200 that will win them.

For example, the donedeal league currently has 3867 in them and will hit well over 4000. No chances of winning that without a stellar season and such a stellar season would almost certainly guarantee 1st prize in any cash leagues which is preferrable. With this in mind i prefer to give any league place that people would instinctively give to a large prize free league to a cash league instead as the same rank would likely win both and then with the less than a handfull of leftover places join some smaller free leagues with smaller prizes that are easier pickings.

The sheep/sharks see the dollar signs they can't attain, the smart people should curb their expectations slightly and go for the statistically much more obtainable lesser prizes.

If i had to choose between a 1 in 4000 chance of winning a €500 limited use voucher or a 1 in 200 chance of winning €250 cash, the latter is a much smarter choice as would a 1 in 50 chance of winning €100 in a free league. To those who think that €100 is chump change i say that €100 cash is infinitely better than NO €500 travel voucher.

Another example are the scores of people who jumped into the toals league i posted earlier due to the massive prize. Lots of lurkers here with FPL registration in Ireland wasted a space on it within hours of me posting it without a thought even though it is clear that entries from the republic are invalid. This is completely pointless!

The reason for such prioritising is the limited number of spaces available as most of mine are taking up with friends/work/cash leagues and i imagine this is the case for most around here.

For a game based on strategy i am surprised that very few actually put any proper strategy in their league allocation

For those that are ignoring my sagely advice above here is a ridiculously large prize that 99.99% of you have no statistical chance of winning. ;)

11800393_630399263768693_2716008949696289010_n.jpg?oh=ef118b44df5bb828d1d11c8cbb11389c&oe=564517A9

Have a smallish league with an IPAD air 2 as 1st prize. PM me for details if you are a regular contributor only.

Have a very small uncompetitive free entry league with €10000 in prizes. If your team name is edgbaston, PM me for details.

£200 prize league with only 36 players so far, highest rank 12k last year. PM for details if you are a regular contributor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

FHFC, cheers for the spreadsheet on the leagues. Some pretty good public ones in there.

I'm in quite a few leagues now. Money being spent wisely in

1- 100quid H2h
    2- 50 quid h2h
    3- Harps classic and CL
    4- 20 euro work one
    5- 20 euro h2h with CSF.

230 quid for the year. Still well in profit from the last 3 years although last year was pretty awful.

Can't wait for Saturday now and the rage when someone you had in your first draft bags a brace and you took him out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Contrary to popular activity i would prioritise smaller prize leagues with lower participation and therefore less competitive. The larger leagues with the biggest prizes are the ones that everyone jumps on and are almost impossible to win due to their sizes as there usually someone in the top 200 that will win them.

For example, the donedeal league currently has 3867 in them and will hit well over 4000. No chances of winning that without a stellar season and such a stellar season would almost certainly guarantee 1st prize in any cash leagues which is preferrable. With this in mind i prefer to give any league place that people would instinctively give to a large prize free league to a cash league instead as the same rank would likely win both and then with the less than a handfull of leftover places join some smaller free leagues with smaller prizes that are easier pickings.

The sheep/sharks see the dollar signs they can't attain, the smart people should curb their expectations slightly and go for the statistically much more obtainable lesser prizes.

If i had to choose between a 1 in 4000 chance of winning a €500 limited use voucher or a 1 in 200 chance of winning €250 cash, the latter is a much smarter choice as would a 1 in 50 chance of winning €100 in a free league. To those who think that €100 is chump change i say that €100 cash is infinitely better than NO €500 travel voucher.

Another example are the scores of people who jumped into the toals league i posted earlier due to the massive prize. Lots of lurkers here with FPL registration in Ireland wasted a space on it within hours of me posting it without a thought even though it is clear that entries from the republic are invalid. This is completely pointless!

The reason for such prioritising is the limited number of spaces available as most of mine are taking up with friends/work/cash leagues and i imagine this is the case for most around here.

For a game based on strategy i am surprised that very few actually put any proper strategy in their league allocation

Very good points Zarquon. I did enter a few of those leagues, but was definitely thinking 'no chance in hell of me winning this'. What I did target was leagues with monthly prizes. It's probably a long shot win most of them overall, but it would be nice to be rewarded with the odd monthly prize. One good month could mean a tidy little return if you're in a few leagues with monthly prizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Finally getting around to sorting out team and joining a few leagues! Had already joined the Harps league and cup but just joined a couple of other there now, couldn't resist taking on Peter Crouch anyway!!

Thanks to all who post about good leagues especially FHFC and Zarquon.

Can't wait for it all to start now!

Very good points Zarquon. I did enter a few of those leagues, but was definitely thinking 'no chance in hell of me winning this'. What I did target was leagues with monthly prizes. It's probably a long shot win most of them overall, but it would be nice to be rewarded with the odd monthly prize. One good month could mean a tidy little return if you're in a few leagues with monthly prizes.

Yeah. Top post by Zarquon. But agree on the monthly prizes. That's why I'll keep donedeal if i have room. Came within a whisker of winning a monthly off them last season. And its nice to win something in a heavily subscribed national comp.

I won three monthly prizes last year totalling €140 (including 1 in the boards league) and that sum was a large part of my profits.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

What are the best leagues for monthly prizes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,381 ✭✭✭✭km79

FutureGuy wrote: »

another poster opened a separate thread for DID electrical league
    go onto their Facebook page to register
    they have monthly prizes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

FutureGuy wrote: »

Welcome back FG :)

Word to the sharks who keep the good leagues to themselves and pounce on all the good stuff here without contributing - I will start posting your leagues so be courteous and share as this community should be about give and take and my analysis over the last few days is that the majority are just taking.

RmuqSk7.jpg

Tiny league with £250 1st prize and only one good player in the entire league.

http://www.beta-site.co.uk/emails/sharrocks_fantasy_football_2015/index.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Cleverbets free €500 league. league code: 775587-191328

http://cleverbetstips.com/fantasy-premierleague-2015-16/
    Found a €10 entry cash league with about 580 in the pot so far. Only 5 have a top 10k finish so it's not overly competitive. Will give the details via PM only as i'm no longer posting good leagues here. Based on league sign up pattern after posting here i see far too many leaches jumping on leagues without contributing anything which goes against the community spirit imo. I am also seeing a huge number of lurkers that aren't even registered or else don't bother posting at all.

If you've been contributing to the cause and are interested, PM me for details.

Good leagues are subjective though. Case in hand, this one has no interest for me but could be a holy grail for Mr.Prodston. :)

https://twitter.com/TheCarrowCrowd/status/622499605712801792
    Have a league with monthly prize of 2 Man United match tickets. PM for details if you have contributed to this thread.
    Brucebetting €500 1st prize.

CLeCsdTWEAA0Udv.png
    For those that are ignoring my sagely advice above here is a ridiculously large prize that 99.99% of you have no statistical chance of winning. ;)

11800393_630399263768693_2716008949696289010_n.jpg?oh=ef118b44df5bb828d1d11c8cbb11389c&oe=564517A9
    Have a smallish league with an IPAD air 2 as 1st prize. PM me for details if you are a regular contributor only.
    £200 prize league with only 36 players so far, highest rank 12k last year. PM for details if you are a regular contributor
    Tiny league with £250 1st prize and only one good player in the entire league. PM me only if you have provided leagues or ran leagues here.

:eek: where... what ... how ... :confused:

Is this Extreme Googling or what? :pac:

11796351_10153580088816584_8338580996406948696_n.jpg?oh=3c819f71f1d26ba194d5773cfb9f2228&oe=56554CF0

:eek: where... what ... how ... :confused:

Is this Extreme Googling or what? :pac:

Boolean magic ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rvpalldway

how do you know if you win a monthly league....if your doing shiit but then you have one unreal month? pleeese help

rvpalldway wrote: »
    how do you know if you win a monthly league....if your doing shiit but then you have one unreal month? pleeese help

You have to manually monitor it. There is a drop down filter on the mini league screen for monthly and quarterly scores.

Most people don't do this though and miss out. A good few DD monthly winners never claimed their prizes last year.

I picked up a few monthly prizes during my good spell so it's well worth keep an eye on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ianburke

got to look at the terms. lot of leagues open only to certain residents - uk,northern ireland etc. other ones stipulate that you need to have betting accounts or like/follow them on facebook etc.

the chelsea fan league looks the best one. it looks very well run. i dont support a prem team so had no issue choosing them as my team which auto enters into the fan league. prizes and updates etc look very good.

in plenty of friends cash leagues so only had about 4 random leagues i could join. think the shoot league is a great one. free entry and very decent prices. no need to jump through hoops to be eligible either. code 1274895-304132

Harps league - final push people.

Now over 170 entries, prize pot €1,700 and rising.

Its Irelands premier Fantasy Football Private League people. All the cool people are in it.

Don't miss the boat!!