Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Briticism does your head in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Sambo.

*cringe*

I've actually started hearing some Irish people saying it recently. I've seen it on boards too but I hope they were using it for a laugh. Clearly someones watching too much Coronation St.

Otherwise I quite like a lot of Briticisms.:)

Nobody would dare use the racist term "Sambo" in Britain!

...they did in the 60s though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭macnug

Asking "yea?" At the end of every sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Keep Calm and Chive On.

grrrr.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

English friend says "to be fair" at the end of every bloody statement she makes regardless of whether or not it makes sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

OiL RiG wrote: »
    'Facking cant' sounds more Australian to my ear.

Personally, I enjoy Briticisms. They're so mellifluous, like 'sod off.' Delightful!
    Sod off! Love it.

'Bugger off' is a good 'un 'n all.

Bladdy 'ell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Sambo ain't British.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 welchywelch

Banter or bants does my head in. Its CRAIC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

A lot of British phrases are fastly creeping into Irish vernacular more and more.

"High Street" instead of Main Street

"Mum" / "Mummy" instead of the good old Irish "Mam" / "Mammy" / "Ma"
    Is there anything more English sounding than Mum?

"Bollocks" - Used so much by the Irish now that they probably think it's Irish.
    As British as Yorkshire pudding.

What Briticisms does your head in?

Bollocks is one of the greatest words in the English language, or indeed any language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

How has nobody mentioned "The Loo"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Bollocks is one of the greatest words in the English language, or indeed any language.
    It's Teutonic anyway, not British.

Not a lot of people know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

Sambo.

*cringe*

I've actually started hearing some Irish people saying it recently. I've seen it on boards too but I hope they were using it for a laugh. Clearly someones watching too much Coronation St.

We don't use sambo in Britain. It's a racist term referring to black people. It's Ireland that uses sambo. You seem a little confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

By jingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

'Fleg' is one particular Briticism that does my head in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

It's Teutonic anyway, not British.

Not a lot of people know that.

Bloody gerry's

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭George White

Sambo.

*cringe*

isn't it sarnie in UK?
    Sambo is racist talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

'Fleg' is one particular Briticism that does my head in :pac:

Fleg isn't British, its northern Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

'alright fella':mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

isn't it sarnie in UK?
    Sambo is racist talk.
    Down south, up north it's a butty, in Scotland (and Donegal) it's a piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 OiL RiG

We don't use sambo in Britain. It's a racist term referring to black people. It's Ireland that uses sambo. You seem a little confused.

Without context, I was almost sure that sambo was slang for sandwich. Potential cross-cultural disaster averted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

The big one is "mate". The English speaking world seems to be divided into countries where it's used and countries where it's not. We were always one of the latter and that was fine by me. But it has crept in, it seemed like just Dublin but I'm hearing it more and more from non-Dubs.

It seems to be used in an aggressive way in Ireland more often than not. Like: "Sorry, there's a queue here, mate".

It just doesn't sound right in an Irish accent.

The big one is "mate". The English speaking world seems to be divided into countries where it's used and countries where it's not. We were always one of the latter and that was fine by me. But it has crept in, it seemed like just Dublin but I'm hearing it more and more from non-Dubs.

It seems to be used in an aggressive way in Ireland more often than not. Like: "Sorry, there's a queue here, mate".

It just doesn't sound right in an Irish accent.

This, a million times.

Words I say in my most perfick, Peckham accent....

Sarnie
    Sod off
    You're avin a laugh, int ya
    For ****s sake
    Mum
    Millwall lost again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

"Mum" / "Mummy" instead of the good old Irish "Mam" / "Mammy" / "Ma"
    Is there anything more English sounding than Mum?

Mam... An Irish Mammy or The Queen Mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    That it seems cool to slag the British.

If this was the other way round, you'd be telling people they have an inferiority complex or can't take a joke or to get over themselves.

So relax, there was an American version previously.

However, "blokes" is one that makes me cringe when Irish people say it, or "the Beeb" for BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

You're avin a laugh, int ya

You avin a bubble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Words I say in my most perfick, Peckham accent....

Ohhh I dunno... sarf Lundun sowoffink innit :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭George White

PARlance wrote: »

Mam itself is common in North England. But that's the accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

One is quite amused with all these peasant joke's

guppy wrote: »
    You avin a bubble?

I dunno what that means, guppy :(

But I ain't a cockney ;)

PARlance wrote: »

Ma'am for the old Queenie, not mam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

U ****in wot mxiii I'll nick your nan and cellotape her to tree trunk an ill bash her head in with ma timberlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

Bloody hell = Im shocked
    Banjaxed = Fecked
    Shag = Ride

am I doing this right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I hate our judicial system is based on the British onem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Ohhh I dunno... sarf Lundun sowoffink innit :eek:

'Ello darli'n fancy abit of my meat 'n two veg?.. landan innit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I hate the description of a bold child as being naughty. Or nawwwty as they say.

I dunno what that means, guppy :(

But I ain't a cockney ;)

A laugh. Apparently rhymes with bubble bath.

My boyfriend is from greater London, and isn't cockney either, but uses some slang. That's the only one I really, really hate. It makes no sense because bath and laugh do NOT rhyme. And pronouncing it to make it rhyme is hideous.

Bath and laugh do rhyme! Lol

Only if I'm having a "baaaf"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 welchywelch

Dont know if it's certain areas or what but some of them seem to put an R at the end of a word, like Ford Fiester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"Yeah?" wrecks my head yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

"Uni" instead of university or college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

What's wrong with Mum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

hello tiger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Per-joe innit' mate.

It's ****ing pew-joe (Peugeot) and I'm not your mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I was sat ...

I was stood ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The recent " keep calm and ...... " craze that is all over the place.It's completely idiotic for anyone in Ireland to use that phrase as it has absolutely no context in this country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Stopping instead of staying (in a hotel etc.)
    Pal- similar to mate at the end of a sentence but it just sounds really passive-agressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    What's wrong with Mum?

It sounds ****ing dreadful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I was sat ...

I was stood ...

This also wrecks my head and its so bloody prevalent nowadays, you will even hear it uttered on the BBC on a regular basis :mad:

Apparently it's called "non standard English" and it seems to be getting the upper hand in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Rega

I was sat ...

I was stood ...

Is there anyone sat there?

Eh ??:confused: