Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tour de France 2015 Stage 4 Seriang - Cambrai (cobbles) *contains unmasked spoilers*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

For a novice like me but a Roche fan what can we expect from him today? And also for the tour overall, is it just a case he'll look after Froome throughout or will he be allowed to go for the odd stage win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

i said i'd like to see roche today, didn't say he wasn't pulling his weight.
    your like a dog with a bone. is it because i suggested some here were anti english(regarding wiggins)and you took it on yourself to think i was talking about you.

Wiggo isn't English anyway ;)

For a novice like me but a Roche fan what can we expect from him today? And also for the tour overall, is it just a case he'll look after Froome throughout or will he be allowed to go for the odd stage win?

the Sky shackles mean nothing but looking after Froome this TdF. Only way he will get a crack at a stage win is if Froome abondons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Sep Vanmarcke
    D3PO wrote: »
    the Sky shackles mean nothing but looking after Froome this TdF. Only way he will get a crack at a stage win is if Froome abondons.

Also Nico hates cobbles, he'd be the one of the last guys from Sky to try for a stage win today.

Yeah? Can't believe they wouldn't let him have a go on at least 1 or 2 stages. I used to loved when he went for it back in his AG2R (unsure of spelling) days when he was team leader.

Plus in the line up of Sky riders where would Nico be placed?? I.e Froome no. 1 Thomas no. 2 etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Yeah? Can't believe they would let him have a go on at least 1 or 2 stages. I used to loved when he went for it back in his AG2R (unsure of spelling) days when he was team leader.

He might be allowed hunt out a mountain stage but I suspect not

Plus in the line up of Sky riders where would Nico be placed?? I.e Froome no. 1 Thomas no. 2 etc etc

It doesn't really work like that but he will be near enough to Froome in a Sky train I'd suspect. Konig and Porte are very strong too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Another hour or so before the next pavé section?

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    It doesn't really work like that but he will be near enough to Froome in a Sky train I'd suspect. Konig and Porte are very strong too.

Poels aswell.

As Pudsy says doesn't work like that. I do get the feeling that Porte, Thomas, Koenig & Poels are all regarded in general more than Roche though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Another hour or so before the next pavé section?

To be filled with short infomercials about Skys special bikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭isitraining

Peter Sagan
    Yeah? Can't believe they would let him have a go on at least 1 or 2 stages. I used to loved when he went for it back in his AG2R (unsure of spelling) days when he was team leader.

You've hit the nail on the head there. Back then he was the team leader of a team which wasn't planning to win the tour. A stage victory would have been their ultimate goal. Now he could have a good day in a break away if it was part of a plan but all that matters for Sky is getting Froome to Paris in yellow.

Poels aswell.

As Pudsy says doesn't work like that. I do get the feeling that Porte, Thomas, Koenig & Poels are all regarded in general more than Roche though.

Thats a pity I always thought he was highly regarded at Saxo. He was leader on the 2013 Vuelta and did well in that if I recall correctly. I suppose Team Sky pay the big bucks $$$$

He was indeed, he is still a good rider. He will lead Sky for the San Sebastian classic later in the year and may have a good role at the Vuelta.

In an interview Nico did he said the salaries are pretty similar and he didn't move for a big wage bump. Less than 20 grand increase if I recall correctly.

I guess none of us will ever know why he moved, but he seems happy to be a super dom now. Be interesting to see how hes used in the Vuelta assuming hes selected.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭isitraining

Peter Sagan
    In an interview Nico did he said the salaries are pretty similar and he didn't move for a big wage bump. Less than 20 grand increase if I recall correctly.

I guess none of us will ever know why he moved, but he seems happy to be a super dom now. Be interesting to see how hes used in the Vuelta assuming hes selected.

I definitely got the feeling he just wasn't part of Mr. Tinkoff's plans for the future. Last year all he cared about was getting Sagan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Alexander Kristoff
    Rain expected on the cobbles later on...YESSSSS!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Most of what I've seen of the Tour so far has been with ITV. Saw last 10 minutes with Eurosport & imo the idea of complaining about ES's commentators is way off, though of course each to their own. The pleasure watching with ES is just way, way beyond ITV & their Sherwen, Liggett combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

Andre Greipel
    pelevin wrote: »
    Most of what I've seen of the Tour so far has been with ITV. Saw last 10 minutes with Eurosport & imo the idea of complaining about ES's commentators is way off, though of course each to their own. The pleasure watching with ES is just way, way beyond ITV & their Sherwen, Liggett combo.

you seriously need to listen to Carlton Kirby for 4 or 5 hours then

you'll be begging for a Paul Sherwen reads "It's not about the bike" CD for Christmas

make the nonsense stop Carlton. the flamme rouge does not beckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Taxuser1 wrote: »

you'll be begging for a Paul Sherwen reads "It's not about the bike" CD for Christmas

I've listened to many hours of Kirby & him partnered with Kelly who tones him down a fair bit I think, are imo hugely superior to ITV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Sep Vanmarcke
    Taxuser1 wrote: »

It's a matter of preference. I watch as much as racing as anyone, and I'd happily listen to Carlton commentate over all of it. It is entertainment, and Carlton is number 1 in the game for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Peter Sagan
    It's a matter of preference. I watch as much as racing as anyone, and I'd happily listen to Carlton commentate over all of it. It is entertainment, and Carlton is number 1 in the game for that.

Would agree with this. I like his little facts of the surrounding countryside as the riders are flying through it. I think Carlton and Kelly are a good combo.

Anyway, starting to drag this thread off topic... so back to the stage :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Andre Greipel
    i said i'd like to see roche today, didn't say he wasn't pulling his weight.
    your like a dog with a bone. is it because i suggested some here were anti english(regarding wiggins)and you took it on yourself to think i was talking about you.

Nope. It's because I wanted to make a point about Roche that's easy to miss. I hold no online grudges.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

That Bora chef looks like something out of the Adam's family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭SummerRebel

Jaysus ITV4 is painful to watch - too many ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Zdenek Stybar
    These cobbles are like Christmas ...they are always coming but never here

rain starting, cobbles coming up and about to turn into crosswinds let the chaos begin !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Froome well back already

Eurosport - As-Tan-Na

And Dan Martin on the deck

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Dan down again. No luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Dan has no luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭decies

Jaysus ITV4 is painful to watch - too many ads.
    Just wondering am on UPC and I just turned on itv 4 and they are showing the tdf. Normally they block it on UPC is this a change this year or just a mistake today ?? Thanks

MPFG wrote: »
    ...they are always coming but never here

Thats-what-she-said.jpg

Id would be almost funny if it weren't so frustrating. One Astana guy wheel slips and the only man he manages to take down is Martin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Looks slick. Some bloke hit the deck going round a corner.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Id would be almost funny if it weren't so frustrating. One Astana guy wheel slips and the only man he manages to take down is Martin.

Martin wasn't even near him when he went down.

Wow they're reeling back that breakaway fast now

Alexander Kristoff
    Tbh who could be surprised with Dan going down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

5 to go

Tbh who could be surprised with Dan going down?

The cobbles may actually kill him

Zdenek Stybar
    EBH looking good ....forgot about him for today

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

eurosport player down. Feck that

Zdenek Stybar
    Its like the grand national... who will be safe after each section and who will have fallen or gone back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Alexander Kristoff
    Is Dan back ? No, I see him and a few teammates chasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

fcuk off froome...go backwards

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

This section of cobbles is pretty tame compared to most Irish towns,

I see Boone went down as I typed

Zdenek Stybar
    Nico right up there chasing Nibs or at least trying to ..now lying about 10th

time gap to Dan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Alexander Kristoff
    All in one big line

Alexander Kristoff
    Contador looks to be struggling. Quintana absent. Froome now a cobbles specialist to ass to yesterday's sprinting medal :rolleyes: