Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travelling to the US - Checklist

• 07-07-2015 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all.

Going on my honeymoon a week from today so Im going through my final checklist of all my documents.

Passports are in order and in date.
    I have received all my documents from the travel agent and printed them off.
    Travel insurance has been paid and Ive printed off the policy.
    I completed the ESTA waiver form and paid for myself and herself and printed them off.

Is there anything else Im missing / need?

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭carrick76

Looks like you're all set.

You'll need the address of where you are staying at check-in and for the customs form but presume that is on the itinerary from your travel agent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

carrick76 wrote: »
    Looks like you're all set.

You'll need the address of where you are staying at check-in and for the customs form but presume that is on the itinerary from your travel agent.

Nice one, thanks bro.

Ya, I have done the "advanced passenger information" form for both of us on the British Airways site and that asked me for the address of the hotel we are staying in.

All I put was the one in Vegas as we are going there first and there wasnt an option to put in another one.

Is this the norm (Ive never travelled to the States so havnt a clue! :o )

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

That's fine. They just need the first night. When you are checking in, don't forget to tell them that it is your honeymoon. You may get an upgrade to first/business class, if they have empty seats & they are in a generous mood.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

ProudDUB wrote: »
    That's fine. They just need the first night. When you are checking in, don't forget to tell them that it is your honeymoon. You may get an upgrade to first/business class, if they have empty seats & they are in a generous mood.

Definitely do this! But dress neatly - not that you wouldnt - no trackies, jeans etc as they are less likely to upgrade you.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭carrick76

Nice one, thanks bro.

Ya, I have done the "advanced passenger information" form for both of us on the British Airways site and that asked me for the address of the hotel we are staying in.

All I put was the one in Vegas as we are going there first and there wasnt an option to put in another one.

Is this the norm (Ive never travelled to the States so havnt a clue! :o )

Thanks.

Yes, only need one address needed.

It's all pretty straightforward. If you're flying direct to US from Dublin or Shannon, allow yourself a good 2 hrs before check-in and go to customs at least an hour before

Sounds like you're going through UK if your flight is with BA, in this case you'll do customs and border patrol when you land in US. You might have to queue for a bit when you get there but shouldn't take long.

Don't forgot electrical plug adapters, easier to get them here.

Enjoy and congrats!

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Also a little thing, pack a pen in your carry on bag, as when you're going through the airport you've to fill out a slip of paper form with some details i.e where you're staying and your passport number etc, its just info from the esta application basically, so if you print off your ESTA you'll have it all there. Only takes a minute to fill out, I know in Dublin on direct flights to USA you've to do it. As I said nothing to worry about at all so don't panic, its really is just a formality, few bits of information, and you hand it with your passport at the check and they keep this form and hand back passport. Once esta is completed and approved, all you need is flights, passport and wallet and any medication you may be on, anything else you can get there... You're all set, relax and enjoy yourself,

• Registered Users Posts: 14 5599

When they ask you the purpose of your visit, simply say that you have come to pump money in their debt ridden economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

Dovies wrote: »
    Definitely do this! But dress neatly - not that you wouldnt - no trackies, jeans etc as they are less likely to upgrade you.

I travel 12-15 times a year...upgrades from economy to business do not happen. Even premium to business is rare - it is mostly if you have a frequent flyers account with the airline or you pay for it yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,438 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I travel 12-15 times a year...upgrades from economy to business do not happen. Even premium to business is rare - it is mostly if you have a frequent flyers account with the airline or you pay for it yourself.

+1 informing the person at check-in that you're on honeymoon is tantamount to asking for an upgrade and most airlines' policy is that the last people who get upgraded are the people who ask for it.

Jeez guys, way to go in bursting the OP's bubble. I never said he was guaranteed an upgrade, just that it can't hurt to ask, especially if you are in the category of people who won't automatically be at the top of the queue to get an upgrade, without asking for it. How else are the airline to know that the OP just got married, unless he tells them?

I know from first hand experience, of two couples who were able to score upgrades on flights, when they told the check in agent the story behind their trip - 50th birthday trip of a lifetime and silver wedding anniversary trip. In both case, neither party had ever flown with that airline before, but the agent on the day still gave them the upgrade.

I know how the system is supposed to work, but out of the blue upgrades do happen and it can't hurt to put your spake in sometimes. The upgrade certainly won't happen if the OP doesn't say anything at all, that's for sure !

Congrats on the wedding OP & have a great trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

It's rarely the check-in agent who has this power - it is in fact, the gate agent. And guess what? they've heard every line in the book, from honeymooners to 21st/30th/40th/50th/60th birthdays and wedding anniversaries.

Dressing nicely ain't going to change this - realistically, unless you have high mileage within a ff account, the only chance of getting bumped up to the pointy part is by paying for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

It has happened me a few times, both with a frequent flyer account and without.

I've never paid to be bumped up.

coylemj wrote: »
    +1 informing the person at check-in that you're on honeymoon is tantamount to asking for an upgrade and most airlines' policy is that the last people who get upgraded are the people who ask for it.

When I went on honeymoon the check in guy did try and see if he could upgrade us. There was only one upgrade left and we didn't take it as we wanted to sit together (4 years into marriage and one of us would take the upgrade!). He did however give us lounge passes and overlooked our extremely overweight bags (which in my book was as good as an upgrade).

It's rarely the check-in agent who has this power - it is in fact, the gate agent. And guess what? they've heard every line in the book, from honeymooners to 21st/30th/40th/50th/60th birthdays and wedding anniversaries.

Dressing nicely ain't going to change this - realistically, unless you have high mileage within a ff account, the only chance of getting bumped up to the pointy part is by paying for it.

My experience differs from this. It does happen.

Might be worth hitting up your airline on twitter too, I've heard (no personal experience) they will sometimes pull out the stops for people.

Muchos gracias for all the reply's guys!

My missus works for a large hotel group so is as ballsy as it comes when asking for comp upgrades and the like so if there is something to be gotten, we will feckin get it!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I've been bumped up to first class three times from coach. All three times I was seated on the plane in the very front row of coach seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Is there anything else Im missing / need?

Credit cards?

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Credit cards?

Going into the post office Monday morning to get one of those An Post Mastercard yokes!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Neck pillows, never underestimate the need for a neck pillow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

Going into the post office Monday morning to get one of those An Post Mastercard yokes!

What about a normal credit card? Hotels and car rental places need them for deposits even if you've prepayed. Not having one adds layers of hassle, and if you use debit cards, it freezes a chunk of your cash

I dont have one but herself does so no problems there, thanks though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

Tell EVERYONE it's your honeymoon. It's a big thing for yanks. I've a few friends over there that go on honeymoon at least once a year.

Apply for a loyalty a/c with the airline straight away. And if you're renting a car, do the same thing. If there's an option on that, say it's for business.

If renting a car, make sure they'll take your CC/Debit Card/An Post Visa, I've been stung with this recently in the US, it was my second car rental on the few weeks I was there, same company, but internal policy changed. Ended up stranded in BWI at 11.30 at night, trying to rely on US public transport to get me to Dulles for the following morning.

It's worth screen grabbing your flight details, insurance details and hotel details on your phone so you'll always have them at hand. Ditto for your airline frequent flyer number. While you're at it, might be handy screen grab a Google Maps view of your hotel, just in case.

Ring your bank and see if they need to know you're travelling. Nothing worse than being stuck someplace with a card that won't give you money. I travel very frequently and still have to ring the bank frequently to tell them to unlock my card.

Extras/upgrades on the plane do happen, but very rarely. Mostly in the form of free exit row seats ( :rolleyes: ) or a free drink or two (Better). The odd time a shift to Premium. If you're VERY lucky, you'll get in to business. When it comes to food in coach, always go for the currys or pasta dishes. The stews are pretty stinking.

I've not gone through Shannon, but if you're flying through Dublin, give yourself plenty of time if you don't want to get stressed. Get in early and grab some breakfast and duty free. Writers Tears is amazing value at 22 quid if you're going out of the EU. Or spend a few more quid, it's your honeymoon afterall. US duty free usually isn't as good, so make use of it while you can. The queue through TSA can be a pain in the arse depending on what flights are going through. There's three stages, the first is scanning boarding cards/passports, then a security check which isn't as thorough as the main one entering Departures, and then a longer wait to talk to an Immigration/TSA Officer.

Have fun!

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭biddywiddy

I agree with the above about telling everyone it's your honeymoon. We flew to NYC and then to the Caribbean. We didn't get any flight upgrades (we didn't even have a chance to tell anyone when checking in for the transatlantic flight) but we got a lot of free drinks during the flights.

I also shamelessly said it was our honeymoon when booking our hotels, and we got complimentary champagne brought to our room in both places. Restaurants were excited it was our honeymoon too! Definitely worth saying it - presumably you'll only have one honeymoon! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Send a copy of important docs to a GMail or equivalent address.

Make sure to pack some essentials in your hand luggage in case of lost bags. Include some underwear, phone charger and basic toiletries.

On Vegas, do think about taking a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon, it's pricy at around $250pp but a spectacular Bucket List item imho. Alternatively you could drive out for a sunset or sunrise which is amazing with the shadows moving up or down the canyon sides.

tricky D wrote: »
    Send a copy of important docs to a GMail or equivalent address.

Make sure to pack some essentials in your hand luggage in case of lost bags. Include your some underwear, phone charger and basic toiletries.

On Vegas, do think about taking a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon, it's pricy at around $250pp but a spectacular Bucket List item imho. Alternatively you could drive out for a sunset or sunrise which is amazing with the shadows moving up or down the canyon sides.

This, keep jocks and socks for a day or two in your carry on. Has saved me in the past when they lost my bags.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭OldBean

Oh, and any medication you guys might be on/need, along with the script/receipt. Just in case.

A light wrap/cardigan up for your wife to be. Nothing too heavy, or of the winter woolie variety that our mammys here make us wear. A light cover up will fine. It's just that the Yanks take their air conditioning very, very seriously. The temps inside indoor malls, restaurants, etc can be down right frigid, especially when the outside temps are as high as they are in Vegas. If you are wearing light summer clothes with bare shoulders, it can be a tad uncomfortable trying to eat your dinner, shop, watch a show etc, if it feels like you are sitting inside a fridge freezer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

^ Good idea. And there's a discount booth some where around or north of Harrahs/Casino Royale where you can pick up cheap fleeces. Well it was there last time I visited, located around the kink in the Strip. I got a Vegas branded one for $15/20 which was perfect for keeping warm at altitude or in the desert which can get quite cold at night. That's if you are doing a bit of travelling out of Vegas.