Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EA Sports UFC 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭maximoose

Well thanks to the Reebok deal your choice of walkout gear is severely limited anyway :pac:

It has been a long time since I played the first game, but I've no real complaints about the loading times this time around. Loading the main menu from launch is maybe a little slow, but flicking through menus and going into fights isn't bad IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Still downloading...
    Still hating life....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Still downloading...
    Still hating life....

I think it took me 20/25 mins to download last night .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,254 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

My copy will have been dropped down by Parcel Motel by the time that downloads for you Blobby!

That's it mock away lads... I don't mind.
    All you're doing is fueling my bloodlust. I was gonna finish you all quick... But not now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Download started. 2 hours so should easily have it downloaded by midnight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,454 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Got an 879mb patch today, there didn't seem to be a day 1 patch so this must be it, just a heads up for ye.

4gb left and only now do I realise you can play the last round of the Lawley v McDonald fight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Is this available tonight at 12 online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Really enjoying Ultimate Team. I made a bjj specialist to counter the vast majority who make strikers. I'm 5-2, submissions giving me all of my victories to date. Had an epic match against some chap, I reckon I would have had it on decision as I was wrestle****ing him for the majority but he ko'd me with 14 seconds left in the last :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,895 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Apparently boxers are a bit overpowered with the highest chin and body rating meaning they are hard to finish and can finish you easy but I'm the same as you pudsey, gonna make a bjj guy and **** **** up on the ground.

Anyone getting good results from gameface?

Sound marty, its allowing me download patch 1.03 now, save me doing it tonight. Day 1 patch and even the 2nd patch was part of the euro digital version already so 3rd patch before the release. Looks like the devs will be constantly working on it. They made HUGE improvements to the first game so no surprise anyway.

Speaking of, one of the devs said they have a few surprises for post launch. Will be interesting to see what they have planned.

Edit: Jaysus patch 3 is 880mb. Wonder what changes are in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Simply Red

Chanced argos on the way home today but no joy :(

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Sound marty, its allowing me download patch 1.03 now, save me doing it tonight. Day 1 patch and even the 2nd patch was part of the euro digital version already so 3rd patch before the release. Looks like the devs will be constantly working on it. They made HUGE improvements to the first game so no surprise anyway.

Speaking of, one of the devs said they have a few surprises for post launch. Will be interesting to see what they have planned.

Edit: Jaysus patch 3 is 880mb. Wonder what changes are in it.

Oh joy more downloads.
    I don't think they want me to play the game.

What do you guys recommend I do when my game goes live at 12? Practice and get to grips with the game? Start a career mode to get to grips? Or get an UT going straight away?

stephenl15 wrote: »
    What do you guys recommend I do when my game goes live at 12? Practice and get to grips with the game? Start a career mode to get to grips? Or get an UT going straight away?

Live Events mode man! I'm absolute addicted to it, it'll take over yer lives I'm telling ye! It's great craic making fight predictions then playing them out that way.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Live Events mode man! I'm absolute addicted to it, it'll take over yer lives I'm telling ye! It's great craic making fight predictions then playing them out that way.

I'll definitely give it a look :D How do I join the UFC2 boards community or what is it ye have set up? Although it'll be a while before I give anyone a game, haven't played it yet :P

What's your psn? Handy thing about playing people on here, if you send a message first or are on chat, you can ask if anyone is up for training to practice ground, clinch etc. Practice against ai is shyte and you can come up against absolute killers online so handy having someone friendly who will take the fight wherever so you can try moves.

At 12 i was gonna get straight into career but now i might try live event as new fighters you make are always crap til you improve them.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Oh joy more downloads.
    I don't think they want me to play the game.

Have ya tried pausing the download and continuing it again? Dont just settle for or assume the speed its at is the fastest, PSN is a bit dodgy like that. You can pause and restart it and all of a sudden the time left can drop dramatically.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    What's your psn? Handy thing about playing people on here, if you send a message first or are on chat, you can ask if anyone is up for training to practice ground, clinch etc. Practice against ai is shyte and you can come up against absolute killers online so handy having someone friendly who will take the fight wherever so you can try moves.

At 12 i was gonna get straight into career but now i might try live event as new fighters you make are always crap til you improve them.

Same username as here :P Gooooooaaaal Bayern!!! Sorry have the match on late equalizer :) Yeah I'll fire up live events I'd say but I need to learn the ground game.

Im here at home waiting for midnight to arrive, my preparation is going well..I have my conditioning coach here and have been dodging pool noodles for the last hour keeping my movement fluid..my fingers and thumbs feel loose...I will get the cut man to wrap my fingers with plasters to avoid blisters and then come midnight..its on!

Axwell wrote: »
    Im here at home waiting for midnight to arrive, my preparation is going well..I have my conditioning coach here and have been dodging pool noodles for the last hour keeping my movement fluid..my fingers and thumbs feel loose...I will get the cut man to wrap my fingers with plasters to avoid blisters and then come midnight..its on!

It's a long long wait aint it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Did you play the previous version? If so, go to practice and just do the ground tutorials. It's completely different, but everything else should feel similar. After that, live event mode or just fight now is a good idea to get to grips with stuff. In UT, you can fight the CPU to build your character before you take him online.

You'll need it alright, you got knocked out by CM Punk on share play last night, for anyone that didn't hear! :pac:

It's a long long wait aint it:pac:

I have been molding myself for this all my life, whats another 2hrs..18 minutes and 22 seconds?? :D

You'll need it alright, you got knocked out by CM Punk on share play last night, for anyone that didn't hear! :pac:

Marty you pressed the menu button and I couldnt see the screen or control my fighter, it was easy for you to then knock him out...thats what happened and im sticking to it! ;)

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Did you play the previous version? If so, go to practice and just do the ground tutorials. It's completely different, but everything else should feel similar. After that, live event mode or just fight now is a good idea to get to grips with stuff. In UT, you can fight the CPU to build your character before you take him online.

Yeah played the last one got up to the top division for a period :D Yeah just the ground game I'll need work on. :P

Marty you pressed the menu button and I couldnt see the screen or control my fighter, it was easy for you to then knock him out...thats what happened and im sticking to it! ;)

Next time I do it I'll save the footage and put it on YouTube then. ;)

If your standup was as good as your excuses Axwell, you'd be world champ! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Who do you even train with? you're on steroids everyones on steroids!

Next time I do it I'll save the footage and put it on YouTube then. ;)

If your standup was as good as your excuses Axwell, you'd be world champ! :pac:

:D Once I get some practice in tonight we will see who needs excuses, enjoy your victory Marty..there wont be many more!