Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Transfer Time/2016 Squads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Linky??

You've got me :)
    I can't find a link so you were right! I could have swore I read that it was officially announced but obviously not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Subpopulus wrote: »
    A few other interesting tidbids from the Tour of Utah start list-

- I see that Chris Horner is with Airgas Safeway Cycling Team - I thought he was still with Lampre... Looks like the Vuelta will essentially be the last thing he wins.
    - Tao Geoghegan Hart is with a US outfit called Axeon Cycling Team, despite being listed as a stagliare with Sky as of the 1st of August. What's the legality of this? I seem to recall him racing the Tour of Britain last year as part of some UK Development squad.
    - Matt Brammeir is racing there with MTN Qhubeka.

As Stagiaire for a WT/Pro Conti team you can ride for your Club/team during that time. So it prob suits for him to be out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

You've got me :)
    I can't find a link so you were right! I could have swore I read that it was officially announced but obviously not!

Fully confirmed now - http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/porte-confirmed-with-bmc-for-2016/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Yes announced today 1st August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭granda

Chris Juul jensen to orica greenedge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

RobFowl wrote: »
    Ryan Mullen listed as a starter for Garmin Cannondale for tour of Utah so not much doubt !

He is on the start list for today's first stage in TdUtah but rode for SK-CRC yesterday in Ride London.....

How does that work......?

Is he crossing the Atlantic and starting a race for a new team less than 24 hours later....?

#jetlagisforsofties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

Cyclingnews.com reporting Dan Martin has turned down a contract extension with slipstream. Reportedly turned down an offer from sky. Suggesting he could be going to EQS or Trek.
    If he goes to EQS I'd imagine that's cav out the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

stecleary wrote: »
    Cyclingnews.com reporting Dan Martin has turned down a contract extension with slipstream. Reportedly turned down an offer from sky. Suggesting he could be going to EQS or Trek.

Not sure they ever provided him a proper platform during a gt. Hopefully he goes somewhere that will build a team around him. Would love to see Deignan go with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

A move to Trek would be better I think. They're crying out for someone like him in the team, and riding with Cancellara before he retires would be fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

I think there has to be a bit of substance to the Trek and EQS rumours but are there any other possible options. You are probably looking at anglophile teams and Dan will hardly come cheap.

Sky are not an option
    Orica are due to announce a marquee signing but already have the Yates twins and Gerrans / Albasini for the classics.
    BMC have Gilbert GVA and Teejay

Could MTN with DimensionData's sponsorship money be an option. Dan would offer visibility and invites to early European classics and while the aim is to promote young african riders they need to produce a few more results in the interim.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

Dan is almost signed to Etixx-Quickstep according to Cyclingnews.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/lefevere-close-to-signing-dan-martin-to-etixx-quickstep/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

stecleary wrote: »

Why will Cav go, if Martin joins EQS?

It looks as if Martin is going to EQS

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/lefevere-close-to-signing-dan-martin-to-etixx-quickstep/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Salary perhaps? Although they've got Kwiatowski off the books.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Salary perhaps? Although they've got Kwiatowski off the books.

Isn't Kwiatowski trying to get out of his sky agreement? I think I heard that on Eurosport during the Tour. He is happy where is apperatnely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Kwait maybe happy where he is but Patrick Lefevere may not be planning on keeping him. He favours Allaphillipe and if he has signed Dan then why would he keep Kwait. Not sure Kwait will fit in with the SKY regime though

Ten Dam could be going to Cannondale Garmin

Love to see Dan a Trek because there are more GT support riders there and he will be undisbuted lead in one day classics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I think it's good that Dan is moving on. He has learned a lot at Garmin and has been successful, but to kick on he needs to learn some more. For one thing he needs to learn how to position himself going into the finale of a race. He has been badly caught out at Flèche three times and at this years tour twice. He clearly is very fast on a very steep slope but is tactically naive some of the time - and that has cost him wins.
    EQS is a stronger classics team but he wouldn't necessarily be the number one hilly classics rider. He would at Trek but the team seems slightly weaker. QS director sportifs have huge experience and generally know what they are at. As a team built for classics it suits Dan. He is not a GT specialist and it is a fools errand in my view for him to persist. He is simply too inconsistent and can't TT to save his life. He is better suited to targeting stages and going all out for it. In that regard Tiny Martin is a good guide - a guy who has taken some nice non TT grand tour stages through audacious riding (as had Stybar and Keisse). Again QS know what they are at in this regard.

Wherever he goes I hope he gets a strong right hand man. When Gilbert was in his pomp his Ardennes and Lombardy vcpictories were built on a foundation laid by Vandenaert and Vandenaert Broeck. dans classics victories owe a lot to Hesjeydal. You can't do this alone. You need a string team and in the last 15k you need a string and dedicated super dom.

I agree Dan needs a super dom but I just fear at EQS he may be the super dom of Allaphillipe & Kwait (if he stays)

There are alot of strong riders at Trek who can't win an Ardennes classic IMO but could be a big help to Dan
    like Jungles, Sergent , Mollema, Devolder, etc

And Trek are not exactly without DS nouce. They need a winner and could build the tem around Dan. At EQS its more like get in line

I'm confident Kwiatowski won't be there. Then it's between JA and Dan for hilly races. They can support both.

Maybe the role of SD for Uran for a year would suit him?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Why will Cav go, if Martin joins EQS?
    Cav's supposed to be targeting the Olympics next year and may even try out for the track team (the Omnium has been mentioned). He's already lined up to do some madisons with Wiggins who also wants to get back into the Team Pursuit squad. It may well suit Cav to move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Beasty wrote: »
    Cav's supposed to be targeting the Olympics next year and may even try out for the track team (the Omnium has been mentioned). He's already lined up to do some madisons with Wiggins who also wants to get back into the Team Pursuit squad. It may well suit Cav to move on

Waste of 2 good talents.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Inquitus wrote: »
    Waste of 2 good talents.

That session at Sundrive must have been a bit too much for you Inquitus....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Inquitus wrote: »
    Waste of 2 good talents.

Eh? Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

cunavalos wrote: »
    I think there has to be a bit of substance to the Trek and EQS rumours but are there any other possible options. You are probably looking at anglophile teams and Dan will hardly come cheap.

Sky are not an option
    Orica are due to announce a marquee signing but already have the Yates twins and Gerrans / Albasini for the classics.
    BMC have Gilbert GVA and Teejay

Could MTN with DimensionData's sponsorship money be an option. Dan would offer visibility and invites to early European classics and while the aim is to promote young african riders they need to produce a few more results in the interim.

Why is everyone taking it as a given that Sky isn't in the mix for Dan? Is it because of his history with BC?
    Otherwise a (let's be honest) Birmingham born and raised Classics + climber would be perfect for sky on the face of it.
    Whatever the reason I'm more than happy he's staying well clear of them.

Why is everyone taking it as a given that Sky isn't in the mix for Dan? Is it because of his history with BC?
    Otherwise a (let's be honest) Birmingham born and raised Classics + climber would be perfect for sky on the face of it.

Firstly because Dan himself has rejected their approaches.

But mainly because Sky aren't really geared towards classics and stage wins in the same way that EQS or Trek are. Sky also have a major oversupply of high-quality talent and competition for race leads is fierce. Week-long stage races would see him competing with Konig, Poels, Sergio Henao, Kennaugh, Nieve etc. for race leads. In Grand Tours he could easily find himself as a super-dom, with no freedom to go for stage wins.

He has reportedly turned them down

Because he has never ridden as a domestique in a train ever and that would be what he would be required to do at SKY . And I think he is smart enough to know it would not suit him and would curtail his opportunities. He is a rider with ability and speed but his USP is that fact that he can tactically read a race and find opportunities to win. The SKY approach would stile this
    SKY is all about the 'strongest' rider , ie the numbers. This works well for Froome but not if you are not the strongest. Dan himself has said after winning races that he was not the strongest in the race but it looks like he was the smartest

I really felt this issue with SKY at the Tour of Yorkshire.Philip Deignan said on the 1st day they were riding for LP Nordhaug as he was the strongest. Probably true , only probably...but from where I was sitting Deignan was the smartest and if not with SKY I think could have won it

If a race is totally controlled then you can if you have a strong team win but there are many instances where a rider with lesser numbers/power etc wins using their head

Firstly because Dan himself has rejected their approaches.

But mainly because Sky aren't really geared towards classics and stage wins in the same way that EQS or Trek are. Sky also have a major oversupply of high-quality talent and competition for race leads is fierce. Week-long stage races would see him competing with Konig, Poels, Sergio Henao, Kennaugh, Nieve etc. for race leads. In Grand Tours he could easily find himself as a super-dom, with no freedom to go for stage wins.

BTW Konig, Kennaugh, Poels , or Nieve have lead no stage races this year - (maybe the odd day race. Konig got a chance when Porte left the Giro )

At SKY its been all Froome, Porte , Thomas & Henao in that order... so even the above riders don't get a chance to lead

MPFGLB wrote: »
    BTW Konig, Kennaugh, Poels , or Nieve have lead no stage races this year - (maybe the odd day race. Konig got a chance when Porte left the Giro )

At SKY its been all Froome, Porte , Thomas & Henao in that order... so even the above riders don't get a chance to lead

That's kinda grim. I though Konig and Poels had been brought in as race leaders for some of the lesser stage races...

Wasn't Kennaugh leader at the Tour of Switzerland?

That's kinda grim. I though Konig and Poels had been brought in as race leaders for some of the lesser stage races...

Wasn't Kennaugh leader at the Tour of Switzerland?

THomas & Henao were leaders at Switzerland

Roche , Konig & Poles were brought in to to support Froome in the Tour AFAIK.
    No mention of race leadership in stage races.

Henao was leader in the Ardennes ( excpt coleader with Nico at LBL).

And next year it will be

Froome, Thomas, Landa, Kwait & Henao in that order IMO

Its not a team about opportunities unless you are the very best which lets face it Froome, Porte have been all year

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

An excellent move for all parties I reckon. Dan needs a change of scenery after a frustrating time of it this season. The Garmin-Cannondale team hasn't really got started since the merger.

He effectively comes in to EQS as a direct replacement for Kwiatkowski; puncheur/finniseur for the Ardenne classics, Lombardia and stage-hunting in the grand tours.

Wonder how it will work with Allaphillipe who was 2nd this year in two of the races Dan Martin targets

They could've scratched together a grand Ardennes team to solely support Dan though and surely give him a guarantee to hunt stages in Giro or Vuelta. Maybe leadership in Catalunya. That + the bigger bucks should've been worth thinking about. From the start though it was certain sure Dan wouldn't join them. Just found it interesting.
    Maybe the answer is the last line of Lefevre's statement above - that Dan would really like to give gc in a GT a proper go. I'd like to see it meself but QS need to do more for him than they did for Uran and others before.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

They could've scratched together a grand Ardennes team to solely support Dan though and surely give him a guarantee to hunt stages in Giro or Vuelta. Maybe leadership in Catalunya. That + the bigger bucks should've been worth thinking about. From the start though it was certain sure Dan wouldn't join them. Just found it interesting.
    Maybe the answer is the last line of Lefevre's statement above - that Dan would really like to give gc in a GT a proper go. I'd like to see it meself but QS need to do more for him than they did for Uran and others before.

Probably depend on what happens with Cavendish. If he stays QS will be dual focused which I dont think works.

godtabh wrote: »
    Probably depend on what happens with Cavendish. If he stays QS will be dual focused which I dont think works.

Yeah probably, especially as he's on massive money there. I think Cav is a busted flush meself at this stage, maybe good for 1 more season.

Wonder how it will work with Allaphillipe who was 2nd this year in two of the races Dan Martin targets

From the The Bike Comes First story...
    Lefevere spoke to Het Nieuwsblad about the imminent signing, and feels that there are good opportunities for Martin to work well with Julian Alaphilippe.

“In the difficult hilly classics we had the departure of Kwiatkowski to Team Sky, which left a gap. Agreed, Julian Alaphilippe this year was second in Flèche Wallonne and second in Liège-Bastogne-Liège, but he did it again under the wings of Kwiatkowski,” said Lefevre.

“Julian is still only 23 years old. It would not be fair to him to have all that pressure to win next season. Along with Daniel Martin, he can form a lethal pair next year in the Ardennes, “said Lefevere.

Gazzetta saying Uran to Ride_Argyle next season

Swapsies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

It's been announced that Rein Taaramäe will move from Astana to Katusha for the 2016 season.

I'm not sure if that is a step in the right or wrong direction in terms of working for a dodgy team.

He's won the Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia, Vuelta a Burgos, and the Arctic Race of Norway this year.

He should have more opportunities to ride for GC with Katusha though.

Ryder Hejsedal to Trek it seems. The gutting of Garmin continues.

IS Pierre Rolland not going to Garmin ?
    Bet they sign another GC guy also as Talansky is not going too well

I must say Trek seem to like the older guys

IS Pierre Rolland not going to Garmin ?
    Bet they sign another GC guy also as Talansky is not going too well

Aye they'd definitely need another climber,Roland is good although not at a great level. Formolo and Dombrowski are promising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

I think it seems worse than it is tbh.Ok Dan & Ryder gone but Uran in & Rolland rumoured in.

With you guys like Dombroski who should develop and Talansky still there they still have some pretty decent talent on the roster tbf.

Theres a lot of Movistar guys yet to sign deals so add in Izagurrie or the likes and pretty good climbers to support Uran & Talansky in GTs

Aye they'd definitely need another climber,Roland is good although not at a great level. Formolo and Dombrowski are promising

Yes...but it will be a while till Formolo & Dombrowski will be at level to lead a GT

Wonder what is up with Talansky ...he has had bad luck but his form is also atrocious. Wondered if his head has dropped. Hope to see him up there helping Dan next week. I have yet to see that this year (though could have happened when I was not looking)

D3PO wrote: »
    I think it seems worse than it is tbh.Ok Dan & Ryder gone but Uran in & Rolland rumoured in.

With you guys like Dombroski who should develop and Talansky still there they still have some pretty decent talent on the roster tbf.

Theres a lot of Movistar guys yet to sign deals so add in Izagurrie or the likes and pretty good climbers to support Uran & Talansky in GTs

It's a lot of change though. The merging of Garmin-Sharp and Cannondale was a bit messy and the results show that the teams haven't gelled. Clearing out more of the top talent to bring in new guys is unlikely to settle the team.... So it could be another lean season next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

It's a lot of change though. The merging of Garmin-Sharp and Cannondale was a bit messy and the results show that the teams haven't gelled. Clearing out more of the top talent to bring in new guys is unlikely to settle the team.... So it could be another lean season next year...

True but then again 2016 cant be any worse than 2015 so why not roll the dice, they have to play the hands their dealt afterall. On paper however a team of Uran, Talansky & Rolland to lead the 3 GTs

With a lot of exciting young talent around them like Formolo, Bauer, Dombroski & Mullen

and a few seasoned domestiques and given a a year or two they could be one of the best squads out there.

D3PO wrote: »

It was rumoured both Izaguirres were off to sky. Get your point though, forgot about Uran.

If all these people are going to SKY surely some must be leaving SKY

Can't see any of the UK lads leave but wonder about Henao & Nieve as they didn't get to ride the Tour. And has anyone heard anything about Deignan