Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ring Of Kerry Charity Cycle 2016 - **no entry requests/offers**

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

As one of the people who did indeed end up in hospital during the event, the folks in Tralee A&E told me that last year they admitted 8 or 9 people [with what, 9k people doing it], and that the medical services magic number for this year was 10..below that would be good, and above that would make them unhappy and place an unfair burden on them [a HUGE part of an event like this getting a licence]

This year there were around 10 people operated on [me included], so the number admitted must be far higher, as I saw one older overweight gent who had heart issues for example, he did not have an operation - and 90% of people in A&E were cycle related when I was there, and I crashed at 65k odd - so only a 1/3 of way in..

So I was told by hospital folks they will be raising serious health and safety objections to the cycle at its current size, any expansion would be *insane*.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭YeahOK

ROK ON wrote: »
    If one considers an economic cost benefit analysis of the Ring of Kerry, then the amount raised for local charities has to be considered.
    In many cases this pays for the staff that work in the charities - I know that is the case for a charity that my nephew depends upon.
    The cycle is so well established that everyone down here of all ages is fully aware of it - almost everyone in Kerry knows someone who has ridden it. If there was a will for rolling road closures there would be a way.

This has to be huge;

Entry €80
    Accommodation €100-200
    Dinner 1 Night - €30
    Money Dropped in Shops etc on the route €20
    Misc Refreshment €40
    Total €310 X 7,000 (assuming not all did an overnight) €2.17M

Not a bad economic / charitable boost for a weekends work and figures are conservative I'd say....

• Registered Users Posts: 15,660 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

As one of the people who did indeed end up in hospital during the event, the folks in Tralee A&E told me that last year they admitted 8 or 9 people [with what, 9k people doing it], and that the medical services magic number for this year was 10..below that would be good, and above that would make them unhappy and place an unfair burden on them [a HUGE part of an event like this getting a licence]

This year there were around 10 people operated on [me included], so the number admitted must be far higher, as I saw one older overweight gent who had heart issues for example, he did not have an operation - and 90% of people in A&E were cycle related when I was there, and I crashed at 65k odd - so only a 1/3 of way in..

So I was told by hospital folks they will be raising serious health and safety objections to the cycle at its current size, any expansion would be *insane*.

Wow, hospital complain that too many people are turning up and their solution is to try to limit the event. Says it all about the health 'service' we have in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Páid

Could you put a clock on the start/finish line?

Hanging-Finish-Line-Clocks-3-176x176.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Wow, hospital complain that too many people are turning up and their solution is to try to limit the event. Says it all about the health 'service' we have in this country.
    They're hardly going to advocate building an expanded A&E to cater for one day a year, are they? The staff obvioulsy have concerns that if the ROK numbers increased, there's a chance someone might die due to their stretched services on the day.

They know when its on, they know in general terms the level of accidents. Simple case of plaaning for it.

My point was that our health service deems it unacceptable and would rather lodge a complaint to try to limit the event rather than delivering the service thats required.

We are talking 10/20 people not the d day landings

Anyway, OT, and nothing the ROK can do about so rant over

• Registered Users Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭Masala

Jaysus.... what would they do if they had to deal with a major incident. like a train derailment, or a school bus crash. 10 people stretched them......jesus wept (always wanted to use that phrase!!!)

The point is that a charity fundraising cycle should not impact them doing their jobs or need them to add extra staff or add significant expense to a health service already over capacity [be that right or wrong]

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

... add significant expense to a health service already over capacity...
    The same health service which actively promotes the benefits of cycling and other healthy activities!

The health costs associated with obesity would be many multiple times that of any sporting related activities.

(Motorcycle road races seem to continue unabated despite regular fatalities).

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭ustazjoseph

Páid wrote: »
    Could you put a clock on the start/finish line?

Hanging-Finish-Line-Clocks-3-176x176.jpg

Id hate this . Its not a race- the whole point is you finished, you "did the ring "
    check this guys writing on the subject. http://velocitylens.com/?p=239

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

The hospital concerns are the typical H&S reaction - they simply do not understand what acceptable risks are.

I would be interested in seeing a study of hospital admitted injuries from sportive and races:
    I would not be surprised at say 5% in a race and 1% in a sportif.
    These seem like reasonable figures but no idea if they are accurate.but it would suggest that you would expect circa 100 hospital admissions.

But for 11k participants then 10 people operated on is .09%.

By anyone's definition, if you enter an event and have a such a probability then I would be happy with that. Again if this hypothetical probability was normally distributed then a person would have one serious injury per 1100 events.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Páid

Id hate this . Its not a race- the whole point is you finished, you "did the ring "

A clock that tells the time, not a race clock. So that it's easier to find your self in the photos later.

A marathon isn't a race, well apart from the lead runners, but for the vast majority its an event.

But everyone wants to know what time they did it in. Why would cycling events be any different.

People have cycle computers, phones even things such as watches so the vast majority of people know the time they do it in. For those looking at time its something nice, for those only focused on 'doing the ROK' its a nice indicator.

It gives a sense of occasion, a sense of the event.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

I have done it 5 years in a row so maybe priority registration for 'regulars' as I plan to do every year for as long as I can.

There is a body of thinking among some marathon folks saying the opposite - why should some folks be allowed do it every year, and others not be allowed do it once / for the first time..[not sure what I feel about it, but worth thinking about]

Personally I would give every single place to charities, and have zero open registration - make it a 100% charity only event..if you want it, pick a charity and raise some money for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

YeahOK wrote: »
    This has to be huge;

Entry €80
    Accommodation €100-200
    Dinner 1 Night - €30
    Money Dropped in Shops etc on the route €20
    Misc Refreshment €40
    Total €310 X 7,000 (assuming not all did an overnight) €2.17M

Not a bad economic / charitable boost for a weekends work and figures are conservative I'd say....

Will be a lot more than this due to the multiplier effect. A lot of the charity funds raised pay salaries for specialists at the charity. The money spent along the way helps businesses pay staff. That money is then recycled in the economy.
    I'd say the benefit to Kerry is closer to €5m but it would make for an interesting study for someone seeking an undergraduate thesis.

Id hate this . Its not a race- the whole point is you finished, you "did the ring "...
    For many people completing the ROK is not a challenge, however improving their average speed may be. Those who adopt the "It's not a race" viewpoint are free to ignore the times if they so wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Anyone trying to improve their times other than casual improvement, has no business on the RoK Charity Cycle. Do it some other time, not when there's 11,000 odd cyclists of varying degree of ability/road craft/fitness weaving over and back. Or else head off pre 6am before the hordes hit the roads. The ones trying to improve their times are probably the ones complaining most about the numbers on the roads. I didnt see a whole lot of club trains this year, either they went earlier, or said "**** that, there's too many on the roads", and did it in personal capacity rather than a club ride.

What I love about the RoK is its that; cyclists of varying degree of ability/road craft/fitness all over the road for 170km; having chats with complete strangers from all over the country and afar; enjoying the scenery* rather than face down looking at the tyre in front of me.

Suggestions for improvement:

Close roads. Completely. From 6am-6pm rolling around the course. As far as i know the Temporary Roads Closing Regulations just require the Roads Authority (KCC) to notify the local Gardai and publish a notice per regs. the RA just has to "consider" the objections. The RoK has a lot more potential andshould be fully exploited. how much was lost to the local economy due to people not being able to get a ticket. And in fairness to the locals, I cant see them minding, they really get into it.

Unlimited Numbers: Let the market decide participation. Does it really make much of a difference whether there's 11000 or 15,000? People would allow for this in their starting times, a probably see a lot more starting earlier.

For health and safety concerns set up a triage tent or something on the side of the roads and in the local hospital and hire a few more staff. In fairness, its not Syria. Anyone needing a stitch can get sorted in a mobile clinic, save the hospitals for the serious cases like poor auld Vagabond.I'd imagine far more cases are brought in after some heavy drinking at some festival. A little bit of imagination from the HSE required.

Produce a fairly basic online training course in rudimentary bike handling/road awareness/calls and signals, free to participants.

Brack with a no-butter option! :D

*not as good as Cork though.

Anyone trying to improve their times other than casual improvement, has no business on the RoK Charity Cycle. Do it some other time, not when there's 11,000 odd cyclists of varying degree of ability/road craft/fitness weaving over and back....
    Aren't those who prefer to cycle faster also entitled to raise money for charities?

In my experience, those who cycle faster are generally more experienced and much safer, not weaving all over the road like you describe.

For the record, I never complained about the numbers on the road. I think it adds to the atmosphere. I managed to negotiate my way around them and still managed to average 30km/h+. I saw some pretty dangerous actions but didn't raise my voice to anyone or expect anyone to make room for me.

I don't understand the mentality which thinks that one can only enjoy something if doing it slowly. Each to their own I suppose.

I hope you all filled out your 2015 Ring of Kerry Charity Cycle Participant Survey

That's where your feedback really needs to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Aren't those who prefer to cycle faster also entitled to raise money for charities?

In my experience, those who cycle faster are generally more experienced and much safer, not weaving all over the road like you describe.

For the record, I never complained about the numbers on the road. I think it adds to the atmosphere. I managed to negotiate my way around them and still managed to average 30km/h+. I saw some pretty dangerous actions but didn't raise my voice to anyone or expect anyone to make room for me.

I don't understand the mentality which thinks that one can only enjoy something if doing it slowly. Each to their own I suppose.

they certainly are, but if you're aiming for the KOM descending Molls, maybe the RoK isn't the day to do it!
    You dont have to do it slowly, only safely.
    & true the faster cyclists are generally the safest, but you cant legislate for the muppet that's going to pull out in front of you trying to get his ham sandwich out of the arse pocket of his jeans. If you want to go around as fast as you can, I'm suggesting do it another day, or go at the crack of dawn and maybe start from Cahirciveen.

any news on the photos?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭touts

On their Facebook page they have announced that Registration opens NEXT Friday 11th December. This year it is registration in a lottery. You have 6 weeks to enter the lottery. Lottery tickets cost €10 and are limited to two per person. If you get drawn for a place then the €10 is deducted from your entry fee (no word on what they are setting it at). If you don't get drawn in the lottery they keep the €10.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

It says there, that minimum amount remains the same as last year, €85.

http://www.ringofkerrycycle.ie/announcements/2016-registration-date/

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Mattie500

touts wrote: »
    On their Facebook page they have announced that Registration opens NEXT Friday 11th December. This year it is registration in a lottery. You have 6 weeks to enter the lottery. Lottery tickets cost €10 and are limited to two per person. If you get drawn for a place then the €10 is deducted from your entry fee (no word on what they are setting it at). If you don't get drawn in the lottery they keep the €10.

€85 minimum, the €10 gets taken off the €85 if you are successful in getting a place. If you don't get a place then the €10 per person is not refunded. This last bit doesn't sit easy with me... is this the way with other big sportives (e.g prudential ride London).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

So you pay €20 to pre - register and if you're not drawn in the lottery it's non refundable. It is added to the final total given to the charities. I wonder are there limits to the number of times you can enter the lottery? And what about going directly with the charities, it seems that's done away with this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭onmebike

I'm a bit disappointed with this approach. I was planning to do this next year - for the first time in several years.
    First of all, the lottery aspect means that I may not get to it, regardless of endeavours that I would have made to do my best to get in early.
    Secondly, this idea of a non-refundable 'lottery ticket' doesn't sit well with me.
    I want to do the ROK primarily to do the cycle on the day and experience everything that goes with the day. I'm very happy to give a bunch of money to charity, but that (personally) is secondary. I don't like the idea of having to pay to be in with a chance of participating.
    There are some strongly worded comments on their Facebook page and I can see them alienating people with this approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,956 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Going to loose a lot of group cyclists which from what i saw last year was the main bulk of the riders. The €10 non refundable stinks of greed. This is no longer for charity this is about fleecing people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭Masala

I don't know if they will get the 11000 as per last year

Alot of people will not join in thus lottery system.. So does that mean everyone will get in then????? I gave €150 to my charity last year... So maybe joining a lottery and paying €85 will be better for me in 2016

Will the charities get an allocation next year as well????

Oohs... I'm confused now!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Masala wrote: »
    I don't know if they will get the 11000 as per last year

Alot of people will not join in thus lottery system.. So does that mean everyone will get in then????? I gave €150 to my charity last year... So maybe joining a lottery and paying €85 will be better for me in 2016

Will the charities get an allocation next year as well????

Oohs... I'm confused now!!!!!!!!

Same here, there's more questions than answers in tonight's statement, a previous poster mentioned clubs/groups. If only a few are picked in the lottery will they participate?:confused: