Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish anti-Islamic group protests mosque in Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

But i've seen him repeat this same line about a hundred times when someone dares mention the term politically correct. An actual term used in numerous debates and it thinks it's coming across as intelligent by claiming "pc doesn't exist". Bizarre. Infantile and downright embarrassing.

Political correctness is very real, and in 90% of cases complete bolloccks, I'll grant you that, but again, it's a term that few people seem to know the actual meaning of, and just fire out when things aren't going their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,243 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

How many times are you gonna repeat this brain dead response when opportunity presents itself ??

as many times as it takes until the people get the message that these groups/terms don't exist.
    Everyone else seems to be aware of its meaning bar you of course.

i know what it means. its a simple buzz term used as part of little victim rants. usually to be derogatory toards those who cannot and will not be bullied into conforming with bigoted, racist, or other backward views.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

as many times as it takes until the people get the message that these groups/terms don't exist.

When are you going to get the message that if a term is used so widespread, that it obviously does exist ? and that claiming the opposite for the sake of being antagonistic and stubborn looks utterly, utterly moronic ?
    I know what it means. its a simple buzz term used as part of little victim rants. usually to be derogatory toards those who cannot and will not be bullied into conforming with bigoted, racist, or other backward views.

No way is it meant to be derogatory ?? Well done. Your default to accusations of bigotry and waycism just reinforces that sanctimonious caricature. Go on. Explain to us how "pc doesn't exist". Can't wait to hear this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

conorhal wrote: »
    We have a (horrendously lax) system to naturalse migrants, 30,000 this year, 60,000 last year.
    If you've been here for 18yrs and not bothered to apply then you are either not interested in becoming a citizen, lazy or you shouldn't be here.

Not everyone has the means or access to €950 plus the application fees. I understand that it's a nice little earner for the state, but tbh, I don't think we should be charging "naturalisation fees". Charge an application fee so people don't just throw one in hoping for the best, but if you're successful, then welcome aboard.

It should not be a way for the state to accumulate cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

When i went onto this crowds facebook page, I notice that Cllr Kieran McCarthy from Cork who was recently in the papers after being expelled from Sinn Féin has liked their page (i can see as hes my fbook friend). Strange page for any sensible politician to be following.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I for one welcome our new foreign overlords.

Worry not, Kerry people don't feel the need to conquer us. The occasional burning and pillaging of Cork keeps them content.

HoggyRS wrote: »
    When i went onto this crowds facebook page, I notice that Cllr Kieran McCarthy from Cork who was recently in the papers after being expelled from Sinn Féin has liked their page (i can see as hes my fbook friend). Strange page for any sensible politician to be following.

Might want to mention it to him.

Nodin wrote: »
    .......that one passed so far over my head I think its actually about to enter orbit....

How you feel when you play! I mentioned Colm Cooper. What I meant was that if they settle down in Tralee and start acting the native, then peoples concerns will diminish.

Love it or hate it, I think the GAA is the best thing we have for integrating newcomers. Very difficult to hate people when the lad on your team is from out foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,265 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

One quarter of all kids born here are to non Irish mams. This is facts.

Better than being born to imams wha

But once they're born outside Dublin, they'll all be a shower of mullahs anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Just looked into who these guys are and it's all very amusing albeit a worrying trend these days.

They say they're against Islam and Sharia Law etc, but seem to want to introduce laws that mirror it.

My name is URL is giving free lessons in both straw man and ad hominem arguments it seems!

Is this thread a reflection of a genuine concern for this group that noone has heard of, or is it a flimsy way of saying that people who are against Sharia Law are part of a "worrying trend"?

Some people might say that people who generalise are 82% more likely to be devil worshipers.

Worry not, Kerry people don't feel the need to conquer us. The occasional burning and pillaging of Cork keeps them content.

I know that, sure I've Kerry blood myself. I'll never be accepted as a true, pure blooded Corkman.
    How you feel when you play! I mentioned Colm Cooper. What I meant was that if they settle down in Tralee and start acting the native, then peoples concerns will diminish.

Love it or hate it, I think the GAA is the best thing we have for integrating newcomers. Very difficult to hate people when the lad on your team is from out foreign.

Absolutely. I've heard plenty tales of people acting the **** to foreign people in the GAA, but as far as I know it is getting better. I hope they're making the effort to keep it welcoming anyway, it'd be a shame if it got a bad reputation due to a few pricks, because as you said, it's one of the best things going in terms of integrating people. As a bonus, it's (mostly) apolitical these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It's SJW nonsence in it's purest form, They cannot see the disconnect. They seem to think Moving to the west Is a cure for ones murderous blood lust towards infidels. Moderate Muslims are fine, I'm talking ISIS for example.

Even a moderate muslim is extremely homophobic...

sjw. another mythical nonsense term

Haha , oh they exist..have you ever used the site tumblr?
    Go look up kylie jenner hairstyle - cultural appropriation and then come back and tell me SJW's don't exist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

its not a real term. these "brigades" don't exist

They in fact organised into platoons.

http://news.sky.com/story/1521265/saudi-arabia-arrests-431-is-suspects

431 of those goons going away, hopefully for a long time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

wakka12 wrote: »

Is that not just self policing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Not everyone has the means or access to €950 plus the application fees. I understand that it's a nice little earner for the state, but tbh, I don't think we should be charging "naturalisation fees". Charge an application fee so people don't just throw one in hoping for the best, but if you're successful, then welcome aboard.

It should not be a way for the state to accumulate cash.

I'm not paying nearly 1k to change my passport. I'm an EU citizen so have no reason to.

Even a moderate muslim is extremely homophobic...

So are a large number of Christians. But that does not keep me awake at night either.

Um no, people always try to defend muslim bigotry by comparing it to Christians. Gay marriage is legal in a large number of Christian countries, and homosexuality is perfectly normal and legal in almost every christian country bar say Russia. While in almost every muslim country homosexuality is completely unacceptable and punishable by death in some!And muslims don't give two ****s about that

SO really trying to make a case that Christians are as bigoted towards homosexuals as muslims are is complete liberal bull****

Um no, people always try to defend muslim bigotry by comparing it to Christians. Gay marriage is legal in a large number of Christian countries, and homosexuality is perfectly normal and legal in almost every christian country bar say Russia. While in almost every muslim country homosexuality is completely unacceptable and punishable by death in some!And muslims don't give two ****s about that

SO really trying to make a case that Christians are as bigoted towards homosexuals as muslims are is complete liberal bull****

What were the stats on SSM here ?

And your point? In turkey, the most secular and liberal muslim majority country a whopping 2-3% of turks were in favour of gay marriage. That means that even a large number of gay turkish people are against gay rights

And that has what to do with gobshites protesting against a mosque in Kerry?

I just don't approve of a group of people who don't believe in equality setting up mosques in a liberal country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

I just don't approve of a group of people who don't believe in equality setting up mosques in a liberal country

Well, using the same logic, the vast majority of christian churches (if not all) in this country should be shut down. Now that would be a leap forward into a new liberal world.

galljga1 wrote: »
    Well, using the same logic, the vast majority of christian churches (if not all) in this country should be shut down. Now that would be a leap forward into a new liberal world.

It would! I agree whole heartedly, lets focus on making that our goal rather than letting an even more oppressive religion set up base here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

It's gunna be head chopping time.

Haha , oh they exist..have you ever used the site tumblr?
    Go look up kylie jenner hairstyle - cultural appropriation and then come back and tell me SJW's don't exist

Have you ever actually used tumblr?

It's like 80% porn. I have no idea how the site got such a reputation, because the super-pc weirdos make up about 1%, if even, and they're not even a visible minority.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

2% of Turkey's population are homosexual, they must have been the only ones in favour.

How will they effect the law here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,265 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

old_aussie wrote: »
    It's gunna be head chopping time.

Is this good beheading or bad beheading?

Jaysus help ye if ye come across some of the pentacostals or the 'wee frees'.
    wakka12 wrote:
    It would! I agree whole heartedly, lets focus on making that our goal rather
    than letting an even more oppressive religion set up base here

Banning religion doesn't work, and is as an arseways idea as making its beliefs mandatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

But i've seen him repeat this same line about a hundred times when someone dares mention the term politically correct. An actual term used in numerous debates and it thinks it's coming across as intelligent by claiming "pc doesn't exist". Bizarre. Infantile and downright embarrassing.
    Look, I've seen someone refer to a f***ing car on here as "pc" because they didn't like it, and I'm not even talking about a smart car or anything like that. I mean a standard f***ing car. :pac:

Billy86 wrote: »
    Look, I've seen someone refer to a f***ing car on here as "pc" because they didn't like it, and I'm not even talking about a smart car or anything like that. I mean a standard f***ing car. :pac:

SJW and Pc are real terms one should just accept it.

I didn't say they were not real terms, the problem on AH is that an awful lot of people who use the term simply do not seem to know what it means.

Billy86 wrote: »
    I didn't say they were not real terms, the problem on AH is that an awful lot of people who use the term simply do not seem to know what it means.

I would wager there are more on AH that Are SJW's/Pc than people incorrectly using the terms.

I would disagree, unless you consider anyone without a strict "not my problem, f*** 'em!" attitude to... well... everything to be an SJW. As for PC, again it something that would be borderline impossible to prove either way, but when you have people using it to describe cars...

On the other hand though, if it wasn't for SJWs or 'PC liberal blahblahblah' we would still be living in similar social conditions to those from over a hundred years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,118 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

One quarter of all kids born here are to non Irish mams. This is facts.

How does that prove that "At some undefined point in the future that the entirety of Europe, America, Australia and New Zealand will be populated entirely by black and Asian people."?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

How does that prove that "At some undefined point in the future that the entirety of Europe, America, Australia and New Zealand will be populated entirely by black and Asian people."?

It wont we are all mixed race pretty much anyway. Sure a lot of us In the west can be linked to Genghis khan is it not 1-200 or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,118 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It wont we are all mixed race pretty much anyway. Sure a lot of us In the west can be linked to Genghis khan is it not 1-200 or something.

I know it doesn't. It's just that Wakka and Richard keep asserting this nonsense with no basis.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Have to say, there's a frightening amount of horseshìt being posted in this thread.

While we're on the subject, 1-in-2 of my family are descended from the goddess Venus, 80% of gay Turks are clearly smarter than Western gays as they oppose SSM, being gay is punishable by beheading outside the EU, the Irish are racially diverse, and Political Correctness, a system of coerced social engineering that first arose in the 1990's, is liberal.

That people here are democratically enfranchised is way more frightening than Islam, TBH. If they took the warning labels off products, this thread would have five posts.

Have to say, there's a frightening amount of horseshìt being posted in this thread.

While we're on the subject, 1-in-2 of my family are descended from the goddess Venus, 80% of gay Turks are clearly smarter than Western gays as they oppose SSM, being gay is punishable by beheading outside the EU, the Irish are racially diverse, and Political Correctness, a system of coerced social engineering that first arose in the 1990's, is liberal.

That people here are democratically enfranchised is way more frightening than Islam, TBH. If they took the warning labels off products, this thread would have five posts.

That's made my Saturday. Thread warning should read "May contain Nuts"

Gay marriage is legal in a large number of Christian countries, and homosexuality is perfectly normal and legal in almost every christian country bar say Russia.
    Good job leaving out the fact that there over over THIRTY countries where Christianity is the biggest religion and homosexuality is illegal. If you take out the 'western/developed' world countries (Europe, Canada, the USA, Australia, New Zealand), homosexuality is illegal in approximately 1-in-3 Christian countries.

LGBT rights and lack thereof have an awful, awful lot more than "Bible vs. Qur'an vs other texts" to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Can someone link me a glossary? I'm getting lost in acronyms.

its not liberal anything of the sort. the majority of muslim countries are ran by dictators or nutjob governments who would slaughter anyone in their country for questioning their authority. still doesn't change the fact a number of christians are bigoted and homophobic though

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

we should close the churches then. or, you could get over it and worry about your own life rather then things that don't actually effect you

Jaysus help ye if ye come across some of the pentacostals or the 'wee frees'.

Banning religion doesn't work, and is as an arseways idea as making its beliefs mandatory.

Yeah, totally, may as well invite even more followers of an even more oppressive religion set up mosques here.

we should close the churches then. or, you could get over it and worry about your own life rather then things that don't actually effect you

A religion supported by extremely homophobic followers which is growing in prominence in Ireland will have an effect on my life as a gay man actually.

Yeah, totally, may as well invite even more followers of an even more oppressive religion set up mosques here.

That doesn't answer the main points raised, however. In a secular state, they can believe what they want, you can believe what you want.

Wakka, I would appreciate it if you could get back to explaining how all Christian countries (apart from Russia) are completely fine with homosexuality, despite it being illegal in over 30 countries where Christianity is the biggest religion, and roughly one-in-three countries classifying it as illegal once you exclude Europe/USA/Canada/Australia/NZ.