Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Helicopter accident in Longford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Xpro wrote: »
    Not really, infact it was an experienced older pilot that was flying the chopper, and it's just so hard to think why would one put themselves in that position.

Ego, 2 big egos.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Where is the tail gone in the Canal?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Not really, infact it was an experienced older pilot that was flying the chopper, and it's just so hard to think why would one put themselves in that position.

We can all have an off day I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭duskyjoe

Me thinks the regulatory authorities are going to be mighty p!$$ed off after watching the vid of the pre accident manoeuvres (antics). If the craft wasn't suffering any mechanic issues or the pilot medical issues it looked shambolic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭54and56

RustyNut wrote: »
    We can all have an off day I suppose.

That's not a day off and no, you can't afford to have a day off when you're piloting a helicopter. You're either competent and employing good decision making or not and if not don't fly.

I'm betting this guy was pi$$ed. He'd had a few at home or elsewhere and thought he'd impress his pal and it would make a great story if he flew down to the pub for a few more.

I can't see any mitigating circumstances here. It's not like he was attempting some form of rescue or emergency landing and it's not like he misjudged and crashed on the first attempt, no, he misjudged several times and kept going at it.

Bye bye licence at a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

here UTV with similar footage and eyewitness of the helicopter hovering before crash http://utv.ie/News/2015/07/16/Helicopter-crash-tore-hole-in-Longford-pub-41111
    you wonder if anyone called the police before he crashed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

What the hell was he at trying to put that down at that location even from my very untrained eye I could see that's not a good idea!

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/couples-near-miss-as-helicopter-crashes-into-pub-in-county-longford-31382111.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
    Both men, one of whom is an experienced acrobatic pilot, walked away from the mangled wreckage with only minor injuries.

cocky?

this not linked before another angle of its attempt to land and hit http://www.longfordleader.ie/news/local-news/exclusive-footage-of-abbeyshrule-helicopter-crash-the-smell-of-fuel-was-so-strong-you-could-taste-it-1-6853789 via longfordleader

think those people should have run for cover

Ed Carty ‏@EdCartyPA https://twitter.com/EdCartyPA/status/621749222296154116

Man in 60s arrested in Dublin Airport over helicopter crash at Rustic Inn, Abbeyshrule Longford. Pub owners in clip.

he thought he could leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Irish Examiner has more detail and names one of the men involved http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/longford-helicopter-crash-pilot-arrested-at-dublin-airport-686879.html

"the second man on board"

also another even more clear angle helicopter blades htting the building

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭FWVT

I would love to know what the gobshíte was landing at the pub for in the first place with just 45 mins of vfr left.

FWVT wrote: »
    I would love to know what the gobshíte was landing at the pub for in the first place with just 45 mins of vfr left.

Interesting to see pub owners knew nothing about the heli and were investigating the noise when it crashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭FWVT

Interesting to see pub owners knew nothing about the heli and were investigating the noise when it crashed.

Yes, so no landing permission was sought either. Athlone shopping centre springs to mind.

Oooh they're really going to throw the book at this guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Negative_G

While I'm generally sceptical about making assumptions prior to a report being issued I think there is enough evidence here to suggest the pilot(s) were incredibly stupid and grossly negligent in their actions.

Ultimately, a perfectly serviceable aircraft has been destroyed and luckily there was no loss of life to anyone that was in the aircraft or on the ground.

I made a comment in the air show thread about certain pilots displays which, in my opinion, crossed the line of safety.

The fact that there was, as the article says and others have alluded to, 'a very experienced pilot' on board who is well known in GA circles, does not bode well.

I'll reserve final judgment until the report comes out but whoever was responsible deserves to have the book thrown at them to discourage this kind of cowboy behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 planning12

Dave Burton was the passenger, wonder will he still display his Sbach in bray at the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Xpro

Lads no need to point fingers. Best let AAIU do that.

DB is not a helicopter pilot first of all nor was he flying the chopper, and we've all seen some amazing heli landings and we do not know what happened on board of that helicopter.

Speculations again, but as far as we know DB might have tought with all the heli hours and experience the pilot had, that he was a hero. ( obviously not)

Things clearly worked out different then planned and I'm sure pilots intention was not to mill the thing into the pub, and he'll be paying for it thats for sure.

Luckily there was no fatalities in first place, and once again this is one hell of a lesson for all pilots out there.

Also the owner of the pub is also the owner of Abbeyshrule airfield.

What does he own?

Rustic Inn and Abbeyshrule Airfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭xt40

Nice try at defending the passenger, however.
    As any kind of pilot he would be aware of the rules about proximity to structures, people and vessels- 500 ft I believe .
    As a local I presume he would know the area and how tight and dangerous that spot is.
    As a local he would be aware of the trouble the guy that landed on a shopping centre in athlone got into.
    I googled him and found a video on the indo site of him doing aeros over bray in a t shirt and shorts and a headset - not a helmet. He was also carrying a passenger in short sleeves. That says a lot about him.
    Unless he was tied up and gagged, I would say he was as responsible as the guy with his hands on the stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I wouldn't land a toy helicopter in that space he tried to.

What a fool.

Thank jebus nobody was killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭jimbis

xt40 wrote: »
    As any kind of pilot he would be aware of the rules about proximity to structures, people and vessels- 500 ft I believe .
    As a local I presume he would know the area and how tight and dangerous that spot is.
    As a local he would be aware of the trouble the guy that landed on a shopping centre in athlone got into.
    I googled him and found a video on the indo site of him doing aeros over bray in a t shirt and shorts and a headset - not a helmet. He was also carrying a passenger in short sleeves. That says a lot about him.
    Unless he was tied up and gagged, I would say he was as responsible as the guy with his hands on the stick.

In the past I might've agreed with you but after been put in a similar situation there's not much a passenger can do bar grab the controls which will also end in disaster.
    I was in my friends car going through the Wicklow gap which I know well but it was his first time, he was trying to be the hero driver in his Evo and no pleading and screaming at him that there was a sharp turn onto a bridge coming up would slow him down..... We ended up on the roof inches from a river and I spent 3 days in hospital while he walked away.
    Different situations but similar enough...

This was not a defence type of post but rather then speculating and miss informing others, lets leave it to the Investigation unit.

Im aware that the rules were broken, and things went horrible wrong, but there's no need for someone saying what the passenger should have done.

I'm baffled aswell, but I wont be forming any conclusions yet.

Simply we don't know the sequence of the events and let officials make the conclusion.

Aswell, by you googling about him, you were misinformed again. Judging someone by saying he didn't wear a helmet and his passenger was wearing shorts, whats that go to do with anything, and especially you forming your opinion based on something thats not even a requirement for aerobatic flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Aerohead

Thank God they came out alive , was he displaying at Bray this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I'm sure pilots intention was not to mill the thing into the pub

Doesn't matter. People who go joyriding don't intentionally go out to kill others or themselves, but due to their incredibly stupid decisions it happens. What happened in this incident was the result of an incredibly stupid bit of bravado, or whatever, by the pilot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

DB is not a helicopter pilot first of all nor was he flying the chopper, and we've all seen some amazing heli landings and we do not know what happened on board of that helicopter.

Speculations again, but as far as we know DB might have tought with all the heli hours and experience the pilot had, that he was a hero. ( obviously not)

Things clearly worked out different then planned and I'm sure pilots intention was not to mill the thing into the pub, and he'll be paying for it thats for sure.

Luckily there was no fatalities in first place, and once again this is one hell of a lesson for all pilots out there.

All the heli hours and experience/heroism in the world doesn't give someone the right to put the general population at risk unnecessarily. Are Formula 1 drivers allowed do 170MPH on a public motorway?

There should never have been an accident, I cannot fathom the stupidity in what was attempted here. The guys lucky he didn't murder someone or kill himself and his passenger.

And you think this should be a lesson for pilots? I would have thought all trained pilots would know where is safe and obviously not safe to land an aircraft. I'll have lost all faith in the aviation industry if a single pilot learns something from this video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭air

Heli pilot was on a flight to the IOM which was on the runway when it was brought back to the gate where it was boarded by a Garda apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭pepe the prawn

Both pilot and passenger should have had the cop on to know that what they were doing was irresponsible and extremely dangerous. They could have killed themselves and people on the ground, it's nothing short of a miracle that no one was seriously injured.

As for the passenger having no control over the situation, I don't really agree with that. He should have said to the pilot "what you are doing is mental, you need to return to the airfield, land this thing, and get out and clear your head and re evaluate things before flying again". I've been in aircrafts on thankfully only a few occasions where I had to intervene and tell the pilot in command that they need to calm it down a bit or wake up. If I'm in the cockpit and see something I don't like I'll tell them straight out, I'm going to do everything in my power to prevent some daredevil from prematurely ending my life or the lives of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

He was also carrying a passenger in short sleeves. That says a lot about him.

My lord, short sleeves in a helicopter?! WHAT MADNESS IS THIS?!?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Never go full retard.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

As a matter of interest, if the accident didn't happen and the initial video of manoeuvring for the few minutes beforehand was sent to the relevant body, would it have led to anything?

My lord, short sleeves in a helicopter?! WHAT MADNESS IS THIS?!?!!

Not short sleeves in a helicopter, doing serious aerobatics in a fixed wing over bray. Why do you think military pilots wear nomex flight suits , gloves and helmets, to look like tom cruise. Google the guinea pig club to see what happens to exposed body parts in aircraft crashes.
    Legal requirement or not, wearing inappropriate clothes and permitting a passenger to do so, shows a poor attitude to safety.

delly wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, if the accident didn't happen and the initial video of manoeuvring for the few minutes beforehand was sent to the relevant body, would it have led to anything?

Most definitely

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://connachttribune.ie/pilot-fined-for-flying-dangerously-over-ballinasloe-fair/&ved=0CBsQFjAAahUKEwjCjcrl6ODGAhXCshQKHb8yB4o&usg=AFQjCNE93v6CAlFhZMil5zaZX5pfVIMjOQ&sig2=0fZSrd2Ho_3Ubcqe0Ir8IA

Read that and make your own mind up.
    There is also a question mark over whether that particular helo was legally allowed to fly in this country. Apparently as an uncertified ex mil type it is operated on a thing called permit to fly (ref. pprune) which has restrictions on how and where it can be flown - vfr only and only over UK airspace unless permission from the country where you want to fly it is pre-obtained.

Most definitely

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://connachttribune.ie/pilot-fined-for-flying-dangerously-over-ballinasloe-fair/&ved=0CBsQFjAAahUKEwjCjcrl6ODGAhXCshQKHb8yB4o&usg=AFQjCNE93v6CAlFhZMil5zaZX5pfVIMjOQ&sig2=0fZSrd2Ho_3Ubcqe0Ir8IA

Read that and make your own mind up.
    There is also a question mark over whether that particular helo was legally allowed to fly in this country. Apparently as an uncertified ex mil type it is operated on a thing called permit to fly (ref. pprune) which has restrictions on how and where it can be flown - vfr only and only over UK airspace unless permission from the country where you want to fly it is pre-obtained.
    He had a permit for another month it said in one of the Articles somewhere........here.
    It was built in 1973 and the owner had a permit to fly which was due to expire next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Man in his 60's arrested...
    A man has been arrested by gardaí investigating a crash landing of a helicopter in Longford last night.

It is understood the man in his 60s was detained at Dublin Airport this evening. He is now being questioned by detectives at Longford Garda station.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0716/715175-helicopter-abbeyshrule/

He had a permit for another month it said in one of the Articles somewhere........here.

They get renewed like an nct . it doesn't mean he had an exemption to fly it in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭breanach78

Point fingers? Pilot or not any one can clearly see it's highly irresponsible flying. And to have failed attempts and try again. From one of the last vids shown its lucky many innocent fatalities did not result it this. I point the finger at the pilot and IMO he should face jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭breanach78

air wrote: »
    Heli pilot was on a flight to the IOM which was on the runway when it was brought back to the gate where it was boarded by a Garda apparently.

More stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭arubex

Legal requirement or not, wearing inappropriate clothes and permitting a passenger to do so, shows a poor attitude to safety.

Bare arms is a damn sight safer in a crash than the nylon-blend clothing that airline crews wear head-to-toe. Google HMS Sheffield from the Falklands if you want to see what that does to skin in a fire.

I'm not making an argument against your point, just stating that poor clothing choices are common in the aviation industry and the risks are generally ignored in favour of aesthetics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 boredbaby

Here's a link to a recent video of the aircraft and perhaps(?) the pilot involved....

http://www.itv.com/news/border/update/2013-05-22/its-been-the-best-birthday-ever/

IMO...he certainly seems to lack finesse in his handling of this helicopter!

Hope he is appropriately punished/reprimanded for his recklessness in this situation.

Then again...the guy who had a very similar accident in Bettystown in an S76 a few years ago subsequently managed to secure himself a job with a large offshore helicopter operator (despite having been convicted of reckless endangerment).

boredbaby wrote: »
    Here's a link to a recent video of the aircraft and pilot involved....

http://www.itv.com/news/border/update/2013-05-22/its-been-the-best-birthday-ever/

from caa.co.uk

CAA is therefore acting to remind the owner/operators of ex-military aircraft that their permits to fly do not permit the carriage of passengers in return for any type of payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Wheelsonthebus

breanach78 wrote: »
    Highly irresponsible flying, more so with the few attempts at landing. Lucky he did not kill anyone as a landing chopper usually attracts a crowd.

Vid is crash here,

VIDEO: Dramatic footage of helicopter crash on banks of Royal Canal http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/video-dramatic-footage-of-helicopter-crash-on-banks-of-royal-canal-31381424.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

FWVT wrote: »

You can still fly after vfr time.

It does look bad for DB and I can actually see some pi**taking coming his way.

I can see jimbis point about how sometimes there is nothing you can do as passenger, but surely if someone with huge amount of experience says stop then only fools refuse to listen.
    And even if DB is not heli pilot I bet he has flown in them a good few times and someone with his experience has to have a very good judgement.
    All the heli hours and experience/heroism in the world doesn't give someone the right to put the general population at risk unnecessarily. Are Formula 1 drivers allowed do 170MPH on a public motorway?

ehhh actualkly more than a few racing drivers have been caught doing speeds in that region.
    Hill, Prost, Villeneuve Snr, to name some of the older guys have all been caught doing high speeds, sometimes in quiet ordinary cars.
    from caa.co.uk

CAA is therefore acting to remind the owner/operators of ex-military aircraft that their permits to fly do not permit the carriage of passengers in return for any type of payment.

Hang on you are stretching things.
    I don't think anyone has said this guy was performing commerical work.
    Did it say he was paid and was he flying DB for money ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

boredbaby wrote: »
    Here's a link to a recent video of the aircraft and pilot involved....

IMO...he certainly seems to lack finesse in his handling of this helicopter!

Hope he is appropriately punished/reprimanded for his recklessness in this situation.

Then again...the guy who had a very similar accident in Bettystown in an S76 a few years ago subsequently managed to secure himself a job with a large offshore helicopter operator (despite having been convicted of reckless endangerment).

What makes you think that this was the pilot involved in the crash? Unless I'm mistaken the pilot in that video is a Scottish ex Rally Car champion and the previous owner of the heli (which is now owned by an IOM company since 11/08/2014 ).

Also, regarding previous posters point on DB's aerobatic display attire ...I don't think I've ever seen a civilian aerobatic pilot wearing full nomex flight suit,gloves and helmet during a display in Ireland.

Edit: The firm who own the helicopter are involved in organising Motorsport events. There is an upcoming drag race event at EIAB in the coming months so it is feasible that this is why the heli was in Abbeyshrule.

jmayo wrote: »
    You can still fly after vfr time.

It does look bad for DB and I can actually see some pi**taking coming his way.

I can see jimbis point about how sometimes there is nothing you can do as passenger, but surely if someone with huge amount of experience says stop then only fools refuse to listen.
    And even if DB is not heli pilot I bet he has flown in them a good few times and someone with his experience has to have a very good judgement.

ehhh actualkly more than a few racing drivers have been caught doing speeds in that region.
    Hill, Prost, Villeneuve Snr, to name some of the older guys have all been caught doing high speeds, sometimes in quiet ordinary cars.

Hang on you are stretching things.
    I don't think anyone has said this guy was performing commerical work.
    Did it say he was paid and was he flying DB for money ?

i wasnt referring to the crash flight, rather the itv clip where he is bringing the 98 year old granny for a spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

Man arrested apparently released without charge (Source: Radio).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

V_Moth wrote: »
    Man arrested apparently released without charge (Source: Radio).

File to the dpp however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

i wasnt referring to the crash flight, rather the itv clip where he is bringing the 98 year old granny for a spin.

And did it say the pilot did that for money ?
    Actually other poster makes valid point that he probably wasn't the guy that flew the old lady in Scotland.

boredbaby dragged that story into this discussion and had a pop at pilot's ability and you immediately jumped on it claiming he was flying commerically thus in breach of the certifcation on the heli.

You might as well write for one of the tabloids who have described DB as a stunt man.

Anyways just becase the pilot in Scotland, whoever they were, took a little old lady for a flight doesn't necessarily mean they did it for money or the equivalent of money.

I know commerical pilots with commerical operations who have taken old people on flights as a freebie or a favour for someone.

The amount of conclusions and presumptions that are jumped at around here. :(

I am not allowed discuss …