Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Kittens in shed

• 16-07-2015 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭

The usual story folks. Yesterday I discovered a cat had 4 kittens in my shed. Im currently trying to trace the owner. The problem is I have had to keep my dog locked up in his dog run since the discovery.

If I cannot find the cat owner who do you recommend I call. Its very important that this does not cost me anything.

Kittens look to be 1 week old. Mother seems tame as I can pet her but she will hiss if the kittens are approached.

I need this sorted asap as im back in work tomorrow and cannot leave my dog locked up.

Im in the midlands area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

The usual story folks. Yesterday I discovered a cat had 4 kittens in my shed. Im currently trying to trace the owner. The problem is I have had to keep my dog locked up in his dog run since the discovery.

If I cannot find the cat owner who do you recommend I call. Its very important that this does not cost me anything.

Kittens look to be 1 week old. Mother seems tame as I can pet her but she will hiss if the kittens are approached.

I need this sorted asap as im back in work tomorrow and cannot leave my dog locked up.

Im in the midlands area

google your local rescue centre, call them and explain the situation?

Although I suspect they are jammed packed with kittens as its kitten season at present - they may be able to advise you further

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭craic_dealer

Well I'd say take a picture of the mother and knock around to your neighbours' houses to see if they're missing a cat, if you haven't already. Even if they don't own it, they might have seen her around and point you in the right direction.

Maybe a neighbour will offer to take your dog out for a run while you're in work.

If that doesn't work, the <snip> site has some advice at <snip>
    If you cannot keep the animal in your home:

If it is a dog please bring him to the local pound or ring your local animal shelter to see if they have room to take the dog in.
    If the pound or animal shelter is closed you can bring the dog to your local Garda station. The Gardai can then ring the emergency Dog Warden.

If it is a cat or other animal please bring them to your local animal shelter. Ring them first to see do they have room for them. Please keep the animal overnight if the animal shelter is closed and ring them in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I have had no joy. I have emailed the <snip> and hopefully they will have a quick response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

I have had no joy. I have emailed the <snip> and hopefully they will have a quick response.

Honestly they are far too busy .. They get 100's regarding neglect a day... You'll be lucky if they get back to you

A phone call would be helpful for the cat and her kittens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Are you near Athlone? There is a cat sanctuary there. It's very small and usually full this time of year though. Did you try the <snip> in Keenagh?

Whats the place near athlone? Ill try Keenagh tomorrow.

I'll PM you because i'm not sure about the rules of naming specific charities here, I'm probably being over cautious:-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

I'll PM you because i'm not sure about the rules of naming specific charities here, I'm probably being over cautious:-)
    Nope the rules are actually very clear; no charities can be mentioned for any reason in a thread (thanks hand bags at dawn charities for malign that rule happen!)
    Charter wrote:
    No recommendations, links to, or discussion of the activities of individual rescues. - By PM only.

Cats often have their kittens in private places where they wont be bothered by the people that they are otherwise tame to. I understand your problem here that you can't keep your dog locked in while this cat decides to raise her kittens in your dog's space. Might sound insane, but can you place the kittens in a box, up high in your shed, and let the dog and mother cat work it out themselves? She might take the kittens somewhere else if she doesn't like it. Sorry you haven't been able to find the owners. Any owner who allows their female to get pregnant, then go off and have their kittens somewhere else, possibly wont care much anyway. I understand this happens because young females often get pregnant before they can be neutered but letting her go out and have her kittens elsewhere is irresponsible.

Barring you have luck with a local charity or kind soul, that's the best I can advise. I'd help you out myself if I really could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

Does the shed have a door?

Thanks budgese. I have decided if I get no joy from a rescue tomorrow I'll relocate the kittens to my concrete shed where the dog has no access but the mother can cone and go as she pleases. As soon as the kittens are able to feed themselves I'll ring a rescue to take them. I'll then board up my wooden shed so history does not repeat itself.

My German shep barks like crazy when a cat is on the back wall so I'm shocked the cat thought it would be safe t nest in my shed. My shed went from having one missing panel to missing 10 due to the dog sniffing the cat out.

One last point. I'm very disapointed the co council has no clear information on what to do in this situation. I'm also supprised the local vet didn't offer assistance except to give me phone numbers of local voluntary people.

degsie wrote: »
    Does the shed have a door?

The shed has a door but missing panels now. Trust me when I say this. If my dog wanted to get into the shed it would be quite easy. It's a standard wooden shed with weak panels.

I'm also supprised the local vet didn't offer assistance except to give me phone numbers of local voluntary people.

The reason is that vets would quickly find themselves inundated with unwanted animals if they were to take them all in. A small vet clinic might only have kennel space for 4 animals at a time so it's got be kept for the patients. It often happens that the staff will take home some of the strays that are handed in (I have one such kitten in my house at the moment) but again that's not always possible. It may sound harsh, but it's not the local vet's problem.

Thanks budgese. I have decided if I get no joy from a rescue tomorrow I'll relocate the kittens to my concrete shed where the dog has no access but the mother can cone and go as she pleases. As soon as the kittens are able to feed themselves I'll ring a rescue to take them. I'll then board up my wooden shed so history does not repeat itself.

My German shep barks like crazy when a cat is on the back wall so I'm shocked the cat thought it would be safe t nest in my shed. My shed went from having one missing panel to missing 10 due to the dog sniffing the cat out.

One last point. I'm very disapointed the co council has no clear information on what to do in this situation. I'm also supprised the local vet didn't offer assistance except to give me phone numbers of local voluntary people.

That sounds like a very good plan, and fair play to you for doing your absolute best for these kittens when you really have no responsibility to them! I also think there is still an unfortunate attitude towards feral cats and wild kittens, especially in rural areas, with vets and councils. They don't much care if the litter goes wild.

You might not have much luck getting a rescue to take the adult kittens either... they have so many. But fingers crossed, best of luck. Kudos to you for trying so hard for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Hi Richard.
    You'll have no problem re-homing and giving these kittens a chance of a good life if they are tame, otherwise if they are too feral its unlikely that anyone will take them and ultimately they'll be put to sleep. They should get lots of handling and talking to them. Have you kids or know of anyone that could spend a bit of time with them everyday? Its a brief window to socialise them but it gives them the best chance of a long life.

Hi Richard.
    You'll have no problem re-homing and giving these kittens a chance of a good life if they are tame, otherwise if they are too feral its unlikely that anyone will take them and ultimately they'll be put to sleep. They should get lots of handling and talking to them. Have you kids or know of anyone that could spend a bit of time with them everyday? Its a brief window to socialise them but it gives them the best chance of a long life.

Now thats a tougher one. It would mean locking the mother out from time to time as she wont let anyone near the kittens. So human contact will be minimal. I have a missed call from a cat rescue crowd so hopefully this can be sorted.