Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting out my house

Options
  • 22-07-2015 11:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭

I will be moving out of my house soon to relocate for work and I have decided to rent it out. I'll be working and living about 2 hours away and think that a letting agent / property manager may be the way to go - especially as I have little to no experience in these matters.
    Any advice for me on things I should be aware of?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

You will be liable for tax at the highest rate on the income from your house. You will still have to pay full rent on your new accommodation. Very unfair imo but there you go!

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

rougegal wrote: »
    I will be moving out of my house soon to relocate for work and I have decided to rent it out. I'll be working and living about 2 hours away and think that a letting agent / property manager may be the way to go - especially as I have little to no experience in these matters.
    Any advice for me on things I should be aware of?

I'd buy an economical car and commute.

The overburdening in taxation/registration with Prtb/ property tax/ Prsi/ Usc of Landlords who make "profits" from lettings is criminal and makes it undesirable to be in that position. Couple that with the risk of dodgy tenants and the nightmare is complete.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭rougegal

Thanks @Riverireland i agree that it's unfair that it's going to cost me more to rent it out than if I stay there myself. I'd rather not leave it empty.