Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Most chilling deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Eden Lake, the scene at the end when the woman thinks she is safe.

Michael Fassbender is also in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

the strap on death in 7even ,you dont see it happening but by fcuk when you see the guys interview and the pic of the object your in no doubt about what happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

mark13 wrote: »
    Haven't seen it in a while, but remember the scene in Saving Private Ryan were the German soldier slowly sinks his knife into Adam Goldberg's chest creeping me right out.

This is my vote too, I was so angry when I first saw it. The chilling words of the German, the panic in the Americans eye when he knows he's lost, his mate struggling for breath, dying after getting shot a few feet away and the Popham being an actual coward at the bottom of the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,691 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Hannibal Lecter feeds Krendler his last meal in Silence of the Lambs 2 , cant decide if chilling or just OTT , but kinda wished I hadnt seen it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xx_hlStCL7g

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Even death in Frozen. Which absolutely should not be confused with the Disney movie of the same name. Dear God, that movie is essentially my nightmare.

Do you ski or mountaineer?

Nope and definitely not after watching that movie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Drive has a few choice gruesome deaths.Toss up between the head stomping in the lift and the head blown apart by a shotgun bit.

Wild at heart has two very gruesome deaths,the very hard to watch bit at the start where the black guy gets it and Willem Dafoes demise,another shotgun job.

The Nicholas Roeg movie Eureka with Gene Hackman has a really gruesome gun in the mouth suicide scene which is shown twice through flashback and theres another really graphic murder involving a machette and a blowtorch.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭scottmcb04

Banshee-main fella killing the albino in prison, savage!

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Fury...watching the tank mush the body into the ground..shows the horror of been a nameless dead person in a war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Dying_Jabba.jpg

Jabba the Hutt in Return of the Jedi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Even death in Frozen. Which absolutely should not be confused with the Disney movie of the same name. Dear God, that movie is essentially my nightmare.

That's the first movie I thought of as well for some reason, really simple but powerful survival movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Some of the deaths in American Sniper were quite chilling. The kid that
    took a powerdrill to the head
    in particular. It was off camera but so brutal.

In Buried,
    the last scene where the bombs are going off above and the soldiers find the wrong shallow grave while his grave fills in with sand. That was a horrible way to go and just strikes at a basic fear of being buried alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

I watched the film Sinister last night... and there is a death on there involving a lawnmower..
    As someone on the Sinister thread poiinted out, you knoew it was coming, but still gave you that ugh feeling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

The scene that ends in death by eye-gouging in 28 Days Later freaked me out at the time. That whole film was pretty brutal for me at the time.

Glad I wasn't the only one freaked by Adam Goldbergs death in Saving Private Ryan. Stayed with me for years that one did. In a film full of violence and death it says a lot when a death late in the film can have such an impact.

The scene that ends in death by eye-gouging in 28 Days Later freaked me out at the time. That whole film was pretty brutal for me at the time.

Glad I wasn't the only one freaked by Adam Goldbergs death in Saving Private Ryan. Stayed with me for years that one did. In a film full of violence and death it says a lot when a death late in the film can have such an impact.

Do you mean 28 Weeks Later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Do you mean 28 Weeks Later?

No, the 28 Weeks Later scene was a callback to the scene in the first film. That was freaky too actually, but in 28 Days Later Cillian Murphy bashes in one of the soldiers heads but he's still alive so he thumbs him in both eye sockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

Not a death, but the torture of Paul Dano's character in Prisoners really got to me. It was so brutal and seeing his face after the beatings :(

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭shazzerman

The deaths of some of the POWS in the rat-infested prison "camp" scene in The Deer Hunter left me numb the first time I saw the film; and, of course, Nick's death was hard to take as well.
    Kirk's demise in The Texas Chain Saw Massacre left me numb too, followed then by the more disturbing treatment of Pam.
    Ben's death in The Night of the Living Dead is perhaps the most nihilistic of all.
    I was with Philip Marlowe on the death of Elisha Cook Jr. in The Big Sleep: he was a harmless little guy who didn't deserve what he got.

How about this one from television? Drew Sharp, in Season 5 of Breaking Bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,582 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Pretty much all the deaths in Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer are deeply chilling due to the completely amoral stance of Henry and Otis, and the documentary - style filming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭KilOit

The prolonged death scene in Martyrs is probably the most gruesome
    but lasting memory would be some of the scenes in schindler's list or the pianist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭iomega

Any scene from Casino...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭billyhead

The death of Joe Pesci and his brother in Casino is horrific. Must add to the previous posted deaths the death from Aliens where he pops out of the stomach as the group are having their dinner. Also the death of Quint ( I think his name was) in Jaws was shocking when I was a young kid and was watching it for the 1st time.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Rippington

The stabbing of the guy in the boot of car by Pesci ,Liotta and De Niro in Goodfeallas is pretty disturbing and why I prefer to see shootings over stabbing .I hate knifes .

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭Gavin1

The guy being killed with the dagger in Saving Private Ryan, grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Sonny Corleone's demise in The Godfather.

Was only about 10 when I watched the film, most of it went way over my head obviously but not that scene.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

The Hills Have Eyes caravan scene.

Not sure are they "chilling" but some of the deaths in Indiana Jones certainly haunted me in my younger days and are still quite freaky...
    - Yer man getting sucked under the big steamroller
    - "You chose poorly"
    - Heart ripped out, slowly dropped into lava while still alive

The quicksand death in Krull was another nightmare inducing scene.

In War of the Worlds (Cruise edition), the scene with Cruise looking out the window at a man being pinned down to the ground as a long sharp needle/tube plunged down on to him to suck out his blood. With the backdrop of the futility of the human resistance that was unnerving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭iomega

I can watch Schwarzenegger kill a whole army in Commando & not flinch, but the violence in films like goodfellas or casino scares the **** out of me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Rhodes in Day Of The Dead where he gets ripped in half by zombies and lives just long enough to see them munching on his intestines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

Can't believe the killing at the end of full metal jacket hasnt been mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

How could I forget this??

Damnit, who's cutting onions in here?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Another TV moment.

The Walking Dead. Again a death that happens off screen, but when Carol and (can't remember his name) come back to the cabin and find that
    one of the little girls has killed the other to let her turn.

"It's OK, I didn't hurt her head"...

Straight to the feckin naughty step for you wee girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

The suicide scene in Scum is incredibly hard hitting, likewise the suicide in Once Were Warriors.

In terms of someone being killed then the scene in Murder Set Pieces involving the little girl in the bathroom is tough going because it's something that is so rarely shown on screen ie the murder of a child.

Another one that effected me was in Men Behind The Sun when one of the prisoners is put in the pressure chamber and the pressure gets increased to such a degree that his intestines literally burst out of his arse. The fact that this kind of thing actually happened is what makes it so harsh.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

Another one that effected me was in Men Behind The Sun when one of the prisoners is put in the pressure chamber and the pressure gets increased to such a degree that his intestines literally burst out of his arse. The fact that this kind of thing actually happened is what makes it so harsh.

Read the wikipedia entry on that film and then had a read about Unit 731. Off-topic, but Christ, I have the shivers after just reading about what went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Animal Kingdom.
    Pope drugs & smothers Jay's girlfriend
    Ben Mendelsohn is a creepy creepy man!

Agree on Saving Private Ryan. The German's calmness is really unnerving. More than any of the gruesome deaths throughout the movie.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,406 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Bacchus wrote: »
    Not sure are they "chilling" but some of the deaths in Indiana Jones certainly haunted me in my younger days and are still quite freaky...
    - Yer man getting sucked under the big steamroller
    - "You chose poorly"
    - Heart ripped out, slowly dropped into lava while still alive

The quicksand death in Krull was another nightmare inducing scene.

In War of the Worlds (Cruise edition), the scene with Cruise looking out the window at a man being pinned down to the ground as a long sharp needle/tube plunged down on to him to suck out his blood. With the backdrop of the futility of the human resistance that was unnerving.

Ah I had forgotten about Krull, that scared the crap out of me when I first saw it. The spikes closing in on the walls scarred me more than the quick sand from what I remember.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Ah I had forgotten about Krull, that scared the crap out of me when I first saw it. The spikes closing in on the walls scarred me more than the quick sand from what I remember.

Forgot about the spikes. There was another "wall closing in" death in it too with the cyclops holding the way open for the others to get through but ultimately getting crushed to death. That movie was messed up :pac:

Read the wikipedia entry on that film and then had a read about Unit 731. Off-topic, but Christ, I have the shivers after just reading about what went on.

It was horrific and sadly seems to be largely forgotten in the shadow of the Nazi atrocities. As a species we really can be unbelievably cruel.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

It was horrific and sadly seems to be largely forgotten in the shadow of the Nazi atrocities. As a species we really can be unbelievably cruel.

Business Cat, I have a bone to pick with you - I spent most of yesterday evening/night reading about Unit 731, Project MKULTRA, etc with the result that I had the most horrific nightmares and woke himself up roaring like an ass :D But on a more serious note, I fully agree, we are a fked up species.

You should try watching the movie too so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Some of the killings in Dead Man's Shoes are quite chilling,

particularly the ones where the lads have been spiked, and are all high as kites when they get it.

dead-mans-shoes1.jpg

and also, in TV, for anyone that's watched Vikings, the Blood Eagle execution is pretty disturbing!

TvUUgil-1024x576.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

This came to mind right away for me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zH8ynu0jRvY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The death of the
    PA who was minding the kids
    in Jurassic World. Also completely needless.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Spoilers ahoy. The original Wicker man.
    Maybe it because I was a teenager when I saw it but it left me thinking about it for a long time after. The protagonists death. It wasn't graphic but it was the shock of it. He was burned alive with no hope of rescue or saving even though he was the good guy. And the town's people just danced and celebrated his sacrifice. His screams and cries for help. So chilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,005 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

the horse in the Neverending Story :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

2smiggy wrote: »
    the horse in the Neverending Story :(

i never got to the end of that film for some reason.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

These stick out for me:

The killing of Morey in Goodfellas. Tommy (Joe Pesci) sits in the back seat of the car behind morey , reaches around to grab his forhead and then rams a knife up through the back of his skull into his brainstem. He and Frankie also kill this guy called Stacks? by shooting in the head and afterwards while leaving the apartment they squabble over whether they should make a cup of coffee before leaving. Tommy meets a grisly end too in that film being shot in the back of the head and the camera sees the bullet making the exit wound.

Sopranos - Tony strangles some fella with glasses using an electric chord. He kneels on the guys back tugging with all his might while the veins in his neck bulge and the life slowly drains from his body until his head slumps to the ground.

Another strangulation one is some middle eastern/war on terror/CIA Spy type film where after a long chase through streets, some CIA guy strangles a terrorist mole to death with bare hands while slumped in the corner of a shower.

Strangulation deaths are particularly hard watching as they are often quiet scenes with both killer and victim in very intimate proximity with full eye contact and the victim slowly stops struggling and loses consiousness while the killer strains fiercely to maintain the noose grip. The eery silence is often interrupted by gasps and fumbling around as they struggle.

Irréversible - the guy who brutally raped Monica Belucci's character anally in an underpass is found by her friends in a nightclub and they kill him by bludgeoning him to death on the crowded dancefloor using a fire extinguisher. I'll never forget seeing it - the guy is kocked to the ground first blow of the fire extinguisher badly smashes in his face, after a few seconds he writhes and emits a disturbing moan. Another blow caves his head in badly and he has some sort of seizure and vomits. It was horrendous and had to be done with CGI to get the disfigurement of his head right.

Similarly, in Love/Hate when some fella is raping Siobhan at the back of a pub when her bf walks in. He assaults the rapist and breaks his neck. Nidge and others arrive and they are totally dismissive and cold about the rape and decide they have to "do something" about the gravely injured man. They contemplate dumping him in the road to make it look like a hit and run but decide against it. One of them grabs a beer keg and uses it to cave in the guys head to kill him.

The Casino killing is good. It's like the revenge of Billy Batts from Goodfellas.
    Also the Saving Private Ryan one - Shhhhhh, shhhhhhh, shhhhh

Also, has anyone ever seen the mercy killings in Sanctum? Anyone who gets injured while the group are lost in the caves following a flood will not be able to get out so they have to put them out of their misery by drowning them. I thought that was very tough watching, particularly when its down to the last two, yer man and his father and he has to drown his badly injured father due to his severe injuries before escaping from the cave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Creepy

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭shazzerman

These stick out for me:

The killing of Morey in Goodfellas. Tommy (Joe Pesci) sits in the back seat of the car behind morey , reaches around to grab his forhead and then rams a knife up through the back of his skull into his brainstem. He and Frankie also kill this guy called Stacks? by shooting in the head and afterwards while leaving the apartment they squabble over whether they should make a cup of coffee before leaving. Tommy meets a grisly end too in that film being shot in the back of the head and the camera sees the bullet making the exit wound.

Sopranos - Tony strangles some fella with glasses using an electric chord. He kneels on the guys back tugging with all his might while the veins in his neck bulge and the life slowly drains from his body until his head slumps to the ground.

Another strangulation one is some middle eastern/war on terror/CIA Spy type film where after a long chase through streets, some CIA guy strangles a terrorist mole to death with bare hands while slumped in the corner of a shower.

Strangulation deaths are particularly hard watching as they are often quiet scenes with both killer and victim in very intimate proximity with full eye contact and the victim slowly stops struggling and loses consiousness while the killer strains fiercely to maintain the noose grip. The eery silence is often interrupted by gasps and fumbling around as they struggle.

Irréversible - the guy who brutally raped Monica Belucci's character anally in an underpass is found by her friends in a nightclub and they kill him by bludgeoning him to death on the crowded dancefloor using a fire extinguisher. I'll never forget seeing it - the guy is kocked to the ground first blow of the fire extinguisher badly smashes in his face, after a few seconds he writhes and emits a disturbing moan. Another blow caves his head in badly and he has some sort of seizure and vomits. It was horrendous and had to be done with CGI to get the disfigurement of his head right.

Similarly, in Love/Hate when some fella is raping Siobhan at the back of a pub when her bf walks in. He assaults the rapist and breaks his neck. Nidge and others arrive and they are totally dismissive and cold about the rape and decide they have to "do something" about the gravely injured man. They contemplate dumping him in the road to make it look like a hit and run but decide against it. One of them grabs a beer keg and uses it to cave in the guys head to kill him.

The Casino killing is good. It's like the revenge of Billy Batts from Goodfellas.
    Also the Saving Private Ryan one - Shhhhhh, shhhhhhh, shhhhh

Also, has anyone ever seen the mercy killings in Sanctum? Anyone who gets injured while the group are lost in the caves following a flood will not be able to get out so they have to put them out of their misery by drowning them. I thought that was very tough watching, particularly when its down to the last two, yer man and his father and he has to drown his badly injured father due to his severe injuries before escaping from the cave.
    He kills the wrong guy; the actual rapist looks on and gives a cynical smile... Creepy indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭trashcan

Not a death, but when Kiefer Sutherland is buried alive by Jeff Bridges in The Vanishing, I found that pretty chilling. (I believe in the original (Dutch?) film that's where it ends, which is even more chilling.)

It's got to be the worst possible way to kill someone I would think.